We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames to your Saves list
Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Darlington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2008

This hotel was just great, from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. Check in was fast, refreshments were served while we checked in. Our room was spotless and was cleaned everyday, although once or twice i had to find the maid for a more towels.

The standard buffet restaurant was nice, the waiter (William) totally looked after us for our entire stay. There was a great choice of food and we never failed to find something nice to eat. My only complaint here was the queue for the omelettes at breakfast, they should have had both hotplates on for that cos they were so gorgeous the queue was always about 10 minutes, but hey i had no where else to be.

The Mexican and Steak house restaurants were nice, nothing fantastic except for the service, the waiters and waitresses kept us entertained and got me drunk hehe. At the time we stayed these two restaurants were sharing the same building as the steak house is under refurbishment, but it never spoilt anything and it has to be done sometime.

The Italian i really enjoyed, was really nice food. However the Japanese restaurant, I thought it was amazing, the food was fantastic, the staff were amazing, funny, really nice. The Chef was first class and had me in stitches explaining why i should eat prawns!! haha. Wish i had booked it twice!!

The drinks were all local stuff, and really nice, i drank Gasolina for most of my stay, my partner worked her way through the cocktails. The guys at the bars were great and i only tipped them a little, i kept forgetting seeing as we don't tip often in the UK.

As a few people have said, the locals come in on a weekend, but its not a problem, they seem to hover round only 1 of the pool bars and the other is fine. The most noticable thing is the queues for meals gets longer over the weekend, but all in all i never really noticed it much, so don't consider it a problem.

This is a true reflection of the hotel and i consider myself a down to earth person. A few of the reviews i read before i went made me a little nervy, but i have to say, our American cousins and the people from Canada who gave bad reviews must have previously holidayed at the best hotel on earth to give a bad review to the Sirenis!!

I would recommend this hotel to anyone!!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,533
    1,676
    788
    448
    298
See reviews for
1,566
1,635
82
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hull. England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

just got back on the 18th july from a two week holiday at the sirenis tropical suites . The hotel is magnificent .the beach is great. the pool was fantastic. me and my wife and two kids one 15 and one 10 all had a great time .we made some good friends while we were there .it was our secound time in the Dominican Republic first time was in puerto plata and even though we had a good time it was not a patch on this holiday .from first thing in a morning to last thing at night there was something to do or you could just get up go for breakfast than crash out by the pool or beach get up go for dinner .crash back down on your sunbed until it was time for the shows on a night.must say i am not a big fan of shows but the wife and kids loved them .the dancers put so much into each show dont know how they did it all with a big smile all the time .would go back but not for a few years to many places to see

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

I was August last year in this hotel and it was a really bad experience. The "suites" are in a filthy condition, specially the bathrooms. The rooms in general are smelly. Air conditioning extremelly noisy . Common areas are dirty most of the time. Service by personnel really bad. We asked the manager to change to a different room in light of the filthy conditions of the one we had been assigned. After different really difficult conversations with the succesive managers on duty they moved us to anothe room, but it was in exactly the same conditions.
All in all, SIRENIS PUNTA CANA IS A PLACE TO AVOID. Be warned about it.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — filthy conditions of the rooms
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

Haven't been on this site in a while but here is my review.

Spent 1 week at the Sirenis Cocotal end of January 2008.

Drive from the Airport is about 1 hour, so enjoy the scenery if it is day time. You may wonder what all those little shacks saying BANCA mean along the way, well, they are lottery points of sale, believe or not, Domenicans love to play lottery.

There are 2 parts to this resort, the TROPICAL and COCOTAL. The only difference is the Tropical has suites, meaning rooms have a seating area, or else, Cocotal side is great, was in block L right by the beach on the 3rd floor, cause was changed from a room on the first floor that left to be desired. If you don't like your room when you arrive, ask to change right away cause really worth it, room was like day and night.

STAFF: great all around. Brush up on your Spanish, cause besides the reception and the odd employee, you will be speaking Spanish.

BEACH: Wonderful, what else can you say !

RESTAURANTS: OK, sticked to buffet restaurants all week, although you can reserve at others if you wish.

DISCO: Great, spent a few nights there, opens at 11PM till 3AM. Being Canadian, you have to pay for your drinks when booked through Sunquest, but then again, what's $3 for a beer? Actually, that help cause kindda weird offering a drink to somebody if it's all included, know what I mean ... ? Anyways, the barman and staff there were great ! Drop a tip and you'll be getting drinks before even ordering them, now that's service! Anyways, I met some Americans down there that had the grey bracelet, so if you are American and booked through Apple or something, you pay nothing at the Disco, it's all included for you in the package.

TOURS: Did the 1 day tour on the 8x8 trucks in the woods, ok if you want to get to know the really side of Domenican Republic. Rhum bar is charged on this tour, trust me....

