We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, horrible hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dirty, horrible hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

i went to this hotel for the last week of june and the first week of july with myself and 5 other people. firstly i would like to say about the language barrier which at every point of the holiday made a massive different in the way we were treated. if we wanted anything done the fact that there was no english spoken put a brick wall up on everything and if the odd person did speak english it was s broken i got "no comprende' all the time. The pool was dirty and full of loud local people who have no people skills at all and pushed shoved and shouted all day with no respect for anyone who has paid to be there this was only on the weekend thurs-mon the rest of the time tues-thurs it was peaceful and pleasant to relax there. for some strange reason they put the pool games on at 4/5 pm when any normal person would like to chill out in there rooms even nap. the toilets in the hole place where dirty and uncleaned by anyone all day with unflushed and blocked toilets with no soap and most of the time no water. the room was the worst part of the hotel the zircon wasn't that cold and the room was very damp which made the bed damp and feel horrible, in the washroom was bad aswell wit holes in the mirror seal with ants and bugs living in them, limescale all around the fixing and the shower with the water working only in the evening. about 80% of the time there was no water at all and in the 20% the cold water wasn't working. the cleaners where rude and spoke no english and tended to barge in the room with no knock and when they came in the half hearty cleaned with dirty mops and never restocked the fridge which we paid for in the all inclusive and needed to use to brush out teeth. when they cleaned the floor they just chucked dirty water on it and mopped it around the room. The reception was no better if u had a problem they were to quick to put u on hold for 5-10 mins and when they answered to English spoken, i had a drama with my booking on the last day and they tried kicking me out the room a day early it only took me to raise my voice and spend the whole of the next day proving my booking after being talked to like a thief. its not all doom and gloom the beach was very nice with enough loungers for everyone and friends beach staff serving drink, but the beach towels where in very short supply with them running out all day and kept saying com back in 25 mins all day. in summary i don't think i would go back to the hotel again in a hurry fi the rooms were upgraded and the staff where managed better with correct training i would happy go back as i did enjoy myself with friends i just felt the cleanest part was the sun lounger, the guest services women was rely good and helped out abit but its hard for her to keep apologising for the mistakes of her management

Room Tip: just don't go here the rooms were not good rooms or anything if u do want to then get a room awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are deeply sadden to hear about the experience you had and we wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. Our responsible managers have been informed about it.

Kind regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,083 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    657
    773
    331
    185
    137
See reviews for
548
705
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Was at Caribe Princess from June 10-17 in room 2110.

Beautiful and clean resort surrounded by lovely birds and nature, the grounds are beautiful and well kept. Bed was very comfortable, AC worked well, room was always clean (tipped every day) and we never ran out of drinks in the fridge. But the hotels seem to have many issues with the pluming as we encountered a few problems during the week. A quick call to the front desk though would resolve the issues except for one…Water was leaking from the bathroom ceiling and we were told it had something to do with the shower from the room above. We didn’t want to bother with changing rooms (even if it wasn’t offered to us) and weren’t going to spend our time calling and waiting in the room for the issue to be fixed so we just lived with it, lol! Left a few towels on the floor and sink to soak up the water and didn’t let it bother us. Also I would like to mention that our maid was very honest and trustworthy as we left our safe key in the lock and forgot to take it out on our 1st morning.
When we got back to the room (after lunch) we had already figured out our mistake and were quite frantic to not find the key where it was left. Our room had been cleaned but there was no note from the maid to where our safe key was. I found one of the cleaning ladies near our room and asked her to locate our maid and explained the situation to her. We were told that the hotel policy when staff finds a safe key is too call security even if the key is left in the room and they bring it to the front lobby. So we walked to the front lobby explained the situation and after a few calls were made we were told to go back to our room and a hotel manager with a security guy would meet us there to give us back our key. They had made an inventory of everything that was in our safe and wanted us to verify and confirm that nothing was missing, which was the case. I was so grateful that our maid was honest that I gave her a nice tip to thank her afterwards.

