We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many visits to paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana to your Saves list
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 15% discount
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Many visits to paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My family and I stayed at the Reserve section of the resort in mid-February and this was our 6th time coming to the Paradisus Punta Cana. Coming from the northeastern U.S. we were ready for a break from winter and we got it. The Reserve Beach is beautiful and we enjoyed all the restaurants with our two boys, age 11 and 8. We wanted to give special mention to some of the staff members who treated us like family: Frank Martinez from the Hidro Grill, our Family Concierge Nikei (who helped to make sure our dinner reservations were all taken care of), the Reserve Manager Silvio, and the Reserve Beach staff of Mikei and Ramon. Both Mikey MIke and Ramon do an AWESOME job of taking care of everybody and helping them to enjoy their time on the beach. They have been working at the Reserve Beach since we started coming to this resort and they remember you, where you are from, what you like to drink, etc. Nothing but first class service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,644
    326
    90
    25
    17
See reviews for
872
538
29
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

I was SO impressed with this beautiful resort! The beach and the pool are amazing and the service is wonderful, everyone is SO friendly!! I recommend staying here! Whoo! Fabio is by far the BEST entertainer, he made my day and is so easy to talk to!! He's a star and so great! Vento was so delicious it was the restaurant in the resort! I loved all of the activities offered here like water aerobics, bike riding, ping pong, etc! Not to mention there was icecream offered at all times whoo! Last but not least, Alex was also great!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Sunny greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you for having selected us as your holiday destination.

We dearly appreciate your positive feedback and we thank our team for making you live a beautiful experience with us; we are more than proud of our associates, especially of Fabio and Alex for their passionate labor and the services provided to you.

Please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit; we are looking forward to hear back from you!

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently returned from a wonderful stay at the Reserve at Paradisus. The place is absolutely gorgeous and very well kept. The staff is very helpfull and extremelly polite. The only issue we had was making restaurant reservations. The Reserve beach is gorgeous and Ramon, along with all of the other bartenders are the best. I will return next year for sure!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Nathalia D.,

Thank you for selecting The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as your holiday destination; it was an honor to have you and you boyfriend with us.

We are happy to learn how wonderful your stay was, our team really appreciates your positive feedback and we thank them for offering you a very helpful and extremely polite service.

In the other hand Nathalia, please accept our apologies for the only setback you had during your visit; do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit, we will more than pleased to arrange everything prior arrival.

We will extend your gratitude to Ramon and rest of the Bars team at our beach!

Best Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maplewood, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I just had my wedding here on February 22. Beatriz was our wedding coordinator and she is amazing. She went over all of the details with us once we arrived and made our wedding day so special. Everyone says planning your wedding is so stressful as is the wedding day, I was completely stress free thanks to Beatriz. She was absolutely wonderful. Our wedding was on the beach and exceeded our expectations entirely. The staff was so amazing and friendly. Lala with the resorts tropic one studio did our pictures and they turned out amazing. We were upgraded to the Reserve once we arrived and were greeted with champagne. Our room was amazing and on the night of our wedding they sprinkled roses petals on our bed and down the hall, it was so romantic. The resort is great at helping you plan any activities you would like to do, we went zip lining, swam with dolphins, sharks, and sting rays, and also did snuba. I would recommend all of theses activities. The restaurants were delicious for the most part. It is hard to get reservations at the popular ones if you are planning on going that same day. I would recommend making reservations the day you arrive for every night you are there, this way you will definitely get a table. If you have the money I would get a room at the Reserve. You have access to another pool and a private beach area where no kids are aloud. The bartenders and servers working the pool area at the Reserve are awesome, very fun to talk with and they love to keep the drinks flowing. You also get our own concierge inside of your building unit. I would go back here every year if I could. I would also recommend having your wedding here. I cannot say enough about the great staff and this wonderful resort,

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor for more privacy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge,ON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at this lovely resort from Feb. 27 to March 6, 2014. We have previously stayed at the Iberostar Bavaro. We would definitely choose this resort over the Iberostar. We stayed in a Master suite with neither pool nor ocean view on the ground floor. The room was huge and spotless, with the best stocked fridge we have ever seen in an all-inclusive. The bed was comfortable and there were two bathroom sinks which was a bonus. The only drawback was the room backed onto an outer driveway which had service vehicles and bus trams using it 24 hours a day. So through the large sliding doors and windows, voices and vehicle noise could be heard at all times.If it hadn't been for this issue the room would have been perfect. The extensive grounds were stunning and immaculately maintained. The beach was beautiful, clean white sand and also very well kept. Beach towels were in abundance, clean, and always available. We had no problems finding beach or pool chairs. Covered huts were more difficult to acquire, but could usually be found in the later afternoon, either by beach or pool.

The food was definitely up scaled in comparison to the Iberostar. There was always something great at all the buffets, and the cleanliness and presentation of the items was fantastic. The cappuccinos are delicious! It seemed that there were only very late bookings available at the restaurants but we were fine with this as we were on our second honeymoon and wished to avoid children! However, even at 10:00pm at night there were still crying kids in the restaurants. They have tried very hard to make the dining an upscale experience, the presentation, and lovely white tablecloths, candles, and server etiquette all help to enhance the meals.

The public washrooms are beyond immaculate and are cleaned constantly. The staff are so helpful and sweet, they go above and beyond to help you. Please, please , tip them generously, the average wage for them is only $175 American per month!!

The open air poolside food hut called the Hydro Grill was absolutely amazing! Gourmet burgers, salads, and the best potato wedges ever are served here! We loved this little place and the great people working here: Jose Reinso, Valentin Caminero, Ramon Simbert, Melvon Brizon, and F. Martinez deserve the highest accolades for their outstanding service. Celso Peralta that worked in the Vento restaurant was also an amazing server.

