We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VIK ARENAS BLANCAS” 2 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added VIK Hotel Arena Blanca to your Saves list
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   White Sand, carretera Arena Gorda | Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Ottawa
1 review
“VIK ARENAS BLANCAS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

I felt that during the week of feb 14-21, 2010, we had great weather.
BUT there were no hand sanitizers set up in the common eating areas. When we went on a safari tour, no one told us about bringing in school supplies to the children. We had the weather, the rooms were clean and food was average. i do understand that we can`t have it all but since it changed owners, allot has yet to be improved. I will not return here.

Ottawa family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    806
    435
    214
    146
See reviews for
483
806
77
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We were quiet sceptical of all the reviews about this resort. But we liked the pictures and the look of the resort so we took a chance and we are soooo glad, that we went!! We've enjoyed every second of it. Room was very clean and spacious. Great view to resort, pool and beach. Room was on the 3rd floor, building no. 3, room no. 3210 (was not renovated, and still very very nice). Beach was just breathtaking. Great for long walks, plenty of chairs and towels. Food was amazing. We've never had anything on the plate, which was not eatable! Lot's of variety. Italian a la card was delicious, but we prefered the buffet, because of the many choices of food. Staff was always friendly, always smiling and polite. Animation was great, escpecially O'Maury and Roberto! Must see the "Circus" and "Michael Jackson show". Forget all the negative reviews!! We would go back to this paradise anytime and would refer it to everybody!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morden, Canada
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Very friendly staff and an excellent buffet that changes daily. All rooms are within a minute walk of the beach and are very nice - especially the bathrooms. A la carte restaurants are good, not outstanding. Entertainment is repetitive, same music every evening for the kiddies, then a comic and dancing (talented dancers, horrible comic). The dancers also do dance lessons and exercise programs but seem very bored by it all. Pool is very nice, deck chairs in good shape and plentiful. Small problems with hot water and power, but this happens in all the hotels. Twice a week a flea market is set up on the walkways and the vendors are very pushy.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

Ok, I read hundreds of reviews about the Vik Arena Blanca resort before my girlfriend and I went down last week. We were skeptical staying there because of the negative reviews. We are both 30 years old from the Boston area and went down to have a good time and get away from the cold. Here is an honest review:

The ride from Punta Cana airport to the Vik is scary as hell. It takes about 30 mins. No stop signs, lights, or speed limits. Lots of old locals driving crappy motorcycles all over the road, so the shuttle tries to avoid them but it's hard when the shuttle is doing 80 mph the whole time. Grab on to something and say a prayer. Once at the resort, it's really nice. The grounds are awesome, lots of palm trees and the place looks sweet at night.

The Rooms - Not as bad as I thought they would be. We had a balcony on the second floor with a view of the ocean. There are two full-size beds in the room...kind of weird since it was me and my girlfriend, so we just slept in one bed. The mattresses are ok, the sheets don't stay on the bed, and although the pillows are lumpy - they are not bad. The AC works ok, not the best but at least it gets the room cooler at night. The ceiling fan above the beds are helpful. Usually there is a breeze at night so if you keep your balcony sliding door open you should be cool enough to sleep without discomfort.

The beach is the best part of the trip. It is very long, white sand, and clear water. You have to wake up early to claim your lounge chairs for the beach. People leave their towels on the chairs to claim them for the morning - which sucks if you want to sleep late and then go to the beach...you have to find a chair directly in the sun because you won't be able to get a chair under the umbrellas/mushrooms. The waves are good, if you like body surfing, take a right at the beach and walk a half mile. Lots of waves. If you go left at the beach and walk that way, you will quickly come to a bunch of beach shops where a bunch of local pirates try to screw you with paying high prices for crappy souvenirs. Talk them WAY down. If they want 60 bucks for something, don't pay more than 10 bucks. Trust me, they will take anything you have, so tell them all you have is 5 or 10 bucks or something. I talked a guy down from 145 dollars for a painting, down to 25 bucks. I bet I could have even gotten it for less. Go at the end of the day when they're desperate for cash.

The all-inclusive drinks were very very weak. If you ask the bartenders to put more booze in the drinks, they will - however, they are still very weak. I swear the booze they have (including the beer) has no alcohol at all in them. The cheapest, most watered-down booze ever. Bring your own booze (buy it at the Duty Free shops in the airport in the US) and spike your drinks - trust me you won't get drunk unless you have your own booze.

The pool is good. It is big and not too crowded. Everyone on the resort either speaks French, German, or Spanish. Most people are from Canada. Most people do not speak English, but you will find some vacationers from the US just not many. People are always trying to sell you something. Just tell them no and keep walking. We wanted to do a Sunset cruise but we ran out of time. Parasailing is 85 bucks for two people for 10 minutes in the air. You can go do a safari or a zip-line, but it's far away so it will be a half-day or full day excursion (the zip-line is in the mountains, about a three hour drive). The weather was 80-85 degrees everyday, sunny, didn't rain once. 70's at night and breezy. There is no nightlife on the resort after the "entertainment." Once 10pm rolls around, the place is dead. If you are 420 friendly, try asking the pirates selling crap on the beach to the left of the resort.....they sell smoking devices and also will sell you something to stuff in it.