I will ''shorten'' the rest of my experience and resume the good and bad:
THE BEST BUFFET SERVICE I’ve ever had on a trip! The staff is friendly, quick and you never have to wait long for coffee in the morning or drinks in the evening. The food is good and there are plenty of varieties to choose from. If you want the best and friendliest service ever, just ask for YONATHAN or Jonathan Raphael Sanchez. Yonathan from Puerta Plata took very good care of us. Would always remember the drinks we liked, made sure we had everything we needed and was a great pleasure to talk to. The restaurants a la carte were o.k. (loved the Mexican) but it is hard to beat the great service, pleasant ambiance and good food from the buffet.

I kept the BAD for last…What I really disliked from Caribe is the constant pressure to buy from the merchants and vendors on the resort and beach. Because of that I don’t think I will go back there .If you are a couple you will get approached from representatives of Club Holiday Vacation. Is it worth it to become a member? I don’t know…but PRESSURING YOU TO DECIDE RIGHT NOW as it is a one-time offer only is wrong! Also do not buy alcool fom the hotel shops, they will rob you blind! I paid doubled the price of what a bottle of Brugal is worth. Instead go see Rapahel one of the excursions sale representative. He is very nice, professional and won’t pressure you to book anything. He will also reserve for you to be picked up at the hotel to go shopping at a mall 15 min away from the hotel at no charge. That is the place to buy your alcohol, very cheap and much more variety to choose from. And last, THE BEACH…Guess the rain season is the worst time to book a vacation as I only went in the water twice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay. We are pleased that you had a good experience at Caribe Club Princess and that our staff provided an excellent service.

We have taken particular notice to your comments, which have been forwarded to our management.

We look forward to your next stay with us and extend a warm welcome back when you next visit Punta Cana.

Warmest regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Myself, my boyfriend and two other couples have just returned from Caribe club princess Punta Cana and have very mixed reveiws about our stay the hotel itself was lovely right on the beach and every time we went there we were able to get loungers also at the pool except for weekends when ALOT!!! of locals visit which made it very hard to relax as they were very rude and loud also on many occasions we were woken at 5am by drunken teens coming home from nights out! the food was good breakfast has alot of lovely fresh fruits freashly made omlettes. we tried a few of the alcart places the mexican being the best and we visited it twice it was my birthday whislt out there and the mexican made me a lovely cake with my name on it the beach bar is a great place for drinks in the evening and met lots of friendly guests we also went to a club called Imagine which was in a cave!! we paid $60 for a free bar and shuttle bus too a from and were able to go back any night after free of charge which was alot of fun with good music they offer a VIP package for $200 which luckily we didnt book as it was not worth it at all there were just tiny seats at the edge of the dance floor ladies wear comfortable shoes as some of the floor is a bit uneven. Our room on the other hand was awful out balcony door didnt lock and out bathroom was disgusting no door on our shower and lime scale everywhere!!!and looked like it hadnt been cleaned in months. There was quite a big language barrier one day we used the laundry service and the guys spoke no english at all!! they even tipped out dirty clothes out on the floor outside our room to count them so everyone walking past could see our dirty clothes we had to call reception to translate and we found when calling them they would put you on hold very quickly for no reason! on our last day two hours before check out there was no water not even cold so couldnt have a shower before going home. our Rep Johnny was great was very helpful and tried to solve our issues we had. The animation team were good we saw a few shows though most of it wasnt in english were still fun to watch the animation team do activites by the pool but at really strange times from 4.30 till 6.00 so if you room is by the main pool and you like too nap before the evening its impossible as its very loud!! on the resort there is a time share sales place a guy named juan who pestered us most of the time we were there wanting us to come for a meeting which we heard from another family was two hours long and when they said there went interested were called cheap!!!! most of the staff were lovely polite and helpful especially Walli at the pool bar who made sure your cup was never empty although they dont make it very clear about check out and after waiting for 15 mins had to ring to get out cases picked up . Overall we enjoyed our trip to the dominican and would go back but too a different hotel next time>

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We regret to learn that your stay was not up to your expectations, for which we would like to present our sincere apologies for any inconvenience.

Your observations and opinions are appreciated, as they enable us to assess the standard of our facilities and services and monitor our success in meeting guests needs and expectations.

Feedback is always important as it is a vital way of reviewing the level of service and facilities we provide our guests so as to make improvements.

