We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here....Vacationed here back in Summer 2009 with 3 friends
Beautiful land
Nice Beach
Beautiful People
Good food
A step above average with the hotel rooms
Entertainment at hotel great

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    314
    496
    180
    97
    68
See reviews for
382
431
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Booked my reservation with Kayak last minute. Arrived at the hotel at around 2-3 pm. Was not greeted with a drink..i guess because i would pass for a local. Jeffrey assisted me in checking in requested a nice room with a view at least, closer to the beach and so forth. He says the room is not ready yet and to grab some lunch by the beach. Well, the little tram that goes around the resort takes sooooo long that I thought i won;t make it there in time. Then have to ride all the way back to the lobby to pick up my keys. My name was spelled completely wrong and I had to correct them. Then heading to the room.. waited for the tram some more.. then finally got to the room..

Wow it says I will be in a Villa.. sounds wonderful... NOT... this room needs updating and lots of ants.. i mean the fridge only had water, soda but no alcohol... you have to pay for the safe, control did not work the first time. hmmm what else... this is the negative side.

On the positive note, i love the beach.. in my opinion, this is the best part of Punta Cana when it comes to beautiful sand, beach is wonderful. The hotel should replace some of the lounge chair.. it has been beaten up, sat on, laid on.. you name it. The beach bar is wonderful.

I heard from other tourist that they went to the 5 star hotels but the beaches they said were awful. I have been staying in just about all of the Princess Resorts, I like Tropical Princess, I just wish they gave me a nicer room and with a nice view..

I will go back to Bavaro Princess, this is where I have stayed several times since 2006.

I got plenty of sun, plenty of alcoholic beverages and met new people.

Thank you everyone.

Room Tip: ask for the modern and updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We took our two girls (9 and 11) to Punta Cana stayed at the Tropical Princess Nov. 28-Dec. 4th.
I have been to Punta Cana twice before (love it there !)
Here are my honest opinions of this Resort.

Check In:
Smooth, we were the only one`s being dropped off from the bus at that time.
The Front Desk Clerk gave me our room and directions, I asked for a room closer to the pool and she graciously accomodated us. Thanks !

Room #3136
We booked the Family Suite and it had two rooms and two bathrooms. The rooms were a little tired and dated, the shower was a little tricky to get working, the suite was quite a bit smaller than I had imagined, the TV converter didn`t work. It would have been nice if there was a tv in both rooms, but oh well.
All that being said, the room was fine, I saw no bugs in the room at all, except the odd mosquito and they were cleaned well daily. I think we had the best cleaning ladies ever. My daughters brought along their own favourite blankets and everyday the ladies would create adorable heart shapes or swans out of the blankets... the girls couldn`t wait to get back to the room to see what they did that day. Just a sweet touch. Thanks.

Beach:
Great ! beautiful, lots of waves, minimal seaweed.
Weather was great too. Sometimes it was a little cloudy, but it just made the day more comfortable, rather than constant blaring sun and heat. It rained occasionally, but almost always at night.
No problems getting beach towels in the morning.

Food:
The food was fine. They had different themes every night, Dominican, Oriental, Italian etc..so it didn`t get too repetitive. I found that the Snack restaurant at the beach had good chicken but most of the stuff was usually cold from the breeze. They should replenish it more often to try to keep it a little hotter and fresher. (fries..pizza etc.)
I regret we didn`t make it to the Creperie !
The Brazilian Restaurant (a la Carte) on the beach was fantastic! You must go there.
No Issue booking the A La Carte at all.

Service:
I found ALL the staff to be friendly and helpful.
Banana Mama drinks are the best !

Entertainment:
We all really enjoyed the shows. I have seen many before on other trips and they are just fun to go to. The entertainment staff here work do a great job entertaining at the pools and at night. I find them to be hillarious.
I would love to know where they learn to dance and stuff.. they are quite talented.

Casino:
Beautiful Casino, but the slots suck, so I was only there for an hour.

I have read on here that none of the staff speak english. I didn`t find this to be the case any more than any other Dominican or Mexican resort I have been to. Give them a break, they try and do quite well and english isn`t the only lanquage they have to try and learn !

What I really liked about this Resort was the size. It was great, especially for kids, it was big enough to stroll around and ride the trolley, but our room was close (within 5 min walk) to the beach, pool, buffet, lobby, a la carte..everything.

Loved the chickens and peacocks etc.. wandering around the property !!! We would feed them every morning after breakfast. (eek..not sure if we were supposed to do that, but nobody said anything) A couple of them would eat from our hand.
Also, look in the the little swamp ponds along the paths of the resort. Lots of fish and turtles.

Overall, it is not a 5 Star resort, but it is definitely an atmosphere for a fantastic vacation !

