We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Ranked #60 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would not return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We took our 2 Grandaughters Because there was so much for kids to do. they are 12 and 14. the team is all students and most of the games were Adult and they spoke little or no English. my wife and I thought we could lie by the pool and relax but you are pestered every 5 Min by tour people and something called Royal . The food in the specialty Rest Mexican - I ordered Steak and could not even cut it next night we went to Italian my Grandaughters ordered Cannalonie and cut into it and it Cracked No Cooked my wife had spagettie Dish again not cooked. We had a third reservation and we did not go. Food was plain and repeditive at Buffett but average.
We were there on V I P good idea and worth the extra , Nice Room great Maid service except for 2 Days out maid was off . Grounds are very clean and they spend 2 Hrs every morning cleaning the pool.
Beach was good. Train service around the resort was very good and arrived often. If you have any problems go to the front Desk and at the client services is a young lady named HILDA don't forget that name she is the Best and then some. She is in my opinion the reason the resort is still operatingShe gets it solved PRONTO.
We go to Punta Cana every year and stay elsewhere and will return to our other place next year.

Room Tip: Go Vip for good choice of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    807
    344
    195
    148
See reviews for
584
755
45
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I recently stayed her for two weeks from 06/04/13-20/04/13. We booked the holiday for my boyfriends mothers birthday so it was supposed to be a nice relaxing well deserved holiday, there was 5 of us in total staying at the resort. My boyfriends parents and auntie traveled out before us on the 03/04/13 and when we arrived they told us they had had nothing but bother. They had already moved rooms with a bit of hassle as the reception staff weren't going to let them. Their first room we were told the paint was coming off the walls the room was dark and had no natural light about it at all. Their second room ended up being far worse. They had bed bugs and all three of them got bitten his father was the worse he counted over 100 bites just on one leg. One night they woke up after them feeling them crawling over them and seen them on the headboard. His auntie moved in with us because she couldn't take staying in that room, they ended up sleeping fully dressed and on top of the covers. As for our "rep" he was a nightmare he basically ripped us off for tours and we ended up getting one of the trips for more then half the price he was offering us. When I asked for the wifi password for to use as he said he could get us free wifi he said the server was down when there was other people using the wifi at that time. Other then the hotel being not very clean at all there was probably only 15 other British people on the resort who all felt the same way as we did. There is lots of German, French and Americans at this hotel the Americans where ok because they spoke English but the rest of the people had no manors what so ever. The entertainment team yeh they worked hard but after 10:30 that's was it there was nothing else to do at this resort, there was a disco as they called it but we never even went to it as we where told not to by another English couple. There was bird droppings around the pool and it stayed like that the whole time we were there. Another English couple we met one of them ended up in hospital for 3 days what cost them $3000 due to her having a sickness bug. One night it was karaoke and I was looking for a English song book they never had one for us so we couldn't choose a song. The only thing I did enjoy about this holiday was the beach it was amazing and out of this world clear blue water and white sands. We also went on a few trips they were well worth the money but I advise not to book them with a rep go down to the beach there is a man called Pedro he is very reasonable and you can haggle the price with him. The food was okay I'd say they catered again more for the French, German and Americans, we did visit two of the 4 restaurants on site. The Mexican one was amazing not a thing wrong with that but the Chinese wasn't nice at all it has actually put myself off Chinese all together it was far too greasy and oily.
And the airport was a living hell, on the plan we filled out immigration forms thinking that they were important then when we arrived we waiting in a very large que to pay our $10 to go in the country then joined another que to give them our form and the man behind the desk didn't even look at it he just took it and added it to a large pile. Coming home was the exact same they don't even look at the form what so ever you could pretty much write what ever you wanted on it as the don't check them. We waited 1hr and 45mins to go through security we only had 30 if your lucky in duty free. We paid $8 for two bottles of juice and there was a group of young natives who worked in the airport all male who where fighting with each other. I wouldn't go back to the Dominican in a hurry any time soon everyone is trying to just get money off you and I'd say any place in Europe you would get treated like royalty for paying the money we did to go on this holiday.

Room Tip: The rooms aren't good what so ever they aren't cleaned properly by the mades and if you neve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed at the Caribe Club Princess in Punta Cana April 6-13, 2013, WestJet Vacations VIP package which was definitely worth the extra money.
We had the time of our lives. We are 8 Canadian best friends that talked about a tropical vacation for years. I'm so glad we decided to come to the Caribe and we would go back in a heart beat. The beach is amazing, the weather was perfect the ocean was warm and so much fun to swim in, you could walk the beach for miles.
The staff at the resort are amazing. They work hard and put in long hours . It was brought to our attention If you are tipping with money and when possible its a good idea to give directly to the person you want to have it. We spent a lot on cash tips, it was so worth it and very much appreciated by staff.
Check in went smooth with no problems, thanks to staff member Emilio who helped us with our luggage & getting all us girls rounded up and settled into the right location and for making sure everything was ok. Staff in the main lobby bar are great, always happy to see us and the service was excellent. We would often jump on the little train that ran about every 10 minutes and head up to the main lobby in the evening for a drink and to lounge on the big comfy couches.
We stayed in rooms 2202, 03, 04 & 15. Our balcony looked over the main pool with swim up bar & we were able to view the ocean. The rooms are older but very clean and big hugs to the ladies that work so hard to look after our rooms. I didn't realize until the 3rd day that the ladies that clean the rooms during the day are not the same ones that turn down our beds at night and place lovely flowers on the bedding. So we made sure to leave the night time staff tips too.
The food really was amazing. The buffet restaurant has so many types of food to choose from. We had our regular table when we ate here and the staff who looked after us were awesome. A special thanks and big hugs to our favorite waiter Emilio who looked after us 8 Canadian ladies. Our VIP package came with 4 al- a-carte dinners. We loved the Mexican Restaurant, Italian & International. The Dominican restaurant was not my favorite.
We found this a great place to go and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We were 2202, 03, 04 & 2215 on the 2nd floor. Our rooms faced the main pool with swim up bar whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tatamagouche, Nova Scotia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

