We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your palate will never be the same” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Passion by Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Palma Real

Passion by Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Palma Real
Paradisus Palma Real Resort, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic (Formerly Passion by Martin Berasategui)
+18096885000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 200 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $200
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Irvington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Your palate will never be the same”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

All I can say is WOW a must do. Every meal was delectably satisfying and the service was amazing. The ambience amazing. It was my birthday and I was surprised with an amazing chocolate and whipped cream cake.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank zaire2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Romantic/beautiful/gourmet/delicious/Very special/never have this at home!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Elegant, special, gourmet menu! I loved it all! Gorgeous decor! Luxurious gastronomical experience!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jolinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pedantic, artificial and lack of atmosphere”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I'm driven to write about this terribly over the top restaurant with more style than substance. We went to have dinner here partly due to the Trip Advisor reviews and partly due to recommendations from our hotel. I try to only review either excellent or very poor places and this was very very poor. Additionally I/we have been to many high end restaurants in London, Europe and the US.

We were given disapproving looks/noises as we hadn't booked (as we were informed we didn't need to when we phoned to book 2 nights before), only to find the restaurant was empty. The service was attentive and stylish, much more so than the mixture of taster menu and courses our group of 4 had. The food was well presented but lacked flavour, cohesiveness and was not locally sourced - I know, I asked. It was all drama with no substance. Poor poor poor. I think Passion has forgotten that the restaurant is for eating 1st, 2nd and 3rd. Visual attractiveness and service, while important, only come into play if the food is tasty...

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
7 Thank ItsLondonBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So amazing, we had to eat here twice!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was uncertain if my husband would eat here, or rather if the restaurant would accomodate a picky eater who only eats steak and potato. Many chefs won't alter their menu, especially if the have any notoriety. But Passion provided just what you would want. I opted for the tasting menu along with the wine pairing.I have never had such an amazing experience. Pablo de la Piedra, the restaurant manager, the servers, even the hostesses are impeccabily trained. The beef at the other restaurants at the resort was just ok, but not at Passion. My husband thought it was so good that he wanted to go back a second time. So that was what we did, although I ate off the a la carte menu on night #2. But if you are only going once, you must try the tasting menu. I hope that they serve the smoked potato soup with lobster, the night that you are there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sharidDavie_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Do the tasting menu - Your life will change. Despite not being included in the all inclusive, it is definitely worth the extra cost. Our compliments to the chef!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mollie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passion by Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Palma Real also viewed

 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Passion by Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Palma Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing