We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“12 times and never disappointed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Elkford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“12 times and never disappointed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

What can I say but WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! This is our 12th time to the Palladium complex and 10th time at the Palace. We visited from Nov 30 to Dec 14. The weather was typical. Some rain which only lasted a few minutes at a time and sunny days with +30 temperatures. We were a group of 13 from Canada including our 4 year old grandson and 2 ½ year old granddaughter. We were there to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary by renewing our wedding vows. I had not told my wife about this until we landed and the surprise on her face was priceless. Thankfully she said yes when I re-proposed. 2 out of 3 of our children have been married here and we could not think of a better place to renew our vows. I had been in touch with Carolina, wedding coordinator, previously and everything was awesome. My wife picked out her colours, flowers, music, location, restaurant etc. the day before the ceremony. We have met many wonderful people during our visits and Gunter and Ursula, from Germany, attended the ceremony as part of our extended family. The ceremony was at 4:00 pm on Dec 2 and the weather was perfect. We had chosen the new gazebo near the beach and there was a gentle breeze and a beautiful sunny sky. We spoke our vows and toasted with champagne. Mirpil, Guest Service Manager, was there as well. She and Carolina are like our daughters. They are amazing young women who do an excellent job making sure that your vacation is memorable. We had a dedicated train to take us all to "El Quixote" for dinner. The wedding cake was a simple chocolate cake, my favourite, with whip cream icing pink ribbon and flowers. It was big enough to feed the entire restaurant clientele. The entire day went off without a hitch.

We have never been disappointed at this resort and this time was no exception. My mother had suffered some medical issues immediately before we arrived and a wheel chair was provided upon arrival. They were all attentive and deeply concerned about "Mama Yvonne's" well being. We had the opportunity to attend the "staff" Christmas party and had a blast. There must have been over 300 people there. They were having a great time and included us in the festivities. Luis Miguel del Amargue was on stage and provided an incredible performance. We left at 2:00 am and they partied on till the wee hours.

We rented a taxi and went to Macao beach for the afternoon. We swam, drank, ate and enjoyed the afternoon. We were lucky enough to enjoy the company of Janiel, Patricia and Odil. As I have mentioned before these people are like family to us. They are incredible to be with and if you get a chance to meet them take the time to get to know them. You will not be disappointed. William at the swim up bar was our first Dominican son. We had to go home before his 33rd birthday on Dec 19 but we did enjoy the time spent with him.

The workers are friendly and work hard to make your stay enjoyable. Relax and watch the world go by. If you have children they will be safe and there is plenty for them to do. The kids club will keep them entertained and the pools and the beach are incredible.

The food is great and even the pickiest eater will find enough to eat. For those who complain about the service just remember that they serve about 500 to 700 people at each sitting at the buffets so give them a break and be patient. They are doing there best. Remember if you want 5 star Canadian service then stay in Canada. This is a third world country that strives to provide a great service for the money spent. Bring along some items to give away. Toothpaste and brushes, hot wheels, school supplies etc. are all appreciated. Leave the resort and visit the small school just to the south of the Royal Suites.

Remember when you complain about the service or the attitude of the workers that they have feelings and emotions too. You don't always have a great day when you are working so cut them a little slack and relax. They have the same worries and concerns as you have in your home life. My Dominican hermano, Nunez, had suffered a personal tragedy in his life a few weeks before our arrival and yet still managed to put on a smile every day and was deeply concerned about my mother's health.

One thing to remember is that the Casino and the stores are not affiliated with the resort. They are independent companies and employees. In the stores the motto "if you break it, you bought" is rigidly enforced even if it was an accident. Keep a close eye on children as their little hands want to touch everything.

Which ever country that you come from remember that you are an ambassador and represent your country. Be polite and be proud of who you are. You will be treated with kindness and respect in return.

We will soon return for our 13th visit and will once again be at home with Fernelis, William, Janiel, Patricia, Maribel, Rene, Mirpil, Nunez, Carolina and the rest of our familia Dominicana. Get to know the people and you will not be disappointed. I could go on forever but needless to say we will always return to the Palace. I am proud to call these wonderful people family.

Feliz Navidad mi familia dominicana. Amor Papa, mama, abuela, Jennifer, Christopher, Brayden, Monica, Seth y Coraline.

