We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family Vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames to your Saves list
Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 102 Hotels in Punta Cana
Toronto
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Family Vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Traveled March Break Mar 8-16th.

Flew WestJet from Toronto so the tourist card was taken care of. No issues at the Airport (PUJ).

The resort was in great shape. Constant attention paid to it by landscaping staff.
Increadibly helpful customer facing staff. Some maids and workers do not speak English, but you can get your point across and they try their best.

Pro's:
- Beach. absolutely beautiful
- Pool. clean and large
- Buffets (main buffet open early in the morning and the 2 buffets by the pools are open all day inbetween the times when the main buffets are closed) good selection, each night a different theme.
- animation staff (always ensuring everyone is having a good time)
- Casino ( although small, always found a couple of full blackjack tables and roulette was busy)
- lots of shade if needed by the beach ( either via palapas or palm trees)
- rooms fairly modern on the tropical side ( we stayed in building O)
- Aquagames ( waterpark) only a year old, and in great condition. lots of friendly lifeguards around, pool side grill and bar on site. Never a line up and any silde when we were there.

Cons:
- i found that the beds are a bit hard. (I did not lose any sleep by them, just nice to have a pillowtop experience when on vacation) although there is a recent review of someone in building O having a pillow top mattress, our room did not)
- lobby store very expensive for snacks. Weather it was the $8USD bag of chips, $4 sleave of Pringles, or $3USD candy bar, you will find yourself forking over for these items as you can't believe how hungry you get when the buffets are closed in between meals. If there is any tip that I can give a fellow traveler is BRING YOUR OWN SNACKS!! sounds stupid, but you wont regret that you did.
- no 24 hr coffee place available. ( this just might be a me thing, but I enjoy a fresh expresso/latte/Cappuchino in the mornings). you know the ones.....the big copper machines that make all the noise and warm the milk...., but outside of getting a straight up coffee and milk from a resort sized purculator at the buffet, there was nothing around until the lobby bar opened at 9am. bummer.
- booking the a la cartes are in these 2 glass windowed huts half way down the isle toward the beach was a challange. not that we could not get what we wanted, but there are these white shirted, yellow tie fellas that you book the a la cartes with and they are the ones that try to convince you to a VIP breakfast that shows you a timeshare deal. the yellow tie fellas get some sort of points or commission for this, but I stuck to my guns and just said no thanks no matter how hard they pressed.
now mind you....I have neve spoken to anyone who has actually gone through with this, but I believe they get a black wristband. black wristband people are the superstars of the resort. i had wristband envy when it was all said and done. They had the best pool and beach areas roped off just for them, indoor air conditionded lounges complete with free internet, and golf cart taxis just for them to cart them all over the resort. but not sure what they had to go through in order to get all that attention. whatever.........

the pros at this resort , out weigh the cons, hands down.

Found it interesting that fewer English speaking people vacation at this resort. There were other Canadian, American and English tourists at the Sirenis, but I found that at least 40% of the tourists were Russian and a good 30% French. Not that there is anything wrong with that , just was more difficult to mingle without sign language. I enjoy meeting different people from all over and did find some friendly Canadian and American folks at the casino.

too many places to visit in the world then to go to the same place twice, but that is my opinion and not any fault of this resort. my family and I had a great time.

Excursions?? if you dont mind having alot of fun and getting a little dirty, you MUST book the Xtreme-Buggy excursions!!! what a blast! driving a VW beatle framed full sized buggy through the streets of Bavaro and onto some of the best beaches in the world.
www.xtreme-buggy.com Paid 1/2 at time of booking and the other 1/2 on site. easy. and tonnes of fun. Charlie and Anni are the best!

