We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Grand Palladium Palace I'm Punta Cana” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Grand Palladium Palace I'm Punta Cana”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Grand Palladium Palace is a great one (3 days till we fly back to Ottawa)
We are down here for my cousins wedding (today) so we are a big group.

This hotel is beautiful as the grounds are well maintained and has mature vegetation.
The beach is lovely with lots of room and beach chairs.
The buffets have a great choice and the a la cartes are excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Gerente at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear. Dear. Mrs. / Mr. RANDYN.

On behalf of grand palladium Palace Resort and Casino: we are very thankful for dedicating your time to comment your experience with us.

we have seen that your experience was great and satisfying in other words according to your expectations.

As well we would like to invite you once again to our complex to keep those memories and go beyond your expectative.

At grand palladium Palace Resort and spa: we strive with devotions to assure to our guest wonderful memories back home.

Kind Regards.

L. Tajes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,464 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,469
    539
    215
    162
    79
See reviews for
494
914
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The overall stay at the GPPR was great! Very immersed in the local culture. The staff was Great, and very responsive to all of my needs! I only have two real negatives: 1. the electronics in the rooms are seriously outdated 2. The wait at the steakhouse was far TOO long. It had you thinking that the food was going to be stellar, when it was only really adequate. The wait was mainly due to the fact that it took 1 hour 45 min to get my food...and that was on my second attempt when I was the third person let in!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Gerente at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear. Mrs./ Mr. KYLE F.

On behalf of grand palladium Palace Resort and Casino: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your time to comment your experience with us. As well we would like to invite you once again to our complex to keep those memories and go beyond your expectative.

At grand palladium Palace Resort and spa: we effort with devotions to assure to our guest wonderful memories back home.

we look forward to welcome you back in the future

Kind Regards.

L Tajes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenside, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was my second trip to DR and will not return to Palladium in DR.
Check-in: My 19 friends and I encountered problems the day of arrival throughout the 6 night stay. First, there is a language barrier between the staff and guests. It was obvious the staff working in the reception area was not familiar with the check-in process and very little English!

Arrival to Room: I arrived to my "Loft Suite", which only had a bed, end table and outdated television upstairs. The sofa bed on the first floor was the most uncomfortable "thing to sleep on". All other 'amenities (bathroom, closet, television, etc. were down stairs (14 steps). It ranked of a heavy odor of mildew or something worse. I picked up the phone and the person answering could not understand English!. I went to lobby where I waited a very long time for service. They sent housekeeping with Aroma Spray which added to the bad odor. I insisted on moving to another room. We down graded to Delux Room....the air did not work for 6 nights, the room flooded on the 2nd night from another room above. Our room stayed flooded with water from 1:15 pm to 6:30 pm. My roommate reported the problem and when I returned from excursion at 6:15 THE WATER WAS STILL ON THE FLOOR. At this point, I am only communicating with the manager on duty.

Unhappy Staff: It appeared that the majority of the staff was not happy with their jobs. We found them to be rude and unpleasant (unless you were able to speak their language or placing a tip in their hands).

The shuttle service: Truly a joke. We waited over 40 minutes for a ride to the sports bar or disco at Bavaro with many shuttles empty and passing us by on several evenings. The bellhop would tell us "10 minutes". We actually boarded one of the shuttles and was told he was not going that way. We refuse to get off and insisted the driver take us.....and he did and picked up others along the way.

Power Outage: Every evening we experienced a power outage in the casino and on all the televisions.. They claimed there were problems with the signals (what was the problem in the casino with the power out every night?) By the way, in the Casino the bartenders were extremely rude and unpleasant. If you sit down at the bar, someone should come ask what you would like. "Excuse me, we would like some service" I believe that was asking too much. We were served with an attitude.

Another rule in the casino - when you are paid from your hit on the machines, the casino keeps the "cents" .01 - .99 cents is kept. You are only paid in complete dollars.

