We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service from all employees.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
“Great service from all employees.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We received royal service from all.
Alexandra Martinez couldn't be more helpful. The bar tenders were great and the food. We loved this place!!!!!! We will be back for sure!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    904
    206
    58
    15
    12
See reviews for
527
334
19
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

What I loved about paradisus was the cleanliness of the whole resort. The groundsmen always offered a friendly "hola" while the cleaners particularly ARISLEYDA kept the rooms fully stocked with drinks, towel's, and tolitoties! Food was top notch! Literally, fillet steaks for dinner, rib eyes for lunch and endless pastas, salads, seafood! Fresh meats cooked on request by the friendly chefs! You will never be bored in para, with free activities at the magnificent beach like snorkeling, kayaking, windsurfing. I advise getting the friendly and energetic MICKEY MICKEY drinky drinky as your beach waiter as he'll never leave thirsty and bring you a variety of exotic drinks! If you want a little time away from the beach visit JOSE DELA CRUZ at the adventure park! He'll be sure to keep you entertained with rock climbing, table tennis, trampolines and archery! Not forgetting our friendly and helpful concierges Alexandra and Inez who were friendly and helpful always on their toes booking our dinner reservations. Our favorite restaurant was fuego, the grill and passion!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I had trouble writting this review because I can say I experienced two very different things along my stay and I think it was mainly because I went in low season. First the good, the place is amazing, full of palm trees and green areas, everything is absolutely taken cared of. The pools are great, clean, and there are bars everywhere so you can drink whatever you want almost in every corner of the hotel. And trist me...it is a big hotel!! Food is also good. There are a la carte and buffets restaurants; in these last ones the type of food changed also day to day so you didn't have to eat always the same things. Cannot complain at all there. Service was also outstanding. Everyone says hello with a big smile and asks how are you and if you need anything. I know that it must be part of their job but they really make you feel confortable and at home. So hotel decoration, food and staff...they receive my 5 points hands down.
So now the bad...for starter I wanted to be in their "reserve" area (a sort of vip place within the hotel) so I payed about 500dls extra for the week. Aparently since it is low season everybody was upgraded for free to this area of the hotel (not their fault not my fault...I understand that) but they didn't gave me any upgrade or what so ever so it was quite frustrating to hear that people received upgrades and you didn't. Second, activities program. The hand you a copy of the week activities and where those will happen. In more than one ocassion the activitiy was either suspended or happening at another area of the hotel or replaced for another activity. And they were not sharp with starting/ending times either; in the making cocktails workshop the salsa teacher approached to ask for how long would they continue because he needed to start. Don't missunderstand this, the people that takes part of the entretaining is amazing but is really not well organized. It looks really amateur. Then there is the lenght of the hotel. The reserve is buily next to the highway and although it has it's own pool area if you want to go to the beach you need to take a transportation. Not the worst but not confortable either. Because it was low season they had 5 restaurants closed which not even my travel agent knew about. And there were doing lots of remodelation so you could see people working, painting, fixing....not exactly what I want to see during my holidays. And now really the worst part of it....everyone is trying to get money from you. Beggining with a 90 minutes talk about the "club melia" wich ends in 3 hours of them wanting you to buy a 39000usd program to use their hotels for the next 50 years (after paying 20% up front of course). Then if you need something from their medical service you have to pay 110usd before they can even touch you or tell you what is wrong with your. Gym clases were not done (yoga, pilates, etc..) if there were less than 4 people unless you were willing to pay a fee of 20usd to the teacher (fyi....the teacher was already there because the class was prearranged in the gym program) and the front desk would even call you at your room at 8am to ask you if you want to take some extra excursions!! And it doesn't end there, everyone suggests you to try their best restaurant that costs 5usd extra per person (I asked many times and they all said 5) only to find out that it was 45usd per person. Lovely place, lovely food, worth the 45usd but there was no need to lie.

I'd say that the very best way to spend a great time here is to pretend you don't speak spanish/english/french/nederlands/russian (oh yeah...their personel can do very good with languages) and just ignore all the extra things they push you to buy. And of course....come in low season. Even if the hotel is huge and they are in 20% occupancy at the moment I don't want to imagine what it is like to eat/drink or move around with a 90% occupancy. It just seems impossible.

Special thanks to my concierges Laidy and Sandra and my very favorite waiter Carlos from Gabi Club...he really made my day every night.

Don't miss coming here!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajax, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

My family and I travelled to this hotel from Sept 20th - Sept 27th and we had a wonderful time. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. The Sandra and Laidy at the family concierge were excellent and accommodating , they had all sorts of little surprises for our 15 month old twin boys and for my husband and I.
The food was great and there was a lot of selection at the Gabi Restaurant for all meals. The beach is pristine and very well kept.
All in all we had a wonderful vacation because of the staff :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at this resort in September 2013 and are already looking forward to returning to Punta Cana. I took mental notes the entire time during our stay as it pertains to this property and I hope that my review can help you make the right decision as to what hotel to choose.

The Positives:
-My two standouts are SIlvio in the front office and Arturo who works as server in several restaurants. Silvio was extremely attentive to our needs and listened to our suggestions. Arturo was the best waiter ever and had a wonderful cheery personality.
-The rooms at the reserve are comfortable and some are very large. They consist of a living area, a bedroom and a two part bathroom with a jetted tub.
-The check in service makes you feel like a VIP. They take the liberty to make your dinner reservations for the entire week and also provide you with a reserved cabana on the beach.
-However, if you didn't have reservations for a cabana, there were plenty of empty chairs and cabana seating on the beach.
-The beach and the pool are beautiful. The ocean water is warm and clear and the sand "melts" under your feet. No one bothers you on the property or at the beach when it comes down to time share sales or vendors.
-Not many children
-Take advantage of the free one hour snorkeling excursion
-Most restaurants have good food. Here is my brief breakdown.
Naos is a buffet style dining where you don't need reservations. Vento is the restaurant on the Reserve property and was our least favorite dining experience because the food wasn't good and it took an hour for it to come out. La Palapa is located on the beach and is considered fine dining . It was our favorite and featured delicious coffee and lip smacking lobster tail. Mole was also good and would be considered Mexican food. The Grill features a la carte entrees while the appetizers and desserts are buffet style. Fuego was our 2nd favorite dining experience and very beautiful inside.