Room Tip: We always stay in building 84. Close to the beach, pool and El Bohio restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,691
    582
    230
    161
    83
See reviews for
524
957
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas City, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I was in the palace at the beginning of December and just want to say how impressed I am with the sevice and friendliness of the workers especially the animation team, they made our holiday especially memorable (BARBIE O Aurelina) she is a very special girl and funny, I had fun in their activities in the pool ...... very good job doing

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying here at the end of November. this is a self-contained village-like resort with 4 sections. Stayed in a loft suite in block 9300 of the Palace section. First time at a Palladium hotel but 3rd in the area. It is the oldest hotel in the chain in the Caribbean/Mex locations they have but to be honest there is nothing wrong with the hotel at all and most people that were there were quite happy including us. In fact staying here at the start of the higher season; all sections of this complex were busy with high occupancies. This is a huge indication that the hotel is doing something right.
it is located on one of the best stretches of the beach in Punta Cana, 2 min walk on the beach to a local market for some shopping, consists of 4 different sections which i will try to break down later and despite the fact that it is older - it is kept up VERY well on most part.
It is a large hotel but you get used to it and you will find that it's not so bad. The interconnecing walkways make it easy. Each section has their own pool(s), I didnt visit the Bavaro section or Royal Turquesa pool so i will not comment.My favourite two pools were the Palace and the Punta Cana pool (the one with the adjacent kids pool/splash pad). and not the one close to the beach. Each pool has its own vibe. Music is playing at each pool, with activities scheduled throughout the day but not too overbearing, swim-up bars have a nice atmosphere and have some restaurants nearby for lunch. There is a pool and a place for everyone--regardless of what you prefer to do when you are on vacation. The food is excellent on most part - you may have a night where you may not like particular theme (in my case mexican was my least favourite) BUT there are many restaurants to choose from and to be quite honest i really liked the buffet and the choices offered. You can go all the restaurants in Bavaro, Punta Cana or Palace section-not too shabby. They have a pager system here for the a la cartes which has its pros and cons but line-ups are inevitable on most part at every resort you go anywhere. It's either you lining up in the morning in the lobby to make reservations or you lining up at the restaurant to be granted a table the evening of. Either way you line up. What can you do? that is the only way to handle masses at all inclusive resorts. You can go to the other a la cartes and see which one can take you in sooner or you can go earlier and give it some time to get seated. My favourite a la carte was most def Japanese. Fantastic! One of the best i have been to. The Brazilian steakhouse was great too. Service is excellent everywhere...i mean you can get an odd ball especially at a buffet but dont stress about it. So what if they forgot to bring your coffee, they have such volumes coming through the doors to serve everyone, their heads are spinning. Go to the lobby and get a coffee there or by any other bar. There should not be any complaints about service here. I've had worse at better hotels in Punta Cana so i was quite pleased to have on most part happy service. Each lobby has its own live evening entertainment. Best part is that if you dont like one, you can go to the other by the amazing choo choo train lol which by the way runs all day long roughly every 15-20 min. They also have 2 amphitheathres for shows which may not always be open simultaneously but there is always a show. I preferred the lobby entertainment better. There is a lively disco here, 24 hr sports bar with fresh pub grub, pool tables etc. Again, something for everyone. Kids club looked pretty neat but the main highlight is the kids pool with slides. Bravo! My kid loved it. There is a huge sports court too for those that are active - very impressive. Best part about Punta Cana is the beach and with this location you hit a jackpot. The rooms are dated but again very clean and i personally had no issues. Major tip for the management would be to get the rooms updated with new flat tvs, bedding, matresses so that the hotel remains competitive with the rest of the hotels in the area. The upper level of the lofts needs some structural support as the floor are crooked and literally hanging. I dont think my life was at danger sleeping upstairs but it looks a little unstable. The rooms definitely need to get into the contempo decor like the rest of the hotels are doing. It would be worth the investment to upgrade the rooms to impress new and retain old clients. One negative part that i simply can't skip out on is the amount of vendors selling excursions on the premises. I have traveled to many resorts in various countries and i have never seen that many tour booths around the pools or people simply trying to sell things right at the hotel. Luckily they are not too pushy maybe cause i have seen worse or maybe because they are at the resort and have to behave but regardless it gets annoying after a few days. Some fellows at the beach are quite friendly and are not a nuisance but it's just a weird and uncomfortable set up especially when you want to exchange towels and each time you do you get questioned and lured into some brochure...come on! Mngmt should reconsider the set up of this perhaps. Have them in the lobby as guests enter maybe? overall i have to say this complex is a solid 4*. There is no such thing as 5* hotel anyway as ratings can be subjective to pesonal experiences but i give this complex a solid 4* hotel. If they upgrade the rooms, they can be a huge contender to hotels like Barcelo, Bahia, Melia, Ocean complex. Palladium keep up the good job! I would definitely come back because of the set up of sections, food, service, pools and ahh the beach.

