We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park

Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park
Ave. Abraham Lincoln No. 960, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
809 959 9221
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #14 of 44 attractions in Punta Cana
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park and Reserve is a private protected area owned and operated by the PUNTACANA Ecological Foundation. Consisting of lowland subtropical forest, the reserve covers 1,500 acres of land dedicated to conservation, scientific research, and recreation.The Ecological Reserve is a forest reserve with twelve freshwater lagoons, five of which visitors can swim in. Historians discovered that the Taíno Indians, the pre-Columbian inhabitants of the island, referred to the lagoons as “eyes” because of their distinctive shape. For this reason, the Ecological Park and Reserve was named “Ojos Indígenas” or “Indigenous Eyes.”The Ecological Park consists of numerous exhibits describing the cultural and natural history of the island. Visitors can visit a petting zoo with many domesticated animals common in the Dominican Republic since colonial times, a sugarcane exhibit, an iguana habitat and many other attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Took a tour here and the water was beautiful. Easy to get too and clean. Worth the trip to go look at. Make sure you bring bug spray for the walk through the woods.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    40
    9
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
München
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Entry difficult”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We rent a villa at Punta Cana resort, precisely in Tortuga bay, this is however Not considered being a guest at the resort. After being told that we would get access paying 10 dollar per person entrance fee, we were still denied the visit because we could not provide a so called CARD. In the end we gave up discussing the issue at the entrance. I only warn that being a guest does not necessarily give you access to the parc.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“No response”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were at another resort Punta Cana last week. We emailed them and never heard anything from them. Would have liked to go on the tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Lagoons are very beautiful. The paths are nice to walk although they can be a little confusing. take a pic. of map before you go in.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I went on the walking tour but they also offer Segway tours. My guide made me taste different fruits straight from the trees and explained everything about the local fauna and flora. The tour involves a hike through the rain forest, visiting the clear water lakes with turtles and fish, and swimming in a lake in were you can see the bottom at 8 meters. This park is accessible to folks staying at the Punta Cana Resort but you can also book an appointment to visit for a fairly reasonable price. Put on bug spray when you go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park to your Saves list