We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total luxury.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eden Roc at Cap Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Eden Roc at Cap Cana to your Saves list
Eden Roc at Cap Cana
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
2 reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Total luxury.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We enjoyed ourselves tremendously at Eden Roc, taking full advantage of the luxurious accommodations and enjoying every minute at the fantastic golf course. The hotel is very beautiful and cozy and there are many activities to do, some of which are organized outside of the premises. We spent our time relaxing, playing golf, feasting on the excellent food, getting massages and going to the beach.

Eden Roc reminds me a bit of the luxurious Balinese hotels, with its private villas and individual pools. The rooms are huge and very well decorated, with exceedingly comfortable beds and enormous bathrooms. The private pools are beautiful as well, surrounded by plants and flowers. However, they lack a bit of privacy as the plants have not grown enough yet to cover all of the surrounding areas.

The beach is absolutely extraordinary. We loved swimming in the mornings and having lunch at La Palapa, were we could enjoy great Italian food as well as a wide variety of daily caught fish and shellfish.

At night, we usually went for drinks at the bar and then for dinner at Mediterraneo, were the quality of the food is absolutely outstanding. Everything from the appetizers to the variety of sweets they served along with coffee and tea was extraordinary. The service was slow but the waiters were very kind and friendly. You could tell they really wanted to please the client. The food and the atmosphere of the restaurant, overlooking the main pool, were so nice, that it was worth it every single time.

I would rate this hotel a straight 5-star and would highly recommend it to anyone that knows how to appreciate true luxury in the Caribbean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Jcvg947,

Thank you for your feedback! It is a pleasure hearing that you enjoyed your stay at Eden Roc at Cap Cana and for your wonderful comments and knowledge of true luxury in the Caribbean.

We hope that we can welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Daniele Trombacco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    14
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
53
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Fabulous place to stay. They are obviously trying, but will still need some time to work on getting the local staff up to speed on providing a matching quality of service to the outstanding and world class facilities. I thoroughly enjoyed my time there with my wife and two girls!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind feedback from your most recent stay with us. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We hope to be able to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Daniele Tromacco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family just can't back from an amazing 10 day vacation at Eden Roc. We truly could not have chosen a better place ! My husband and I have very demanding full time jobs and are raising 2 toddlers. Needless to say, we were looking for a place to relax and recharge.

Eden Roc exceeded our expectation in every aspect. The accommodations are the most luxurious we have ever seen ( and we have both travelled a lot), the service was excellent ( we were treated like royalty) and chef Gianluca's food was exquisite.

Sure, it all comes at a price, but the price was justifiable for us given the quality.

Definitely consider this place if you are looking for a luxurious and relaxing experience.
Do not come here if you're looking to party, get wasted and meet other people . This place is mostly geared towards couples and families. Also keep in mind that this is a small and quiet resort. There are 34 villas and they may not all be occupied, especially during low season.

We definitely will be back. In the meanwhile, we wanted to send special thanks to some staff members who we felt went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable: Alessandra at reservations, Alejandra and Carlos at the reception, Hakim at the beach club, Sylvia at the kids club ( my son still asks about her), Michaele at the Riva Bar and Anna at Mediterraneo and of course, chef Gianluca who had us experience award winning cuisine at every meal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you for taking the time to write this so eulogistic comment on Trip Advisor about the Eden Roc at Cap Cana.
It is a real reward for all our teams because we daily work to satisfy all our guests’ needs and requests.

We are so attached to a warm welcome for our dear guests, and we are really happy that you have enjoyed your experience with us.

We hope to joyfully greet you soon,

Best sunny and friendly regards,

Daniele Trombacco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Eden Roc this past July, and our experience was wonderful! Upon arrival, we were greeted by the lovely Alejandra with delicious welcome drinks. She upgraded us to a family suite, which had a larger pool and more space inside. After a short tour of the property in a resort golf cart, we were taken to our villa and shown around. I was amazed at such beauty and perfection! The villa was phenomenal, with a living room, Nespresso machine, separate bedroom with a heavenly bed, huge bathroom with the biggest jacuzzi tub I've ever seen. On the other side of the LR was a children's bedroom (which we did not use but it was adorable!) and another full bathroom. The patio contained our pool, and comfy lounge furniture under a covered pergola.We spent lots of time in our pool and on the patio!
We received a bottle of chilled champagne and a fruit basket upon arrival as well, and a few days we came back to our room to find chocolate-covered strawberries and fresh fruit. The main restaurant, Mediteranno, was the breakfast spot. Breakfast is included, and i have never seen a more delicious array of foods. Fresh breads and pastries, fresh fruit, fresh-squeezed juices, and anything you want cooked-to-order was all delicious. There were even gourmet cheeses available. The butter is house-made, which puts store-bought butter to shame! Meditterano was our favorite restaurant for dinner as well - the filet was one of the best I've ever had! I wasn't very impressed with La Palappa, but maybe it's because I live in a food town that's hard to beat.
The staff was warm and friendly, and would bend over backwards to fulfill our wishes.
Having a golf cart to get around was ultra-convenient. We drove around the entire Cap Cana area in it! Many previous reviews did not mention the little gem, Scape Park. This is an area that offers hiking, eco-tours, zip lining, and other activities. It is a 3-minute golf cart drive from Eden Roc. There is also a road just for running/golf carts next to the main road so it's extra-safe. We hiked to the natural grotto in Scape Park, and it was absolutely gorgeous! We also visited Caleton Beach Club (2-minute drive), which is the beach area for Eden Roc, where you can just sit under an umbrella and relax. The waiters will bring you drinks! We also went to Juanillo Beach, which has calmer water and a larger beach, which was also nice!The marina is a bit farther, and offers many restaurants. We tried Aqua Mari, which was tasty.
In summary, Eden Roc is the place to go if you wish to be in a peaceful, tranquil environment with no distractions. There is no social scene (at least during this time of year), which was perfect for us because we can have that anytime living in New Orleans! It is the perfect couple get-away for relaxation and beauty!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Tara J from the fascinating New Orleans,

