We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Newmarket, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have just returned from Grand Palladium Punta Cana after a very nice and relaxing family vacation. We travelled as a family of 4, with kids aged 6 and 3 yo.
We mostly stayed by the pool with several trips to the beach. We didn't eat in any a-la carts since we weren't willing to line up at 5:30 or wait for an hour. The buffet was quite sufficient for us. I would consider returning to this resort again.

Here is the list of things that made this vacation excellent and would possibly get me to return:

Cleanliness of the hotel - outstanding. There was always somebody cleaning something. The maids were working well into the late afternoon, always someone sweeping the paths, cleaning up spills at the buffet. The bathrooms by the pools were cleaned constantly. I've never seen such clean bathrooms by any pool in any other resort. Clean and dry floors and counters, with fresh flowers everywhere.

Service - always friendly, and reasonably quick. A lot of people speak half decent english or at least try to. We were always able to get our point across with a mixture of a few words in bad spanish and some english. Smiles and good manners went a long way.

Value - great resort for the money we paid. I've been to more expensive resorts and didn't enjoy them any more than this one, maybe even less.

Grounds - beautiful, lush, manicured. The layout of the resort is VERY convenient. Staying in building 3000 we were close to everything within a couple minutes of walk. Never had to take the train anywhere even with little kids and no stroller.

Pools - all kinds of beautiful and clean pools all over the resort, kids Pirate Ship was a big hit. Swim up bars were great fun and also very clean.
Beach - was very nice, but water a little choppy and strong undertow.

Check in/check out - a non event. 5 minutes to check in, 30 seconds to check out. Amazing.
Food - decent choice, safe, available. We didn't lose any weight on this trip.

Things that were annoying to me and may possibly prevent me from going here agian:

People trying to sell me stuff all the time. There's the guy who designs t-shirts, there's the excursions people, there's the vendors' booths, and all of these things and people are set up strategically at all entrances and exits to the common areas to make sure they get your attention. And if the set locations are not enough, they roam around the pool and the beach and try to start talking to you as you are lying around. I found a way to smile and say no,gracias to make them go away. If that didn't work I just ignored and kept walking without making eye contact or engaging in conversation.

The towel games. Couldn't stand it. This was the first time that I witnessed the towel games being played on such a grand scale. If you were not by the pool/beach by 9:30, you can forget about a seat in the shade. And by 10 you can forget about getting a seat, period. Lucky for us, it turned out that my husband was VERY good at this game and was up before 7am every morning to get us a good spot, so we always had shade. The most annoying part of this, however, was seeing all the empty chairs around us with towels on them well in to the afternoon, and noone coming to claim them. There has to be a better way to manage the chair situation.

Things that other people have said about the resort, but were of no consequense to us - true or false:

The buildings are aging and are showing signs of wear & tear - true. Bedding was worn, the sheets seemed to be too short for the mattress, some mildew and peeling paint here and there throughout bathroom and bedroom. Matresses are of the cheap springy kind with soft edges, easy for kids to roll out of bed if not used to that. Having said all this, a lot of work is being done to keep the property in good shape. While we were there, I saw them repair missing tiles in the pool and replace palm leaf roof on the pathway from the lobby to the buffet.

Things don't always work - true. Our AC worked but was very noisy and the thermostat was stuck on one setting and could not be changed. The hair dryer self destructed in my hand with a flash and a burning smell after about 15 seconds.

Tipping is required - false. We did not tip very much at the buffets and did not see other people tipping a lot either. Service was fine, sometimes with smiles, sometimes not, but always courteous. A couple of times we had to repeat our requests for coffee or water or whatever, but it was not because of lack of tips, they were just busy. We tipped the maid every day and it seemed to make no difference. We didn't get any flowers in the room or any towel animals, but the room got cleaned including the floors on the balcony and the bath tub.

Room Tip: Anywhere in building 3000 or villas close to the main pool is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for having stayed at the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa for your last vacation and for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We work hard to ensure that all our guests have positive experiences during their stay at our resort.
We are happy to hear that the level of service was to your satisfaction and therefore we appreciate your feedback about it.
We are glad to hear that you and your family were able to enjoy most of what our resort has to offer such as the pools, our nice beach and our grounds.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,410
    617
    285
    163
    79
See reviews for
571
911
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Let me by start off by saying the beaches in Punta Cana are beautiful and if you are going for a beach experience this is for you. When it comes to a 5 Star experience at a hotel, this is where this vacation experience falls apart. I am blown away by some of the comments of some of the rave reviews that some of the people have left for this resort, this is NOT a 5 Star Experience, maybe if you go back in time to the 80's this hotel would be awesome, or you are so drunk you can't remember anything about the trip. I reached out to our tour provider Sunwing while we were dealing with issues and they were swamped with complaints about this resort.

