We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punta Cana - Vik Arena Blanca” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added VIK Hotel Arena Blanca to your Saves list
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   White Sand, carretera Arena Gorda | Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Chateauguay, Canada
1 review
“Punta Cana - Vik Arena Blanca”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

We had a good time. The Weather was perfect, sunny the entire week. We actually bought Roulette 4 Stars with Sunquest and paid $807 each...which is very cheap and at the airport they told us we were going to Vik Arena Blanca. Our arrival was ordinary 'cause they didn't have our reservation at 02h30 am, beside that...everything else was okay. The rooms are basic, but they are renovated rooms that are worth it to get for a few more $$$. We were very impress with the buffet, the food was really good and the Italian Restaurant was good too. The beach is nice and clean and the Ocean was better in front of our Hotel than other spot in front of 5 stars hotel...lol ! About 30 minutes walk for the center where you can find stores to go shopping. The Staff was kind but very anoying the first 2 days when you arrive 'cause they want you to go visit the other hotel Cayenne inside the Resort. The whole vacations was worth it, specially with the price we paid

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    822
    448
    215
    149
See reviews for
494
822
84
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

Just came back from Vik Arena Blanca - 2 couples (23 years old)

The resort itself was nice...but the beach is clearly the main attraction!

Rooms:
- we did an upgraded room for 20 dollars for the week (complex 4 and 5 are upgraded) I would recommend this
- the rooms were clean, maids did a great job (we did tip every other day)
- lots of channels on the tv...always a good movie on tv to watch
- safe is in the room (costs 2.00 a day, but worth the price to feel like your valuables are safe)

Food:
- We went to the buffet for breakfast every morning. great selection - eggs, baccon, toast, pancakes, ommeletes, yogurt, smoothies... never had a problem with selecting food for breakfast (one of my favourite meals)
- Dinner we did the buffet the first three nights - stir fry station was really good...but slow (i would only suggest standing in line if there are less than 3 people) pasta station was great as well, and same with fajita station (when they had it) other then that normal food selection - chicken, meats, potatoes...
- El la carts were great (we did the italian twice, and international twice) loved all my meals here no complaints at all!
- Service in the el la carts was amazing, buffet not so much (would go to another table to grab cutlery)

Beach:
- LOVE LOVE LOVE THE BEACH!
- the crocked palm trees are def. a main attraction, everyone stops n takes pictures on them, fun to try to climb as well!
- beach does get busy, but we never seemed to have a hard time getting a beach chair. alot of ppl do put towels out at night to reserve their spots

Entertainment:
- entertainment staff was fun
- water aerobics on the beach and pool each day (same routine though)
- volleyball and bocchi tournaments happening each day
- nightly shows were alright (the cirus one was amazing!)
- Disco was EMPTY!
- the resort itself was filled with an older crowd so empty at night
- NOT A RESORT FOR PARTYING

Other:
- bring a watch/clock - there as no clocks in the room or resort other then the lobbey, so we were always calling the operator/front desk to ask for the time
- the workers/beach barginers did get kind of annoying after a while always asking for us to do activities, buy something...but just have to remember this is their job and the way of life for them to make money (just polietly say no and eventually they will go away)
-there is a flea market around 5 minute walk away (to the left) necklaces, picture frames, little nik nacks not bad to buy some souvenirs, but once you've seen one store there all the same
- booze was a little watered down (compared to when we went to the resort next door - ocean blue and snuck in and got a drink there)


Overall it was a great trip, a lot more relaxing then we expected. But for the price its a great deal, nothing wrong with it.

If your looking to party we did find out on the last day you can buy wrist bands to go to Imagine (a cave bar filled with all tourists) and a bar Mangu - its about 55 dollars gets you entrance for the week and free drinks I believe. We missed out on this, but i would def do it next time!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

This resort is great if it caters to what you are looking for -- a quiet, relaxing week and if you aren't too picky about your food and drinks. Upon arrival at the airport we had no problems locating our transfer bus, despite the fact that the flight was delayed by over two hours. After a quick stop for some beers, we continued to the hotel and had no problems with the check in. We were given the room we had reserved (a renovated oceanview room) and were not disappointed. The room is fairly basic but was very clean, with a beautifully renovated bathroom and a flat screen tv. At first glance the bed seemed far too hard to be comfortable, but actually turned out to be great for sleeping. We had a wonderful balcony with perfect views of the pool and ocean, in building 4.

We ate most of our meals at the buffet including lunches and dinners and never had any problems. We are not too picky, but there was always something interesting to try and a good selection of basics for those days when you're not feeling too daring. The dinner buffet has stations to make your own stir-fry, pasta and soup so you can always have something with your favorite ingredients, but be prepared to wait in a line for at least twenty minutes. As our guide told us on one excursion, "one hour in the rest of the world is one Dominican minute. They say 'wait one minute' and you know you will be waiting for an hour!" If you're not in a rush, it's no problem though! We found that we had the best experiences if we went to the buffet closer to the beginning of the meal service though, as later on it gets busy and picked over.

Our biggest complaint had to do with the beach area. The beach itself is absolutely gorgeous, so don't worry about that. But, it is extremely difficult to get a beach cover or even a chair if you show up after 9am. On multiple days, we were up walking the beach before 6:30 to enjoy the sunrise, but noticed that there were no spare umbrellas to be found. It was only halfway through our stay that we realized that people were putting their towels out on the beach to reserve their spots the night before. The beach crew finishes cleaning up around 10pm it seems, so after that people head down with their towels to reserve the best umbrellas. On multiple occasions there were areas with 5 or 6 chairs covered with towels where the family didn't come down to the beach until the afternoon. Also, if you are staying at the Vik, be aware of the dividing line between the Vik beach area and the Cayena Beach side. One day, we accidentally passed the dividing line by about 10 feet, and were told by a security guard around 12:30 that we needed to move from under the umbrella and find another place to sit. By that time of the day it is next to impossible to do so, so it kind of ruined that day at the beach for us. On three occasions we were told that there were no beach towels available when we wanted them and had to go back a few hours later. It wasn't such a big deal once we already had beach towels and wanted to just exchange them, but on our first day, it took us 4 tries over the course of 3 hours before we were able to get a towel.

