We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked the hotel very much.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of whala!bavaro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added whala!bavaro to your Saves list
whala!bavaro
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
North Carolina Coast, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“We liked the hotel very much.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We went with another couple and we had two rooms and our rooms were nice and quiet and the location was very good. I think the biggest problem with the hotel is the language barrier with the staff but for us it was no problem because we all speak Spanish. Food is very good and they use local ingredients and it is not very Americanised as in many other hotels.

The location is one of the best qualities of the hotel and this is another reason we chose the hotel because from past experiences in Bavaro the hotels are usually so far from away from everything and we didn't want to spend everyday of our stay at the hotel. We would return to this hotel if we were going back to Bavaro.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    57
    41
    23
    28
See reviews for
46
178
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here at the end of a trip for two nights.
The property is a nice small place, well kept and clean. Front desk staff was not very friendly. We got checked in, but they did not tell us anything about the property, all-inclusive, meals, etc. I really liked our room at the back of the property on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool. The suite had a small living space with a refrigerator and sofa. Nice canopy bed and LED tv. No problem with the skeleton key safe. The maid was very friendly.
The beach was just down the street less then a minute. A large shade tree splits the Whala area of the beach. Chairs are provided, but their is just enough space on the beach for all of the guests, so no running around or playing games on the beach. As soon as you step off of the property you are constantly pestered by salesmen wanting you to go to their store, or go check out another hotel, go on their boat. Everyone was nice but it was more relentless then any other vacation spot I have been to.
The water was very murky and full of seaweed, it was 90 degrees and I did not want to get in.
I have nothing good to say about the food. I tried it, it was horrible. We walked up the street and tried some good restaurants. I'm glad we only had to endure this for 2 nights the area was rough with not much to do. Maybe if we had a rental car we could have got out and explored some good parts of Punta Cana, but I didn't see anything except mega resorts and slums. I was sad not to be able to experience any Dominican culture. Other areas might be better but this area is very popular with Russian tourists, so unless you are a fan of chain smoking, overweight men in speedos, I would stay away.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Awful place... Not woth staying... Don't but all inclusive package... Really.
WHY?
-awful food -everything low quality, a lot of fat, very small choice, no natural coffee or cocoa -chemical powder:/
-rude guy on reception desk with no smile and no patience
-whole staff doesn't care about guests
-stinky!! near pool and near balconies- like whole things from tolitet smelling around- god...
-old furnitures in rooms, all smelly...
-internet only when you pay extra...
-small and dirty beach -sad thing cause it has potential! Just clean it...
-90% guests were Russians -for us it's a problem, maybe for others not
We were sorry for the people who came here with kids for whole vacation...

Room Tip: Don't go there at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Friendly hotel and good price. Location is great, right on the beach and we made good use of the beach hut bar. Room was spotless and comfortable and we slept well every night. Staff on the front desk are great at helping with anything and very friendly and approachable. Food was good and if you fancy eating out there are some decent places within a reasonable distance. Mixed nationalities staying while we were there (quite a few Russians I think) but that was fine by us and we enjoyed every minute! Dom Rep is a beautiful place to visit and the people are great.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just came back from a 12 day stay.
Small resort, that is why I choose it.

There were a lot of ignorant, rude obnoxious loud Russian people in the first 3-5 days,
As they went home, the atmosphere become better

Room
Kept clean-no bugs or lizards
Room was right beside the pool bar on the front.
Very noisy, music did not stop until 11pm.
Bathroom needs some renovation.
Beds are hard, but we were able to sleep.
TV was about a 100 years old.
Did like the balcony during the day, in the evening some little bugs were biting. Muskol helped somewhat.

Service
None existent.
In the dining room we had to get our own drinks which is OK as long as someone is there to give it to you.
At the beach bar and the snack stall they were ok.
No issues if you like to eat burgers, fries, hot dog, and chicken wings

Food
We have tolerated it for about a week.
We are not picky, but the monotony and stomach upset did bother us.

Beach
Short walk from the hotel
It is a beautiful beach front
Getting smaller as the ocean washes the beach area away.
The past 3 days, sea weed was everywhere(not their fault.)
You have to pay a deposit for the beach towels.

Entertainment
None existent

Staff
They do work hard and long hours.
Most of them don't speak much English
Some are friendly, but most of them ignore you.

Room Tip: Choose farther away from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Spent a week here with my husband, sister and her teenage son and we all had a great vacation. We were celebrating my sisters 40th. and it was our treat so hoped it would all go well and it did. Warm reception from the staff and good first impressions with it being so close to the beach! The lady allocated our rooms right next door to each other so we were very pleased about that and found the rooms very clean and with everything we needed for a beach break. Cleaners came in and put clean towels and cleaned up and we loved being on the first floor so we could look out over the pool. The beach is really fantastic so if you are a beach lover you will adore this place. We spend most of our time there sipping cold drinks, enjoying the sun the and watching the world go by. I think the price we paid for all 4 of us was super reasonable and if you want a beach hotel without breaking the bank have a good look at this one. It certainly worked for us and my sister
says it was the best birthday gift she ever got!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed at many all inclusive properties in Mexico, DR and Cuba and this was the least enjoyable. I strongly doubt if some of the resent reviews are actually written by guests.Just came back from 10 days at Whala Bavar ( Nov. 25- Dec 5 ),and while I must agree the staff were friendly and the property was kept very clean parts of the property had a prevailing smell of sewar. Although not the fault of the hotel, the beach was covered in literally tons of seaweed most of the time we were there and by the 10 th. day, it smelt bad. The first 5 days we were there we never heard English, the hotel being , as told to us by front desk desk staff, was 97 % filled with Russians who make for less than ideal fellow guests . There isn't really any bar or lounge other than 4 plastic tables at the beach bar , thus no place to gather and absolutely nothing to do in the evenings. The small town spoken of is actually an intersection with a small strip mall and a coffee shop and a bar that serves pizza. The coffee shop made life bearable as we went there every evening for a decent coffee and were server by an always welcoming and smiling Judy. Considering the price of an all inclusive vacation compared to paying airfare and then hotel expenses there really shouldn't be anything to complain about as you get a lot for your dollar but trust me, throw a few more dollars into the pot and stay somewhere else and I would strongly suggest finding out the hotels clientele during the period you are planning to travel. Again, I must mention that the front desk staff in particular were always friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The best and quietest rooms are in the suites section but they only have 1 bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to whala!bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about whala!bavaro

Address: El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — whala!bavaro 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms and apartments. 30 double rooms and 6 apartments under German management. Accommodation: All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, safe, air condition, ceiling fan, Cable TV, Mini Bar. The Hotel features a swimming pool and sunbeds. For our Guests we offer free wireless internet access in our lobby. Security 24/7. Location: Located in the center of Los Corales de Bavaro with unlimited access to all the sun, beach, shopping and dining in Bavaro. Our Hotel Beach Club is only 30 meters walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your whala!bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
Hotel Alisios Bavaro Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage whala!bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.