The Negative:
-Spotty wi-fi service
-Housekeeping varies day by day and sometimes it wasn't done until 5pm. Also they didn't refill the fridge or the toiletries.
-Some staff does not speak any English and is not equally personable as others.
-The Reserve is not directly on the beach. You have to take a shuttle that circles the resort every 15 minutes to get to it.

Tips:
-Premium alcohol is not included in all inclusive. It costs $8 per drink. Only house wine is included in the price.
-Some restaurant on property have an additional charge. Passion is one of them. Not all restaurants are open during non-peak season.
-The resort has nightly shows at 10pm and they are decent.
-No party atmosphere so if thats what you are looking for, go elsewhere.
-This is not really a hotel designed for kids. Other hotels in PC have better activities and are more kids focused.
-The combined two resorts are huge so rent a bike to get around. You can keep it for 3 days.
-Tip if you like the service. They deserve it.
-You don't have to exchange your money to pesos. They take dollars everywhere.
-If you go outside your resort be prepared to be hustled by vendors and people from the surrounding town. They try to sell you anything and everything. They will put banana leaf hats on you head, put flowers in your hair and pull your luggage without you asking and then expect a tip.
-The Palma Real mall is totally overpriced and not a good place to get souveniers. Don't waste your time.
-Book your excursions when you first arrive because they only have them on certain days. There is no snorkeling on the weekends at all. Check with more than one company to compare prices. And negotiate....Our favorite exursion was the cultural all day tour to Higuey where you learn how Dominicans live.

Overall we loved our experience in Punta Cana and at the Reserve. I am impressed with the cleanliness of the resort and the friendly service. We can't wait to come back!

Room Tip: Choose a pool facing room on first or second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The most beautiful, peaceful place to vacation that we have experienced. Breathtaking elegant location facing ocean. We were in the Royal Service and there for our nieces wedding on the beach Sept 20, 2013. It was perfect! Reception was set up inside due to rain and was fabulous, music dancing, great food. Being in the Royal Service, we had a butler to arrange things for us always, private pool, separated from huge winding gorgeous pool for other patrons staying there.
Food was always available, eating in elegant places with Flamingos in the water around us. Gorgeous landscape and beaches. Parasailing was a blast, seeing to the bottom of the blue ocean, boogie boarding on the waives, so many options available. Service was excellent. Rondon was our favorite butler, ask for him specifically! Others that took excellent care of us through out day at pool and beach were Matiel and Jose Reyes, Jeremiah Matos and Benita Mercedez at bar. Thank you all so much and hope to see you again!!! Best Restaraunt was Aqua and The Grill for steaks. Go and enjoy!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We just returned from a magical 12 days at this lovely resort.

Some of the highlights:
- The rooms were spacious and roomy and having access to a fully stocked fridge made life easy. The balcony was great for relaxing and also drying off swim gear at the end of each day.Wifi was free and available around the resort though definitely patchy on many of the days.
-We did the family concierge option and it was a wonderful way to relax and have all bookings done for you. We had 2 concierges while we were there: Ovideo Pavilis and Yeuri Beltre and they were both wonderful. Kind, caring and awesome with our son as well as organzing everything to every small detail. They made sure there was food available at each restaurant for my fussy son and this was done graciously every time
- The wait staff were great where ever we were but some standouts for us included Lilian Jimenez and Franklin Ortega - really lovely, warm and fun and ensured that mealtimes were exceptional
- The pool and beach were exceptional and the family concierge system meant we didn't have to stress about having our preferred cabana and lounger everyday. The pool concierges, Santo and Louis kept us primed with our beverages of choice and had fun with non alcoholic versions for our son
- the Kids zone is exceptional and I can't say enough about them. They are hugely flexible and by that I mean you can put your little ones in and out as many times as suits you in any one day and the activities they have organized are varied and fun - the facility is top notch with a great outdoor area for outdoor fun. There is a separate kids pool which is safe for all ages and easily accessed from the kids zone and resort alike.The staff included Kiwy,Yassira,Bella,Nathaly,and Berlis - they are a wonderful team and so kind and caring to the little ones.

Overall, this is a great resort and we had a marvellous time. A few things that I would mention as being slightly annoying:
- Be sure to bring enough cash with you for tips in smaller denominations - pesos come out of the ATM in large denominations and the front office staff make it very difficult to change in to smaller chunks which was frustrating
-The restaurants were of a high standard but you had to be pretty persistabnt to get in as their preference is to send you to one of the 2 buffet restaurants. The stand out restaurants for us were Mole, the Grill and Aqua. Fuego was Ok and Vento was just awful - many other guests were of this opinion also. Another thing to check is which restaurants are actually open - the Japanese style was closed while we were there and many of the restaurants closed for the low season in our last couple of days there meaning options were pretty limited.
- The gift store pricing is utterly outrageous so be sure to bring plenty of sunscreen / snacks and personal items with you - we had to purchase sunscreen and the cheapest option was $35 USD for a small tube.

Overall, we had a wonderful time and would definitely return to the Reserve based on the terrific staff and amazing facilities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana

Address: Bavaro Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Melia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reserve at Paradisus Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.