Let me give you a breakdown:

1) Room was dated and in poor condition, mold in shower, leaking roof, loft floor unstable, just to name a few of the major issues in our room, notifed daily the front desk management, and they just kept saying they are working on it, nothing was ever resolved.

2) A la carte restaurants - unless you are in line at 5:30 forget about getting in, what they don't tell you is that the Premium Resort Suites are able to make reservations and get first priority.

3) Service - if you don't have money in your hands (tipping) you are ignored and eventually got to.

4) Aggressive Selling by Vendors - constantly bothered at the pool and the beach on a daily basis on selling of Snorkeling, Boating, ect...

Punta Cana is awesome, you will enjoy the beach and the beauty, just not this hotel, pick something else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear valued guest

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time write and post a review from your recent experience at the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa.
We really appreciate your comments and feedback which will only help us to continue to strive for our main goal, non other than an excellent service.
We regret to hear that we weren't able to make your experience a memorable one and to know that our service wasn't to your expectations.
We lament to hear about the room issues that were not fixed and that you did not get an inmediate reaction for them. We take every guest issue very seriosly and as you know there will be sometimes situations that need to be rectified accordingly on a timely manner.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your review and for having stayed at the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa.

We look forward for a second opportunity to hosting you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed at the Grand Palladium Punta Cana from January 25 to February 1, 2013. We have been to the DR about 8 times now, but this was our first time to Punta Cana, and to this resort so I will try to be as fair as possible. (In doing so, this review will be long). There seems to be a lot of investment going on in Punta Cana; much more than what we saw in Puerto Plata or Samana so that was a reassuring sign. The resort is about a 20 to 30 minute ride from the airport so it was quick and painless.

The check in was fairly smooth with one small hiccup. We booked our trip at the beginning of September 2012 and at the time of booking, we had requested rooms adjacent or near to our friends who were traveling with us; we knew this was a large resort and our friends had been there twice before so we felt it would have been helpful to be near them so they could help us to make our way around. We had also emailed the resort 3 times in the month previous to our departure, to repeat this request. Upon check in, we found we were booked in a block that was nowhere near our friends. The front desk staff told us to come back “tomorrow” and it would be fixed. We went back the next morning and they did rectify the situation. It was a bit inconvenient to move all of our luggage into a locked office from 10:00 am until after 3:00 pm but that was just a small thing. We didn’t let it upset our trip as they did fix it, our luggage was safe and nothing was missing.

There is a gym which is located in the SPA portion of the resort. There are some weight machines, treadmills, stationary bikes, elyptical etc. There were only 2 treadmills and my husband and I like to go on them for 30 minutes at a time. When the resort is this big, there are lots of people waiting for the equipment. If there were more it would be better, but this is a small suggestion.

The food we felt, for the most part was excellent. As people have mentioned, there were chefs to make your omlettes or eggs any style you like every day at the breakfast buffet. There was side bacon every day for breakfast. At the buffets for lunch there were always burgers and hot dogs and for the lunch and dinner buffets, there was always pasta, pizza, french fries, and many different types of grilled meats that the chefs were preparing. All buffets had fresh fruits and breads with soft serve ice cream at lunch and dinner. All buffets had a wide selection of foods prepared in many different ways and there was always something to choose from.

We did go to three of the different a la cartes; The Japanese, The Brazilian and The Italian. You do not book the a la cartes in advance. You had to line up at the restaurant before it opened at 6:00 pm and wait in line to book your time. We found that if you were there by 5:45, you only waited a few minutes and you were able to get the time you wanted or you could go right in. The Italian restaurant we did not care for at all. It was surprising to see no pasta dishes in an Italian restaurant. Three of us had the chicken and one of us had the shrimp. The chicken was dry and the cheese rubbery. The shrimp was not cooked. None of us finished our meal. The Japanese was excellent. They have teppanyaki tables where they grill right at the table and put on a very entertaining show. When you ask for your reservation, if you wish to be at one of these tables, be sure to tell them you wish to be at the grill; otherwise, you will get a table for 2 away from the grill and the fun. You don’t have a choice on what you eat there, as the meal is cooked for everyone all at the same time, but it is really delicious. You do have a choice on dessert; I myself had the deep fried ice cream and it was very good. The Brazilian restaurant was excellent as well. They bring out many different kinds of meats; chicken, sausage, lamb, fish, 2 different kinds of beef, pork and then grilled vegetables and some grilled pineapple. They only cut off a tiny sliver of each for your portion, but all of us were full before all the portions were brought out so we never did try everything. We did manage to save room for the dessert though. 

