We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alsol Luxury Village

Save Saved
You added Alsol Luxury Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alsol Luxury Village
Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23302, Dominican Republic (Formerly Marina Sands Luxury All Inclusive Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Our vacation at Alsol Luxury Village was awesome. I had read all the reviews prior to our trip. The two or three bad reviews are only from the transition period from Marina Sands to Alsol. So do not consider the negative reviews about this resort. Under the name Alsol they have been top notch. The resort close by, Sanctuary, now owns this property. When you go to the Sanctuary website you will see a link for their "sister" resort, Alsol. Alsol has their own site as well. We did spend part of a day at the Sanctuary. The Sanctuary is for sure more crowded and more of a "party" place. Alsol would be the alternative, quiet, not crowded, but with amazing service resort. So you have two options from the same management. Sanctuary does have three beaches right there, plus the pools. Alsol has multiple pools, with the marina, beach is a golf cart drive by staff away. In all honesty, we actually preferred the beach by Alsol better. That beach is run by Punta Cana Resort, so the drinks and food there are not free. We ate breakfast, got the ride to beach on golf cart (very close). We asked to be picked up at 3pm, ride was there at three on the dot. Very clean beach, beautiful photo ops there with beautiful beach, rocks, trees growing out of sand in water, and a two story hut type structure. The staff were over the top amazing, absolutely no complaints. The food was the same, over the top. Everything was all inclusive. This is amazing, one night the staff said they wanted to do a special dinner for us, they set up a beautiful table for the four of us outside the restaurant, right next to the beautiful marina. My wife and daughters and I were amazed, we felt so fortunate, like royalty. The rooms are top notch, as this was previously a luxury condo village. There are a few condo owners still in the village, we talked to all of them that we came into contact with, very nice people. So in a nutshell, if you want a quieter relaxing vacation with over the top service in a 5 star setting choose Also. If you want a more lively, party place, with outstanding service as well, choose the Sanctuary. This was absolutely our best vacation ever. Through site directly or through southwest.com there is currently a 60% sale now through December. I will post some pics as well.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
We would like to thank you for your positive comments and beautiful pictures regarding your recent stay at AlSol Luxury Village.

We are pleased to read, that you have had an AMAZING vacation at our resort, we are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and Service. We feel proud and grateful for your compliments on the efforts and dedication demonstrated by our staff. We have a commitment to provide quality service beyond our guest's expectations, is for this reason that our team is always ready to go the extra mile; and it becomes a reward for us every time we read the wonderful reviews and mentions of our guests.

We will share your feedback with the entire team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at this, your Sanctuary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    375
    87
    42
    21
    13
See reviews for
106
187
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Arrival:
After an incredibly frustrating day of travel we finally arrived to AlSol around 12:30am instead of 2:15pm when we were supposed to arrive. We called ahead and they had someone there to greet us and show us to our room (which they upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite - easily the nicest room I've ever stayed in), with a promise of a tour of the facilities the next morning. True to their word, we made our way down to the lobby for breakfast (complimentary according to our booking), and after finishing we hopped on a golf cart and were shown the resort. We absolutely loved our stay, my only complaint would be that the resort seemed deserted, but I'll write that up to the fact that it is a brand new resort and the word hasn't spread yet. (The good side of this is that their website has some incredibly good deals!)

The Resort and Grounds:
This place is beautiful, designed like a small european village, everything seemed to be recently constructed and flawlessly finished and expertly decorated - seriously, they have done photo shoots and filmed a music video here already. They have 3 pools, one of them being an enormous, winding pool surrounded by palm trees with a pool side bar (unfortunately, this wasn't staffed due to their only being a handful of guests booked in the resort - but we spent most of our pool time at this one as it was only 10 steps from our room). The 2nd pool being smaller but with a pool volley ball net and another pool side bar and grill (this one was staffed and we spent quite a bit of time there due to the proximity to drinks and chef prepared food). The third pool was much smaller and seemed to be more of a quite pool on the side of the marina, it looked nice, but we never went in this one.

Beaches - Technically there is no beach at this property, as it is more of a marina. However, you have access to both a beach next door (The Punta Cana Hotel beach) which they provide free 5 minutes shuttle via golf carts whenever you request a pickup at your room. You can also utilize the beach at their sister property (Sanctuary Cap Cana - we actually stayed at this resort for 4 days as well), which is a measly $2 USD cab fare away. There is also a beach club named Catelon (sp?), that you must pay for, but is absolutely gorgeous and we thought, worth the money. The beach next door was very nice, with white sand beaches, great water and extremely convenient. I should mention that you cannot walk there, however, and you must take the provided golf cart. This is because you have to go through a security gate to access the other resort's property.

The Food:
Simply the best All-Inclusive food I have ever eaten. Honestly, its probably the best Hotel food I've ever eaten as well. Everything is a la cart, and is 5 stars in taste, presentation, and variety. Every dish seemingly had a local twist to it, and was perfect at every meal. As a side note, the Pizzeria is independently owned and is NOT part of the All-Inclusive package (so eater beware), the pizza is, however, incredible and reminiscent of the pizza I ate in Italy during my stay - wood fired, thin crust, lightly sauced.

