We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelo Lakes Golf Course

Barcelo Lakes Golf Course
bavaro, Punta Cana, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 46 Attractions in Punta Cana
Type: Golf Courses
Attraction Details
Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best part of trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Golfed 5 straight days at 6:45 am. The course was in awesome shape, once in 5 rounds did I hit off of bare ground while in the fairway. The course might be short but has a lot of challenges. You need to be straight off the tee box or plan on losing some balls. A lot of elevated greens that I had a hard time getting the ball to hold. One problem when teeing off that early was the greens where not mowed or rolled yet which made it a little tougher. The par 3's all had a lot of water and or sand which made them tough. I paid $40 per round which I thought was a great deal for the quality of this course. They did have a deal going if I purchased 4 rounds at one time at 27.52 a round ( at the time was not sure if I could fit it all in). Tip.. Put the driver away on a lot of holes and hit it straight. Was lucky each day to play with Owen from the UK(both shot about the same). Gary

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    38
    8
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terryville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“FORE !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Conditions were great, weather was sunny& HOT, rental clubs were a nice set of Callaways. Free golf for guests? NOT. $40 for the cart, $40 to rent clubs

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Check the course conditions before you pay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

course had 3 or 4 holes out of service ...significant grass clippings in fairway required you to hit in to work crews or go around. we chose to go around. it was a mess...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“excellent course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Pete Dye design, railroad ties did me in as they do to most. Very playable but troublesome for poor shots. Staff were great!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“No drink cart girl but there are flamingoes!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Fun course - play in the morning - hot hot hot in the afternoon. Challenging, but you can find your balls. The one thing missing was drinks on the course. They do give you a beer and a water at the turn, but its hot so you do need more than that. They will pick you up at your room and lock-store your clubs if you are playing more than once. Had some duffers ahead of us on the course but that's what you find on vacation- we just skipped a hole as there was no ranger telling them to pick up the pace and they were clueless to the play through concept. Best part - cool white herons, tropical birds and flamingoes along the water features - made for some great scenery. Buy balls from the Dominican grounds keepers selling them behind every palm tree :) ha!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barcelo Lakes Golf Course also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Barcelo Lakes Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelo Lakes Golf Course, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.