We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all right” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“It's all right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Eh . . it's just alright
I literally just got back. I stayed a week here [Sat - Sat.]. By Thursday I was ready to go home. Where to begin . . . . You really need to know a fair amount of Spanish here or you won't feel at all comfortable. The grounds are constantly kept up and the place doesn't look bad for its age. The FOOD AND the DRINKS SUCK! All domestic, cheap domestic! Example, hot dogs and hamburgers were not even eaten by anyone even after after they placed them on their plates. The hamburgers are like tire rubber and the hot dogs had all kinds of meat pieces that you can see when bitten into but the flavor was nasty! Most foods in the morning for breakfast were actually still sitting in the serving dishes well into lunch. A lot of the breakfast and lunch offerings did not not appear appetizing enough to even sample. By the way, you will find the same hot dogs and hamburgers at the lunch buffet AND dinner buffet. Staff is friendly and helpful. Upon chech-in I was upgraded to a Jr. Suite. I feel sorry then for those who opted for a regular room. My 'suite' was worn - bed linens were as thin as toilet paper, furnishings were from the 80's ----nothing like the photos. I'm glad I didn't have to pay extra. Other than the beach and pool there is absolutely nothing to do after dinner. Unless you bring along a language translator don't even bother to go to the nightly 'show'. Lastly, the beach sand is NOT white as advertised and the ocean is full of seaweed and 'wood' chips/splinters. BTW, after you get your drink from the pool bar swim away fast. Most people that sit on the pool stools at the bar don't leave for hours . . . why else would you think the water is so warm near the bar! Spend a little more money and stay elsewhere where their staff know more English and the food is edible and the drinks enjoyable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments about Caribe Club Princess. All reviews, either good or bad are taken in much consideration by our management.

Best regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    860
    374
    203
    153
See reviews for
617
809
47
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, On Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is an old resort needing some TLC (more 20 years). I will not go back. Save your money! no hot water, no water at all. insects in the room, dirt old overly used mattress, mold mold mold every where. Read the reviews! Get smart!

Room Tip: I did not see the Spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are deeply sadden to hear about the experience you had and we wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. Our responsible managers have been informed about it.

Kind regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great staff ever. Great hospitality. Would definitely stay their again. Alot of loving animals good for the kids. Beach is beautiful.food is really good. Alot of activities for kids and adults. Would recommend for everyone to go

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent stay at Caribe Club Princess and fror passing on your positive feedback. We are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time during your stay.

We hope to welcome you back to the our hotel in the near future and wish you all the best.

Warm regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 weeks in July and had the best time. The hotel itself is amazing and decorated tastefully to Dominican style. The main lobby is huge with some shops nearby and the evening entertainment stage, then there is a 10 min stroll (through lovely forests, with turtles in the ponds and lots of tropical birds) or a 2 min shuttle bus ride to your room. The room was large, comfy bed not many toiletries though, and the balcony was very small. There are 3 pools all of which are a large size, though not very deep, and located right by the beach which has plenty of sunbeds and lovely white sand and palm trees. There are 5 restaurants all of which were really tasty, the mexican was our favourite. Always plenty of food at breakfast lunch and dinner and always varied and tasteful. Staff didn't have very good english so sometimes communication was limited, although they tried hard and cannot fault them, service with a smile always. Evening entertainment was ok, some nights better than others. All inclusive option is ideal and rum and cokes are extremely strong! We done a few excursions whilst here and I would recommend swimming with the dolphins and quadbiking through back roads to a private beach and a natural cave. Amazing! Loved the Dominican and this hotel fitted the bill. Thanks for a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to post a review on TripAdvisor. We are truly delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your overall stay with us and were pleased with the service and facilities available at the hotel. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guests and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawkesbury, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We travelled to this resort last February, nice resort , nice beach,good food, friendly staff....MANAGER A NO SHOW if you have problems.... We stayed in VIP ROOM on ground floor, moldy smell when you walked in, by day 3, I saw resort doctor and took ambulance ride ,was hospitalized with chest infection , 105 FEVER, HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE, stayed one night,WENT BACK TO RESORT WITH MEDICATIONS. EVERYDAY....my husband went to front desk to speak to manager....A NO SHOW....we asked to be switched rooms , they offered a change morning I was leaving for hospital in ambulance,, they did not save us the room , so when I came back out, went back to OUR MOLDY ROOM til last day at 3pm, that's when we were offered a switch, I said NO ....WERE LEAVING IN MORNING ...YOUR TOO LATE. I was ill, and at this point figured one more night was nt going to make difference.i was on antibiotics, and and 4 other kinds of NEW medications. There was mold on bathroom walls,, bedroom walls,, lampshades, and box spring. And in AC VENT, Last night there RAIN STORM CAME IN ....3AM....FLOODED HALLWAYS 2 INCHES OF RAIN!!! Now I know why ground level floor room are molded. Our friends on 2nd floor , did nt have this problem. Came back to Canada, complained to our travel agent and Sunwing, OUR RECOMPENSE?? A 75 $ VOUCHER EACH... and a up grade to HONEYMOON SUITE. but we have to pay again to go back???? NO THANKS. To the manager, humidifiers in each room.....WOULD TAKE CARE OF HUMIDITY AND MOLD.... and the jungle [ TROPICAL PLANTS] outside room 2126.....remove that and close roof.....ground level would not FLOOD.....came back to Canada a very sick lady....remained on blood pressure medication 6 extra weeks after vacation. Im very disappointed in your MANAGER SKILLS.... you should of come to our room and seen what the problem was!!!! Mrs D. Desjardins.