had lots of sun, close to the pool and beach, but if you wanted to go to lobby bar either a 10 minute walk or wait for the train. Small resort, with no english speaking tourists, french,italian and german, NO ENLGISH so didnt get to meet other people. Food ok, lots of sand fleas.

Room Tip: no need to take little gifts for the maids this year we left money each day and got good service
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We just returned from a great week in Punta Cana (8-15 April 2013). The weather was great, the location and beach were fantastic. We booked the Sunwing VIP package (includes larger room with sitting area, internet access (1 hr per person per week), massages (1 per person per week), access to extra restaurants, cigars and rum in room etc.). It costs a little more, but I think provides good value for your money. Check in was simple and there were no issues with the room; we received exactly what had been booked. We stayed in building 22 which was only steps from the main pool with the swim up bar and also only a few steps to the beach. The resort shares some facilities with the Tropical Princess. The beach was fantastic and the water was nice and warm. The food was good and we could always find something at the buffet or snack bar. The a la carte restaurants were good, the only one we didn't care for was the Brazilian one. There was also a different theme every night in the main buffet restaurant. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. The animation team work very hard and were always trying to get guests engaged in the activities. There was also a beach party one night complete with music, lights and a bar set up right on the beach. All in all, we had a very relaxing week and wouldn't hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the VIP package, it's good value for a little extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just returned on Saturday after a 2 week stay at the Caribe and can say that we had an amazing time!
From the easy check in with Hilda's help (such a sweetie) to the wonderful welcome drinks at the lobby bar with Francisco and Arianny, our trip was amazing.
This was our first trip to the Dominican and my husband was worried about the food (he loves his breakfasts especially ;-). There were no disappointments - scrambled eggs, bacon, french toast, omelets - whatever you want, they have it - and the scambled eggs were to die for. Also the buffet restaurant at night doesn't dissapoint - there is something there for everyone - from pasta prepared in front of you, to the nightly themes. If you can't find something there to eat...well you are just too darn picky!!
The rooms were immaculatly cleaned every day. They aren't fancy, but they are cleaned very well every day. We were on the ground floor with an ocean view and it was beautiful to listen to the ocean. The bed was perfectly fine in our room (no, it's not the same as your bed at home...but people...remember, you are not at home!!
There are 3 pools, and different activites for everyone of all ages. You can go for the party pool with the swim up bar, or choose to sit at the quieter ones and relax, sleep or read - we did all three :-)
The grounds are immaculate and beautiful. We don't usually go to a resort this big, but the layout of this resort makes it feel smaller than it really is. It was no problem to run back to our room from the beach during the day if we needed to. And speaking of the beach....OMG....it is AMAZING!!! Just loved walking it every day.
We did upgrade to the VIP package and it was worth every penny. Also...it's worth meeting with your carrier representative....Caren with West Jet was amazing to talk to and offered many tips that we wouldn't have known about.
We did the Cigar and Jewlery tour...it was short and sweet..and well worth it...and it's free. The owner picked us up at the hotel and brought us right back to the hotel.
We would definetely return to this resort again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room number 2013 and the couple we travelled with were in 2010 - ground floor and beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danville vt
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Just got back and had a great time, food was great, good variety, excellent service and everyone was very accommodating. Will definitely go back The beach is beautiful, The grounds are beautiful and loved watching the peacocks. Did not eat at any of the ala carte restaurants as the husbands did not want to wear long pants. We found the staff are to be very friendly. We asked for an ocean front room and got a jr suite ground floor ocean front and was very pleased.

Room Tip: See Hilda with guest services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana 22000, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on one of the most beautiful beaches of the Dominican Republic, the famous Higuey beach, and in an area where the beauty of the countryside and the delightful crystalline water, combined with fine and delicate sand, leave visitors with a strong feeling of pleasure and an exceptional sensation of relaxation and peace. Feelings which reveal never-ending possibilities as we stay in one of the marvellous Royal Suites, or allow ourselves to be seduced by the charming Honeymoon Suites, all of which include all conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort And Spa
Caribe Club Princess Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Caribe Hotel Punta Cana
Caribe Hotel Princess
Caribe Club Princess Punta Cana
Caribe Club Princess Dominican Republic

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caribe Club Princess Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.