Room Tip: spend the extra when booking your trip for a ocean fron suite. Building S or T are Oceanfront, build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicalsuitescasino, In House Manager at Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Hello KrazyJoeDivola,
It is a great pleasure to know that you had a great family vacation here at Sirenis.
As you state, the pros out weight the cons, and it is in these last ones where we are working hard in order to improve our service.
You seem like a travelled person that like to visit different places, but nevertheless I invite you to contact me at assistdir.dom@sirenishotels.com if you or any one that you know decides to visit us in the future.
Joaquín Mateo
In House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,417
    1,520
    691
    414
    274
See reviews for
1,353
1,519
75
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

i just returned from cocotal beach resort and had mixed feelings, its definitely a three star resort where sometimes u get great service and sometimes they leave you wondering if you really paid for it or not. Lets start with the general manager, he was great if you had any special requests he was all up for it to make it happen, the ride from the airport to the resort was almost an hour, conexion tour and travels are greatly recommended, the check in process was easy and smooth, we booked a ocena view and got k106, 107 rooms which had the best view, the resort itself is beautiful and huge, the grounds are well maintained, the biggest thing was that you have to know spanish in order to get some service becuase sometimes when the server knew english they pretended that they didnt and acted like they didnt understand a word. The tourist were from all over the world, so they have to know english in order to survive, when it comes to food, it was pretty much same everytime. had a great experience with the photographers, they were very nice and accomodating. the resort have a nice water park so if you are going with kids greatly recommended but should take a half day pass which is for 4 hours, the park is not too big to spend more than four hours, they have five rides and kiddie pools and most of the time its empty so u dont have to wait in line.over all a nice experience and would definitely recommend if you are not that high maintainance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Spent a week from 26 feb to 5 march at this small but wonderful resort and would recommend it to anybody who wants to relax and not wast to much time getting from one place to another: beach, lounge, buffet and restaurant are all within 5 min walking distance.

Good points: Size or resort, excellent staff and services, beach(walks up to 1hr each direction), pools, la carte restaurants and grounds upkeep.

Bad points: Never ending activity hounding, lack of sufficient tanning chairs, no free internet, no coffee before 09h00 at bar and children( to a certain point).

So So points: Rooms, buffet, 50 min bus to resort from airport and nigntly entertainement shows

Overall, an excellent experience with a great beach and resort staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Brunswick, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our third trip to Punt Cana but the first time at this resort. The resort property is clean and well maintained and our room was always spotless and clean. We had no little bugs or anything in our room however we were on the second floor. Building L is close to the beach and if you leaned over the balcony you could get a small ocean view however we did not spend much time in our room, only to sleep and do the necessary. The staff wre all very happy and accomodating for whatever we asked for. The beds were hard but actually slept quite well after being in the sun and heat for the day. Also we were surprised at how many channels were on the tv in the evening when we retiring for the night. We called home directly from our room with no problem. Cost is $3.00 per minute so they were quick calls. The only complaint we had was the food. There was always a large variety on the buffet but the meat was always tough as shoe leather or not cooked at all. The best night was the Dominican night and the pork was excellant. We did the steakhouse which was fun but the steak was also very tough. Mind you we did not go hungry. Bread is delicious and plentiful. The wait staff were always kind and helpful and usually very happy when we tried out our limited Spanish. The time share employees are constantly after you however after about 3 days they didn't bother us anymore. They weren't rude but pushy. All in all we had a very good relax and arrived home tanned and no worse for wear. It wasn't as great as the other resorts we have been at but this was not totally terrible I will say. Not sure if we will return to this one but who knows what the future holds!

