We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just booked to go back!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of whala!bavaro

Save Saved
You added whala!bavaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
whala!bavaro
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Just booked to go back!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Spent time checking out the best places and good deals around Bavaro beach area and glad we went for this hotel. It is very clean and has the nicest staff working there. We asked for extra towels and they were there in minutes. Cleaners did a great job. The food was very varied and fresh and the waiter remembered what drinks we liked. Nice personal touch and much appreciated. The location could not be better and the beach was as good as we'd heard. For the price we paid compared to some of the big boy hotels we got a deal and a half! We will go back in November for 7 nights.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    49
    39
    19
    26
See reviews for
42
164
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Honestly one of my best vacations yet. The hotel is small and well run with great staff always happy and always making sure everything is going well for the guests. Charming room with good natural light streaming through the big window and we enjoyed the balcony to relax on with a drink early evening before dinner. Food was good and breakfast had great options and plenty to choose from. Swimming pool although quite small was spotless but we went to the fantastic beach most days. It is beautiful and very calming. Location is ideal as there are some shops and restaurants within walking distance which gave a real feel of the area and local people. Felt very safe too. Excellent deal all round.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed there in April and have already booked for next April. Cannot wait! Not fancy but food was good, room was clean, you can procur a safe for $22 and no - it is not a skelton key as someone else said. Our maid was fantastic and only went into the room when we asked her to. We don't speak Spanish and few of the staff speak English but had no problem communicating what we needed. Staff are all polite and very helpful. As their ad says you can access the internet and it was only $2 to do so. Pools were clean and inviting - yes, like a number of the higher priced hotels they are salt water. Bars were clean - there was no. Only cockroaches we saw were outside the hotel and this is not unusual given you are in the tropics! They do charge a $10. refundable deposit on the beach towels as too many people were just leaving them on the beach and they we losing too way many - can't fault them for charging deposit. Security guard on patrol 24/7 and even came and woke us up the mornings we had to leave quite early for a tour or the day we left for airport.

Room Tip: We stayed in a superior suite which was by the pool but was quite - with the exception of one night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is one of those places you don't go to many times in your lives. As far as the room goes it was comfortable, we slept well and the power shower was not too messy. Breakfast and other meals were simple and well done, fruit was especially tasty. The beach is a dream and the missus wanted to just sit in a hammock and stare at the view so she could remember it. We did go on a fishing trip and had a great time, very well organised in a laid back Island way. Took us a day to slow down but didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I went during low season probably I think it is a quit place. But compare to others resorts in Punta Cana, this is a small one. At that time, because there were not a lot of customers we had the pool for ourselves and nights were quiet. They don't offer a variety in the menu, almost everyday the same food. Drinks were good, but just a little on the watery side. Workers are nice and service good. The beach is nearby, but you need to go out of the resort to get there. There is no gym and rooms are standard and simple. On the old side I would say. For the price I would say, it is all right.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Came with a small family group and had apartments close to each other. The complex had a well maintained garden, pool and patios. There are some local stores and a good pizza place just a short distance outside. The whole idea of this vacation was to be on the beach as much as possible and we were able to just spend long lazy days together. So beautiful here, not real busy either. Service is relaxed but nothing is forgotten and the people were warm and hospitable. Thanks to all concerned we had a faultless time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had heard so much about the Dominican Rebublic we thought we'd give it a try and weren't disappointed. The first thing you notice is how hot it is when you get off the plane. We arrived at the hotel and checked in and settled into the room. Got changed and went for a wander around the complex, stopped for a cold drink on the way back. Nice to find the beach, golden white sand, crystal blue sea and not too many people on it, just how we like it. The staff were polite, we enjoyed evenings at the bar and days on the beach or by the pool. Total relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to whala!bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about whala!bavaro

Address: El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — whala!bavaro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms and apartments. 30 double rooms and 6 apartments under German management. Accommodation: All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, safe, air condition, ceiling fan, Cable TV, Mini Bar. The Hotel features a swimming pool and sunbeds. For our Guests we offer free wireless internet access in our lobby. Security 24/7. Location: Located in the center of Los Corales de Bavaro with unlimited access to all the sun, beach, shopping and dining in Bavaro. Our Hotel Beach Club is only 30 meters walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your whala!bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
Hotel Alisios Bavaro Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage whala!bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.