Reservations: we were told you needed reservations and the men required long pants. OK, we made reservations and returned at our scheduled time and men in long pants only to find out that we were being bumped because guests at the Royal do not need reservations which made us wait an additional 45 minutes and (Royal guest (men) did not have on long pants). There so much more to say, I believe I am at the maximum. Don't plan your vacation at Palladium in DR

Totally disappointed, KT

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear. Mrs ./ Mr. Kathie R.

On behalf of grand palladium Palace Resort and Casino & Spa: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your time to comment your experience with us.

Conserning to the language barrier, we want you to know that your opinion are very valuable and help us to improve; so we are instructing our staff with english lessons and others, in order to answer the satisfactions of our guest.

We have noted your expectative was not satisfied on your recently staying, so we are offering you an apology for the inconvenients you faced and invite you once again to our complex to see our improvements.

At grand palladium hotels and spa: we strive with devotions to assure to our guest wonderful memories back home.

Kind Regards.

R Segarra.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

After a couple days of sun and quality time with my family, who traveled miles to be at a special family wedding, we started noticing we were all feeling sick. About half of the 52 guests, who were staying at the resort for the wedding, felt sick with diarrhea, vomiting and stomach cramps. Each day someone was missing out on a family activity because they were too sick to attend. When this problem was brought to the hotel staff, they simply said " Did you eat the salad?, because "we", the staff, do not eat the salad here or anything washed with the water. This information would have been very useful before: 20 sick people got sick, 2 people ended up in the hospital (with infectious gastroenteritis) and most of us, realized that perhaps this was not the most clean or sanitary establishment in the Dominican Republic. Never again!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Gerente at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear. Mrs ./ Mr.OMEEE.

On behalf of grand palladium Palace Resort and Casino & Spa: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your time to comment your experience with us.

We have noted your expectative was not met on your last staying,so this is an important opportunety to clarify that we made all clinical analysis; as a rutine and got the conclusions, you should have catched, a kind of virus outside the hotel, because we did not find any uncommon things on our food or enviroments as you mantioned.
So we are offering you an apology for the inconvenients you faced.

Our health Quality department; we have as a routine the checking in all establishment and products to make sure every things go on the right way.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort and give you the desired service.

At grand palladium Palace Resort &spa: we strive with devotions to assure to our guest wonderful memories back home.

Kind Regards.

R Segarra.









After a couple days of sun and quality time with my family, who traveled miles to be at a special family wedding, we started noticing we were all feeling sick. About half of the 52 guests, who were staying at the resort for the wedding, felt sick with diarrhea, vomiting and stomach cramps. Each day someone was missing out on a family activity because they were too sick to attend. When this problem was brought to the hotel staff, they simply said " Did you eat the salad?, because "we", the staff, do not eat the salad here or anything washed with the water. This information would have been very useful before: 20 sick people got sick, 2 people ended up in the hospital (with infectious gastroenteritis) and most of us, realized that perhaps this was not the most clean or sanitary establishment in the Dominican Republic. Never again!!!!

Puntuá esta traducción: Ma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Any time we went to the Customer Service desk, it was as though we were invisible. There would usually be anywhere from 2 to 5 people looking at the computers. We would have to speak up every time. The first night we were there, we ordered room service and kept waiting for them to come. My husband is diabetic and needed to eat right away. About an hour later we were informed that the food was left in a little cubby hole by our door. Needless to say it was cold and rubbery by then. It was extremely hard for me to try and explain that my meals had to be 100% Gluten Free. When I told one Server, he walked behind me and said "ALWAYS A PROBLEMO". I was not impressed. One day we were locked out of our room and they had to find someone to come and fix the lock (about an hour wait). I could go on and on................ We will not return to this resort

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Gerente at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Mrs. Denise,

Thank you for taking time to send us a feedback on your experience. We are really sorry that your expectations were not met on your recent visit. Your experience describes areas in TRS Turquesa (not GP Palace). Sorry that you were not aware of our program for special conditions like yours (celiac and diabetes) as we do have a ID card for each to show at the restaurants and get help selecting proper food for you.