As far as we were concerned, the service was excellent. We spent our time at the pool as we are not beach people. The servers came around quite frequently; I myself drank mostly ice water and was treated just as well as the others in my party who had drinks. We were all served with smiles and it was done very efficiently. In all fairness, we did tip every time they came around but we were always smiling at our servers, were pleasant, polite and asked for things with por favor (please) and mucho gracious (thank you). We found this same level of service in the buffets and a la cartes. We always left $2 on the pillow for the housekeeping staff. Our room was always super clean, our towels were always made into beautiful swans and there were fresh flowers left all over the room. The housekeeping staff even cleaned the railings on the balcony each day. It should be noted, that one day, quite by error, my husband left about $10 in singles on the table by the television. We figured that it would probably be gone when we got back. When we got back to the room at the end of the day, the money he left on the table was still sitting there and had not been touched.

I know some have complained that the staff do not speak English very well. That is true, however it is probably because you are in a Spanish speaking country where English is not spoken very much. Remember, you are a guest in a third world, foreign country. The standards are different than what you are used to so please keep this in mind. The 3 star, 4 star and 5 star standards are NOT what you are used to in Canada or the United States. Now, the million dollar question…would we return to this resort? If we are taking into account just the resort, absolutely. We loved everything about it.

HOWEVER, the airport in Punta Cana was the most chaotic, disorganized and poorly run airport I have ever seen. Pearson International in Toronto is many, many times larger and is so efficiently run. In Punta Cana, you had to go to one line to pay your $20 departure tax, then go to another snaking long line to check in your baggage, another line that was MANDATORY just to have your picture taken with some girls in costume. When we tried to bypass that line, we were ordered back into the line…you HAD to have your picture taken upon leaving…why? I do not know however, when they tried to sell us the picture later down the line, we just said “No…we have to go” and walked on by. Then there was another snaking line just go get your carry on luggage x-rayed and another long line to hand in your declaration. Thank goodness another passenger who was on our flight took us with her and said we have to find a way to get by all these people. We just kept moving ahead of anyone who had a later flight than we did. We ended up jumping ahead of over 500 people in order to catch our flight. We were at the airport almost 3 hours before the flight and we barely made our flight. That is going to be a huge factor into deciding if we go back to Punta Cana next year.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 2000 blocks are closer to the beach. The rooms in the 6000 block are closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. we are very happy to know that we succeeded in providing a service experience that meet your expectations. we are truly proud of our entire team and I know that they are committed to going above and beyond for each of our guests.
We are glad to hear that despite the we were not able to accomodate your room request at first, you were satisfied once we rectified the situation right on the next day. As you know being a large resort we always try to accomodate everyone's requests but these requests are always subject to the availability.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the food offer at the buffet specially during breakfast.
We are sorry to hear that the Italian Restaurant wasn't of your total satisfaction, Taking in consideration your comments i would suggest to visit our Trattoria Cheff Raffaelle where we offer fresh pasta and oven made pizza.
We are happy to know that you have enjoyed the food at our Japanese restaurant , wiht the live showcooking as well as the Brazilian Restaurant.
We are delighted to hear about your comments reagarding our staff. We really work hard to promote Honesty and sincerity within our team.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Please know that your comments were forwarded to the appropriate team members and that your valuable feedback helps us maintain the high standards our guests have come to expect of us.

