We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4.5...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Save Saved
You added Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not a 4.5...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 7 days in Punta Cana from the 28th of December 2012 to the 4th of January 2013. We were a group of 10 + 6. We basically all were of the same opinion : definitely not a 4.5*...

We were told that this resort had the advantage of not requiring reservations for the “a la carte” restaurants. You show up at the restaurant, they give you a beeper that alerts you when the table is ready (you see this often in various places in the US). That would have been fine if all the hotel clients were using the same system... Unfortunately, some clients of the resort had the privilege to reserve their table, with the result that the restaurants the most in demand were full every night (e.g. The Japanese show, and the steak house). This was very annoying, but the hotel managers just did not care (when they were not straightly laughing at you...). The food however was generally OK. Just avoid the lamb at all costs!

Until the 31st of January, the wine served at lunch was basically undrinkable. Bad taste, and cut with water! The situation improved past the 31st (God knows why...), and we were then able to get drinkable wine. Same situation with the beach towels: almost impossible to change them until the 31st, and then they bought new ones (after many complaints), which seemingly solved the problem.

Unfortunately, we experienced various difficulties at the check-in. The rooms were not in the block we requested, which happens. However, we were travelling with my daughter that was to share a room with her cousin (male). There was no question for them to sleep in the same bed, but although we had requested a room with two beds, it seems that the only one available was one planned for renovations (no shower, no safe, no fridge, no AC...) in another part of the resort (not the Palladium, the Punta Cana). They finally had to resolve to take it for one night... Most of the rooms were OK, although they were not equal in terms of cleanliness... Some had dressing gowns, some not. The staff in the lobby was very disagreeable, again when they were not laughing at your requests...

The staff in the bars and restaurants is very nice and friendly. We wished it was the same with the managers and the lobby staff...

All in all, we were on the impression that the hotel being full, the managers jus did not know how to deal with it, and that they were panicked... Definitely not a 4.5*, not a lot more than 3.5*. Not one I would recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for units 81, 82, 91 and 92 (might work, might not). They are closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all thank you very much for preferring our hotel to spend your vacations, regarding the a la carte restaurants service we do have a reservations system in place for the Royal Suites Turquesa guests; our staff do their best to comply on the effectiveness of service. We are very sorry if your appreciation was not as good as expected.
Regarding the check in and your request it’s always under availability concepts. We are looking for exceptional front desk service and training to improve service it’s a daily basis.
As you comment, the staff it is usually very friendly and courteous and willing to help so rest assure that every person working for this company wants to achieve excellence and please every guest.
Finally I need to say that the hotel at full capacity runs smoothly, perhaps your appreciation differs and we would like you to come back and give us the opportunity to host you as we usually do. There is nothing more important for the management than you Our Guests.
With greatest regards from all the Grand Palladium Resort and Spa Complex.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,478
    542
    216
    161
    79
See reviews for
497
918
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel beginning of December 2012. We were really looking forward to this hotel because of the positive feedback we got from my sister and her husband who stayed there a couple of years ago.
The hotel is located in a resort together with the GP Punta Cana, the GP Bavaro and the Tropical Suites (Adults only). The resort is huge. There is a train riding through the resort so you can just hop on at any of the stops and see the whole resort in about half an hour.
The hotel offers free internet in the lobby.
Beach
The beach is amazing. Very clean, very nice. The resort is next to Cortecito, a Dominican “shopping center” where you can buy souvenirs, cigars or go to lunch. This is definitely worth visiting.
There were only two toilets at the beach (near the restaurant). This is not enough for a hotel this size. We sometimes had to queue. Luckily we had a room close to the beach so we could go to our room whenever necessary.
Rooms
The rooms our outdated and in desperate need of refurbishment/renovations. They are very spacious, have a small Jacuzzi, shower, everything you need. Our TV set did not work very well, it was probably 15 years old. We had a room with ocean view. I can tell you, the view was amazing and made up for the outdated room. The cleaning lady was very kind and kept our room very clean.
Restaurants
You can eat in all the restaurants (buffet and a-la-carte) except for the Tropical Suites, no reservation necessary. It is a pity though that some of the restaurants require long trousers and closed shoes for men (while women can go in half naked). In the evening the temperature is still 26 degrees Celsius (77 degrees Fahrenheit) in the Dominican republic, so why should men wear long trousers and closed shoes? Unbelievable. This is a holiday after all, not a beauty pageant.
My husband loves wearing 7/8 trousers, which is like 10 cm above the ankles. Unfortunately this is not accepted as long trousers. This is why we went to the buffet restaurant instead.
The food was just above average. Nothing special. One night I had grilled calamari. It took the cook ages to cook them (like 15 minutes) and when they were finally cooked, they were overcooked, black. Just awful.
One thing that disturbed me every time we went to the buffet restaurant is that the first row of tables was too close to the buffet. When people were helping themselves to some food on that side of the buffet, you could hardly pass. Also when people were seated at those first row tables, it was difficult to pass.
My sister said they had cava every day at the buffet restaurant for breakfast. When we were there however we only had cava twice in one week. Also, in the evening when I ordered cava at the bar they said we had to pay for it. It was sold by the bottle, as was champagne. This is unacceptable. Why would you charge people for cava when all the other drinks are for free? Whether you have a glass of cava or any other drink, the cost for the hotel is the same.
Also, at most of the 5 star hotels we’ve been to in Punta Cana, cava is always include in the all inclusive formula. So I was a bit disappointed we had to pay for our drinks.
Every day a cook prepared paella at the beach so we usually had some of that. It was really good. The only thing that was missing were the lobsters my sister talked about. They had lobster paella at the beach several times, however when we were there, I guess they ran out of lobsters????
Overall we can say that this hotel was OK, but we’ve had better. Our rate would be a four star hotel rather than a five star hotel. This was our tenth time in Punta Cana and we’ve been to so many different hotels (we try out a new one every year). I guess somehow we are glad we chose this hotel but unless they improve their service and do some renovations we are not going back any time soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ltajes, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear guest,
First of all thank you very much for your comments, it is very important to hear your opinion for us to achieve excellence.
Regarding the Rooms comments we do have a planned renovations for the complex, last year The Grand Palladium Bavaro was completed and the program involves the rest of the hotel.
The Food and beverage services comments are explained as follow: Wear long pants in the a la carte it’s the etiquette of a better and differentiated evening service which we truly believe.
The restaurants accommodations are planned to provide a comfortable stay during your meals, we appreciate your comments and we will study the case and modify the set up if needed. Regarding the Cava, as you said correctly it is being served with orange juice two times a week during breakfast (mimosas). At the bar we do serve cava in the Royal Suites Hotel and in the Hemingway Bar, located on the Grand Palladium Bavaro side. Unfortunately being an Island the costs of imports are very high in some items such as sparkling wines.
Lobsters are served on the a la carte restaurants with a cost which include a bottle of wine, for the Royal Suites guests are included on their stay.
Finally and on behalf of the Palladium Hotel Group I want to thank you for all your comments which we found very useful, our main goal it is to achieve excellence and provide you a better service.
We are looking forward to host you again in your next trip back to the beautiful Dominican Republic and allow us to pamper you with the best and improved services.
With great regards from the management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotell during its high Christmas season 2012/13. Having booked and paid in advance for a beachfront room for 12 nights we were told upon our arrival at 5 pm from Germany (11 hour flight) that it was not any longer available! We were, needless to say, shocked! How could this be? 5 star hotel? My husband, my 9 year old son and I were given a less good room without any apologies, without any compensation without any bonuses although the hotel was at fault. This can happen, indeed, but if the hotel is a 5 star establishment, compensation and apologies would be immediately granted.

