We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WILL NEVER STAY AT IFA VILLAS BAVARO RESORT & SPA AGAIN!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa to your Saves list
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I WILL NEVER STAY AT IFA VILLAS BAVARO RESORT & SPA AGAIN!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

I have been to Punta Cana twice; the first time, the Hubby and I stayed at Bahia Principe Adults only resort and it was great!!! This time around, the family joined including our 10 month old daughter. I love Punta Cana; it is a beautiful place to vacation; however, IFA is by far the worse of the worse...
The front desk staff were very RUDE; there were no urgency when I requested help. My sister waited 6 hours before she was given a room - they stated her travel agent never confirmed the reservation BUT she had a voucher and showed them the voucher; still they said they had no room for her. They stated they could not get in contact with anyone about the room confirmation until the next day but after 6 hrs stated they are giving her a complimentary room for 5 days even though she booked and paid for a 6 day trip! They stated "maybe you can stay with a family member on the 5th night?!?!?!" Just plain stupid! One person in particular, Alexandria Mejas was extremely rude; she was very dismissive; gave us an attitude when he asked questions.

The food was horrible!!!!!! The only place worth eating was the Beach Buffet and The pizza place!

The rooms was dirty, dingy and just worn down. The bed frames were nailed together with the nails sticking out. Sheets were dirty. The AC unit in my sister's room was leaking and they "fixed" it by using toilet paper?!?!!?

There were mosquitos everywhere! There were no entertainment available. There was a "Mini Disco" night for the children but when he went, it was closed!

Despite the horrible food, less than average rooms and rude customer service from the front desk staff, my family and I made the best of it. We had a great time nonetheless because who wouldn't love laying on the beach and poolside with a drink in their hand!

I would definetly return to Punta Cana but will NOT be staying at IFA!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    938
    406
    203
    157
See reviews for
585
1,054
56
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

1st night no water in sink, Air condition did not work. Had to argue to get a new room. 1st room by ocean view where all noise is, very bad. 2nd room, came home at 11pm to a leaking vent in the ceiling and almost fell. 3rd day room not clean, no fresh towels. Hair everywhere in shower, bugs on dresser. Service is not consistent. Food horrible. Only good place is the pizza and snack bar. Do not stay here!!!!!! I wish I could go home early :(

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Our room was close to the beach and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The check in was very fast even though we didn't get the room requested close to our friends. We could have changed the next day but decided to keep the rooms given as the buildings were pretty close together. The buffet always had a good selection and the omlets in the morning were the best.
We would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: 400 block rooms were closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Not going into detail about the specifics of the resort since this is my second review. But I just wanted to say that the second trip was as good as the first one. Love the new theatre area where the old pool used to be. We stayed in the same area around the main pool and in my opinion it's the best location, we were right behind the pizza place and bar so how could that be wrong. The weather was awesome and the staff and service were again amazing. There will definitely be a threepeat, until next time IFA.

Room Tip: Superior rooms around main pool are close to everything except beach but that's only a trolley r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

Visited a few weeks ago, beginning of April 2014. The layout of the resort is very good, pizza place was definitely a bonus, with it being an obvious draw for many staying there. The guest services people were very helpful, the front desk people could definitely improve. The beach was also very nice, and we are not beach people. Overall, the wait staff was hit and miss. There were some really good staff members, some that would butt in front of you or cut you off as you were walking in the restaurant, and not even acknowledge you. The egg station, and the pasta station staff were incredibly good. The stage was being re-designed when we were there, which should be good since the nightly acts could use some updating.

The only real major issue we had were the beds. We have stayed at many, many hotels. The beds here by far were the absolute worst we have ever had.

Room Tip: If you are a family with young children stay away from the 4000 series buildings that surround the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My fiance and I stayed at the IFA from a Wed-Sunday in late March. We had fabulous weather and a lovely time. We had some concerns about noise and getting sick based on other reviews but neither was an issue. We were meticulous about brushing our teeth and rinsing our faces after washing with the bottled water provided (with a few $ tip, more water was provided in our rooms). We ate pretty much everything at the buffets and drank the filtered ice water provided. The "reservation only" dinner spots had generally blah food and only worth it for the ambiance. Despite this being a lower star hotel than some of the nearby resorts, we thought it had the best beach. We tried out one of those "vacation club" things they were pushing in the airport so got to visit a 5 Diamond (better than stars) nearby resort and its beach was not as nice. The beach chairs are old and not all work but we always were able to find some. We never did bother to go in the pools b/c the beach was so lovely. The Italian dinner place by the beach had fantastic lobster, which was huge, Caribbean style, and worth the extra $30. The "free" drinks were pretty bad so we upgraded with cash. The wines were the best value with many decent, well known bottles for <$30 (don't bother with the free --they pour it out of a plastic bottle that looks like it could hold bleach). We were in the lowest grade housing (never did see it) and paid for the upgrade. Glad we did. The rooms was reasonably sized, comfortable, clean, and quiet. We were sort of near the beach towel stand, behind the pizza cafe. The cafe au lait was very good, as was the fresh papaya and pineapple. At the pizza place they had a great pesto sauce we put on fries and pizza. Buffet food was so-so but decent enough. The night show was a little racy for kids but talented dancers and enjoyable show. We had a fantastic time and would definitely come back to DR, and would stay at IFA again.

Room Tip: Get the superior upgrade, but not too close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I loved the food, you can find a wide variety, not a little as in other hotels. Loved the privacy of the jacuzzis, great service!! I highly recommend!!! The room was pretty clean and the pools are excellent!

Room Tip: The villas next to the jacuzzis are so private!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa

Address: Playas de Bavaro, Punta Cana 51101, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#55 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & SPA is situated on the fine, white sands of Playa Bavaro. Bordered by a fabulous coral reef and surrounded by turquoise-colored waters this extraordinary vacation complex offers its guests a friendly, luxurious environment for sports & cuisine with its 6 charming restaurants and 7 spectacular bars, colorful tropical shows, a wide range of facilities and services especially designed to ensure an unforgettable stay right in heart of the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Hotel Punta Cana
Ifa Hotel Bavaro
Ifa Bavaro Villas
Ifa Villas Bavaro Beach Resort & Spa
Villas Bavaro
Ifa Villas Bavaro Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IFA Villas Bavaro Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.