Service:
Amazing, while the english was limited in most of the staff, there were several employees that were quite conversant and always seemed close by to help translate should the need arise. Fortunately, I speak enough spanish to have never needed the help, but it was available as the other guests that we saw sometimes needed assistance. Every employee we encountered was smiling, friendly, and always went out of their way to see that we had everything we needed. Our favorite employee was the bar tender at the pool bar named (I think) Andrew.

Final Thoughts:
We absolutely loved it here, and the solitude of the place actually fit exactly what we were looking for after our nightmare travel day. We only stayed for 2 nights, but with the airline's mistakes, it wound up being 1.5 days before we moved resorts (this was planned ahead of time and wasn't due to any fault of the resort) I would definitely stay here again, and would gladly recommend it to my family and friends. The resort lends it self more to a tranquil and relaxing vacation than for those looking for a party atmosphere however, so it would depend on what you are looking for in your time to the Dominican Republic.

Room Tip: Our room was just steps from the largest pool and our huge balcony over-looked the courtyard below...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your memorable AlSol Luxury Village experience online. It is always an amazing feeling when our valued guests share so many wonderful comments about their vacation with us.

We are more than happy to learn that we actually fit exactly to what you were looking for you and that you enjoyed our beautiful scenery as well as the enthusiasm of our staff. All our team members are honored with your kind remarks and we are glad we were part of your unique experience. Reading your reviews it’s something that warms our hearts and drives us to improve every day.

We certainly will be ready to welcome you back to AlSol Luxury Village in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My first trip to the DR and I had a trip of my life. I have never been to a hotel so beautiful and upscale. Everything was beyond nice! When we arrived a fruit punch and cold towel was given to us. When we got to our rooms fresh fruit on the table. Our room slept 4. Nice sofa bed in den for 2 adults and a king size bed in bedroom. . Had a full kitchen, plenty of towels, huge patio with ocean view. The village is so nice, I felt like I was in Spain. All the workers were so happy to be of service to you. They truly were happy to make you happy. ALSO is located between a Punta Cana beach and the marina beach. BOTH BEACHES at your fingertips. NOT crowed at all. Like having your own private beach. Emerald green water ,white sand. GORGEOUS. Also right next to the hotel is the ECO reserve . climb thru the forest and stop and swim at 5 different lagoons. Cold water from the underground springs. The 5th lagoon had a cliff to jump off. It feels like Gilligans Island. Don't miss it only 10.00 dollars. I felt very safe and lacked for nothing. The food was over the top and I was on an all inclusive so we could eat and eat. Good variety of food . At the pool you could get hamburgers, sandwiches and the best pina coladas ever. The dinners were 5 star quality!!! Everything was GREAT. We had lasagna , steak and more steak, grilled garlic shrimp, mahi mahi, and my favorite cheesecake. GREAT food. I cant believe the price for what you get. Its a huge bargain!! If you like a lot of people, and fight for chairs , and want kids running around this is not the place. If you like NICE, want quiet beaches, excellent service, food for a king, and live in the life of luxury this is it!!!This resort has a little church and a early service, a disco club with a swimming pool in it. Exercise room with all brand new equipment. No crowds to fight. This would be a great place to hold your company conventions, family reunions, weddings, or have your honeymoon. This place and service cannot be beat. Good bye Royalty Hello real world!!!













This would be a great place for a convention, a wedding, a honeymoon, or family reunion you just cant beat the amenities and service!! Good bye Royalty hello real world!! I

Room Tip: All sizes and All kinds of rooms. Ocean views or pool views . Some rooms have your own private swimm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at AlSol Luxury Village.

We are delighted to know that "Everything was GREAT" and the we created a wonderful setting for your vacations. Our staff is thrilled to know they contributed for such a memorable experience.

We certainly will be expecting you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I just came back from a vacation with my wife. We were celebrating our 4th Anniversary and the staff surprised us every day of our stay. Flowers in the room, special decoration with the towels, some delicious samples at night, a bottle of champagne. We were spoiled!

They arranged a Romantic dinner for us at the sister property Sanctuary at the Cap Cana in the Blue Marlin Restaurant. Everything was perfect. My wife was so pleased with the service and all the nice details.

For sure we will come back to this hotel. We are planning a Golf Tournament with some of our friends and we will book again at the Alsol Luxury Village.

Room Tip: book the Jr Suite facing the Bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments online about your recent stay at AlSol Luxury Village.

We are more than happy to learn that you got to experience our beautiful scenery as well as the enthusiasm of our staff. Our staff takes pride of knowing that you enjoyed every detail from our beach, restaurants to a service of excellence.

We thank you for allowing us to bring you our best service and create for you a great honeymoon vacation.