We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Arrived @ Grand Palladium Punta Cana 5:30PM and the check in was fast and efficient FILIPE at the desk was very friendly and answered any and all questions. We were a group of 10. Did not receive a cold beverage when we arrived but that was ok as the guys ck'd out the bar and refreshments were served.
Worth Booking a DELUXE room as suggested by our travel agent JESSICA @ PLATIUM Travel Winnipeg, as we were situated in the 2000 building which overlooked the pool and very close to the beach.
The maid service was good, rooms were always cleaned and stocked with beverages daily.
*If you like the beach or pool, I suggest to GET UP EARLY 6:00 - 7 am to reserve chairs under a pallapa for shade, as these are the first to get snagged. We brought along colorful old t-shirts and placed them on the back of the lounge chairs so our group could locate them easily.
*Get up early to watch the sun come up 7am and take a flashlight along to see you way to the beach.
*Walking on the beach is relaxing and the locals come by and sell their wares and you can also walk down the beach to the local shops they do want you to come in and if you don't they ask why you go to this shop not theirs? Barter, Barter, Barter!!!
**If you walk past the shops there is a palm tree that is standing lone and past that is a rock with an achor and cannon where you can take pics There are 4 pools with swim up bars in this resort but we only lounged around two of them, one was close to our room and the other was by the buffet.
*The Bathrooms on the beach were very Clean.
*TEDDY BEAR was at the buffet pool and was extremely friendly, he was in charge of the scuba area.
The staff at the beach, bars, pools, entertainment staff are always busy and with smiles and jokes for all. Say Hi to Patricia, Marigretta, Jeffrey and Mata de coco. and many others.
**There are 8 A La Carte restaurants and we went to 6 of them, The best were the Japanese, Mediterrain,Brazilian, and Oriential, I suggest not to go to the Steak house (Ribs are awful lots of grissle) and the service at the Italian was extremely slow. Hand santizier is given out before entering the restaurants.
*Only disavantage to going to a a la carte is men have to wear long pants.
***Best drink is at the Japanese/Brazilain a la carte its a "Coco Loco" best presentation!
The buffets have a Theme every night so if you don't go the a la cartes you can get the different food there to try. Jasmine at the buffet door at the punta cana resort is very friendly and gives out a dab of hand sanitizer as you walk in.
***HEMMINGWAYS Bar serves the only International Liquor and is located in the Barcelo behind the lobby.
To get around the resort if not wanting to walk is a train that stops at picks you up and takes you around the resort. Once you figure out the walkways its fast to walk from one place to another.
There is a Sports Bar that is open 24 hours and serves food and liquor, great for late night snacks.
The two Theaters had nightly entertainment, the Circus was fantastic at the Sunset Theatre, but the bathrooms at the Mirange Theatre were disgusting.
***The beach restaurant by the Bavaro (Arrecife) very large, lots of food, clean and open for lunch til 3
**Free shuttle to the San Juan Shopping Centre (has a grocery store where Santa Domino coffee 1lb is about $4.50 on the resort $10.00 lb. and they have plenty of Domincan candy to purchase and try.)
and they have a Ikea in Punta Cana.
***Bring sunscreen from home as at the resort it could cost as high as $27.00 for a spray can of sunscreen. Hawaiin Tropic
They have medical office, jewellery, clothing, liquor stores on the resort to purchase items.
If you want to bring something to give to the staff suggestions would be gum, candy, nail polish, sample perfume, deoderant, lip gloss, pencils, hairclips, $, etc and leave a note that you want the maid (they leave their name in your room)
to have the gifts you leave or they can not keep them. We also gave little token gifts to the staff that cleaned the bathrooms in the resort, the yard workers, the entertainment beach/pool staff.
The resort is very large and we went for two weeks and we would have loved to stay longer. It is a large resort that you would not be bored.
Weather was perfect hot and sunny everyday and warm in evening. Did not need a sweater in evening.
There was rain but only lasted about 10 -15 minutes except the day we left it rained for about two hours.
Casino in resort is small and not very busy dont expect to win lots there.
**LOCALS come to the resort every two or three days selling their wares, BARTER for the best price. "Do not pay their price."
***We brought along glow sticks necklaces, bracelets, for the evening when we walked aroung the resort at night, and gave them to staff and children when we were done with them.
**Our last night at the resort we asked FRANKLIN at the buffet to reserve a table for 10 and let him know it was our last night, the table was decorated with flowers, and the service was perfect.
The tip was worth the service.
Jan 16-30th 2013

Room Tip: We had rooms in the 2000 building, overlooking the pool and close to the beach Worth upgrading to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Jean Marie J,

From the staff of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort, Spa y Casino we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We greatly appreciate that we have totally satisfied your well deserved vacations.

We look forward for your return.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pgh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our first all inclusive trip.........and was totally different from other all inclusives friends have told us about. We chose this resort on the advice of our travel agent---and I'm now kicking myself for not doind more research ahead of time! Our flight was late due to ice on the day we went, and we didn't arrive till around 3. We hadn't eaten since 6am, and were starved by then. The front desk said we could get a meal at the buttet.....but when we went it was closed. We found it very hard to find someone to speak English.....and there was nothing writtten on any maps or guides that we could understand! We finally were shown to the snack bar by a vendor that was trying to sell us an excursion.

We asked for the second floor----and they gave us the third----which was 31 steps up! There are no elevators---so this was not pleasant! My hubby & I are a "young" 61 and 65 year old! In our room was one washcloth and two towels! We asked the maid for more---but she couldn't ask what we were asking for until hubby drew a small square in the air! From then on---we got only two towels & washcloths each day. From day 1---the clock didn't work. We hung a tag on the door for repairs---but it didn't happen. EVERY day I went to the desk about it---and they did nothing! The day we were to leave, we had a 9:30am shuttle to catch, and I was terrified we wouldn't get up in time & be stuck there!! When I asked if I could have a wake up call at the front desk---he originally said, "No". By this time I was livid---and he laughed then said yes.

