We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Brampton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Traveled with a group of friends. tot - 5 of us
April 17-24
It was everyone's first time to punta and could honestly say we had the best time ever!!!
everyday was a new adventure .. and this resort was perfect.

Staff was really nice and funny! Got along with everyone really well. Met a lot of people and had an awesome time with!

Its basically 2 resorts combined so lots to see and you have access to 3 pools instead of just one! Lobby is spacious - Check in was great. They had put us in rooms total opposite of each other but we asked if they could be changed to right next to each other and wasn't a problem at all.
Rooms were nice. Loved how the buildings were so colourful.

The lobby was far from our rooms but the shuttle bus always came around every couple minutes so wasn't a big deal!
None of us were picky eaters so the food was very yummy - especially the pasta station.. we got that everyday.
The snack bar was awesome - right in front of the beach and open 24 hrs.. so was great when we got hungry in the middle of the night.
The creperie... omg yumm! We would go everyday after a swim!!!

We did para-sailing and the ATV (Buggy) Excursions.. really recommend those - they were a lot of fun! and got good deals on the beach - just have to be a good negotiator and you won't get ripped off :)

Went to Hard Rock Cafe resort for the Afrojack and friends RAVE it was the best night ever! Areito club is good (onsite club). Other clubs i recommend off the resort is Imagine (Cave club- you get a shuttle to be picked and dropped off) and Mangu - which is on another resort if you're willing to spend money (not far from tropical).

All in all it was a GOOOD week to remember! Wouldn't have gone anywhere else. All of us loved it.

Room Tip: Room 5425! Right in front of the bar... pool.. snack bar.. 1 minute walk to the beach!!! close to ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessHotelsRD, General Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Dear TropicalLove2014,

We are pleased to hear that you have had THE BEST TIME EVER at Tropical Princess and would like to thank you for taking out the time and sharing your feedback on tripadvisor.

Guest satisfaction is our main goal at Tropical Princess, and it is rewarding to learn that it has been achieved on this occasion.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Tropical Princess soon!

Cordially,


Federico Espinal
General Manager
Tropical Princess Beach Resort and Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    487
    171
    96
    65
See reviews for
365
418
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mason, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Upon arrival, the man at the gate made my son and I feel like criminals by questioning us and he was extremely rude to our cab driver. The front desk staff ignored us and when someone did come over, he was not pleasant. The rooms need serious updating. The beds were like brick slabs and we got no washcloths. The all inclusive food was not that great. You can eat only so many hot dogs and hamburgers. The game equipment, i.e mini golf clubs and ping pong paddles need to be replaced. I did not appreciate the sales pitch for the resort either. On a good note, the grounds were very nicely maintained and the beach and pool areas were nice. The restaurant staff and housekeeping were very nice.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel because I don't think there is one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessHotelsRD, Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Kelly B,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to express your feedback about the events you claimed to have transpired during your stay at Tropical Princess.

We anticipate that you will accept our apologies for any inconvenience that you might have encountered while under our care and trust that you understand that it was not our intention to disappoint you in any way.

In regards to the cab driver, we are sorry to hear about this incident, sometimes the extra measures are taken for the security of our clients. Nevertheless we will look into it.

Base on the comments of our food, we are quite surprised, owing that we are normally complemented for having a variety of different dishes to satisfy any person’s appetite. We are also inclined to mention that our dinners in the buffet are of different themes each evening, giving a wider assortment to choose from.

In addition, we would also like to extent our gratitude for the compliments about our hotel grounds, beach, pool areas, staff of the restaurant and housekeeping.

All in all, we hope that this has not deterred you from returning to Tropical Princess in the future.

Cordially,


Federico Espinal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

I know this hotel is listed as a 4 star but it is more like a 3 star.

Reason being is the food is just ok. You will find that there are the same foods every day, not a variety. Also, my bathroom was not great either. There were ants on the counter which were bearable but having no hot water in our shower was not. You don't normally spend much time in your room on vacation, but it would be nice to take a shower in at the minumum luke warm water, not freezing cold.

The grounds are beautiful. A big resort which makes it nice. There are different bars and restaurants although only 2 restaurants were included (must make appointment). Those two were brazilian restaurant (the best food on the resort) and a dominican restaurant (just ok).

Tropical Princess and Caribe are on the same grounds, same resort; not sure why they are listed as separate when booking my vacation.

I stayed in room 5221 (one of the stand alone buildings) and it was nice. A big room with king size bed overlooking the pool but minus the bathroom disaster.

My family stayed in the bigger buliding 3228. A good room if you're traveling with kids. The bathrooms were upgraded nicely, two separate rooms, 3 double beds, but again no hot water.

Hope my review helps.

One last thing, don't expect the greatest service either.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessHotelsRD, Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Michelle D,

We deeply appreciate the opportunity you took to express your opinions about the experience you had while at Tropical Princess and we assure you that we will be taking your feedback into consideration as we believe that there is always room for improvement.

We truly regret that you were not able to enjoy it to the fullest and we trust that you realize that it was never our intention to disappoint you, moreover we can justify that this is not the type of experience that most of our guest are met with.

On the mention of the food, we are inclined to mention that our dinners in the buffet are of different themes each evening, giving a wider assortment to choose from. Nevertheless we truly appreciate your compliments towards our Brazilian restaurant.

Yet again, we are honestly grateful for having received your feedback and we hope to receive you as a visitor at the Tropical Princess in the future.