Two days later after living out of our suitcases, we were finally told we could move into our booked beach front room. First, though we must sign a release form relinquishing all claims to the hotel. My husband refused and then the manager on duty, a Mr. Williams said then that we would not get the key to the new room if we did not sign this paper. WHAT?

This of course was a very very bad impression of the Palladium Hotel Spa and Resort and the entire Fiesta Hotel Group. We were not really able to relax as this experience hindered our enjoyment.

The beach is in fact nice and the service personnel mostly friendly but the management unprofessional and unable to deal with conflict. The gym area of this five-star hotel has very old equipment and definitely needs renovation.

Overall no need to come back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear. Mrs. / Mr.MMH.

On behalf of grand palladium Palace Resort and Casino & Spa: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your time to comment your experience with us.

We have noted your expectative was not satisfied on your recently staying, so we are extending you an apology for the inconvenient you faced and invite you once again to our complex to see our improvements.

Once again, thanks for selecting, us as your destination and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

At palladium Palace Resort and Casino & Spa;we strive with Devotion to ensure to Our Guests Wonderful memories back home.


Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We just got back from P.C. Dec 30 to Jan 6.
Positives
- weather was awesome
- the beach was perfect
- the sports facilities at this resort are very good, tennis, racquet ball, soccer, basketball and volleyball fields all located together and kept well/clean.

Negative
- the hotel is far from a 4 star hotel.
- the room (junior suite) was outdated..lamp broken, tv control did not work, shower broken, the beds were hard as a rock and everything that needed to be fixed was done extremely cheap fast and poor job.
- the pool was big BUT tiles were missing on childrens area...lots!! no attention to detail.
- the food was awful...buffet was all fried!! a la carte was a joke..we waited 2.5 hrs once for italian restaurant...people line up for reservations for Japanese restaurant 2 hrs before it opens!!
All the food at a la carte was average at best....At the Mexican restaurant there was a fly in the cottage cheese when we got there ...and was still there when we left 2 hrs later..no attention to detail!!
-There is nothing special about this resort ...no WOW factor..customer service was average.

I've been to Punta Cana 4 times and would rate this hotel at the bottom
#1 Hard rock hotel
#2 Iberostar punta cana
#3 Bahia principe
#4 Grand Palladium Palace (3.5 stars!!)
#3

Room Tip: dont stay here!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear. Mrs ./ Mr. Matgab.

On behalf of grand palladium Palace Resort and Casino & Spa: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your time to comment your experience with us.