Our apologies on the technical issue with your room entrance electric lock. Hope the technical services was pront to assist you. As understandable, these kinds of incidents are not planned but can happen anywhere.

We expect to welcome you in a not distant future and have an opportunity to show you improoves in our operation as well as the hospitality that makes our complex a favorite in Punta Cana.

Yours in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was very displeased with the staff on this resort. Now do not get me wrong the resort and beach are very beautiful, but the staff was racist and also very rude. If you are not a White American, German or Spanish speaking individual you are treated as if you are some type of outcast. Basically none of the staff spoke any kind of English at all. When they were able to communicate (because I do speak some spanish) the staff then provided incorrect information (regarding reservations that were or were not needed for restaurants that are on resort premises) and were very rude. This resort is huge and includes 4 different places were you can stay (Grand Palladium Bávaro Suites Resort & Spa , Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino, Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa and The Royal Suites Turquesa by Palladium. I was advised that this resort has on premises transportation due to it's enormous size that is supposed to run every 20 minutes to pick you up and take you to your destinations. Well this transportation only catered to you if you were not dark in skin color (if you get my drift). My family and I literally waited for more thena half hour for transportation. Many empty vehicles flew right by us or would ride past us, and visibly stop right infront of a non dark skin individual to to offer a ride. The Loft was nice, but has many small bugs all over the place & the bed was very hard and uncomfortable for my spouse and I. The restaurants (that we had access to) were nice, but again the staff was rude. And on top of that I then became sick from what I did eat. I would NOT recommend this place to anyone who is looking for quality service or looking to be treated fairly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Gerente at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Patrice,

Thank you for taking the time for sending us a feeback on your experience. This is a wonderful opportunity to clarify certain aspects that maybe you were not completely aware of the services offered.

Transportation is set up for all 4 hotels, with 4 trams making one complete round on the complex every 20 minutes. Guests in The Royal Suites have an additional service provided with the golf karts you mention passing by empty which are an exclusive service to Royal guests. Other transportations are also available such as the spa, the casino and the Travel Club. The last service with golf karts is the one provided for all guests, only for arrivals and departures (read with luggage). If any given transportation is not busy and happen to find a guest going in the same direction, they could pick you up. Many guests mistake this as an included service and might get disappointed when the service is not available.

Your perception of a color code is correct but not the skin color but the ID bracelet on your wrist, showing the contrated services in your package.

I hope this explanation to be of help and really would love to receive you back in our complex where everyone is welcome.

Yours in hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Far Rockaway, New York, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Im definitely heading back here. I was here for nine days in Oct. Beautiful Beach. Excellent service. The only thing that I truly recommend if you are deciding to stay more than 4 days are the excursions. It would get kind of boring. Unless you would like to do the beach thing everyday. They have a show at 10-11p.m But after you stuff your face at the buffet you just want to get back to your room. I went to the show once in my nine days and that was halloween. Which it was cool. I would give it a five star if the WIFI was faster. Its free in the lobby but not in the room. Which its ok. oh yea almost forgot and this is not everyday but they have sells people trying to sell you stuff like souvenirs. not cool. You get enough of those when you leave the resort. anyway had fun. :)

Room Tip: head to villas in the 8000's close but far enough from the lobby music at nights. and i didnt ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear.Mrs./ Mr. JAVIEL.S

In the Name of Our staff: The Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino: and who subscribe let me extend you, warm greetings; and add with tremendous grateful, for taking your valuable time to comment your experience with us.

Also, we would like to invite Once Again, to Our Complex, to keep with these good memories Lived.

We have noted, That Your Experience with Us was Wonderful, and almost filled out your expectations, through this response; I let you know, that we will consider your suggestions obout wifi. and others, we should improve, Your Words Encourage and motivate us to maintain and improve our Level of service.

at the Grand Palladium Royal Suites Turquesa: we strive with Devotion to ensure to Our Guests Wonderful memories back home.

Best Regards.

Leandro Tajes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Palladium Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.