We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sun, sea and paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of whala!bavaro

Save Saved
You added whala!bavaro to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
whala!bavaro
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Burnley
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sun, sea and paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had heard so much about the Dominican Rebublic we thought we'd give it a try and weren't disappointed. The first thing you notice is how hot it is when you get off the plane. We arrived at the hotel and checked in and settled into the room. Got changed and went for a wander around the complex, stopped for a cold drink on the way back. Nice to find the beach, golden white sand, crystal blue sea and not too many people on it, just how we like it. The staff were polite, we enjoyed evenings at the bar and days on the beach or by the pool. Total relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    123
    48
    36
    18
    26
See reviews for
40
159
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked a snorkeling excursion off their beach tower and it was only $30 and I had a great time. The staff is super friendly and bilingual so there was never a language barrier. Its close to the beach and also near some local stores and pizza places. I would stay at this resort if I were to return to Punta Cana

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Felt amazing staying at this beach paradise. The airport wowed us already, felt so warm when we arrived. Apartment was breezy, clean, smelled good. All the staff we encountered were pleasant and we found the facilities adequate. Hammocks, beds, take your pick we chilled out on the beach and met up with the rest of the family at night for dinner. All did our own thing and gave each other some space. This hotel proved that I have a nose for a deal. Location is as it is, the beach is all encompassing and the views early morning are worth getting up for. Will return to the Dominican Republic, it was great on many levels.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Researched as always before booking and not disappointed at all. A nice hotel in a great place. Felt special from the minute we got there and after a quick check-in found ourselves in our room which was very nice and had amazing sea views. Exactly what we'd been hoping for, in a nutshell! Staff are on hand all day and the restaurant served some of the freshest, tastiest food we've had in a long time. The beach is a haven of wildlife and kept in it's natural state which is so nice to experience close up. We stopped off in town several times for a cold beer and the locals were very friendly. We have just booked to go back in October for 7 days and hope it will be as good. Scuba diving is the thing in Punta Cana and prices range from $70 to $250 depending on the package you go for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Thought this would be a good place to have a break with my wife as she had often mentioned Bavaro beach as being one of the places she wanted to visit. Neither of us were disappointed and thought this hotel was great value and also charming in it's own way. The staff take their time to welcome you and were friendly and the cleaning staff were always on the ball and kept our room spotless. The fact that we could be sitting on the amazing beach within a few steps was the highlight for us and we returned very relaxed from this stunning part of the world.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stayed at Whala for ten days of swinging in hammocks and eating well. Our holiday here was one to remember. We felt at home immediately and hated having to pack to go home. The rooms were cleaned daily and the girls were friendly even after seeing the mess my wife leaves. The hotel is a two minute walk to the beach, where the sand is white and the colour of the sea is amazing, we took loads of snaps but they were disappointing and dull compared to when you are there. The staff all seem pleased to be of help and were good with the details. Breakfast at the hotel was more than enough to fill the gap and there was a choice of hot or cold buffet. We didn't venture into the town as we became very lazy and were having too much fun not having to wear shirts and suits. This was one of the easiest holidays to do nothing. Checking flights to Punta Cana as we speak.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We normally go somewhere brash and loud but as we are getting older we just wanted some peace and quiet.
We decided just to take simple phones and no other way of communicating while away. We actually had to talk to each other and it was like old times.
The hotel room and resort is a quiet one and suited us being more basic as we are on that page at the minute. Friendly guys at the hotel and around the town.
Like I said this was a big change for us and it worked well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to whala!bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about whala!bavaro

Address: El Cortecito | Bávaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#39 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — whala!bavaro 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms and apartments. 30 double rooms and 6 apartments under German management. Accommodation: All rooms are equipped with bathroom, shower, safe, air condition, ceiling fan, Cable TV, Mini Bar. The Hotel features a swimming pool and sunbeds. For our Guests we offer free wireless internet access in our lobby. Security 24/7. Location: Located in the center of Los Corales de Bavaro with unlimited access to all the sun, beach, shopping and dining in Bavaro. Our Hotel Beach Club is only 30 meters walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your whala!bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alisios Bavaro Beach Hotel
Hotel Alisios Bavaro Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage whala!bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.