The food at the buffets was not better than ok. The veal on Italian night couldn't be cut with a knife----so I tried the swiss steak. Same thing---too touch. I spoke with a woman from Canada that said this was her third time there----and their last! She said it has gone downhill---and that the staff were very rude.

Went to the steakhouse one night---and they asked if we were English! I said yes---and they showed us to a table & gave us menus in Spanish! I figured they'd give us a server that spoke English. WRONG! When she greeted us---I asked if she spoke English--and she said no! We pointed to the T-bone and salmon that we were able to read on the menu....and when I asked about salad---she motioned with her fingers for us to walk to the salad bar! Salads were actually good---then the power went out! Probably for about 15 minutes---and we were just getting ready to leave because it got very hot inside---when it came back on. The first few bites were good---and the rest was very tough! She asked if we wanted dessert---we said yes---and when she brought menus---they were in English!! It sure would have been nice to have them before dinner! Hubby ordered apple pie---which was a 2" square of something with a few apple slices on top. I ordered brownie alamode---but couldn't eat it because there were nuts in it---and I'm allergic.

Vendors were outside of the lobby the first day----and we did stop & bought a few small things. But Thursday around lunch----we were swarmed by at least 12 - 15 vendors with tables at the pool! They would come up to our chairs-----and when I tried to go to the restroom, I was stopped by three different ones! I did NOT appreciate that!

There was one good thing about our trip---and that was the weather! We left home in an ice storm the day we left, and by the end of our vacation---I was actually happy to get home the the cold & snow! I was VERY disappointed with this trip!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne K, Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Tuppermern,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort, Spa y Casino, we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your holidays, during the high season sometimes is difficult to satisfy all our customers, but I assure you we will consider your suggestions, we are working to improve our services.

Once again thank you very much, we invite you to come back in any season of your preference.

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The hotel is located on the well-cared territory decorated with exotic tropical plants. Close to the reception there is a small pond inhabited by flamingos, herons and wild ducks. Near the pond you can see the walking peacocks. I want to disappoint fans of sea swimming. It's not the still Carribean Sea but the Atlantic Ocean. The continious breeze tilted the crowns of the beach palms to lee side. And now all coastal palm trees look as flags on long flagstaffs. For swimming at your service - 4 swimming pools with bars. You can also spend your vigorous energy playing tennis, riding a bike
or visiting SPA. But the enthusiasm that snapped the majority of beach visitors is walking
along the sand beach and bending in the breeze. On the beach there is a special personnel for adults animation. You can learn Dominican dance Merengue with their help. I recommend to buy DVD with the dance lesson to make progress in your dancing skill at home.and to remember your marvellous vacation in this hotel..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, General Manager at Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

First of all on behalf of the entire team we would like to thank you for your possitive feedback and beautiful comments about your recent experience at the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa.
We also want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the rest of the travelers.
We are delighted to hear that we were able to make this trip such a memorable experience for you on such an special occasion.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed all whatour resort has to offer. Our aim is to provide and deliver the best "palladium" service to all our guests.


please do not hesitate to contact us previous your next visit.
we look forward to hosting you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our whole family traveled together to this resort for a family reunion vacation, we were 14 in total. We all had different categories of rooms. My sister seemed to have gotten the shaft with a smaller room then all of us. When she asked to change her room, they said it would cost $54 per day??? All of us had something wrong in our rooms. There was a leak in my bother's room, instead of fixing it they gave him a towel to soak up the water. Even though we were a family of 4, they never brought us more than 2 towels, we consistently asked and they would say "tomorrow". The wait staff was hit and miss. Most didn't even look at you unless you had money in your hand for a tip. They were no reservations at the restaurants because of peak season. As a result, we would have to line up and wait to get a table. Being a group of 14, we would usually have to wait 2 hours to get into an a la carte restaurant???
This resort is NOT a 5 star, I wouldn't even rate them a 3 star.
The rooms are dated and need a serious renovation. There are areas around the pool that have cracked and lifted concrete - one of my kids could have easily tripped.
The service at the pool bars are almost non-existent unless you have money in your hands for the bar staff.
We discussed all of this with the front desk several times, they seemed more annoyed than anything. When we checked out, they asked how our stay was, I repeated my feedback only for him to say "OK thank you"
There are many other properties in Punta Cana I would never return to this one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa

Address: C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#41 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bavaro Resort & Spa, the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino & Royal Suites. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Punta Cana (excluding the Royal Suites). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort And Spa
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.