We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park

Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park
Ave. Abraham Lincoln No. 960, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
809 959 9221
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$80*
and up
Punta Cana 4x4 Buggy Eco-Adventure at Indigenous...
Ranked #5 of 26 Attractions in Punta Cana
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Nature & Parks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park and Reserve is a private protected area owned and operated by the PUNTACANA Ecological Foundation. Consisting of lowland subtropical forest, the reserve covers 1,500 acres of land dedicated to conservation, scientific research, and recreation.The Ecological Reserve is a forest reserve with twelve freshwater lagoons, five of which visitors can swim in. Historians discovered that the Taíno Indians, the pre-Columbian inhabitants of the island, referred to the lagoons as “eyes” because of their distinctive shape. For this reason, the Ecological Park and Reserve was named “Ojos Indígenas” or “Indigenous Eyes.”The Ecological Park consists of numerous exhibits describing the cultural and natural history of the island. Visitors can visit a petting zoo with many domesticated animals common in the Dominican Republic since colonial times, a sugarcane exhibit, an iguana habitat and many other attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Took a tour here and the water was beautiful. Easy to get too and clean. Worth the trip to go look at. Make sure you bring bug spray for the walk through the woods.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    62
    15
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
München
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Entry difficult”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We rent a villa at Punta Cana resort, precisely in Tortuga bay, this is however Not considered being a guest at the resort. After being told that we would get access paying 10 dollar per person entrance fee, we were still denied the visit because we could not provide a so called CARD. In the end we gave up discussing the issue at the entrance. I only warn that being a guest does not necessarily give you access to the parc.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“No response”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were at another resort Punta Cana last week. We emailed them and never heard anything from them. Would have liked to go on the tour.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The Lagoons are very beautiful. The paths are nice to walk although they can be a little confusing. take a pic. of map before you go in.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great learning experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I went on the walking tour but they also offer Segway tours. My guide made me taste different fruits straight from the trees and explained everything about the local fauna and flora. The tour involves a hike through the rain forest, visiting the clear water lakes with turtles and fish, and swimming in a lake in were you can see the bottom at 8 meters. This park is accessible to folks staying at the Punta Cana Resort but you can also book an appointment to visit for a fairly reasonable price. Put on bug spray when you go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.