We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Glorious weeks in Paradise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Leamington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“2 Glorious weeks in Paradise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Just returned home from 2 great weeks at the Grand Palladium Palace.

Not one negative thing to say about the resort or the Staff. Evelyn and the boys (julio etc.) were wonderful POP helping us enjoy our trip and get us involved in the activities. Drinks were flowing plentifully and was a nice change to have someone coming and asking you around the pool if you wanted a drink, didn't have that last year at the Grand Palladium Lady Hamilton but it was good anyway. Food was excellent in the buffets as well as the al la cartes. Beautiful white sandy beaches great for talking long walks. We got to visit the Royal Turquesa section as we met someone staying there, also very nice. Yes, the ground are big and if you don't catch the train there is walking involved but it doesn't seem too bad and with all the food and drinking your doing it will do your good.

Took the Bavaro Safara VIP tour and the Saona Island tour both very enjoyable. Take money for tips with you as its nice to help out the employees who are being so nice to you. Watch for the vendors along the beach, if you walk in the water they don't bother you. Remember they do bargain but it's not guaranteed things are authentic. Silver may not be Silver anyone can stamp 925 on an item. Take the free bus to Nicoles prices not bad and the jewellery is real.

On a side note, we travelled with Air Transat and was very upset to be told we had 9 kg overweight when we had left all our shampoo, deodorant, hair spray and 3 empty cans of spray suntan lotion at the resort. The only things we had in our baggage that didn't travel down with us was on bottle of Rum and 2 polo shirts. All other items were in our carry ons. Thanks Air Transat for our $135.00 charge that we had to pay or not fly home. Funny thing is the scale was registering weight without anything being on it. We questioned it and so did a newlywed couple who had taken numerous items with them for their beach wedding that they also left at the resort and they were charged also. Something is wrong with this scenario. Check your scales and a refund would be appreciated.

Room Tip: Stayed in Building 83. Buildings 81, 82, 91, 92 are ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear. Mrs ./ Mr. FARM

In the Name of Our Partners: The Grand Palladium Royal Suites Turquesa and who subscribe let me extend warm greetings, and add tremendous Mind That we are grateful for taking your valuable time to comment your wonderful experience With Us.

Also, we would like to invite Once Again, Our Complex to keep those good memories Lived.
we have noted That Your Experience With Us was Wonderful, and filled out all your expectations, your Beautiful Words Encourage and motivate us to maintain our Level of service.
at the Grand Palladium Royal Suites Turquesa: we strive to Devotion to ensure Our ​​Guests Wonderful memories back home.

Thank you very much.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,168
    476
    186
    139
    66
See reviews for
418
807
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a great experience at this resort. Lobby evening entertainment was most enjoyable. Food was better then good. Beautiful beach!! Resort staff was friendly, helpful and could not have been better. Will return and easily stay even longer.

Room Tip: Sprawling resort but resort transportation makes getting around very easy. 90's block was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear.Mrs./Mr.stjohsbnb.

In the Name of Our staff: The Grand Palladium Royal Suites Turquesa and who subscribe let me extend you, warm greetings; and add with tremendous grateful, for taking your valuable time to comment your experience with us.

Also, we would like to invite Once Again, to Our Complex, to keep with these good memories Lived.

We have noted, That Your Experience with Us was Wonderful, and filled out all your expectations, through this response; your Words Encourage and motivate us to maintain and improve our Level of service.

at the Grand Palladium Royal Suites Turquesa: we strive with Devotion to ensure to Our Guests Wonderful memories back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Everything was great ,went from the 23 - january 3rd . The food was amazing , the people was all beautiful . The drinks was all high class . Oh god speechless cant wait to go back . My family all loved it , we were a group of 20 and we all enjoyed it . The disco was great , the P.O.P was super friendly . This was my 3rd time coming and i felt in love once again . The lobby was all brighten up with lights . The santa claus coming down in a helicpter was a great show . Speechless . The food was definently a huge pluss . Everything so clean and sanitary . had an amazing time . Cant wait to be back . Vamos a volver otra vez al paraiso , - Severino Family .

YES 5 STAR ........

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear. Mrs. / Mr. JULIANFLERIS.

On behalf of grand palladium Palace Resort and Casino: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your valuable time to comment your experience with us.

We have noted, That Your Experience with Us was Wonderful, and filled out all your expectations, through this response; We let you know that your Words Encourage and motivate us to maintain and improve our Level of service.


As well, we would like to invite you once again to our complex to keep those memories and go beyond your expectative.

At Grand Palladium Hotel and Spa & Casino : We effort with devotions to assure to our guest wonderful memories back home.

Kind Regards.