All in all , it was a good trip for the price and the hotel isn't nearly as bad as the reviews say they are. Spend most of your time at the beach and bring your own booze and you will be all set. The all-inclusive food (buffet) is very good and always lots to choose from. I would recommend the hotel, but probably won't go back since I'd want to check out other carribean islands and resorts in the future.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

Just returned from two weeks of paradise and enjoyed every minute!
We stayed here last year for ten days, and had a wonderful time. So when we rebooked we looked at the recent reviews to see if it was just as good as we remembered. The reviews are scary!

First of all the wheather was amazing the whole time so I know that always makes for a better trip. The resort, beach, service, and food were all the same as we remember. Being a smaller resort is nice because beach, pool, bar, and afternoon activities are all nearby. Some of the larger resorts we stayed at required a train/cart to get around - not a big deal but gets time consuming. The food is really good with many choices and we never experienced stomach troubles (we've been to 5stars and had some so who knows). Drinks were really good, and virgin ones as well. Cups around beach and pool are small plastic so plan travel mugs, they don't mind & lots of people had them. We noticed that there are basically two types of rooms ~ renivated and non. Ours both times were non (building #5) but we had oceanview with beautiful sunrises and walked right onto the beach.
*BAVARO BEACH IS A GEM* .....vik really has a nice stretch of it. We saw sea turtles last year and whales breaching off shore this year. Plenty of chairs but get up early if you want shade people get crazy.
Overall it is an excellent value for the money. I think people may have some valid points with unfortunite things happening to them, but if you expect a 5 star resort and pay for a 4 star ~ there is no doubt you will be dissapointed.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Vik Arena Blanca,

After seeing so many negative reviews we were absolutely amazed with just how nice the resort was. We had such a fantastic time.

Resort.

Absolutely beautiful grounds, Lots of nice gardens, The one Gardner was really nice and climbed up palm trees to get us coconuts, upon which he cut them open for us to enjoy coconut water. Check in was simple, we arrived early so they gave us wristbands to go eat while our rooms were being prepared.

Room

Room was really nice on the third floor, high ceiling, king size bed, great balcony that had a cloths-line to hang wet towels and bathing suits etc. Housekeeping staff did a good job (especially considering how much sand we tracked in). We got 2 bottles of Cola, 2 bottles of sprite and a huge bottle of water refilled every day in the mini bar fridge. AC was good and there was a big ceiling fan above the bed. Bathroom was nice with a decent shower, we always had hot water. Safe was good at a $2 rental price per day.

Pool

Pool was nice and clean with lots of lounge chairs and not crowded. There was a guy who sang while cleaning the filters every morning. There was a net to play volleyball in the water (we brought our own ball), water-polo was good, and we also did an intro to scuba in the pool.

Beach

Beach is phenomenal… typical white sand, palm trees, blue water. If you want a Palapa usually you had to get down there around 7:30-8 am to get one. A couple people coming by advertising banana boat rides, parasailing etc. but not to bad and they left you alone with a “no gracias”. We didn’t find them to be an issue at all.

Water Activities.

Pelicano Watersports was great. We rode Hobie Cat sailboats, sea kayaks, boogie boards. We really enjoyed driving speedboats out to a snorkel site on a reef (cost $) and we got to do the discover scuba diving course out at a boat wreck. (cost $).

Additional activities,

We really enjoyed having massages on the beach, listing to the waves and feeling the cool breeze (costs $)

Food

Buffet was good, 4 of us went and we never had a single issue. We enjoyed dinner at both the Italian and international al la carte restaurants and service was fantastic. Wait staff was good at the buffet, even though they were very busy during meal times. Drinks at all the bars were good with lots of rum and in good portions. We brought travel mugs with us and they tended to fill them up with larger alcohol portions.

Shows,

We got to watch a magic show the one night, but the Circus show was fantastic. I recommend you not to miss it.

Negatives

The only issue was that the bathroom at the one restaurant closest to the beach needed to be cleaned more often, But considering the amount of people from the beach that used it, and the amount of sand and water tracked it, I’m not surprised… just wear your flip flops in it.

Overall we had a fantastic time. In response to a recent review posted, there was a donation box for the relief efforts in Haiti at the front desk. And our tour operator asked us to donate toiletry items for relief efforts (ie small shampoo, toothpaste, baby powder etc.)

Would definitely return again, definitely worth it to check it out.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

although the beach is beautiful and the grounds are very nice, all is not so when you look closer at this resort.
A) food was average at best.....same things everyday......thank god for banana shakes in the morning.
B) pasta station was the best but I dont like to eat when i see that the condiments are not covered siting out for hours with kids breathing on the food and seeing skin flakes falling. I told the manager but nothing changed.
C) some staff are on commission and they get VERY aggressive ie, I saw a nice necklace----he wanted $225.00 at first. I got him down to $10.00 I sent my friend there to see what would happen......he got it for $10.00 !! No joke guys !!!!
D) after the horrible earthquake in Haiti, I asked the front desk to set up donation boxes for the people. They said they could not do that. I found this unnaceptable !!!

In short-------be careful.

ON the bright side-------many people got sick on other resorts (including 5 star resorts) We were fine and did not hear of anyone getting sick.

.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VIK Hotel Arena Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Address: White Sand, carretera Arena Gorda | Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VIK Hotel Arena Blanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Hotel Arena Blanca is placed overlooking the incomparable beach of Bávaro, just 30 minutes away from the International Airport of Punta Cana. This hotel in Punta Cana was renovated in 2006 to be able to offer a wide variety of environments: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your VIK Hotel Arena Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Hotel Punta Cana
Lti Beach Resort Punta Cana
Lti Punta Cana
Lti Resort Punta Cana
Lti Beach Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.