Room Tip: Any rooms by the pools. They are close to everything...beach, buffet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I am on my last day of a 7 day stay here so what better time to write a review! The staff goes out of their way to please and are very accommodating in every way. They are not like a lot of hotels (I have been to DR 5 times) where they require additional tips for the best service and that is a nice change. You get the usual vendors bothering you on a daily basis (the Santo Domingo vendors should NEVER be allowed on hotel property if you ask me, they are all cheats and liars) and you can barter pretty well with the flea market people. Food is, as always, pretty intolerable.
One note of warning for this hotel which I would NEVER mention about other hotels along Bavaro/White Sands Beaches: Unless you are from France, don't stay here!!! If you are from France, stay, because you are already rude, belligerent, loud, impolite, inconsiderate, self-centered, and unconcerned with the other guests’ enjoyment and you won't care if the showers work properly.
Fortunately, there was a break in the week when there were only a handful of French people here but that only lasted 2 days then another load came in. The hotel purposely caters to frogs and ALL the poolside programs are in French as the instructors apparently speak no English.
The Beach activities are non-existent other than the odd unorganized volleyball game – nothing like the other hotels along here (IFA, Iberostar and others) where there is plenty of FREE activities to join in on.
The food is very average and a lot was completely inedible….depends on your standards and if you are actually starving to death or can get by on minimal food.
All in all I gave it a 3/5 cause of the staff.

Room Tip: Stay close to the beach, get a room in the 1,000 block
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I got this resort on an awesome deal. After reading reviews I was a little scared, but didn't care because I just wanted to be away somewhere tropical. How bad could it be? Not bad at all! The food was fresh and tasty, the service was nice, and the beach was beautiful!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We went to this resort because it had family rooms (basically 2 separate rooms) and thought that this would be ideal for our 13 month old. When we arrived at the room, it was not clean and really unacceptable -- there were dead bugs (and later live ants) on cushions and on the floor. In addition, we wrote on the itinerary and told the check in people to have a crib ready since it was night and we wanted to put our little one to sleep. No crib was in the room and we had to call to remind them an hour later. They also promised they'd clean the room that night and no one came. This was the beginning of the problems we experienced with the hotel concierge. They were not helpful and they made empty promises. That night we couldn't even hear ourselves talk because of the noise coming from the disco, we were in building #20 facing the buffet and disco. The hallways of the building echo so there was a lot of noise from inside the building as well. I couldn't sleep and neither could my 13 month old. It was like this every night (we would just sit up and wait until the show was over so we could sleep at 11pm). After our terrible first nights' stay, at 7:30 am the next morning, I went back to the concierge to ask for a room change. They promised a room change at 2pm, we were in the room and called at 2:30 and they said no room change was scheduled. We waited in the room until 6pm that day (a total waste of a day) and still no one came. Finally the bellhop came to show us a new room which was the exact same room 3 doors down on the same, noisy side of the building. At this point we were heart broken. We gave up. We can’t imagine why they’d put family rooms across from a buffet and disco, they should be in the villas where it was quiet. A few days later we had ants crawling over everything including the baby spoons, bottles, etc. (which I cleaned daily). The maids didn't start cleaning the room properly until about Day 5. The room had an AC unit that was so loud, it'd wake us up, just clicking and banging and not working properly as it'd get hot. Oh and I forgot to mention that we didn't have any warm or hot water in the room until Day 2 in the evening. The repair guy magically turned it on for us.

On Day 5 my baby got very sick with a fever and diarrhea from the hotel food and I was sick as well. I was careful with the food I gave to my baby but it seemed that it might have been the fruit that did it. The buffet food was not very good and we are not picky eaters. We are from Ontario and were hoping to meet some fun Ontario people there but with no such luck. The guests only spoke French from Quebec and the remaining guests were Russian. It seems like this resort was accommodating to all the Quebec residents who had their own activities, pool area, and other events. It didn't feel like any of the other resorts I've been to in the past. The disco/show was a joke. The pools were very dirty. We made the best of the trip despite the hotel being horrible. We liked the beach but the waves were pretty rough and our motorcycle trip into the city and the time we spent as a family.

This is my first bad review on trip advisor and the Tropical Beach Princess Resort definitely deserves this bad review. Sunwing vacations should remove this hotel from their lists or seriously drop their star ratings as it is not a 4 star hotel. I’d give it 2 stars. We paid $1105 pp incl. taxes for the family suite and would love Sunwing to give us some money back. The Sunwing agent at the hotel was not able to help in getting us a better room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

This was one of the worst hotels I've stayed at in all my years of traveling have I not experienced such harassment by staff if your a young female this is not a place to go
Also there are locals who stay here its seems on the weekend they take over the hotel. Not a safe place beware the sliding doors don't even Lock

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa has a Caribbean garden atmosphere with shade provided by palm trees, sinuous swimming pools, pleasant huts and all the other ingredients needed for an unforgettable holiday. The incomparable beauty of the beach in Bavaro will be found in this 4 Star hotel, 25 minutes from Punta Cana Airport, with an architecture that complements and integrates into the beautiful environment, the quietness of the spacious light gardens next to the delightful swimming pools for adults and children. Its 164 Superior Rooms and 146 Family Rooms, our Mini and Teen’s Club and minigolf area put us in the perfect place for a happy family holiday. 3 restaurants (main buffet, Dominican and Brazilian), 3 bars and 1 snack, plus the access to the bars and pool of our sister Caribe Club Princess Hotel. The entertaining "Calle Caribena" with a large variety of shops and interesting offers to do shopping more agreeable, full equipped spa, a large selection of daytime leisure activities at the pools in addition to beach activities and water sports are complemented with the access to the Princess Tower Casino (located at Bávaro Princess Hotel) and Areito Disco. Wedding Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Princess Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Tropical Princess Beach Resort And Spa
Tropical Princess Punta Cana
Hotel Tropical Princess Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.