We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would not return” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames to your Saves list
Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
brighton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“would not return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The grounds and beach are simply stunning, but appearances can be deceiving. The room was filthy with bare wires hanging from a fuse box in the hall way with no cover on, The maid never came to the room before 5.30 pm, so after a day at the beach or pool you could not have a shower or any water till at least 6.30.
The food was plentifull if you did,nt mind sharing it with all the flies and birds that swarmed over it, nothing was ever covered. and was left out for hours in the heat. Every one that i spoke to in the hotel had been ill. 3 members of our party became ill the second week and are still un able to keep any thing inside them a week after our return. You can reserve 2 meals a week in the restaurants, chinese, steak house, mexican, italian or vedgetarian, however the food is not replenished during the evening so if you are given a late sitting, you just receive the scraps. However if you are lucky enough to get an early sitting the food is lovely and edible, you will need to book these as soon as you arrive as they go very quickly. Some friends we made were only able to book 3 of there meals insteadof the 4, they were just told it was all full. All the staff are interested in are getting you to attend a VIP breakfast which is a 3 hour hard sell trying to get you to buy a timeshare. Moaning finished, the hotel is on the most beautifull beach with palm trees, and apart from the food and illness we did enjoy ourselves mainly because we made some wonderfull friends there, The hotel is very isolated so the only time you can go out is if you go on the trips which are at least 100 dollars per person, you can,t eat any where else apart from the hotel. A beautifull country but would definately never return to this hotel or one of their sister ones. If you have booked take plenty of immodium with you, we went through 8 packets and ran out, some one who was checking out a day before us gave us the remainder of there,s.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,621
    1,753
    824
    461
    315
See reviews for
1,675
1,696
87
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Serenis is gorgeous And upon arrival my boyfriend and I were filled with excitement And hopeful of what was to come next... However we were highly disappointed! The very first night of our stay we returned from a day of enjoying the drinks and pool to find our room had no power! No lights, no air.... I finally got maintenance to come fix the problem and this was two Locals who spoke not one word of English and kept yelling at me In Spanish. They ripped Down the ceiling fans over the bed, the fixtures In the bathroom and demanded we leave until they were done!! We couldn't even change for so we were not allowed in the buffets! Furious I chased down the "manager" of our resort to explain the problem Who was just about the only english speaking person here, knowing she would Surley help us.... And nothing! She sent us back to our room .... Starving! She showed no care in the world as if having no power is normal here! This was very disappointing considering it was the first day and we were convinced the rest of the week would be awful and it was.. Food is awful. Awful!! Same food at buffet everyday, snack bar for lunch is filthy, pool full of children. Blowing their nose... I couldn't even enjoy a swim! However Jonathan in the pool bar was amazing!!! So sweet and hilarious!! ........*warning my boyfriend and I got very very sick from Ice in our drinks* everyday our stomaches were ill and we spent half our trip In the bathroom!! ..,.., we spoke to several guests who said the same!! If it Haden't been for the amazing friends we made at serenis we probably would have left early!! We are 24 and 25 from America and no one spoke English !!!!! With the exception of our friends from London!!! This is def a family resort and not meant for young people looking for a good time! The beach is filthy, chairs are broken.... All in all serenis was horrible and I, and everyone we met there will never return!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laval
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Let me begin by saying that the beach is stunning, extremely clean. The pool was huge and very clean, the water was hot which made you want to stay in the water the whole day. We had taken the renovated room which was very big and comfortable. The cleaning staff did an amazing job on the maintenance of the resort, especially the rooms. The entertainment was at its best. They would keep you pumped up and entertained at all times. The shows at night were very good. If you decide to go to this hotel, make sure you go and see the Michael Jackson show because the animators do an amazing job at impersonating this legend. The staff was very friendly, going out of their ways to make sure you enjoy your stay at their hotel. However, the variety of food wasn't that big, but the a la carte restaurants were good. The only thing I have to complain about is the Mediterranean restaurant which could be improved. I would highly recommend this hotel and I am pretty sure that you will enjoy your stay there.