Room Tip: Building L, close to the beach and not a long walk to the lobby. Was very quiet at night..never hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winkler, Manitoba, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Manuel, Miguel, and Marina (the best lobby staff ever), went out of their way to assist us with all our questions and needs! We could not have asked for better staff. The service was excellent, the grounds were kept spotless daily, and we were always served with a smile! The food was amazing and so much variety! The beach was top notch and we will definitely go again! Thank you, staff, for making our stay a most pleasurable one! Blessed be!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tropicalsuitescasino, In House Manager at Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Hello Linda H,
Thank you very much for your comment. I will personally congratulate Manuel, Miguel and Marina for their great job at the front desk.
I will also let all the staff know that their hard work is being recognized not only by you, but also by the majority of our customers.
Please feel free to contact me any time you want if you decide to come back to the resort.
Email: assistdir.dom@sirenishotels.com
Joaquín Mateo
In House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lincs
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a wonderful two week stay here. We were slightly overwhelmed by the size of the complex as it is much larger than other hotels we have stayed at. The staff (approx. 800), caring for at least 2000 holidaymakers did an amazing job. The food was lovely and we weren't too disappointed not to visit all the gourmet restaurants. We can't praise them highly enough for their care, kindness and ability not to laugh too hard at our attempts to speak Spanish (more of which later!).
Despite the size of the complex we never failed to find a lovely quiet corner to sit and relax if we needed it; either by the pools or on the beach. The groundsmen have done an absolutely wonderful job in maintaining the beautiful grounds and gardens.
Special thanks must go to Franklin on the front desk, Ana Jissel and Ana in the Macao restaurant, Jency and Francisco at the pool bar, the SUPERB Animacion Super! Banana, Black Berry, Ping Pong and Tony Montana (the best Spanish teacher in the world!).
Must do's include the Monster Truck trip, the Catamaran to Saona, Bavaro Splash (Snorkel, Snuba and Speedboat) and the Horse Riding.
We made many friends from America and Canada - hi Brittany and Dave, Cupcake, Tony, Greg, Tim and Karen, Antoinette and Patrick plus a few crazy guys over for a wedding...32!
Had a wonderful time, the hotel had been visited before by some of my work colleagues and we are glad we took their advice and came here.
On a less positive note, the only downside to the holiday was being 'pestered' by the concierges to go for VIP breakfast/dinner. It was nice to see the Platinum, Gold, Silver and Bronze rooms but we didn't travel all that way to spend all our time and money on oour room; if however you are the sort of person who is interested in that kind of thing then go ahead but be prepared for it taking up at least half a day of your holiday.
Hasta luego and (especially for Tony Montana), Mi esposo esta muy borracho!
See you all again
Ali and Phil Wray

Room Tip: If possible, select a higher floor because we found that being on the ground floor M004, the tiled f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We recently stayed here and had a good time. I will list some feedback I think is most important for this hotel.

Food: The food is here is actually alright for an all inlcusive. We ate at the buffet for breakfast, lunch, and most dinners. Breakfast and lunnch got boring after a few days as the selection is similar each day. We ate at the mexican and japanese theme restaurants and they were much better than the buffet.

Room: Our room was pretty bad. There was a strong odor of mildew. Tiny bugs were everywhere in the room and bathroom. The bed was like sleeping on a piece of plywood. I would say the room was the worst part of our trip. The shower would not work correctly the whole time we were here. We had to use the handheld shower, the rain showerhead would not work.

Liquor: The drinks here were okay for the most part. No top shelf/ name brand drinks unless you paid. Took a lot to get our group to feel a nice buzz.

Staff: The staff here were nice for the most part. We only encountered one staff member who was rude. She was one of the waiters/cleaning staff at the main bar.

Pool: The pool was nice and the water was warm enough. I did find the pool to be to deep. There are many spots were the pool is 6-8 feet deep. I liked taking a long swim throughout the whole pool, but it is large and rest is needed. You can't do that in 6-8 foot water.

Beach: The water was very rough and there was always a rip current present. The winds are very stong at the beach and unless the sun is out, you will be cold.

Location: The drive is about an hour from the airport. The road is kind of rough and made for a poor drive. The nice thing about the location being away from the airport is, you get to see a lot of the countryside and not just the main highway.

All inclusive: I don't feel this place should call itself an all inclusive. They try to nickle and dime you for everything. Lobster, internet, bacardi, drinks at the disco, room service, and more is not included. The resort is not very expensive and I can see why some of these things are not included, but I have simple suggestion for them. Charge $40 per person and add some of these things. It would go along way and would make the resort much better.

For the price this hotel was a good choice. If our room was nicer, I may have even made this review a 4 star.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#61 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.