All in all, great time at the Sirenis, met Americans, Canadians, German and French ... too bad I only stayed 1 week ... Also, leave a tip here and there and you'll find out first hand the meaning of AMIGO.

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2008

we just spent a week in Sirenis Tropical and came back with some amazing memories. We were greeted with cold drinks, friendly staff and clean resort. The beach was well groomed and plenty of chairs were available. We were busy during the day with activities such as Beach / pool aerobics, volleyball, playing tennis and just tanning. The pool is huge, with 2 swim up bars at each end and another shallow pool for kids. Food was pretty good; breakfast buffet, lunch on the beach BBQ, and buffet for dinner which everyday had a good selection of everything. There was a mexican night when they served tacos and fajitas, another night there was a whole rotisserie turkey, sweet potatoe chips just to name a few. A week long stay will allow you to 2 a la carte restaurants and I would highly recommend Japanese. The chef was very professional and the food was quite authentic. Casino had a few tables and 2 handfulls of slot machines. Nightly entertaiment was good, the entertaiment crew are very energetic & enthusiastic bunch. Room was always cleaned perfectly and we never had shortage of hot water. I would highly recommend this resort and would go back there myself tomorrow!!!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

All in all our stay was good. The grounds of the resort have already been described in numerous other reviews, and they have done a good job doing so.

However, what I have to say is much more important, and can make a permanent difference in your life, so pay attention.

While we were there, my daughter got a henna tattoo. Now it is scarring, and we found out that it was actually PPD, or 'black henna,' not real henna. There are numerous websites you can check out to see the awful effects of this substance. It scars your skin, and enters into your bloodstream, possibly causing liver or kidney damage, making you more prone to cancer in those areas.

PLEASE DO NOT GET A HENNA TATTOO!

The experience is awful. It normally takes up to three weeks to see the full effects of a reaction, which means that it won't be until after you get home that you notice there is a problem. An easy way to tell if it is real henna or not is to find out how long it takes for the dye to stain your skin, and how long the tattoo is expected to last. Real Henna takes in between 6 hours and 2 days to fully stain your skin, and it will be a brownish or a reddish color. Black Henna stains your skin in an hour or two, and lasts two weeks. So, when you ask the artist how long it is before you can wash the dye off, if he says an hour or two, get out of there quick!

I have tried to contact the resort to let them know this sort of practice is not safe, or acceptable. It is unclear to me if the artist himself, a Yugoslavian man, knows it is unsafe or not. He seemed to think everything is fine.

Please do not get a tattoo on this resort. I have checked online and found out that black henna is very very common in South and Central America, as well as throughout the Caribbean. Save yourself a massive amount of stress and worry and doctors appointments, and just avoid the tattoos altogether. Black Henna is actually banned in Canada, and vendors of it are able to be brought up on criminal charges. That is how serious the danger is.


Please Please Please, stay safe in the caribbean. Most of the people we travelled with had ear aches, swimmer's ear, and we thought that was kind of unfortunate. Imagine our surprise when we found out my 11 year old daughter was going to have scars on her ankles that may never go away.

Please be careful.

  • Liked — Swim up bar
  • Disliked — Henna Tattoos
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

WOW.... If you havent been to this BEAUTIFUL place and you have often thought about it, what are you waiting for......... Me and my husband have just spent two glorious weeks there for our honeymoon. Paradise really does exist, it is definatly worth the long flight. It was a nine hour flight and just over an hour by coach from the airport to the hotel- WOW what a place. As you pull up to the Sirenis Tropical you think Oh god what have i done!! Trust us you will be AMAZED this place is HUGE. Everywhere is pristene it knocks you off your feet. The bars are spotlessly clean, the MACAO restaurant is amazing its all buffet style food and lots of puddings to go with it. The staff in there are awesome, everyone is very friendly making sure you have got what you need or if there is anything else you need. The massive army of staff are always busy no matter what time of day or night it is and it goes to show with just how Beautiful everywhere is. It certainly took our breathe away we were so overwhelmed with there we just stood there in aww!!!! The gardens are very very beautiful, the beach WOW what a beach, the sand was soft and the gorgeous turquoise sea was so warm you didnt want to get out of it. If you want a holiday with as little to do as possible then this is the place for you, dont get me wrong there were fab excursions to go on but you dont have to go on them if you dont want too. The Beach and the pools were good enough for us. Thomas Cook girl Becky was an absolute star. The room we stayed in was pretty good too, it was cleaned everyday, fridge topped up everyday with soft drinks and water you do get through alot of it. There is still so much to say about this place and trust me it is all good no negative all positive. The only thing left to say is GO GO GO you will not regret it........

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.