Thank you for your great review. We appreciate your high esteem of our hotel location with proximity and easy access to dining/entertainment right at our door step. Your commendation of our products and services are greatly valued. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back and hopefully soon!

Kind Regards,

Daniele Trombacco
DoSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Best hotel in the world and Carlos at front desk makes this experience even better. He is fantastic.

No other hotel in the world comes close to the service and ambiance of this hotel. I wan to come back every year. Hopefully we can make it happen. Location is beautiful and the villas are truly high tech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniele T, Manager at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Priyanka G from the stunning New York City,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It is so encouraging to receive positive comments on our facilities and services. We will also share your comments with our entire team .
We look forward to the opportunity of serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Mr. Daniele Trombacco
DoSM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The location is beautiful, gorgeous beach and the villas are well designed. All would have been great if the air conditioning was functioning well. The staff did all that they could, upgraded us to their largest villa and we still had constant, daily problems. The leaking AC drove everybody crazy and the temperature indoors was slightly lower than the very high temperature outdoors.

Another big minus for a hotel of this caliber is the kitchen/restaurant. The main restaurant produced very poor quality food. The recommended restaurants near by are horrible and very overpriced. Our only dining pleasure was the La Palapa where Chef Ricardo took good care of us. Overall, we've traveled plenty and experienced top hotels, this one was not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daniele T, Director of Sales at Eden Roc at Cap Cana, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Jenny236,

We thank you for your invaluable feedback and are sorry to hear your experience was not entirely perfect as we would have hoped.
As soon as we were made aware of the issues you were having with the air conditioning we did upgrade to our largest suite (a very significant upgrade) where the air-conditioning was functioning at around 20 degrees celsius. Please consider that our average temperatures at the moment around 32-35 degrees celsius.
We are sorry to hear that Mediterraneo was not to your taste - Novella cuisine is an acquired taste and perhaps not suited to all. Our Executive Chef is responsible for both Mediterraneo and La Palapa so we're very pleased to hear you enjoyed the dining experience at La Palapa.
Again, we thank you for your comments as this allows us to improve the overall "Eden Roc" experience, we do strive for excellence! We would love to welcome you back again to hopefully exceed all expectations.

With warm regards,
Daniele Trombacco
Director of Sales & Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently returned to NYC form an amazing vacation at Cap Cana. There are no words for this hotel to truly express how amazing it is...I have stayed at Paradisus Palma Royal, and Excellence Hotel in Punta Cana. I have to say that neither can hold a flame to Eden Roc!
From the moment you arrive you feel at home. The service is close to none. I have also stayed at the Mandarine Oriental in Las Vagas (which has exceptional service) and I can compare its services to any 5 Star hotel around the world. I have waited a long time to truly enjoy and amazing meal at a hotel in D.R. This hotel with it's amazing Chef can compete even with the finest restaurants in N.Y.C... and I have eaten at Daniels, and Le Bernardin etc.
Their chef is from Holland, and I can't give him enough acclaim. Every meal was to the point, all I have to say is that I was fortunate to have it touch my palate. My parents were celebrating their 40th anniversary and I was celebrating my 40th birthday/MSN graduation. Thank you Eden Roc for making this milestone in my life unforgettable and bringing happiness to my parents life. The special preparation they encountered one night after dinner was a nice touch (hot jaccuzi and exotic fruits). The pool had a nice quiet atmosphere, and beach side service was attentive. Lastly there were two main restaurants were meals were served, but when every meal is delicious and lacking nothing. Why have more restaurants?
Thank you to all the staff at Eden Roc, especially The Chef, and servers Valdimir and Tomas for making our stay...simply extra special for myself and loved ones. You have added to our memories a special moment in time that will last.
I normally don't return to the same hotel, but Eden Roc Cap Cana is one place that I will frequent for its exceptional attention to customer service!!
C.H. and R.G.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Eden Roc at Cap Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Roc at Cap Cana

Address: Cap Cana, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Eden Roc at Cap Cana 5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining luxury in the Dominican Republic, Eden Roc at Cap Cana, the only Relais & Châteaux hotel in the island, consists of 34 freestanding suites with private pools and stunning views. Eden Roc at Cap Cana offers extravagant amenities such as a full service spa, a Jack Nicklaus Signature Golf Course (Punta Espada) located nearby, private Beach Club, Koko Kids Club, five diverse culinary selections, 753 square feet of meeting space at Corallina Conference Room and various multi-purpose spaces ideal for destination weddings and corporate functions. Most recently, the resort has been named to the Traveler’s Choice® Awards by TripAdvisor as 7th in Luxury and 12th Overall out of 25 Winning Caribbean Hotels and has also been included in 2014 Travel + Leisure’s “It List” of The Best New Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Eden Roc at Cap Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden Roc at Cap Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.