We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go antwhere else!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 100 hotels in Punta Cana
Elkford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Why go antwhere else!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

In May of this year we visited the Palladium Resorts for the for the 7th time in the last 5 years. The service at the Palace is great. We have had 2 out of 3 children married at the resort. Both weddings were awesome. The staff are phenomenal and the beach is what it's all about. Remember that you are traveling to a poor country and that a 4 star resort in the Dominican is not the same as in Canada. Go with and open mind and enjoy the hospitality that is offered by the locals. Remember that you are on vacation so relax and take life as it comes. The Dominicans work hard and are very proud of their heritage. Everything is on Dominican time so relax and and watch the waves roll in. We have tried all of the restaurants and have never been disappointed. Get to know the workers names and they will remember you forever. Use some manners and treat the locals like you want to be treated. We take school supplies, tooth paste, clothes etc for the friends that we have made over the years. There is an elementary school just down the road from the Palace that we visit and donate the school supplies to. There is no safety concern with leaving the resort. We highly recommend the Palladium complex and are booked to return on December 2 of this year. Remember that your not in Canada anymore and accept the slow pace and enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,437
    527
    208
    154
    77
See reviews for
475
904
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

What promised to be a well planned vacation with 14 friends and family with my new little grandson, kinda went wrong. When we arrived at the Hotel, all in our group were upgraded to the "Adult only section" of the resort. Needless to say, this completely separated the family with a child and put a damper on the rest of the vacation. We did not ask for the upgrade, but received it anyhow. Other than that, the resort is beautiful - both the adult section which is luxurious to the Palace section which is typical of the several resorts that we have stayed in the DR. The entertainment on the beach and around the pool was a plus. (Lisa was a hoot!) The food, which was always plentiful, was some of the best that we have experienced - not everything for everybody, but always something for everyone. The nightly entertainment, which did not start until 9:00 was not the best, but hey, we weren't there for that. We did do a 1/2 day side trip with Punta Cana Mike -- which I would highly recommend. Although this was not our favorite resort of the 3 we have visited, it was still a wonderful vacation - with beautiful surroundings and a beautiful beach.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Just returned from two weeks at the Palladium Palace (two married couples) and after having discussed it this is the opinion of all four of us. Brilliant. The hotel is billed as five star and exeeded our expectations. We had Junior Suites with sea view , literrally about 50 or 60 metres from the beach. The rooms, because of the mezzanine style bedroom, are quite spacious and well appointed, and kept spotlessly clean as is the whole resort.
We found the resort staff to be friendly, attentive and very hard working.
Food was of a very high standard even in the buffet restaurants and very varied. Unlimited visits to the a la cartes , as part of the all inclusive package, meant we were able to try them all. The best ones, in our opinion, were the Japanese and the Brazilian.
It is well worth booking for one of the show tables at the Japanese.
An earlier review described the spirits available as "rubbing alcohol" .The drinks available at all the bars ,free of charge, included Bombay Saphire gin, 100 Pipers whisky, Jack Daniels etc. If thats rubbing alcohol, mate, I'd love to know where you normally drink ! Even the soft drinks were real Coca Cola, Pepsi, Fanta and Sprite.
A tip on the bars - try Hemmingways - they have a larger menu of cocktails and even champagne (again part of all inclusive).
We had no downside to our stay however while talking to a very nice Canadian couple, Bernie and Louise, we found that the hotel charges $50 US per day for wheel chair hire.
That is well over the top ! The resort is quite big so if you do have walking difficulties it may be worth considering taking your own chair if you have one.
We would definately have no qualms about returning to the Grand Palladium Palace.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

I read the reviews of Trip Advisor and normally plan my excursions with the advise offered. To sum up my stay at this place - horrible. Would I go to this place again - NEVER. I am supposed to be on vacation to relax and feel rested. I did neither while on this vacation. My room was full of bugs and the bathroom had mold in the shower and around the toilet. There were even litte bugs on the bedspread so I took it off as well as the sheets and shook them outside really good before placing them back on the bed. I did ask the front desk and the maid came by and cleaned up the bugs by the sink, but that was it. No extermination or maintenance workers came by.