Room Tip: You should choose the high floors and make sure you take the renovated rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominican Republic
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Spend the long weekend with my husband and toddler... in short: this hotel simply sucks! arrived on friday to the hotel... check in was a breeze since it was early evening... 1st stop: restaurant reservations... the agent kept saying that all restaurants were full but he would make an exception that he shouldnt be booking after a certain hour and bla bla.. got reservations at italian for friday and mexican for saturday...whe we finally got to the italian restaurant it was just a family of 10 and 2 other tables!! made such a huge deal about nothing. do yourself a favor and skip the mexican one... you're better off with the buffet!
got to out room finding floors full of sand, the phone didnt work and we had no towels... used my cell phone and called reception like 5 times speaking with different agents...3 hours later finally received towels... thanks to Amber in Public relations! the only outstanding service in our entire trip!! she stayed outside our room until we finally received our towels...
Weird bathroom and room a bit dated... food nothing special at all... skip the barbeques and desserts please...
beach is great specially for young children and entrance to water park is included (that was a plus!)
decent cable tv and flat screen. cant say the same about the AC since we had a leak in the bathroom ceiling.
if you're looking for privacy this is NOT the place to go to... walls must be cardboard!!! spent the entire weekend listening to our neighbour singing in the tub and doing his private stuff and more even at 1 AM.... heard EVERYTHING... was mortified... he probably heard us also!
gardens are nice and beach type pools and playground are also good...
the have this members club thing that golf carts to move around are exclusively for members... that sucked also.
wont be going back... just sad i used my AA miles on this...26K go a long way in simmilar hotels in the DR...

Room Tip: if you prefer to be close to beach or pool ammenities ask for 2nd avenue rooms (G and over)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel some time ago and then returned to another hotel with some friends. We were very disappointed second time round and kept comparing it to the wonderful suite we had at Sirenis, the brilliant food and the friendliness of the staff who couldn't do enough for you. We are going again this year in September and I have been so excited since we booked it, we can't wait. Unless something extremely drastic has happened, I cannot see any reason why we are not going to enjoy it as much as last time, it is not often I recommend hotels, however this is one I always recommend when someone tells me they are going to the Dominican, and friends have also not been disappointed. I look forward to seeing everyone again soon. Hopefully we will have an upper floor room again this year, to be honest we don't really care where it is situated as they are all nice and who cares about a bit of a walk to the beach of reception, you are on holiday.

Room Tip: Upper floor is better, they are much lighter and you get an excellent view of the amazing thundersto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My family visited in July, we traveled with twins at 10 months, and two older children, when we got to our room we was dissapointed to find that there was one bedroom with 2 double beds, no travel cots were there fot us even tho we had requested them beforehand. We rang and ordered them before dinner and was assured they would be provided for when we got back! 3 hrs later when we got back to the room nothing had been done, id rang several times explaining my 10 month old twins were tired and had nowhere to sleep, id Also personally made the long walk back to reception to ask someone face to face. They managed to find 1 cot and asked if they could both sleep In there. After explaining that I wasnt happy for our twin boys to sleep in the same cot they brought another one an hour later! However this one was broke and had no bottom to it, they asked if id mind folding some blankets instead and putting that at the bottom? Again I wasnt happy with this as I wanted somwhere decent for our boys to sleep on holiday. To their credit they did manage to find a brand new cot two hours later at around midnight!!! This pretty much summed up the kind of service u can expect here. As the rep Suzy said on the bus, everything runs on Dominican time, basically everythings long!!! As for the food were not that fussy but it was a struggle at times to find something edible!!! As for the rest of the holiday, the beach was beautiful, the pool with the bar was pretty good, water park was ok, myself and my partner got married out here and the wedding day was fantastic, the honeymoon suite was a sure step up from our cramped apartment rooms, (just to point out that we had family to baby sit for us) ,,,,, there was alot of Spanish speaking Latin Americans at the time we went and found that the food and comlex as a whole kind of cratered for them abit more, however, they did appreciate it if u tried to spk Spanish!! Overall apart from our wedding day I wasnt really that impressed all holiday, I would take noteof the nnegative reviews on here!! One thing that was nice tho that the staff themselves adored our children and made plenty of effort to interact with them, but I wouldnt come back

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Bad service. The staff feel anoyed when ask a question. No help when we get to the buffet. The staff are not honest, they try to steal at the lobby. They try to push you to buy the time share all the time. We see rats at the lobby and close to the buffet. A/c and the bar at the room didn t work and one night it rains and the room was flooded....NEVER GO AGAIN..!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#36 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.