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd floor...........OR ELSE.........
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are investigating these unfortunate issues directly with the hotel management.

We apologize for the inconveniences.

Kind regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just got back a couple of days ago. We were supposed to stay at their sister resort the tropical princess, but because of low occupancy everyone was housed at the caribe. I will start with what was good. The beach was without a doubt the highlite of our vacation, it has everything you could ask for, soft white powdery sand, lots of loungers and palapas, clean water with no rocks and nice little waves rolling in and a beach bar just steps away from the water.You will be hard pressed to find a better beach anywhere in the carribean. Next,all the staff, from the bar, to the front desk, to the buffet, were very friendly and attentive to all your needs. I should also mention that the pools were well maintained daily and also had lots of loungers and palapas. Now for the not so good. First the food, the breakfast was the best meal of the day with the usual fare of options although if you like bacon in the morning you are out of luck because there is none to be found. Lunch and supper were just plain not good. The meats were as tough as shoe leather, hard to cut let alone chew, also buffet had very limited selections. The only good thing I can say about the buffet was the pasta bar where you can create your own dish but who wants to eat pasta every lunch and dinner,and the snack bar was no better. There are two ala carte restos which are not any better, there are other restos on site but they are not included and come at a cost of 11$ to 36$ per person, they are all good as that is where we ate everynight although it did add 200$ to our cost for the week but after seeing what was being served at the buffet we were more than happy to pay the extra. Our room was on the third floor which was ok but when it rained water would leak from the roof and run down the walls, and because the roof was made of metal the rain made it so loud you could not sleep. The shows we went to at night were just plain boring, after 3 we just stopped going. There is a disco that opens at 11pm, but as of 12 you must pay for your drinks and they are not cheap, I.E. beer 6$. There is a mangrove in between the lobby and the rooms which would have been nice to walk through except for the nasty smell and the blood sucking mosquitos,( my wife and I have about 50 bites each). So in summary if you don't mind poor quality food and having to pay for some extras this might be for you if you can get it at a cheap price but if you are looking for any type of quality look somewhere else. Hope this helps, and if you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Room Tip: Only accept second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your detailed feedback on our TripAdvisor page. It is with constructive and valuable feedback such as yours that we was a hotel and as a team can learn and improve.

Best regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north bay on canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

my cousin and I stayed at the Caribe Club Vip February 2013. Upon arrival, the porter could not unlock our room with the assigned keys so one of the two porters used his master key to let us in and left.
Apparently the hotel policy is to have new keys sent to the guest but by 8 p.m we still had not received the keys so we went to the lobby to get them. I also mentioned that the porter had kept the originals. Upon returning to Ottawa, we noticed that our money was missing from our wallets. She had about $700.00 and I had $150.00 the wallets were put in the safe and removed the night before departure. As seasoned travelers I immediately contacted Sunwing to let them know what had happened. Five months later the manager of the caribe hotel responded by saying that if we had misplaced ..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to write this review. We are investigating this unfortunate issue directly with the hotel management.

We apologize for the inconvenience.

Kind regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Dominican Republic, the famous Higuey beach, and in an area where the beauty of the countryside and the delightful crystalline water, combined with fine and delicate sand, leave visitors with a strong feeling of pleasure and an exceptional sensation of relaxation and peace. Feelings which reveal never-ending possibilities as we stay in one of the marvellous Royal Suites, or allow ourselves to be seduced by the charming Honeymoon Suites, all of which include all conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort And Spa
Caribe Club Princess Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Caribe Hotel Punta Cana
Caribe Hotel Princess
Caribe Club Princess Punta Cana
Caribe Club Princess Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.