We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrated but rested” 3 of 5 stars
Review of VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added VIK Hotel Arena Blanca to your Saves list
VIK Hotel Arena Blanca
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   White Sand, carretera Arena Gorda | Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
St. Catharines, ON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Frustrated but rested”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

Please note that we have never made a negative post before and this is frustrating for us to be posting this with such a negative tone but it needs to be said. Spent one week at the VIK hotel in Punta Cana during the week of March 24th to 31st. We were very excited to be spending our winter getaway in Punta Cana as it is one of the only resort areas in DR that we had not visited and wanted to check it off our list. Wish we had decided to check another tropical destination off our list instead. Bavaro Beach is a bit like a walk down a busy street. the sand is powder and white but there is a consistent pile of sea grass along the edge. no biggie though. Water was like a big bathtub .There were people everywhere. We literally had to wait for people to pass to get to the water. If you like to snorkel Bavaro is not the best as the coral reef is outside the permitted swimming area and on the other side of the Bavaro Highway (a strip of water that is busy all day long with speed boards, parasailing boats, banana boats) The smell of gasoline was prevelant all day. You could experience sea air at night or first thing but during the day it smelled more like the Muskokas. And there are helicopters flying overhead all day long.

The flight with Thomas Cook both coming and going was great. More leg room than Sunwing and service was consistent. Airport in PC is a bit unorganized but it is Dominican time after all. and on the way home, the airport has a full food court with Wendy's, Sbarro's and Cinnabun! All they needed was a Starbucks or Tim Hortons.

When we arrived at 11:30 am we were told at check in that our room would be ready in one hour. At 2:00 we returned to be told to come back at 3:00. At 3:00 we were told to come back in 20 minutes and then the fun began. To sum it up, we did not get into our room until day 2. They tried to pawn off a ground floor room with double beds and a new bedspreads as a "beautiful" renovated room. The first room the key did not work and was not what we booked and we explained that it was not the King Size Garden view second floor renovated room that we reserved, so they moved us. The second room was even worse. The patio door was not only screwed shut (slight safety concern) but was facing the main walkway for the 1000 other guests to view our room and the shower did not drain. We returned to the front desk requesting either another room or to pay whatever it cost to be upgraded to the Cayena Club next door. (still part of VIK) The staff acted as though the upgrade was something they did not understand (and their english was passable)and promised yet again that we would be moved to a "beautiful" room and to return to the front desk at 10:30 am. the next day. At 10:30 we were at the front desk only to be informed that we were to come back at 3:00 and they would have our "beautiful " room. I suppose patience is a virtue but when you pay a good price for a room (this was not a last minute booking or deal) and have never been delayed like this before, you get a little frustrated. Plus we like to unpack and get settled so our vacation can start. At 3:20 we were waiting for our room and finally at 4:00 were led to our room. It was as we had booked, finally! I recommend you print off a picture of the room that you think you have booked and keep it on hand for their reference. I get that you might not always get a king and might get two doubles but the rest of the amenities are important. and they do not try to amend their shortcomings with an apology or even a complimentary bottle of rum or a cola!

The rooms do not provide you with wash clothes (although we always had clean towels) the sheets do not get changed during your stay, the mini bar is only stocked with water and their are only basic bathroom necessities (shampoo dispenser and hand soap dispenser) no shower caps or lotions and potions. The bed had plastic pillows the first night (or should I say second night) we left a note for the housekeeper using our Spanish translation book and she changed them. But plastic pillows at a 4* resort...really? the shower was amazing, always great pressure and hot water and huge!

The beach and pool chair situation that people have alluded to is 150% accurate except that even 5:30 is too late to get a palapas or a pool chair in the shade. Both my husband and I wore 50 sunscreen and were burned to a crisp. we tried repeatedly to find shade to no avail because as previously stated there are people that go down in the middle of the night and lay out their towels books and mugs and then show up mid afternoon. (sort of like cockroaches)My husband experienced a fellow canadian from another province attack him at 5:45 am because he had laid our towels on "her "chairs. and we only tried this because we gave up playing fair. He finally gave up as he is a gentleman and she was certainly not a lady.
There are certain individuals that have a sense of entitlement, that made the stay less than memorable. Keep in mind there are signs posted that clearly state no chair reservations.

Butting in at the buffet and bars, acting ignorant and billigerent were only a few highlights. I finally gave up trying to get a piece of pizza because someone came into the line and took most of the pizza that has just been laid out and this was the same behaviour at any given time of the day or night. I will double check as to the origin of most geusts visiting a resort in the future because this resort only had a handful of English speaking guests or guests with manners. Our teenagers behaved more admirably during a recent resort vacation than the folks at the VIK. Too bad really as the property is lovely.

The buffet was great and the a la cartes were very good as well, particularly the Italian. At the peak of our frustration, I reserved a private beach dinner for the two of us and it was a highlight. Set in a gazebo with private service and incredible food and music to dance to, it was worth the $200.00 we spent. It was the peace of mind and real piece of the paradise that we had hoped for.