Best regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We got married here because we have been here before. I wuld not say it is a 4 star more like a 3 star. im not getting into huge problems but one thing i will say. On the weekend they open the resort to the locals. This is BRUTAL. Alot of the guest would stay in their room for the weekend. it had 3 pools all were packed and dirty. The kids destroy the buffet as if they have never eaten before. I will not be coming back for this main reason. pretty good gym for dom rep

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing your review. We are deeply sadden to hear about the experience you had and we wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences.

We hope you will reconsider and visit again thereby giving us the opportunity to allow you to rediscover our beautiful property in a new light.

Best regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

amazing hotel ,very big with great service excellent restaurant and good food the staff is really friendly and are willing to go the extra mile to please you. I enjoyed my stay is this hotel and I will recommend every body to stay their its an excellent choose. I want to thank the house keeping team because they really do a good job no matter what time we leave the room when we come beck it was clean.

Room Tip: the higher floors room have less noise, but its a great hotel and the rooms are clean and comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your comments following your stay with us here at the Caribe Club Princess All Suites Resort & Spa.

We are pleased you had a delightful stay and the service given by our staff was up to your satisfaction.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

One word..... HORRIBLE.
no hot water in room
Shower was broken
Cockroaches
No room service-were repeatedly hung up on
Phone in room was broken upon arrival, however we were threatened by front desk that if we did not pay for new phone that they would hold our tickets! Yes, not let us leave.
SAVE YOUR $$$$$$ and go elsewhere!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are deeply sadden to hear about the experience you had and we wish to extend our sincere apologies for the inconveniences. Our responsible managers have been informed about it.

Kind regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having booked this holiday nearly 6 months ago, I read alot of reviews before i went and i believe people from different countries have different expectations. Upon arrival though it was what i expected. Firstly this is not a four star resort, It is definitely a three star. The rooms do let it down as they are a bit tired, however the room we ended up in was fine after changing as was offered at check in. We ended up in 1357, which has brilliant views but is over the beach cafe/restaurant and 24 hour bar. We thought we may struggle with noise from these but actually we didnt. Hot water was fine but pressure was low at times, beds were fine and comfortable.
The food was varied although after 4-5 days i was starting to get fed up with it. We only tried the mexican and the italian which were okay. The staff are brilliant and cannot be faulted, always smiling and warm and friendly. We tipped alot, a couple of bucks here and there, I dont think they earn alot and have long shifts.
The grounds are kept beautiful and are very pleasurable to walk around especially going to the reception bar through the mangrove gardens.
Johnny was a rep and is a great guy, will do anything to help you. Although, Thomsons trying to charge $25 for a trip to plaza real shopping centre when there is a free shuttle bus every 2 hours is a blatant rip off. It is not allowed to come on the hotel but will pick up from the main gate, ask at reception for times, it is about 15 min trip, there is a supermarket, designer clothes stores and gift shops as well as a hard rock cafe that served food I so longed for after a week out here. I also did the half day fishing trip which was okay but this day, no bites or fish caught, just one of those days I guess.
This was our first all inclusive holiday and for what we paid it was good value I think. It was relaxing which was what i needed and I truly unwound, but I probably wont go back but thats more me than the hotels fault, Just not enough to do for me but overall a good vacation in a friendly hot country that looks just as the postcards do. If you book here just dont expect four star in respect of the rooms and you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: 1357 has fantastic views but is second floor but not a real issue, is good exercise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management-BavaroP, Community Manager at Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a pleasure to host you and it is a great satisfaction to know that you were fully satisfied.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards,

Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Dominican Republic, the famous Higuey beach, and in an area where the beauty of the countryside and the delightful crystalline water, combined with fine and delicate sand, leave visitors with a strong feeling of pleasure and an exceptional sensation of relaxation and peace. Feelings which reveal never-ending possibilities as we stay in one of the marvellous Royal Suites, or allow ourselves to be seduced by the charming Honeymoon Suites, all of which include all conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort And Spa
Caribe Club Princess Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Caribe Hotel Punta Cana
Caribe Hotel Princess
Caribe Club Princess Punta Cana
Caribe Club Princess Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.