What was good about the place was the beaches and the courteous staff. That was it. I normally am pretty laid back and easy going, but this trip really put me on edge. I would recommend to try a different resort that is bug and mildew free

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

myself and husband spent our silver wedding at this resort after long deliberation of where to go. We were so glad we did. I really do not know what people find to complain about. Punta Cana airport lovely and so different lovely greeting.
Transport to Grand Palladium not as long as was stated in brochure only about 25 mins in all. Check in all went very smoothly and very friendly staff. So far so good. Porter took us and our luggage to room which was lovely fantastic views of beach and pool how lucky were we? Ten mins after settling in a knock on door and another porter with a bottle of rum and huge tray of fresh fruit to wish us happy anniversary .. Nice touch, Cannot praise the staff enough they work so hard to keep everything running as well as can be. I personnally did not witness any rudeness or unpleasantness from any staff or management as was mentioned in other reviews. I also beleive that if you are pleasant to people you receive the same treatment in return.
This is e really big complex and i do recommend the little train to see the the whole of thre resort this runs every 15 mins .Buffett was excellent and really no need to venture anywhere else as the choice was vast the only thing was that the air con in the glass end of buffett could gave been a little colder but a minor winge. We did try all the a la carte reataurants and found them all good with the exemption of the mexican ( not So Good) Japenese fantastic with show cooking every night. Beach to die for never ending beautiful white sand not a stone in sight and very clean. They do have vendors on the beach but they do not hassle you just a polite no thnks does surfice.Half way through the week there was a welcome night with all the management of the hotel there so that you could discuss any ideas or problems that you had with them. Another good idea as you actually speak to the top dogs first hand. This was the first holiday to a palladium resort we normally use RIU or Ibersostar but found Palladium as good. Did the trip to Seona island well worth the $90.00 dollars each just for the boat trips ,catamaran there and speed boat back.Just be aware the actual journey from hotel to pick the catamaran up is approx 2 hours on coach they do not tell you this on booking.It is a long day! All in all a great vacation would definately recommend .Dont listen to all the negative i think they are just litttle niggle and that some people love to find something to complain about.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

At airport, was ambushed for $10 to buy a tourist card per person. Take the card 10 feet and man takes the card from you. You, then get to enter the country. GREAT WELCOME FROM THE Dominican people, NOT!!!! Arrived at hotel late evening. Front desk had wrong bedding accomadations. Front desk staff member was rude. He put us in room 8516, studio. Bedding is on 3rd floor of loft. DO NOT ACCEPT THIS ROOM!!!! **** I REPEAT--DO NOT ACCEPT ROOM 8516, if it is offered. The room never cooled below 81 degrees. Complained 3 times, requesting fan for room, someone to check the a/c. No communication from the hotel. I blame the front desk for ruining my well planned and much needed mini-vacation. The front desk knows what rooms are good and what problems each room has. I feel the index finger missing fellow was having a bad day or enjoys ruining other people's vacations. After 3rd complaint went unattended, went in person to complain to Vip rep. He was busy, spoke to the Apple Tours rep. Finally got intervention and was given room 9515. Great a/c...sheets should have been thrown out 100 washings ago. Little bugs everywhere, both rooms...Showers were moldy, dirty looking. Food was good at Japanese Hibatchi, the others were typical buffets you find in all-inclusive hotels in the Caribbean. Casino was 40 machines, about 10 not working. 4 tables. Did not see anyone winning. Was at pool one day and bar was playing music very loud and was fine and nice to listen to, THEN, the activities people started their music. Listened to two different very loud music from each ear. Had to leave the pool area before getting a headache. THIS WAS MY WORST VACATION, EVER!!!! I travel about 4 times a year and stay at 3 to 4 star hotels. WAS NOT IMPRESSED WITH THIS PROPERTY. The property was very beautiful to look at and is positioned on a beautiful beach; but, dig a little deeper and you find what at dump it really is. I must tell you most other staff members were truly helpful, if they even speak to you in passing, etc. Patricia at the pool--Super lady. Raul at the buffet, great waite staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

This was a great hotel, very good quality and variety of food. The staff is really nice and dynamic, there are always little activities planned. The pools are really nice and so is the beach. The rooms are nice and it seemed like they all had little balconies!. It was great, I highly recommend this hotel! It is Super clean. There is free wifi in the lobby, it isn't that quick but it gets the job done.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Palladium Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.