L.Tajes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne, Indiana, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have just returned from our vacation trip to the Grand Palladium Palace & would like to share some of our experiences from this resort. We have celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary (January 2011) & our 52nd (January 2013) there. We had asked our travel agency to set up a vacation for us somewhere different where the climate was warm & sunny. We decided it would be the Dominican Republic & the Grand Palladium Palace Resort. Here are some of the events & people that we remember from our (2) anniversary trips:

• On our arrival, the 1st trip, we were awestruck at the size & beauty of the resort. We had no ideas of where to go or what to see. We were approached by a bellboy- Delvin Acosta. He could see that we needed some attention & was about to do some errands in his golf cart. He asked us in very enthusiastic & broken English if we would like to see the resort, to which we agreed. On our 2nd trip Delvin would be there for whatever he could do to help us out.

• On our 2nd trip we were upgraded to the Royal Suites and spent each day at the pool. We would get up early to get the right place for us at the pool. One of the pool employees, Jesus Barbebeuna Garcia, noticed what & where we were each morning and starting putting our towels there for us. He also, would put a small flower on the cabana shelf, which my wife would wear in her hair. He helped make each day there very special.

• On our 2nd trip & on our 52nd anniversary day, I remembered that I had forgotten to get an anniversary card to give to my wife. The receptionist at the Palladium Palace, Claudia Martinez, helped me to write a letter & to print a card for my wife. She, also, gave me a red rose to present to her. She was a life-saver on that day.

• During both of our trips, if we needed anything done, questions answered, calls made, things explained, Mirpil Soliver Moria was always available to help us out. She is the “Solution Specialist”. She may be the busiest person in this resort, but, always takes the time to help the guests. I think she is at her desk 24 hours a day. On our 50th anniversary she helped decorate our room with flowers that made that day extra special for us. She did so many things that made our stay there enjoyable, that it is impossible to remember them all.

• Damaris Salcedo Rojas is one of those employees that make you forget that she has her own job to do. She will do anything to make your stay enjoyable. She will even give up her own time, after work, to see that you get everything you need. On our 2nd trip & on her own time she decorated our room with flower & lights for our 52nd anniversary day. We came to our room after a special dinner and found the room dazzling with lights & flowers. She has done so much to make our stays there unforgettable that we feel she is our personal representative for the resort.

Damaris & Mirpil are more than just employees of the Grand Palladium. They have become our dear friends. They are one of the big reasons we came back to the Palladium the 2nd time. The Grand Palladium Palace Resort is a * 5 Star resort for us & its employees, especially Damaris & Mirphil, get “*10 stars”. So we would like to just say “THANK YOU”, from the bottom of our hearts”, to the Grand Palladium Resorts entire organization for making our vacations their unforgettable.


PS: We just got back, but, we are already planning, how and when, we can return to this beautiful paradise to see the people & place we LOVE.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear. Mrs ./ Mr. NAN. L.

In the Name of Our staff: The Grand Palladium Royal Suites Turquesa and who subscribe let me extend you, warm greetings; and add we are tremendously grateful, for taking your valuable time to comment your experience with us. Also, we would like to invite once Again, to Our Complex, to keep with these good memories Lived.

We have noted, That Your Experience with us was Wonderful, and filled out all your expectations, through this response; we let you know that, your Words Encourage and motivate us to maintain and improve our Level of service.

Kind Regards.

L.Tajes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The room was newly renovated but smelled of bug killer. As I am a asmathic this caused me to go into violent coughing episodes until we could air out the room. The grounds are beautiful but if you have any diffuculty walking this isn't the place to stay. The pool area is Ok but you can't get a lounge unless you wake up at the crack of dawn. The beach is nice but very windy the 7 days we were there.
The food at the buffets were average but the service was very slow to get your beverages. The worst was the Italian restaurant, we were told that a reservation was not necessary , however that caused us a wait of over a hour. The wait after ordering was 45 minutes for the soup which was on the menu as Tomato Bisque but arrived as spagetti sauce in a bowl (horrible). The entree took another half hour and arrived luke warm. Service was the worst, as we had to ask several times for both our soup and entree.
We travel to all inclusives several times a year and in fact went to the resort next door (Royal service) for a additional 6 days and it was absolutely wonderful service, food, beach. We are so thankful that we did.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear. Mrs ./ Mr. CALIFORNIA C.

On behalf of grand palladium Palace Resort and Casino: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your valuable time to comment your experience with us.

We have noted your expectative was not satisfied on your staying, so we are extending you an apology for the inconvenient you faced and invite you once again to our complex to see our improvements.

through this response we inform you we are making the arrangements to maintain this improvement.


At grand palladium hotels spa & Casino: we effort with devotions to assure to our guest wonderful memories back home.

Kind Regards.