Room Tip: Block 69 is central but away from the beach, Block 92, 93 are close to the beach and the Palace pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Went trhere with my girlfriend and loved the room and hard rock cafe.Was not to excited about the sales call they talk you into but the hotel and Palace resrts are great.
Loved the restaurant views and the service was very very good.
I would recoimend for any couple f

Room Tip: ask for a single suite its super
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

First of all.. its was an absolutely amazing trip! Everything a just so beautiful. and a great lace to host a wedding. I did not want to go home!
Ive been trying to find some of the songs that were played everywhere (Resort, Train, Bus, pool, disco) But i don't know any song names. but the music was fantastic and fun to dance to.

The POP people the staff that walked around and tried to get you more involved were great!!, always trying there best to get everyone active and join in on the activities.

I really enjoyed the trip and look forward to visiting again once i have some money!! :D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcantarilha, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Just back from a great 7 days in Punta Cana.While the resort was beautiful there were one or two problems. Firstly, the very dated air conditioning in our loft suite! So noisy but you couldn't sleep without it! Then on the third night it developed an intermittent metal clanging noise. Ear plugs at the ready!!
Couldn't fault the staff at all. Always smiling and everyone said hello in passing. So friendly and always helpful. Except for in the restaurants! Which were by the way a bit of a joke to try and get into! All of them on a first come first served basis. Not able to reserve a table so if you were later than 6.30, expect to wait for a couple of hours for a free spot. They give you a buzzer so you can have a drink in the bar. Drunk before dinner!!
Apart from this, it was a fabulous holiday. Close to the beach, pools and sports.
Just be prepared to wait for dinner!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go for a deluxe. Loft suites are difficult during the night if you need the loo!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 7 days and I agree with some of the other reviewers that the rooms are a little dated, some of the bathroom fixtures were rusted or looked old. I stayed at the 6800 building and the bed was OK and clean, but felt as if it was too old. Toiletries were OK, not the best, towels were clean.
The bad part about the stay was that we didn't get towels for 2 days and we had to ask the front desk for them. Also, our key didn't open the door 3 nights in a row and when they sent us back with the bellboy (as if we didn't know how to operate a key), they found out the batteries in the device were low so the key worked after they replaced them. Again, like other reviewers, no appology from the front desk. The shower in the morning was not hot, just warm and the TV was grainy the whole stay (lots of networks in English and other languages).
The best part of the stay was the location, beautiful beach and facilities, very clean and the people working in the hotel were excellent (Guadalupe from the breakfast buffet, the guy making omelets, Karina, Delvin, pool entertainers) but also some of the people were not as friendly, such as some of the lobby staff.
Food was good, loved the Dominican night and it was unfortunate that they didn't have Domnican food every night, at least one or two dishes. The paella for lunch at the restaurant by the beach was fantastic! Had also the Brazilian restaurant (twice) and the Japanese restaurant which was good. The Brazilian restaurant had an assortment of meats and it was OK but the meat was a little over cooked for my taste.
The drinks were OK but it is best to ask for the "añejo" rum rather than white. Tastes much better!
Service can be improved and this hotel could really be a 5 star.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: C/ El Cortecito | Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#31 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 420
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino enjoys a privileged, sea-front location on the renowned Playa Bavaro. The resort, located on a sprawling estate of lush tropical vegetation and a coconut plantation, is next to the Grand Palladium Bávaro Resort & Spa, and the Grand Palladium Punta Cana Resort & Spa. The facilities of these adjoining resorts are open to guests of the Grand Palladium Palace Resort Spa & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Palladium Palace Hotel
Grand Palladium Palace Punta Cana
Palladium Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Palladium Palace Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.