We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana to your Saves list
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I enjoyed relaxing in the shade by the ocean by day and the wonderful eateries they had to offer for dinner. I enjoyed a waiter by the name of Nestor at the Grill. His personality helped sell the place. In fact all the employees were friendly! I highly reccomend this resort!

Room Tip: They have rooms for families and rooms that come with butlers. I had a studio. It was a ver comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Kathleen,

Sunny greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful experience. We will surely congratulate our associates for their pleasant and very attentive services, especially Nestor at The Grill for showing his great personality and providing a quality service every day.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are waiting for you with arms wide open!

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    329
    91
    25
    18
See reviews for
875
543
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wales, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

This was the second event that our company planned at the Paradisus Punta Cana. Our customers came to the resort from all over South America. The resort was to capacity and we were moved to the front of the resort to stay in The Reserve. The Reserve has all suite rooms. This worked well since most of our customers traveled with their spouse. The pool area and buffet were just as good here as in the Royal Service. It is a bit of a walk to the beach, but there is a tram that takes you all over the resort and a walking path that has no vehicles.
I worked with Yohanna to plan this second event and again she was wonderful to work with while planning. She worked tirelessly on our event and was always prompt with an answer to any questions that I had for our group. Whenever she wasn't available on days off, her superior Alexander was there to answer any questions and work with me. During our time at the resort, Yohanna was always at our receptions/dinners to make sure that everything ran smoothly. I would highly recommend this resort for business or pleasure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Recently stayed @ the Melia Resorts, The Reserve Family Concierge Paradisus Punta Cana! Loved every bit of our stay as our experience was truly Paradisus Paradise! Christelle and her staff @ the Reserve made us feel @ home as soon as we got there, thank you so much for your hospitality! Angel, our travel agent with Island Travel Company is amazing to work with! The beach, the food/restaurants, the pool, the service, the property, the entertainment, the kids club, the excursion & transportation ~ just fabulous! The property, including our suite was well maintained and just beautiful! We especially appreciate the service and sweet friendships from Luisa our family concierge, Jose & Emilio @ the pool, Rudolpo @ the swim up bar, and Mikey & Santos @ the beach (Matt, Lorena, Max & Pia say hello!!!)...We learned that they are looking to further expand on the Reserve beach areas, as well as refine/enhance the teen club activities, can not wait to visit again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 7 wonderful days at this resort! We were extremely sad to go =[ All the pictures on their website are representative of what the resort looks like! It's so gorgeous!

The resort is approximately 30 minutes away by taxi from the airport. When we arrived, we checked in at the lobby and a lovely server brought us some refreshing smoothies while we waited for everything to process. The lobby is an open floor plan with beautiful greenery everywhere. We were pleasantly surprised when we were upgraded to the Reserve, as we originally booked a luxury junior suite. We then took a golf cart to our room which turned out to be a one bedroom suite.

The room itself consists of a living room with a small kitchen area (no stove, just a sink and some cabinets). There was a mini fridge which is restocked daily with water, orange juice, soda and beer. The AC in the room is not very strong at all. Our bedroom had a super comfortable king sized bed. Off to the side through a sliding door is a jacuzzi. The sliding door had a bunch of stains on it (guess someone had too much fun) and the jacuzzi didn't work. There is a safe and closets in this area which contained 2 bathrobes and slippers. Past the jacuzzi tub is the bathroom which has double sinks, a toilet behind a closed door (which by the way is glass...) and a standing shower. All was pretty clean. The room door leading to the hallway doesn't close very well and slams every time it shuts. All the doors in our section of the resort slammed and it was very noisy. Wifi in our building was weak and could only be accessed when standing near the balcony (building 37). Our room was cleaned everyday, sometimes twice a day.

There are 13 restaurants on site and you will need to make reservations for almost all of the a la carte restaurants. Gabi Beach, Gabi Club and Naos are buffets that are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Naos seemed to be closed after breakfast during our stay. The Hydro Grill is a la carte also but open during the day. All other restaurants are only open for dinner.

Gabi Beach & Gabi Club - both have great ambience and wonderful service staff. The food is pretty good, especially the grill which prepares omelettes (get fresh cooked eggs as the pre-made scrambled stuff is gross) in the morning, and fresh cooked steak, pork, seafood and chicken for lunch and dinner. The steak and pork were amazing! Really juicy and of a higher quality than any buffet that I've ever been to. I went back for seconds and thirds at every meal! The non-fish seafood is kind of lacking which is surprising because we are on an island... (but fish was good!) For breakfast is also some amazing hot chocolate. Most desserts are small and even bite sized so you could try everything if you wanted to. There is also ice cream and fresh fruit. Special thanks to Anthony Cid who was our server at Gabi Club. He was extremely friendly and his service was speedy and courteous. He remembered our drink orders and suggested some new drinks for us too!