We have noted your expectative was not satisfied on your recently staying, so we are extending you an apology for the inconvenient you faced and invite you once again to our complex to see our improvements.

At grand palladium hotels and spa: we effort with devotions to assure to our guest wonderful memories back home.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed here along with 30 other people for a wedding in aug of 2012. It was absoultley gorgeous! the beach was soooo beautiful. Every morning they had the staff raking the beach. In aug, its horribly humid....clothes? huh...id walk out my door and begin to sweat. The maids were awesome! They love simple things such as earings etc....everyday id leave a tip and our room was clean as ever!! The beverages were awesome!! Check in was really slow bc our room wasnt ready, but we got wristbands and layed on the beach until they were ready!! The only thing I would say they could improve on is the front desk. They were all really nice, but did not speak our language( we are in a differ country!!) lol but it would be nice for having someone who speaks it bc they had english speaking people there but not at the front desk. The buffets were really good! Wide variety of food! The reservation restaurants were superb!! I would say to bring a couple suits and if you plan on eating...you need just decent clothing....you do need nice clothing for the reserved. We ate at all but the french restaurant. 10 days in this place went soo fast. The nightly shows were really good too! I also went on a half day scuba excursion on a huge bat lookn boat! pretty cool!!! they also had nightly beach partys

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear. Mrs. NICOLE.

In the Name of Our staff: The Grand Palladium Royal Suites Turquesa and who subscribe let me extend you, warm greetings; and add we are tremendously grateful, for taking your valuable time to comment your experience with us. Also, we would like to invite once Again, to Our Complex, to keep with these good memories Lived.

We have noted, That Your Experience with us was Wonderful, and filled out all your expectations, through this response; we let you know that, your Words Encourage and motivate us to maintain and improve our Level of service.

at the Grand Palladium Royal Suites Turquesa: we strive with Devotion to ensure to Our Guests Wonderful memories back home.

Once again, thanks for selecting us as your destination and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Me and my family stayed at Grand Palladium Palace, December 14 – 21, 2012, and had a wonderful vacation. Our junior suites (9114, 9116, and 9117) were spacious, clean, ocean view. The service was exemplary, the food was spectacular for an "all-inclusive", the staff was friendly and very helpful and the weather was at the rendezvous.
I think we received the best service here than at any other hotel we have previously visited.
The lobby bar is very well stocked with International brand spirits and almost always staff asked which brand you wished to be served with. I really enjoyed drinking in the lobby bar during the evenings as it provided a great atmosphere.
We dined at many “a la carte” restaurants. We found each one overall good with an A+ for Sumptuori which is a must! The buffets were very good with a good selection of hot and cold dishes. We found the lunch menu very much to our taste and really enjoyed the food.
The last, but not least, the animation team was amazing: well organized beech and pool plays, lots of dancing and aerobics. The entire staff was awesome, we feel like we are family when we stay here. Thank you Evelyn, Aurelina(Barbie), and all the team members! The same for the team supervisor, which coordinated the animations in a quite remarkable way.
We want to thank again all the staff for making our stay amazing. We'll come back soon.
Victoria and Dominic grandparents.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rsegarra, Manager at Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear. Mrs. / Mr.Ilie P.

On behalf of grand palladium Bavaro Suites Resort and Spa: we are tremendously thankful for dedicating your time to comment your experience with us. As well we would like to invite you once again to our complex to keep those memories and go beyond your expectative.

At grand palladium hotel and spa: we effort with devotions to assure to our guest delightful memories back home.

Once again, thanks for selecting Palladium Hotel Resorts as your destination and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.


Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Confused and incompetent staff. They did not communicated with each other.
It took 2 hours to check in. (And we had "dedicated" concierge)
My 2 daughters (17 and 24) were constantly harassed by male staff: "Do you want a boyfriend for a week? Do you want a kiss?" Very unprofessional and inappropriate. "In your face"
After 4 days they finally decided to go to resort's Disco (against my advice), but they left within 10 minutes.
Overpriced. Our family of 4 paid over $9000 (all inclusive fees and airfare from Atlanta) during Christmas week on the top of time share points (means rooms no charge).
Trips: Local resort scuba diving trip to Catalina island: dirty bus, dirty beach, bad lunch. $180 per person
Other local attractions: They charged $90 for 15 min para-sailing for 2 people, $45 for small boat sailing "instruction course"
Beach: Very crowded. Some people were there at 7 am so they could "reserve" shaded spots.
Villas: We had 2 spacious rooms but service (repairs, laundry etc) was poor. Hard and damp pillows.
Food: below average buffet style, definitely worse than cruise food.
Local "a-la-cart" restaurants below average (especially Japanese). You have to wear long pants but air-conditioning was not on!
Very humid. Clothes remained damp until washed and dried at home.
If you like alcohol: its all inclusive (served without limits)
Entertainment below expectations: Casino (few tables and couple machines), Theatre (same local dance group everyday), Disco (late and empty)
Worst family vacations in the last 20 years: we travel almost every year outside of continental US: Cancun 4 x, Hawaii 2 x, Bahamas 2 x, Cruises 4 x, Aruba 2 x etc.
None of us wants to go there again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Palladium Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;