With regards to the pool, the two whirlpool enclosures with the pillars were not working. There was a light that appeared disconnected floating within the water that looked a little sketchy. We informed them of this issue at the the front desk and hopefully this will be addressed. The concierge Annabel was very pleasant and accommodating. The sweetest, most helpful member of the staff was by far Bianka Vargas, a hostess who rotates throughout the day at the different eating venues. We will miss her greatly! All the employees have obviously been very well trained in the art of customer service. We appreciated them very, very much. They try so hard even with their limited English and we had no trouble communicating with them.
It is too bad that smoking is allowed in the open air restaurants, we had to leave a reserved booking one evening as there was a couple smoking a few feet away as we were about to eat. We were able to enjoy our meal at another reserved restaurant called Aqua. If there was no smoking allowed, the eating experiences would have been perfect.
All in all, we had a wonderful , relaxing time at this resort and didn’t want to leave. This resort is almost close to perfect, just needs a few tweaks , and it will become idyllic. It has risen from number 39 on trip advisor to number 3 or 4! Keep it up Paradisus Punta Cana!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana! Thank you dearly for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are extremely happy know what a true paradise you found with us, you can be sure that every detail of your stay was carefully planned for your enjoyment; our team will always make you that you have even more of what you wished for. We are sure that Jose Reinso, Valentin Caminero, Ramon Simbert, Melvin Brizon, F. Martinez, Celso Peralta, Bianka Vargas and especially your concierge Annabel, were no exception of this giving you the personalized service you deserve.

We hope to have you back in a near future; it will be an absolute pleasure to provide you once again the Pure Freedom experience to Just Be.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We arrived in Punta Cana last Friday - I changed our hotel reservations to The Reserve at Paradisus from another property due to many bad reviews of 2 sister resorts. I was so excited to come here - one I got here, a bit of that excitement changed.

PROS: The property is beautiful - they have a spa, fitness center and many restaurants to choose from. The service staff generally bends over backward to make sure you are happy and have everything you need. The best restaurants on the property in our opinion were Vento,Mole and Fuego. The buffets were pretty good. I had read prior reviews that they did not give you enough food here - that is not the case. You will be fed here.

CONS: Be prepared for a language barrier - in some cases, not so bad and in other cases, you will have a difficult time with your questions or requests being understood.

Anyone traveling to this resort - be advised of a few things you may want to keep in mind - MAKE YOUR RESTAURANT THE MINUTE YOU ARRIVE. You will need to do this through guest services. We were not told this when we arrived and sometimes getting dinner reservation was a challenge. Also, IF YOU WANT A PARTICULAR SPOT ON THE BEACH WITH EITHER A CABANA OR A HUT WITH CHAIRS SO YOU HAVE THE OPTION OF BOTH SHADE AND SUN, YOU NEED TO GET OUT TO THE BEACH EARLY. THE TOWEL HUT ON THE BEACH OPENS AT 8AM - MY SUGGESTION WOULD BE TO GET YOUR TOWELS THE DAY YOU ARRIVE AND HEAD OUT THE FOLLOWING MORNING AT 7AM IF YOU WANT A CERTAIN SPOT ON THE BEACH. SIMILAR SITUATION APPLIES TO THE POOL AREA.

Another thing to keep in mind is Melia's idea of all inclusive - all of the restaurants except 2 are included in your stay. PASSION AND LA PALAPA are not. Also, certain alcohol is included in your stay - but if are looking for top shelf or premium alcohol or wine, it is extra.

A BIG THING - Melia doesn't tell you that you could possibly be subject to a pitch for a vacation club (similar to a time share). We were in the main lobby just looking round - maybe looking a bit clueless as it was our first morning here. A staff person grabbed us and sat us down - we thought he was trying to book activities for us - but then after we were moved into another room, I started to figure out that this was a sales pitch. 90 minutes of our 1st morning were spent in this sales pitch. We 1st spoke to a gentle - and when he asked us at the end if we wanted to buy into the club, we told him that we have a wedding to pay for this July 2014 and could not buy into the vacation club at this time. He sent a 2nd guy over and we went through the same explanation. Then, that guy sent a lady over and we went through our explanation a 3rd time! TWO THINGS ABOUT THIS APPROACH WERE UPSETTING - (1) - it was our 1st morning here and we were roped into this 90 minute sales pitch. (2) - if they're approach was supposed to be NO PRESSURE, they need a new approach. You shouldn't have to tell 3 different people "NO - we just can't afford to put $70,000 dollars down now for 88,000 options with your vacation club because we're getting married in July 2014. Even after telling the lady no for the 3rd time, she then tried to present 2 other lower cost options. I guess the word "NO' at a Melia Property means "if you keep bugging me, then maybe I'll change my mind'.

Overall, we were happy with our stay here but I think some travelers may appreciate knowing certain nuances before they arrive. It may make the stay here a bit more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradisus P, General Manager at The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana as you holiday destination and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

First of all let us tell you how much we appreciate your trust in us, our guests feedback is what gives us the opportunity to grow stronger and give to our team the right tools to exceed our guests expectations and take the right measure when needed.

We would love to have the opportunity to host you again in a near future; please do not hesitate to contact us for your next visit.

Regards,

Eduardo Perera
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Hello, my boyfriend and I had a dream vacation from 2 to March 8. The staff was welcoming, friendly and willing to accommodate us. Vento restaurant was particularly delicious and the chef "Ceasar" of the Gabi Club is an excellent chef ! The beach is FABULOUS. The scalp massage at The yhi spa really worth the cost.

I wish you a nice stay in the Reserve !

Room Tip: A view on the garden is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Melia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.