We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get rooms when things work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Get rooms when things work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Grandpaladium Palace, when we got to the hotel they didn't know what room they were going to give us, they just right away asked us to go for a drink. We got there and the T.V. worked 1 day, next night didn't work, complained nothing happened. The next night we had a storm all power went out, had no T.V for 4 days finally got it on the last day before we left. There was alot of people going up and down the beach trying to sell you things. In the morning for breakfast they never changed the bufffet up at all like at other resorts. When we talked to some people they swithed rooms 3 times because their air conditioner didn't work, lots of construction going on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Hummer v,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Palace Resort & Spa, we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We apologize for our services and that we do not full fill you expectations as well. All comments are very important for us, which is a valuable tool for us to continue improving.

Thanks for highlighting these details;

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,837
    615
    248
    171
    89
See reviews for
551
1,007
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

It was my best vacation ever, everything was perfect the people working there are very kind and helpful, I have to mention specially the guest service manager Jorge Luis Palmero Mota who is very competent and resolve any situation quickly and with a lovely smile. I will return surely soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear curtalex,

We want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay at Grand Palladium Palace Resort & Spa.

Comments like yours are the best motivation for us; thank you for choosing our Hotel for you and your relatives and for trusting that we will give you your well deserved vacations.

We will be waiting for your next vacations.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

6th time we have been to the Dominican Republic late July through to mid-August, & the 6th time we have managed to enjoy almost perfect weather (rain during the night).

We were due to stay in the Grand Palladium Bavaro but First Choice (Sharon is their brilliant rep) identified that their building works would be intolerable so we were upgraded to the Palace. A very good move on First Choice's part.

There's no doubt in our mind that the Caribbean coast (La Romana, Bayahibe) is the place to go, primarily because the hotels are that bit smaller & are a bit more personal. The Punta Cana/Bavaro resort & hotels on the Atlantic coast are too large and there's a much more commercial feel about the place - best exemplified by the non-stop motorised water sports. The beach vendors are no different, they'll soon realise that you're uninterested and will leave you alone - just smile and say "No thanks" through the first day.

The Grand Palladium resort is huge. Whether, being out-of-season, it can really cope with anything near maximum capacity I seriously doubt - there were times in Las Torres restaurant at dinner in the evening on Fridays and Saturdays when the basics (sufficient clean cutlery, crockery and glasses) weren't available and the serving staff were struggling to cope. But there's plenty of choice and our 2 (usually fussy) early teenage children were happy.

The rooms (we were in Villa 84) were OK, but as others have remarked they do need some overhaul and upgrading. I personally don't like the large bath taking up space in the bedroom, I'd much rather have a larger shower room & lavatory. The air-conditioning worked albeit noisily. Better to be cool and not hear the thunder during the night than be awake & sweating!!

We were hoping to try the a la carte restaurants but as we hadn't packed long trousers for our 12 year old son so we were refused entry and gave up trying. This is probably one of those underlying "impersonal" reasons that made me think "OK we won't be using this hotel chain again however hard you try!"

The beach is perfect, the swimming pools are scattered throughout the complex, and there are plenty of different restaurants and buffets to try. The grounds are immaculate and there's plenty of wildlife to look out for. But, hard as I tried, I much prefer the Caribbean coast and the (smaller) hotels there. My "rule of thumb" is that if there are happy Europeans (particularly Germans and Scandinavians) at a resort then the standards are OK, and I can just about tolerate cigarette smoking. I didn't see or hear many Europeans, and too many people insisted on smoking particularly in areas where there were lots of children.

Having written what does seem a bit negative overall, we'd be back to the Dom. Rep. every year as it is much better value (for about the same amount of money) as all-exclusives in Europe. Just the tropical storms and hurricanes which can make or break things, and we've been lucky every time.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear anje-roo,

From the staff of Grand Palladium Palace Resort & Spa we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We try to provide a good team, service and facilities at the height of your needs.