Wine costs money but cocktails and hard liquor does not. We had tons of pina coladas =] They also have non alcoholic pina coladas and fruit smoothies as well as soda and non-carbonated drinks. They are pretty heavy on the alcohol and drinks were delish. My favorite was an espresso martini but it tasted more like a boozy milk shake.

Here's our restaurant rundown:
Naos - we only visited once for breakfast as it was closed other times we went. Standard breakfast fare.

Hydro Grill - Salads and burgers mostly. French fries here and actually all over the resort taste bad, do not order fries.

Vento - It says mediterranean cuisines but seemed more italian to me. Many pasta and risotto dishes. We had a shrimp tempura appetizer, the garlic fish entree and a risotto. Delicious and flavorful!

Mole - Mexican cuisine. We were served some chips and salsa before ordering. The oaxaca chicken was some of the best chicken I've ever had in a restaurant. Super tender with a great sauce. Also had flan for dessert which was not bad.

Passion - Costs extra per person but well worth it. The service provided by our waiter (I think his name was Juan but I can't remember) was impeccable and what you would expect from any 5 star restaurant. Can't remember everything but we had an octopus appetizer and a scallop appetizer both of which were unbelievable. The pork entree I had was some kind of sweet pulled pork which was amazing!

Fuego - Latin american fusion. This and Passion were probably the best 2 restaurants. We had a shrimp ceviche and mufungo. I only remember having a fried chicken nugget type of entree which was way better than your run of the mill chicken nuggets.

Aqua - Italian food. I really enjoyed this place as well. I had a leg of lamb which was fall of the bone good.

Bana - This place is alright. If you've been to Benihana, it's the same. You get a small portion of fried rice and a selection of meat cooked on the grill (beef, chicken, salmon, etc). The show was good but that's about it. We were hungry after and had to go to the buffet.

We did not go to La Palapa (also costs extra if you are not royal service) or the Grill.

The beach at the resort was gorgeous. It was super clean and the sand is soft and squishy. I think they clean it every morning. There are plenty of cushy beach chairs with straw umbrellas over them. It is super relaxing. For reserve members you get towels at the beach and you can have as many as you want. I think non-Reserve guests get a towel card and have to return their towels to avoid being charged. Thank you so much to Ramon Ramirez for bringing us our drinks! We wanted a fresh coconut but they ran out the first day we were there. Ramon was nice enough to let us know the next time they had coconuts and made sure to save them for us! The beach has a water sports area where you can rent some stuff for free (not sure what). They also have activities that cost money such as parasailing, boat and snorkel combos and scuba certification classes. We spent our afternoons in the cabanas by the pool at the reserve. We never had an issue with finding chairs/cabanas at the pool or the beach. The beach has a separate area for the reserve. There were people that placed their towels on the chairs and never came back but at the pool the staff will occasionally come and remove those towels. Rolled up towels in the cabanas at the reserve mean that it's empty and free to use.

There were also some fun activities everyday and Fabio V Romero made them even more fun! He is a great dance instructor and very funny! We took Bachata and Merengue lessons. We also took a painting class and a candle making class to bring home some souvenirs. I especially loved aqua gym (basically aerobics in the pool) with Noel. He is super enthusiastic! There is a gym we never used but theres spin classes, abs classes, pilates, etc. They also have tennis courts and an activities area with archery, table tennis and a climbing wall.

I went to the spa for a massage and a pedicure. I had an amazing massage green tea from Ana Maria. Great pressure and very relaxing. The green tea oils smelled refreshing and were really good on the skin. Juana also gave me my pedicure and she was very friendly. The pedicures are given in these cabanas outside so it can get a little hot. You also have the option of a massage outdoors on the beach. That was a unique experience!

Every night they have shows like the Lion King, Dominican culture show, modern dance and many more. I wish the resort would put a bit of money into decorating the theatre because it looks a little shabby. It's just a stage with some temporary chairs. The shows themselves last about 1-1.5 hours and were fun to watch! Get there early for front row seats (about 15 minutes is sufficient).

The resort is pretty big but still walkable. They have trams that take you around the resort and they come every 10 minutes and pre-determined stops. Usually you can have them stop wherever you want if you call out though. The reserve area is far from the main resort. The main resort is where most of the restaurants and the beach is. It's about a 10 minute walk from the resort. The lobby area has a place to book excursions which should be done a day or 2 in advance. They have the same activities/companies as you will find on the activities section of tripadvisor.

