We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time there, still loving it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“3rd time there, still loving it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our 3rd time at this hotel and my whole family love it there. We keep going back to the resort as the people working at the resort are very friendly and are always eager to please you.

Rooms: The rooms need some renovations but then it is not a major issue as it is only used at night time only. We had 3 different problems with our room during our 3 weeks stay but Aneudy and Francisco from guest services were amazing and very effective at getting the problems fixed right away. Once the handyman was there in 5 mins and the other times, the problems were fixed when we were not even in the room but enjoying ourselves on the beach. But the problems were fixed the same day.

Beach: Beautiful white sand beach. There are many waves but my children loved them.

Food: We had no problem finding something to eat with the variety of food offered at the buffet. It was always nice to go eat at the buffet where our servers, Ambrorix, Miguel, Wilson and Wanel would always welcome us with a big smile and making sure that we have something to drink. The resort offers food 24 hrs a day. For lunch we would always eat at the snack bars where they offer you hamburgers, baked chicken, fried chicken, pizza, salad, french fries or the creperie where you could have crepes with cheese and chicken and their amazing cheesesauce.

Animation: DJ Wander and DJ Junior are very friendly and they made our stay enjoyable. The music they played always get everyone dancing. Luigi and Ludo, from animation were very good at entertaining us by making us laugh all the time.

Bars: Josue, Gorge, Francisco and Obama are very nice and friendly bartenders. They always welcome you with a big smile and they always remembered our usual drinks. They are also very fast at serving.

We will definitely go back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCP2012, Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Marie,

We are truly thrilled to read about the wonderful experience you had on your most recent stay here at Tropical Princess.

We are also exceptionally glad to learn that the issues you encountered were resolved in a timely fashion to your satisfaction. In addition, it fills us with great pride to receive you compliments about our hotel, food and personnel, please be assured that your special recognition to Aneudy & Francisco (Guest Service), Ambiorix, Miguel, Wilson & Wanel (Restaurant), DJ Wander, DJ Junior, Luigi & Ludo (Animation), Josue, Gorge, Obama & Antonio (Bar) will be passed on to their person.

We would sincerely like to thank you for taking the opportunity to air your thoughts about our hotel and we will be more than happy to offer you a warm welcome on your next visit to the Princess Hotels.

Yours Truly,

Julio Paulino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    537
    200
    113
    73
See reviews for
414
457
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Not for english speakers. everything is in Spanish. Staff do not speak any english.
Grounds are great. Well kept. Rooms and overall amenaties, terrible!! Smelly, dirty, just nasty!!! Cleaning staff rude, I guess due to the language barrier.

Would not go there again, nor recommend that anyone go there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCP2012, Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Dear Tina,

Thank you for taking the opportunity in airing your feedback about your stay here at our hotel Tropical Princess.

In regards to your comments about the language barrier, please allow me to clarify that while there are a few that may only speak Spanish, for example in the case of our housekeeping staff, in all other departments there is a great majority that speak English for it is a natural requirement at our resort.

In reference to the cleanliness, we would like to specify that our cleaning services work around the clock to maintain our hotel tidy at all times, nevertheless we wish to express that it was never our intention to disillusion you at any moment during your holiday and we hope that this experience will not deter you from returning in the future to the Princess Hotels.

Respectfully,

Julio Paulino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Gorgeous complex and the apartments are roomy.
5 of our party fell ill on day 2 of 14 and remained unwell for the duration. Many people complaining of upset stomachs. Being ill meant we couldn't go on any trips.
Not a great deal to deal in the evening. Would recommend the casino. Take the casino buggy to it..
Thomson Rep was never there and we actually only saw him once at our rep meeting.
Beach is gorgeous but does have lots of seaweed on the sand.
Leaky and blocked shower was reported to reception 3 times and never got fixed during our 2 weeks stay.
If i was spending £1400 on another holiday per person it wouldn't be to this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCP2012, Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very grateful that you took the opportunity to describe your stay here at Tropical Princess and we would like to specify that it was never our intention to disappoint you in anyway.

We are sorry to hear about some of the members in your group having certain stomach issues during your stay, we would like to point out when mentioning the hygiene and cleanliness of our hotel that we are evaluated and inspected monthly by an international company called E-Cristal which is recognized worldwide, however we honestly hope that they have fully recovered and are feeling much better.

In reference to the evening activities, we inform you that we have live shows every night in the main theater after there is usually entertainment held in the lobby until 11:00 p.m. and then the disco opens and last until 5:00 a.m.

On the mention of the Thomson Rep, please be assured that we will be informing their main offices about your concern in hopes to avoid any further inconveniences.

We are truly regretful to have learnt about the technical situation that you had reported 3 times and it was never fixed, we understand that this was an isolated matter which does not represent the normal process flow of our resort.

All in all, we wish to thank you for the compliments on the complex, beach and roominess of our accommodations. We trust that this experience does not deter you from returning in the future to the Princess Hotels.

Sincerely,

Julio Paulino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The family suite was very comfortable for my family of 5. It can accommodate a family of 6 with ease. The beds where comfortable and was able to sleep without problems.
The food was tasty and the selection was there.
The beach during this time of year has seaweed but we expected it. There many waves but my two older kids aged 5 and 7 loved it. The pools where also used and the kids had a great time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCP2012, Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear Mike,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to describe your stay here at Tropical Princess and we are thrilled to have learnt that you and your family had a great time.

We deeply appreciate your comments towards our hotel and the fact that you felt comfortable in our family suite. It is always refreshing to hear that we were able to meet the expectations of our guests due to this being our main goal.

