We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go Eco!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park

Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park
Ave. Abraham Lincoln No. 960, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
809 959 9221
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park like an insider
Top Rated
$80*
and up
Punta Cana 4x4 Buggy Eco-Adventure at Indigenous...
Ranked #10 of 79 things to do in Punta Cana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park and Reserve is a private protected area owned and operated by the PUNTACANA Ecological Foundation. Consisting of lowland subtropical forest, the reserve covers 1,500 acres of land dedicated to conservation, scientific research, and recreation.The Ecological Reserve is a forest reserve with twelve freshwater lagoons, five of which visitors can swim in. Historians discovered that the Taíno Indians, the pre-Columbian inhabitants of the island, referred to the lagoons as “eyes” because of their distinctive shape. For this reason, the Ecological Park and Reserve was named “Ojos Indígenas” or “Indigenous Eyes.”The Ecological Park consists of numerous exhibits describing the cultural and natural history of the island. Visitors can visit a petting zoo with many domesticated animals common in the Dominican Republic since colonial times, a sugarcane exhibit, an iguana habitat and many other attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Go Eco!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

A must see spot if you are in the area. Bring good shoes for hiking the 2 miles or so, along the relatively easy trails. Do bring a bathing suit and a towel as swimming in a couple of the natural pools is a MUST!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    72
    18
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well worth it - you don't need a Segway or Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Very interesting and beautiful place. A walk through a rain forest with crystal clear lagoons, many of which you can swim in. We walked it ourself, without a Segway nor a guide. Do it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lagoon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We visited the park while on a segway trip we booked at our hotel. After the segway part of the trip we took about a 10 minute walk down a path through part of the park to a beautiful fresh water lagoon and had a short swim before walking back down the trail.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Magical mysterious waters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We ventured to this one-of-a-kind park with our expert tour guide, Arri, (via Westin) and paddle boarded to the park entrance from the hotel. We waited till we got to the largest spring and jumped right in (holding teenage daughter's hand)... and swam... and enjoyed the brief rainfall... and jumped in again (holding husband's hand). I felt like it was perhaps one of the coolest things I've ever done. And I grew up near Wakulla Springs, Florida, and have traveled a good bit. There's something very magical-mysterious-healing about this slice of heaven, Would recommend to anyone. Just wear water shoes or something to protect your feet for hike into the area and for rocks in water.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice little swimming hole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

We took a tour from our resort that included a stop at this Ecological Park. Expect about a ten minute walk of uneven terrain back to the main swimming spot. I wore sandals and was fine however some wished they had shoes on. The fresh water spring was very refreshing and fun to lounge at for a short period of time. I'd recommend bringing goggles to check out the fish underwater. Worth checking out for sure!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.