We truly hope we get a chance to serve you, your wife and your Golf friends again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We usually travel a lot to the DR and stay at the Sanctuary Cap Cana, now that they are managing this area we have it a try and it was great, rooms are as nice as any condo in Miami, the staff from the security gate to the restaurant servers are second to none. It felt like royalty. It is a large complex with a great views and great to walk at night. The pools are large 2 of them, one is the quite pool and the other is the activities pool which has a grill and a Bar, we preferred the quite pool that even though there is no bar a server will come periodically and get your order.

We decided to buy the All inclusive plan which worked great, it even included meals at the Sanctuary Cap Cana that we only went once as we wanted peace and quiet. Great wine is available at an extra cost which we did not bother to pay and drinks are made with top notch alcohol.

They even did a private dinner for us close to the marina one night. the food is superb better than the Italian restaurant in the marina which was very expensive and average.

This is a great resort, not many people yet as they just re-opened, but if you like to be pampered and do not like crowd this is the place to go.

The beach is just 5 minutes away, with white sand and clear blue water.

We want to thank Victoria the Resort Manager as she helped me prepare the surprise dinner for my hubby. If you need anything in this resort Victoria is the person to contact she is always visible everywhere.

The resort is just 15 minutes from the airport.

Way to go!!! En Horabuena! Cap Cana needed something different!

Room Tip: There are a few rooms with private pools! The upgrade is worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
AlSol Luxury Village congratulates you on your special occasion! We want to thank you for taking the time to share your positive comments about your special getaway with us.
We are thrilled to learn that you had such a wonderful vacation.

Our staff enjoys receiving such wonderful remarks from our valued guests. We will share your comments with all them; they receive great joy when guests acknowledge their efforts to make their vacations special.

AlSol Luxury Village wishes you a happy and long lasting marriage. We hope we receive your visit back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from a 3 night stay with my friend who is an owner of an apartment there, this place used to be call Marina Sands, now under new management Alsol Luxury Village is heading the right way. Jose Ramon and Indira are the best, as well as Alfredo who is in chartge of the restaurants. We were checked in fast and with a warm greeting, we were escorted on a Golf Cart to our apartment it was spotless, we had a view to one of the pools and the bellman explained that since there is no beach access in the complex that we can use the Sanctuary Cap Cana Beach or they will take us to the beach next door which is 2 minutes away and enjoy all the services as well. Great drinks at the pool bar and to our surprise the food was great!!

All areas were clean and everyone smiled! There is a nice disco on property called Dux which is wonderfull to see the sunset and later to party! Even though it is a huge property we never felt alone, there is a church, pizza place and Ice Cream parlor in the property as well.

We had the best Mojito at the lobby bar!!!

Thanks to all the staff, we are confident that the property will be top notch! See you in Christmas.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at AlSol Luxury Village.

We are truly glad that we were able to bring you a great vacation. At AlSol Luxury Village we take pride of our hotel`s beautiful scenery, but we take great pride of our staff efforts to please and create great experiences for our guests, even if it’s just with a big smile.

We look forward to seeing you in Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was the best getaway ever, our room had awesome view of marina ( wooow), loved the private pool. The facility was extraordinary and very romantic, very clean in all the public area, excellent service at the restaurant very friendly, love the yoga bar. The price was phenomenal for a allinclusive the luxury and service at this resort.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria M, Manager at Alsol Luxury Village, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at AlSol Luxury Village!

We are grateful for your kind comments about our property and our staff. We are delighted to learn that you had such a pleasant "Romantic" vacation with us, and that our hard working staff served you with excellence.

It would be our honor to receive your visit in the near future, and help you experience another memorable vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alsol Luxury Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alsol Luxury Village

Address: Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23302, Dominican Republic (Formerly Marina Sands Luxury All Inclusive Beach Resort)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alsol Luxury Village is located at only 10 minutes from the Punta Cana International Airport in the biggest and most luxurious marina in the Caribbean, surrounded by the famous white beaches of Punta Cana and Cap Cana. Alsol Luxury Village is an impressive luxury resort complete with 299 suites of all different sizes and decorated with premium materials and designer furniture to give a true Mediterranean feel.Luxury suites may vary in size and style, but all rooms are designed with innovative architecture, high quality finishes and beautiful decor. For the most demanding we even have luxury suites available with a private swimming pool. The Resort has a variety of beautiful panoramic views with several categories of suites of different sizes.Comfort, convenience and elegance – these elements reflect the beautiful lifestyle of the Alsol Luxury Village. Guests can enjoy a superior level of service while enjoying the five thematic restaurants, ars, four pools, a Dominican style Chapel for weddings and Sunday Mass, a state of the art fitness center with Finnish sauna and other exclusive services and activities to satisfy even the most demanding. Guests at AlSol Luxury Village can enjoy the magnificent Punta Espada Golf Club which is considered the top course in the Caribbean and Mexico, as well as other courses such as Corales and La Cana which are also highly rated, boat rentals, a diving school, activities for children and much more. There are also exceptional event, function and wedding spaces, including a waterfront amphitheater and salons that can be decorated to your personal style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, BookIt.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Alsol Luxury Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alsol Luxury Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.