The breakfast omelette guy was awesome and he will make your omelette blanco if you prefer egg whites only. (he does like a tip though and he deserves it) Juan Sanchez in the buffet during breakfast and lunch is a sweetheart. Dalmy at guest services although very straight forward delivers what she says she will. The staff are hard working but do seem slightly disgruntled. We have always met memorable characters during our vacations but there were not many staff that reached out or were interested in getting to know you.

Someone compared Bavaro (Punta Cana) to be a bit like Cancun and I agree, except you can eat the lettuce and the ice in PC.

We did have the opportunity to visit a nearby restaurant (although staff acted like they had never heard of it) that made the trip worthwhile. It is called the Huracan Cafe. It is a nightclub at night and offers amazing food. The owner is Italian (although a lawyer in Santa Domingo) and all his dishes are authentic italian. We had met friends that were staying at another resort there for lunch (both paid $20 for a short cab ride). It was the best meal any of us had experienced in a while (and we all enjoy food and wine and entertaining) and his hand selected menu for us was incredible. You must check it out if you want to explore the area a bit.

True to other reviews the vendors are relentless, especially the ones at the beach marketplaces. All day long and at night they stand outside of the restaurant waiting to sell you time shares, parasailing, vespas, and trinkets.

We did not attend any of the shows, as once you have seen one resort Animation crew show you have seen them all.

There isn't a coffee bar but rather a coffee machine, the house wine (as everywhere in DR) is made from concentrate but the wine available by the bottle was acceptable and the additional $25-35 a night was worth it. The bars do offer some top shelf items if you don't mind spending a few dollars. They do not offer chair side (beach) service anywhere.

We tip as a rule of thumb (did not seem to be the norm here though) $2.00 at breakfast and lunch, $5-10 at dinner depending on buffet or a la carte, $2.00 for housekeeping each day and then $1 tips at bar for every other round. (not they we drank that much).

So in nutshell we would recommend if you are going to Dominican, check out Samana if you like quiet and hospitality. This resort is for folks that don't mind rude patrons, less than hospitable staff, crowded beaches and no shade. sound like you? I doubt it.

Room Tip: take a photo and ask for renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your positive comments about our resort and staff members you mention, as well as from the rest of your observations that help us find any areas of improvement in our product and services.
We are very surprised by your comment on the getting the reserved room on the 2nd day or arrival, we do have on the record that a Deluxe Garden View room 3029 was delivered on arrival date, however there was a decision of change to another room that same day. I am not aware of the changing motives and I understand front desk were not able to change you the same night and explained that the next day we would be able to accommodate you again on a Deluxe Garden View, and you remained in a standard room for one night. Nevertheless our intentions were never to disappoint you or deliver an unsatisfied service.
Saying this we are very sorry if the impression given by the front desk was not the best and we apologize. Normally our Front Desk staff in regarded as friendly, polite and service oriented. We apologize if you experienced anything different from these.
We honestly apologize for the situation about guests reserving chairs at the beach. Even tough we have placed signs calling out to guests respect for others; many ignore this and regrettably is something mostly out of our control. We have been constructing more beach umbrellas to ease this situation. Also if the behavior from some of our clients was not as you would expect we apologize however as you may appreciate this is something we could not in fact control.
It would mean a lot to us if we could further address your comments and problems you encountered in your visit by email. We will really welcome if you could send us more detailed information about your case. Please contact us at c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net and send me your contact information.

Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    786
    427
    207
    142
See reviews for
475
780
71
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottetown, PEI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

I travelled to Punta Cana with my 13 yr old son for a vacation, we arrived at the VIK at midnight and were checked in immediately. Our room was one of the older rooms, not renovated and it faced the front of the resort. It was clean and maid service was fine. Every morning there was a rooster and some chickens outside that woke us up at dawn!! You don't want to sleep your vacation away right? The staff are very friendly and helpful..we had an issue with our key swipe card one night and it was fixed right away. It is a small resort so you can walk anywhere within a minute or so...food and drinks were fine...buffet had lots to eat so you could always find something you liked. My son lived in the pool which is very nice however there are guys trying to sell excursions that got kind of annoying. All in all, we really enjoyed out stay at the VIK and would recommend it to anyone travelling to Punta Cana! The beach is spectacular!!

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

We were very happy to hear you and your son enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking some of your precious time to let us know about it and post in on the internet for others to read.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you on a future vacation to our property
Once again, thank you for selecting us as your vacation destination.

Best Regards,

Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington Ontario Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2011

Can't say a bad word about this hotel, the food was good, the service was good and the people were great. Could use a little more shade around the pool, too many people saved lounges with towels and went on tours or to the beach and returned many hours later (usually late afternoon) The lounges sat empty all day because they had towels on them. The a la carte resturants were fantastic and no reservations were needed and you could go as often as you wanted. I am looking into prices for 2 weeks next year. I highly recommend it. Sharon Macdonell Burlington Ontario.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, April 18, 2011
Dear Sharon

We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking some of your precious time to let us know about it and post in on the internet for others to read.

