We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hidden swimming hole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park

Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park
Ave. Abraham Lincoln No. 960, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
809 959 9221
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$135*
and up
Punta Cana Combo Tour: Off-Road Buggy and...
Ranked #6 of 24 Attractions in Punta Cana
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park and Reserve is a private protected area owned and operated by the PUNTACANA Ecological Foundation. Consisting of lowland subtropical forest, the reserve covers 1,500 acres of land dedicated to conservation, scientific research, and recreation.The Ecological Reserve is a forest reserve with twelve freshwater lagoons, five of which visitors can swim in. Historians discovered that the Taíno Indians, the pre-Columbian inhabitants of the island, referred to the lagoons as “eyes” because of their distinctive shape. For this reason, the Ecological Park and Reserve was named “Ojos Indígenas” or “Indigenous Eyes.”The Ecological Park consists of numerous exhibits describing the cultural and natural history of the island. Visitors can visit a petting zoo with many domesticated animals common in the Dominican Republic since colonial times, a sugarcane exhibit, an iguana habitat and many other attractions.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice hidden swimming hole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We took the "side by side" tour from apple vacations when we stayed at Dreams Palm Beach, and part of the tour was to take us to the Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park and we went swimming. What a beautiful hidden area and a nice all natural park

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    54
    14
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hilton head island
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

absolutely the best part off-property excursion during my visit to the dominican republic! wish i had found it earlier in my stay as i would have certainly gone back for a second exploration. a real gem!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bring a bathing suit and towel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our second visit to the PUNTACANA Hotel. We had stumbled upon the Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park the day before we left last time, and went swimming on the day of our departure. We were sure not to miss it this time! It is still absolutely beautiful. One can swim in at least two of the lagoons. We also enjoyed watching the turtles (and a crab) in one of the other lagoons. The Indigenous Eyes are one of those amazing natural places! Don't miss it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Lagoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We went here on a dune buggy tour and walked to the natural lagoon, ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL. It is a must see in the Dominican

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I had been living in Punta Cana for a few months when my parents came to visit. They are very keen bird and wildlife watchers and I was struggling for ideas of places in Punta Cana to show them. I came across the indigenous eyes park in the lonely planet guide book and thought we would give it a shot. We went ourselves, not through an organised trip and our taxi did struggle to find the actual entrance, but that only gave us an added bonus of finding the iguanas! There is a lovely enclosure which we were allowed into to get closer to and take photos of the iguanas.
When we finally found the entrance to the park I was surprised at the price, it really wasn't expensive and after spending several hours walking through to the Caribbean sea, I would say 100% worth every penny.
We didn't know about the lagoons you can swim in, so would recommend taking swim wear.
The paths are good, so if it is dry you can easily manage in flip-flops.
If you like wildlife then it is a must for the Dominican Republic. We saw lots of birds that are only found here as well as an osprey which we weren't expecting!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Indigenous Eyes Ecological Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.