The staff were super friendly, but be aware of the guys on the beach who are trying to sell you stuff. We felt badly about saying no to them all the time, and once after politely telling them that we were not interested, we were laughed at and called 'uptight'. We were never woken up while sleeping like some have mentioned and actually never noticed anybody selling time shares, but were asked at least 7 or 8 times a day if we wanted to go parasailing or on any of the various excursions.

All in all, we did have a great trip and enjoyed our time. We're pretty laid back and easy going so although there were some negatives, we didn't let them bother us. If you're looking for luxury or easily let small things like the wrong type of booze or "non-North American" food at the buffet bother you, you should probably keep looking. Next time, we will be looking for a larger resort with a bit more entertainment and nightlife and more beach chairs so that we don't feel forced to get up at 6am if we really don't want to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

We had what we paid for... and it was amazing... ok the rooms were old but whos really in the rooms that long anyways on vacation..... beach beautiful.. staff very friendly.. food very good.. what i liked is the buffet changed every night so you cant get tired of it...we were 10 and we made our vacation... we didnt want anything to bother us.. we werent home so right there anything is better...:-)... heres a youtube of it..:-p...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M-vZt0Iq36c

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2011

The option for renovated rooms is mainly because the rooms need updating.

Upon arrival I got informed by the check in that it was my lucky day I had been upgraded to a ocean view room (I had paid extra for an ocean view room, there was no upgrade).

Maids were fantastic, did a great job cleaning the rooms early.
Most of the staff were very nice yet very sloooow. We actually left the a la cart restaurant after 1 hour and 45 min we had only had a salad so we left and went to the buffet as we were straving by that point.

food was OK not great, good variety.

hotel, beach and pool were all clean and well kept. Hotel is a really nice size if you want to avoid long lines and too many people.

Negatives.
Commission sales people, they are everywhere. Pool side, beach, on you way to lobby on your way to the buffet. They are always trying to sell excurions and don't understyand no thanks, English or Spanish.

Then to add to that the hotel allowed soveinier sales people in and they set up their tables on the walk ways as you walk to dinner or evening entertainment.

I have been travelling to Punta Cana the last 10 years and have never stayed in a hotel that had this much sales people.

The only real other negative that left a BAD taste in my mouth was check in cler "Joel" what a rude individual. Upon check out we asked for a courtisy room to shower as we had a late flight. He gave me the key to 1 room I asked if I could have another as we had 2 teenagers and w had paid for 2 rooms. He said what did I need that for, here are 2 more towels, you can you the same room, I was so annoyed and walked away. We got to the room, it was filthy, towels all over smelled like smoke the ash trays we full. We were there 10 minutes and he called to tell us to hurry up we were taking too long. what a bad way to leave the resort.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

The rooms were comfortable and all the basic cleaning was completed. I found it very easy to lay back and enjoy my surroundings and take walks on the beach. The people who get bitten by sand fleas should not go as I saw people there who were not having a good time because of it. They don't bother me!
The food was okay and there was lots of choice so you could always find something. I think the quality was fine.
I do not like that they allow people to hassle you within the resort to buy stuff.. A person has to be rude to get them to stop pestering you buy something. Some of the Dominicans have learned as I did buy from a man who didn't bother me.
I would go back to this resort as it appears to be consistently good although they are on "Dominican time" . If you want the best service you must tip them.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This was or first trip south and we found this place great. A few little things the first night, we didn't receive the room we booked but they fixed us up the next day so no big deal! The buffet was amazing, we even had chicken wings with breakfast. The al la carts were good as well. I preferred the Italian one. the calamari was AMAZING and I'm from the east cost of Canada So I've tried allot of seafood! The beach bbq fed us lunch daily. The chicken was really good! Felix the beach bartender took great care of us. The nightly entertainment was fun as well. The beach was more then I ever could of imagined! WOW powder white sand for miles and miles. The grounds people had the beach and gardens perfect everyday. They didn't stop! We went para sailing and swam with sharks, they came to our resort to pick us up. We had fun but I missed the beach! and The updated room with a king bed was worth the extra money. The bathroom was beautiful. I suggest getting a top floor room..... the view is better up high and also its quieter in the morning. We were on the 1st floor for the 1st night and you could hear the staff outside cleaning and working at 7am. On the upper floor they don't get there till noonish so its easier to sleep a little later. The Pool was really nice as well. My only big complaint would be the vendors. The first day I took time to hear them out and they are REALLY pushy. By the end of the trip I was firm with them and said NO PUSHY PUSHY. This seemed to work or just ignore them all together. Its sounds rude but when someone wakes you up from a nap on the beach to sell you a bead necklace its a little much! Other then this, No complaints from us! I'd go back in a heart beat!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to VIK Hotel Arena Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Address: White Sand, carretera Arena Gorda | Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VIK Hotel Arena Blanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Hotel Arena Blanca is placed overlooking the incomparable beach of Bávaro, just 30 minutes away from the International Airport of Punta Cana. This hotel in Punta Cana was renovated in 2006 to be able to offer a wide variety of environments: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your VIK Hotel Arena Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Hotel Punta Cana
Lti Beach Resort Punta Cana
Lti Punta Cana
Lti Resort Punta Cana
Lti Beach Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.