Your comments and suggestions always help us measure our performance and also to find the areas with opportunities of improvement. We aim to always improve our product and services and contributions as yours help us in this never ending task.

We hope you allow us the chance of hosting you once again and provide you with a great vacation experience in the Dominican Republic. Looking forward to welcoming you back as part of our valued returning guests.

Sincerely,

Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Amazingly relaxing and rejuvenating. Staff were fantastic. Food was great - good quality and lots of variety. Always felt safe. Didn't have to walk far for anything.
Not the place for party animals!! Lots of families and older folks.
Rooms not as sound proof as they could be. Few too many fellas asking us to go on excursions.
The photographer is fantastic and prints/CDs only cost $10. Heard that the ocean spa and the dolphin excursions were great.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking some of your precious time to let us know about it and post in on the internet for others to read.

We appreciate the positive comments and we look foward to welcome you again at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca as part of our valued returning guests.

Best Regards,

Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

Very friendly staff. Beach front room have a great view of the beach. The food was very good, however, the alcohol beverages were not, except the beer and rum. The pool is nice and the casino small. If you want a chair under an umbrela you have to getup around 6am, or all the chairs will be taken.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking some of your precious time to let us know about it and post in on the internet for others to read.

Your comments and suggestions always help us measure our performance and also to find the areas with opportunities of improvement. We aim to always improve our product and services and contributions as yours help us in this never ending task.

We hope you allow us the chance of hosting you once again when we hope to provide you with a great vacation experience in the Dominican Republic. Looking forward to welcoming you back as part of our valued returning guests.

Sincerely,

Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

My daughter and I spent one week during her school break (first week of March). It was very nice. Quiet, friendly and safe. The beach area was great with lots of space to spread out. Also well kept. We had a standard room with a balcony. Rooms were cleaned daily, towels refreshed, etc. Staff throughout the hotel were great and always pleasant.. The food for us was generally ok.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VHAB, Public Relations Manager at VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, responded to this review, April 3, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience with the Tripadvisor readers. We are very happy to hear that you and your daughter had a wonderful time at Vik Hotel Arena Blanca.

We look foward to host you and your daughter again as part of our valued returning guests.

Best Regards,
Cristina Socias
Public Relations and Quality Assurance
VIK hotel Arena Blanca
E-Mail: c.socias@vikhotelarenablanca.net
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is the third all-inclusive resort we have stayed at in Punta Cana. We have enjoyed all three. There has been (not always the case at other destinations) a direct correlation between the cost of the resort and the quality of the rooms, food and amenities. The VIK has been our least expensive stay in Punta Cana. This resort is great if it caters to what you are looking for… a quiet, relaxing week and if you aren't too picky about your food and drinks

The updated rooms at the VIK were clean and well air-conditioned, the pool was nice (although the "hot tub" wasn't hot) and the food varied and fine (occasionally very good but for the most part...fine). I wish there were healthier choices at the afternoon snack bar (pizza, fries, burgers and hot dogs). The beer was cold and refreshing but the "slushy" drinks (daiquiri, Pina Colada etc) were inconsistently frozen and all the cocktails had a bit more "watered-down" alcohol than we have had at the other resorts we have been to (and I don't drink much).

A significant number of the staff are there to try and get you to see the "Cateyena Club" portion of the resort. We had no interest in a time-share presentation and the cost of a week there (when I was looking to book) was more than I cared to spend on this particular trip. I wish we had some sort of pin that said "I already said no thanks to Cateyena " as we were " invited" too many times. There were also too many salespeople on the grounds themselves....a bit atypical off the beach area. Everyone was very polite about it....it just got tiresome.

I hope this was a refection of the week we were there (rather than something that happens all the time) but we found that the pallapas (umbrellas) around the pool (for some needed mid afternoon shade) were all taken by 6:30 am!! I am an early riser so we only had one day without shade…but even around 6AM it was often only a choice between 1 or 2 spots. The beach was better but still many spots gone before 7AM! I guess some people leave stuff out overnight to reserve.

We love Punta Cana because of its beautiful (and long) beach, the people and the convenience of a (relatively) short direct flight.

The staff at the VIK were warm and friendly and appear to be working hard to make your stay excellent. The place feels like a good three star and we certainly felt like we got reasonable value for our money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to VIK Hotel Arena Blanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIK Hotel Arena Blanca

Address: White Sand, carretera Arena Gorda | Bávaro, Punta Cana 290217, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — VIK Hotel Arena Blanca 3.5*
Number of rooms: 447
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The VIK Hotel Arena Blanca is placed overlooking the incomparable beach of Bávaro, just 30 minutes away from the International Airport of Punta Cana. This hotel in Punta Cana was renovated in 2006 to be able to offer a wide variety of environments: ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your VIK Hotel Arena Blanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Hotel Punta Cana
Lti Beach Resort Punta Cana
Lti Punta Cana
Lti Resort Punta Cana
Lti Beach Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage VIK Hotel Arena Blanca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.