We greatly appreciate that we have totally satisfied your well deserved vacations.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Belvieu, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our travel group of 18 people went for vacation in July. The room we had was completely unacceptable, however you could upgrade for an additional $200.00 per week. That should have been our first clue. The majority of our party spent several days with diarrhea. One person in our party could not get the safe to work had $800.00 stolen out of there room. Another went into the Casino to play his free coupons and got scammed out of several thousand dollars. After returning to the U.S I did some research and found that the scam had been performed on numerous people. We plan a vacation each year for our group, out of the past 5 years we have been doing this, this was absolutely the worst

Room Tip: You have to upgrade. The rooms purchased from the travel agency were terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear 151BillC347,

Received a warm greeting from the staff of Grand Palladium Palace Resort & Spa, we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience you had during your holidays, we assure you we will consider your suggestions to improve our services.

Once again thank you very much,

Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Excellent resort with very nice infraestructure, food, services, room, restaurants, personnel and very importan, it has a quality certification Of service and infraestructure. I'll to plan next ti e of my vacations there.
I was in the Grand Palladium Palace.
My name is

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Ana M,

We want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay at Grand Palladium Palace Resort & Spa.

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for you and your relatives and for trusting that we will give you your well deserved vacations.

We will be waiting for your next vacations.

Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My boyfriend and I just got back from a trip here and we had a fantastic time. This was our first vacation together and with our limited budget, we definitely got so much more than we expected! The buffets were amazing with almost any food you could ever want including the amazing fruit! All the workers were really good at asking what we wanted to drink and if we were enjoying our meal. The sit down restaurants were just as good with a vast array of options for people with all different tastes. The bar tenders were all so friendly as well as the rest of the staff. Everyone was so helpful and the maids did an amazing job - our room was always super clean and they even fix it twice a day leaving flowers around the room as well. The beach was beautiful of course and the pools were awesome - many of them connected and we basically had our own private pool! August is definitely the time to go. The only negative is all the sales men on the beach trying to sell you excursions but the whole experience is so great it isn't even that big of a bother! We would definitely recommend this hotel and thought the whole experience was a 10 out of 10!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Linz12345,

From the staff of Grand Palladium Palace Resort & Spa we want to thank you for dedicating your time to share your experiences concerning your stay.

We try to provide a good team to our guests; we greatly appreciate that we have totally satisfied your well deserved vacations.

Thank you very much.

Best Regard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a loft suite. Two beds upstairs and one pull out couch downstairs. The pullout did not have an appropriate mattress and was held on the metal supports with makeshift pillows. We tended to use this bed to watch tv while the kids were sleeping upstairs, this was super uncomfortable due to the inadequate support because the mattress was drooping between the metal and the pillows kept moving out of place. Horrible. The rooms were kept really clean by the maids daily and the mini bar was restocked daily. If we needed extra water there was no problem asking the mini bar guy. My daughter had an accident in the kids pool section with the shipwreck. Beware all parents the water slides are FAST. My daughter slipped and fell head first, knock her front teeth loose. The doctor on the premises was very nice and referred us to a dentist. There were always sun beds available on the beach and could easily find shade close to the beach bar. The pools were really nice and clean. The buffet always had nice food variety. The a la Carte's were good too. Our fave was the tepenyaki but the experience depended on the team u got. We went twice first time was an awesome experience the second was mediocre. Overall we had a great family vacation. With lots to do to fill your day. The staff were all really nice. My kids loved the mini club and I loved that it was clean and modern. They provide parents with a cell phone so if kids are missing parents they can call you to come. I loved that. I would go back but hopefully they fix the sofa bed mattress situation because it was honestly disappointing to see that they expect ppl to sleep on that. My kids loved the train rides and so did I :) the prices at the gift shop are ridiculous, save ur money and buy at the airport because they sell the same for a fraction of the price. Despite all that I would go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear OACS,

We are really thankful for the precious time you dedicate to share your good experiences in the hotel with us.

It is a satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that we have totally satisfied your needs.

Thanks for highlighting these details; we work to improve every day.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Palladium Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.