Best Regards,


Federico Espinal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ware,england
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My Wife and I arrived on March 4th 2014 for a weeks all inclusive at this 3 Star Hotel. We found the checking -in staff below average for friendliness, and helpfulness. However ALL the other Staff were great.The food was good,Hot,good choices,and very well presented.The Chinese Restaurant gave a pleasant evening with good food ,and good service. The shops ,and Spa, were quite pricey,but offered quality. The Bar ,waiting,chamber,and cleaning Staff were all friendly,and helpful. Now for the bad bit !!!!! You couldn't go anywhere on this resort,Pool,Beach,Restaurants,etc without hearing,seeing gangs of Very loud,mostly drunk, Canadian students,who acted like drunken 5 year -olds. If this resort wants Families,and more Mature clients ,they need to think out their priorities. I would,as being in the Licensed trade for 50 years, believe these Kids drink,and eat more pro rata than anyone else. Thereby COSTING the Hotel MORE money than the other Clients. Room Tip ask for third floor,away from Main pool.

Room Tip: Third floor,away from Main swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrincessHotelsRD, Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear William L

We would like to express our appreciation for having written about your experience here at Tropical Princess and we want you to know that your opinion is very important to us.

We do appreciate your compliments about the friendliness of our staff, the food, as well as the service we provide, we are sorry to hear about the feeling you took with the front desk staff and we promise you we will look in to it.

On the mention of the Canadian students, we inform you that we always try all clients to follow the rules of the hotel and when we see any type of behaviour out of the ordinary, we constantly take the necessary measure.

All in all, we appreciate the time you dedicated to expressing your opinions and we hope to have you as a visitor at the Tropical Princess in the future.

Sincerely,


Julio Paulino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Enjoyed my time there, more importantly enjoyed the entertainment Jhony Bravo, John Cena and Puchi. Loved the relaxation of the beds on the beach. The VIP parties and the Welcome parties were amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I found the reviews I read a few weeks ago quite accurate and handy. The concencus seemed to be that overall, the resort was decent........... It was. So I don't mind writing a review if it helps people out.
As I read before going, the resort was a little dated, but the beach, which is beautiful and to food and service were more than compensatory. So the concencus of reviews was spot on. Just the way it is there.

On the negative side I was surprised to find the place over running with Russians! They kept to themselves for the most part but weren't that friendly; some were kind of ignorant, but might be a cultural thing. I thought I was at some resort on the Black sea or something. The Russian chatter was overwhelming, they seem angry even when talking to each other.

The other negative was the resorts attempt to push time shares on guests. They have their own sales agents stratigically located at the main dining hall. They know everyone shows up there sooner or later.

So the somewhat dated facility, poor air conditioning etc. combined with the time share push would prompt us to look elsewhere for our next vacation.

Room Tip: Don't ask for room on Carribean Princess side.......it's mostly university kid's in full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

the good -
ocean water was fairly warm, with fun waves to play in
the staff was awesome
the food was good
no one on the beach pressuring you to buy stuff, some walked by but they didn't harass you
best check in counter staff
everything here is "no problem"
room was cleaned well, although we did not get any extras for the tips, but happy with the clean room
the pools were beautiful, especially the one on the left, love the way you can walk into them
resort is close to the beach market
and close to a small village with local shops that you can walk to if you want, not too far
free rides to other shops in Bavaro can be arranged
free rides to Manate Park
immediate response to our call regarding our broken air conditioner
beautiful path/road through the mangrove
the shows were good, very good dancers
I didn't participate in any activities so I am not sure what was offered
but I was able to arrange to go snorkeling, a boat came right to the resort and picked me up and took me right to the reef, after stopping down the beach to pick up some others customers, we went just snorkeling - no excursion - no dancing, eating, drinking kind of excursion, that is not what i wanted, I just wanted snorkeling so I was happy I was able to do that, 35.00 US

the not so good -
the Royal staff trying to sell you vacations, be firm and say no thank-you and eventually they won't ask, no point in being rude to them, they are just trying to make a living
our patio door was very hard to open, we didn't complain so they didn't come fix it, we were too busy rushing to the beach,
sharing a pathway with the trolley was a bit of a pain
some of the staff had their own goods they tried to sell us
there is only wifi in the lobby, but i was ok with that, I was on vacation - didn't want to be on the computer all the time anyway.

Room Tip: pick a room in one of the 4 smaller buildings for quite. no long hallways to hear the noise of othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear minusbasin,

Thank you for taking the time to write to us and for sharing your kind feedback following your recent visit to Tropical Princess. We are glad to know that you had enjoyed your overall stay and that you had good experiences with our staff.

We have taken particular notice regarding the Royal staff experience, patio door as well as the other valuable comments which was forwarded to our management.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future;

Patricia Aguirre
Community Manager
community.bavaro@princess-hotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa has a Caribbean garden atmosphere with shade provided by palm trees, sinuous swimming pools, pleasant huts and all the other ingredients needed for an unforgettable holiday. The incomparable beauty of the beach in Bavaro will be found in this 4 Star hotel, 25 minutes from Punta Cana Airport, with an architecture that complements and integrates into the beautiful environment, the quietness of the spacious light gardens next to the delightful swimming pools for adults and children. Its 164 Superior Rooms and 146 Family Rooms, our Mini and Teen’s Club and minigolf area put us in the perfect place for a happy family holiday. 3 restaurants (main buffet, Dominican and Brazilian), 3 bars and 1 snack, plus the access to the bars and pool of our sister Caribe Club Princess Hotel. The entertaining "Calle Caribena" with a large variety of shops and interesting offers to do shopping more agreeable, full equipped spa, a large selection of daytime leisure activities at the pools in addition to beach activities and water sports are complemented with the access to the Princess Tower Casino (located at Bávaro Princess Hotel) and Areito Disco. Wedding Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Venere, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Princess Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Tropical Princess Beach Resort And Spa
Tropical Princess Punta Cana
Hotel Tropical Princess Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.