MOST IMPORTANT TIP: Bring $1 bills for tipping. For us, we were a couple staying 7 night and we needed about $130 which included tipping on our excursions. Bring some more to be safe because you will not find change on the resort.

Room Tip: Be nice to the front desk, they might upgrade you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience! And thank you for selecting us as your holiday destination.

We are happy learning that you had 7 wonderful days with us! And we are glad that we had the honor to host you at The Reserve. Your comments and positive feedback tells us that we are doing the right thing by pampering our guests and providing them only but reasons to relax and enjoy.

Our complete team is happy knowing that you enjoyed our restaurants and be sure that we will congratulate the complete Food & Beverages team and also to Ana Maria, Juana for their friendliness.

We hope to have you back in no time and please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed with our seven year old and had a fantastic week. A real vacation. The service was great. A huge shout out to our good friend Emilio (yes, please! I’d love a drink!) by the pool! I miss him every day (Patrick, Mary & Jane say hi!) and Jose was super as well. Our family concierges Estafania and Sofia were very helpful. Our daughter, Jane, bonded with Sofia and cried when we left for the airport and she's not a crier. Sofia, among many other things, saved a favorite stuffed animal that was left by the pool. We thought the service in Gabi was very good and enjoyed all the restaurants. Although, our daughter only went to the kids club twice, we were very impressed with the staff and programs. When our daughter did go, she had to be drug out there! The only downsides to the trip had NOTHING to do with the resort. Our transport to the airport was an hour late (Sofia stayed with us the entire time working the phone although it was separate from the resort, THANK YOU, SOFIA!). The airport situation is totally unacceptable. We made it through security relatively easily to run into a complete state on confusion to hand in your exit documents.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor and thought that was helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear Mary,

Warm Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana; it was a great pleasure to host you and your family at your home away from home.

We are so grateful learning how much appreciation Emilio earn from you, we have no doubt that his attentiveness is what makes him so special; also, we will congratulate your Family Concierges Estefania and Sofia and please tell you daughter Jane that Sofia sends her a big hug!

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to your next visit and we are sure that next time will be easier at the airport!

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This resort is very big and beautiful, I came here last year with my family and friends and we enjoyed it so much that we came back. The pool was right outside of our room and had relaxing music playing in the background. The hard-working staff around the pool were always very friendly and outgoing.

I especially wanted to thank the guys at the HYDRO GRILL for such extraordinary service and great food; Chef Melvin Brizon, Jose Reinoso, & Ramon Sinbert.

Overall we had a fantastic stay and were very pleased by the service we received and will most definitely be coming back next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Jess,

Sunny Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for sharing your experience with us and for visiting us for the second time, it is a complete pleasure.

We highly appreciate your warm words and the recognition to our associates. We are so glad that the service provided exceeded your expectations and that during your stay you were able to enjoy the Pure Freedom to Just Be.

Our main priority is to give to our guests the deserved comfort and attentions, because we know how much you cherish your holidays and we love to provide you the reasons to come back; it is an honor to host our guests vacation and we always pursuit to make the best of them.

We will congratulate Chef Melvin Brizon, Jose Reinoso, & Ramon Simbert for the service they gave you, and for making your whole vacation.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Where do i start with this review. Excellent staff 4 years in a row we have made it our vacation paradise. Every year Anuvi Aquino, the Member Services Assistant is in contact with our family via email ensure our small but special request's are met. The Kids Zone is AWESOME !!! My kids loved it, ages 3 and 9. The Pool Side Staff is the best especially the Hydro Grill by the pool. Melvin Brizon, Jose Reinoso, Ramon Sinbert And Emilio "Drinky Drinky" made sure we had everything we needed. Not to mention the guys at the Gabi Bar, Wilson made all our drinks. These people deservse recognition for their awesome customer service. PARADISE !!!! Cant wait for next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Filpo Family

Thank you for choosing The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination and having the trust to share your experience.

We are very glad to learn that we were able to meet you expectations, there is nothing more important than to give to our guests the service and attentions that makes us what we are. We will congratulate Anuvi Aquino, Melvin Brizon, Jose Reinoso, Ramon Sinbert, Emilio "Drinky Drinky" and the awesome Kids Zone team for making sure you had everything you needed and provide you the Pure Freedom experience to Just Be.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear from you and welcome you back!

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Melia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.