L. Tajes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel is definitely not a 4.5 star. We were greeted in our first room by a roach, the first of many. We had them in our drinks that we brought to our room, when left in the room. We had our room fumigated and we had one night of no cockroaches followed by multiple adults and babies the next night.... NASTY. We were treated like we were stupid and told that this was part of their environment and that no one else ever complained of cockroaches. It was our fault as we had pop and drinks in our room. The pop was from your mini bar? I have traveled to many resorts in many Countries and have not encountered cockroaches in the room. This was the first and will probably be my last trip of this nature. We were threatened and they demanded our passport numbers, once we were transfered to our third room after complaining of the cockroaches. I ofcourse refused to provide our passport numbers. We were moved three times only to have cockroaches wherever we went. They told us to be quiet and laughed at us when asked to go home after spending days of packing item by item, checking pockets for bugs and moving and then unpacking and "sleeping" with lights on and the tv to hope they wouldn't become visible. The food was good and that's the only reason i gave it a 2. The beach is windy and cold and the pool is impossible to get a chair as they are all "saved" by bully people who don't speak English. We couldn't wait to get home only to have to unpack and leave our luggage outside as recommended by the management and Air Transat representatives... but we were advised that they wouldn't survive the plane? The representative from Air Transat was aloof and did nothing to help us or even follow up with us during this trip from hell. We asked to go home and she coldly advised us it would cost money to change flights. I was hoping to have a nice break before returning to work following my year long maternity leave, I now need a vacation from my vacation.

Room Tip: Building 91 ocean view is the best building and location ... We did have cockroaches mind you but if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all and on behalf of the management I want to thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay which we find very helpful in our goal to achieve excellence.
On the Complex we have a 24/7 pest control company which fulfill a weekly program to maintain pests off the property, however on the rainy days is more likely to find insects, please do not take this as an excuse because we take very seriously this matter.
There is a letter that come to my understand in which your family where Up Graded to a more comfortable room, a late check out and amenities as a treat on the Room Division Manager for the inconvenience signed by you.
Thank you for the appreciation of the food and restaurant services, as I wrote before we are in the path of excellence.
Regarding the environment and the weather, there is not much that we could do with the rain and wind, it can be uncomfortable
We hope that you give us another opportunity to host you again in the future.

With great regards from the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 7 days in Punta Cana from the 28th of December 2012 to the 4th of January 2013. We were a group of 10 + 6. We basically all were of the same opinion : definitely not a 4.5*...

We were told that this resort had the advantage of not requiring reservations for the “a la carte” restaurants. You show up at the restaurant, they give you a beeper that alerts you when the table is ready (you see this often in various places in the US). That would have been fine if all the hotel clients were using the same system... Unfortunately, some clients of the resort had the privilege to reserve their table, with the result that the restaurants the most in demand were full every night (e.g. The Japanese show, and the steak house). This was very annoying, but the hotel managers just did not care (when they were not straightly laughing at you...). The food however was generally OK. Just avoid the lamb at all costs!

Until the 31st of January, the wine served at lunch was basically undrinkable. Bad taste, and cut with water! The situation improved past the 31st (God knows why...), and we were then able to get drinkable wine. Same situation with the beach towels: almost impossible to change them until the 31st, and then they bought new ones (after many complaints), which seemingly solved the problem.

Unfortunately, we experienced various difficulties at the check-in. The rooms were not in the block we requested, which happens. However, we were travelling with my daughter that was to share a room with her cousin (male). There was no question for them to sleep in the same bed, but although we had requested a room with two beds, it seems that the only one available was one planned for renovations (no shower, no safe, no fridge, no AC...) in another part of the resort (not the Palladium, the Punta Cana). They finally had to resolve to take it for one night... Most of the rooms were OK, although they were not equal in terms of cleanliness... Some had dressing gowns, some not. The staff in the lobby was very disagreeable, again when they were not laughing at your requests...

The staff in the bars and restaurants is very nice and friendly. We wished it was the same with the managers and the lobby staff...

All in all, we were on the impression that the hotel being full, the managers jus did not know how to deal with it, and that they were panicked... Definitely not a 4.5*, not a lot more than 3.5*. Not one I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for units 81, 82, 91 and 92 (might work, might not). They are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all thank you very much for preferring our hotel to spend your vacations, regarding the a la carte restaurants service we do have a reservations system in place for the Royal Suites Turquesa guests; our staff do their best to comply on the effectiveness of service. We are very sorry if your appreciation was not as good as expected.
Regarding the check in and your request it’s always under availability concepts. We are looking for exceptional front desk service and training to improve service it’s a daily basis.
As you comment, the staff it is usually very friendly and courteous and willing to help so rest assure that every person working for this company wants to achieve excellence and please every guest.
Finally I need to say that the hotel at full capacity runs smoothly, perhaps your appreciation differs and we would like you to come back and give us the opportunity to host you as we usually do. There is nothing more important for the management than you Our Guests.
With greatest regards from all the Grand Palladium Resort and Spa Complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace
Grand Palladium Resort
Grand Palladium Punta Cana
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Grand Palladium
Grand Palladium Palace Resort
Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa
Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa
Palladium Punta Cana
Address: C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#22 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel and Priceline so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.