Once more, we are gratified by your compliments and we hope that you chose the Princess Hotels on your next holiday in the Caribbean.

Sincerely,

Julio Paulino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Everything was amazing. I loved it. But i stayed the week of July 24th 2012 and half the hotel was kids from a baseball teams so my question is what competition was it and what was going on? my son got really interested. What teams played?

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCP2012, Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Monica,

We are thrilled to have learnt that you had such an amazing vacation with us at Tropical Princess since our main objective is to surpass our guest’s expectations.

In reference to your question, during the period you were residing in the Dominican Republic, there was a celebration of a tournament for the League called Punta Cana Baseball League; they hosted teams from Mexico, Venezuela, Puerto Rico, Miami and the Dom. Rep. itself. For more information you can access their webpage puntacanabl.com.

Once more, we thank you for your feedback and we hope to receive you as a guest again at the Princess Hotels.

Respectfully,

Julio Paulino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We, a family of 5, went on a last minute trip to this hotel from July17-24. We had a great time. Really loved the location of the resort. Food was good, just enough for 4 stars.Have to try the La Creperie for crepes, ice cream, shakes. Very Good!! Bars were well equipped, bartenders nice. Only staff at photo booth and the activity booth were disconnected and uninterested treating any question a waste of their time. All other employees were great. Reception area and staff were very friendly and courtious.Beach towels were not so easy to get, usually out. We had ours for 4 days before we got hold of fresh ones. No problem with lounge chairs, always found some to sit on. Check in, check out easy. Transfer to and from airport about 25 min. I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. Everything was as expected, it sure gave us 4 stars, did not expect more or less. Kids used the teen club, liked to play pool and learn archery. Nightly shows were so, so. A little boring, but maybe we have seen too many of these.
Pools were great, one really nice with lots of shady spots. I would return and recommend to friends. We got no mosquitoe bites, that was great. Water both in the Sea and pools was just amazing.We got a family suite with 3 beds and 2 bathrooms - that was a welcomed bonus with a 5 member family! Rooms were basic, more on the smaller side, but sufficient and comfortable. The air conditioner was quiet, but not too cool, the ceiling fans helped. The maid was super fast and room was always made up early. When you take a stroll and turn left on the beach, keep going for about 10-15 minutes, you'll get to all the beach shops. If you go in the morning you get better deals. In the late afternoons they don't really go down in price for merchandise. Some vendors at the hotel on 2 nights, not a problem, but they are pushy just like everywhere. There are shops near the lobby, but beware:Very expensive! But they have all the necessities you might need, be prepared to pay triple or quadruple the worth compared to a wal-mart. Overall very good experience!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCP2012, Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is very elevating to read your very detailed and honest description about your experience here at Tropical Princess and we are glad to have been a part of the memorable vacation you had.

We would like to thank you for complimenting on the food we prepare, the Creperie which we pride ourselves for, our bars and bartenders who work hard to give our guests the best and our staff who go above and beyond daily.

On the mention of the beach towels, we truly apologize and we wish to express our interest to improve this service.

On the topic of the photo booth and it’s staff, we regret having to hear about the attitude they demonstrated and we assure you that your comments will be passed on to the main offices with the expectation of avoiding any future issue.

Once again, we appreciate the opportunity you took to air your opinions about your stay with us and we await your next visit to the Princess Hotels.

Yours Truly,

Julio Paulino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

stayed here in august of 2010 with my girlfriend. we had an amazing time, food was great, beach was awesome. staff was very nice. not a single complaint about the trip except 2 nights they allow vendors to come in an sell stuff in the middle of the resort. we found some to be very pushy and were worried they would follow us back to our room so we always went out the back way and avoided it after that. i would love to go back! we sat in on the beach right next to the bar!
oh and when they fill your fridge with drinks put them in your bag before you leave that way you get a full refill and can enjoy some drinks in your room later!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCP2012, Manager at Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure to read about the great experience you had with us here at Tropical Princess.

We appreciate the fact that you thought the food was great and that our staff was very nice, we hope to continue to provide such satisfying service to all guests.

We would like to apologize for the vendors and their behavior, please be assured that internally we will be taking the necessary measures in attempt to eliminate this issue while in the mean time, passing on your comments to their main office to avoid any future inconveniences.

Once again, we thank you for your compliments on our hotel and we hope to expect you in the near future at the Princess Hotels.

Best Regards,

Julio Paulino
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro | Playa Arena Gorda, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa has a Caribbean garden atmosphere with shade provided by palm trees, sinuous swimming pools, pleasant huts and all the other ingredients needed for an unforgettable holiday. The incomparable beauty of the beach in Bavaro will be found in this 4 Star hotel, 25 minutes from Punta Cana Airport, with an architecture that complements and integrates into the beautiful environment, the quietness of the spacious light gardens next to the delightful swimming pools for adults and children. Its 164 Superior Rooms and 146 Family Rooms, our Mini and Teen’s Club and minigolf area put us in the perfect place for a happy family holiday. 3 restaurants (main buffet, Dominican and Brazilian), 3 bars and 1 snack, plus the access to the bars and pool of our sister Caribe Club Princess Hotel. The entertaining "Calle Caribena" with a large variety of shops and interesting offers to do shopping more agreeable, full equipped spa, a large selection of daytime leisure activities at the pools in addition to beach activities and water sports are complemented with the access to the Princess Tower Casino (located at Bávaro Princess Hotel) and Areito Disco. Wedding Packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Princess Beach Resort And Spa
Tropical Princess Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Tropical Princess Punta Cana
Hotel Tropical Princess Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Princess Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.