We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames to your Saves list
Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We, a family of eight from ages 12 to 68, thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay at Sirenis Cocotal from Feb.10-24. The landscaping and grounds are immaculate thanks to both the design and hard working folks who keep the walkways and paths clean as a whistle.
Our rooms were very comfortable, clean and attended to daily by lovely ladies who take extra care to impress (like folding towels into swans and decorating with fresh hibiscus flowers picked fresh from the gardens on site!) Leaving a $5 tip on the pillow after a couple of days is much appreciated by them and every once in a while thereafter seemed well deserved.
The food was great.....breakfast, lunch and supper buffets.....with a huge variety of well prepared and nicely presented selections; red and white wine always offered by friendly waiting staff. Tailor made eggs/omelettes in the morning, always a carving station in the evenings (hip of beef, roast pork, roast turkey, roasted chicken, suckling pig etc. just to name a few.) Anyone who claims the food is not good or of great variety is either being snobbish or is addicted to Kraft Dinner!
The pools: sparkling clean, never irritating to the skin or eyes and just beautiful.
The beach: Gorgeous with miles of sand in both directons.
The entertainment staff: exceptional. A group of 12-15 circulate around the pool areas and beach enticing you to join them in dance lessons, beach games, horseshoes, pool games etc. A little tip to these folks is appreciated too and they well deserve it as they put in long hours from 10 a.m. to about 11 p.m. in some cases. Special recognition goes to "Iguana" (our favourite), Blackberry, and James Bond.....who knew us all by our first names after a couple of days and treated us like family. We had some lumps in our throats when we had to say "Adios" to these lovely people.
The evening shows were nicely done with a different show every night. Lovely costumes, lighting and sound. Almost cruise ship style.
The truth is, this whole holiday reminded me of a cruise ship holiday except one will not get sea sick or hit a reef off the coast of Italy or be stranded in the Indian ocean in pirate infested waters.
And the weather was great.....occasional rain shower.....that's what keeps things so lush and tropical.
Good job, Sirenis Cocotal, and keep up the fine hospitality. Muchas gratias.
Ross
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: If you have room in your luggage, bring your favourite pillow!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,412
    1,512
    688
    409
    272
See reviews for
1,339
1,513
75
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

before I traveled to Sirenis I read the reviews here to see what others thought and I saw very positive to very negative... I spent 2 weeks at the resort and was very happy with my stay! If you are reading these before your trip... don't worry about your choice here... great place!

Yes... stay in the renovated rooms, I really liked the "H" block -- very central. They are very clean, the maids are great, but a few well placed small tips never hurts. Yes get a room safe, you should no matter where you travel. they have lots of room, so if you travel in a group, you should have enough room for everyone's stuff in one safe.

They are always cleaning the grounds ( not because they are dirty but because they are big and they keep them soooo clean.) Watch them trim the palm trees if you get a chance ( get up early though) fun to watch them climb to the top with just a small rope, for support.

The staff are very friendly and I cant say enough good things about the entertainment crew!! They all have spoof names so we remember them all... SO to Iguana, BlackBerry, James Bond, Snoopy and all the rest -- THANKS FOR THE GREAT TIMES !!! --- they speak 4 languages min and they are always full of energy and are busy, getting games going, or interacting with guests. We had a good chance to visit with them and take part in the daily games... these people work hard to keep everyone having fun... they work 9am to midnight are in the nightly shows... We were there 2 weeks and the last night a show repeated... are they Broadway quality shows... "no", but i feel they are still well done.

Pool was very nice, they are busy cleaning it every day, ocean was ruff when we were there also, red flag was out several times. If you are concerned about seeing pictures that show it windy there... don't be... the wind is warm and by the afternoon at 30+C deg you welcome a breeze.
The food was very good, 2 weeks at any buffet you will see the pattern, but there was lots of selection. Chicken, and seafood they cook really well, beef not their strong point. BBQ chicken on the beach was great... I already miss it!!

The drive to the resort is about 1hr by big bus... 30 min by small bus (lol) ... if you are a control freak when it comes to driving i suggest self medicating before travel... not that they aren't good drivers just a different way of interpreting the "rules of the road" --- passing slower traffic is more of a sport than any thing, have your camera ready when traveling... where else can you see the entire family on a motor bike going somewhere. Our record was 6 people, 4 kids 2 adults, on one little motor bike.

One thing I did notice... when we were there, the resort has people from everywhere mostly from Europe, lots of other languages spoken at the resort. We did find it a bit hard to find other English speaking people some days. As a non smoker, I did see the culture difference with Europeans in smoking. I am used to "smoking in designated areas", there" non smoking is in designated areas" (all restaurants, shows are safe and are all non smoking ) but all common areas are fair game. Again not a big deal... just different than Canada.
A few little things to help your trip:
1. When you fly in... if you were given a "tourist card" on the plane... when you get to the line up... stay to the far right against the wall... that is the fast lane for those with cards... the signage didn't seem obvious enough to us and that added time in line adjusting from -20C to plus 30C in jeans would have been better spent with a beer.
2. If you have Snorkeled anywhere with really clean water, and lots of fish... skip the DR it isn't the same caliber as Maui... it just isn't.
3. wouldn't hurt to take a good stack of $ 1 USD bills for tipping -- tips don't need to be much but they do appreciate them.
4. if you want a good spot near the pool, with a shade... best to get up extra early and put out towels on chairs
Other than that... enjoy your trip ! We did, I highly recommend Sirenis, and would easily stay at another in the future.

Room Tip: I like rooms in "H" on the Cocotal side very central !
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel. It is affordable and pleasant place to stay in Uvero Alto, Punta Cana. I have stayed in many resorts in punta cana, especially in the Bavaro section, which by the way I like the most. I must say that even though this hotel is not as fancy as other ones I have stayed in punta cana, our staying experience was a pleasant one. We have no complaint with the staff and/or housekeeping, they were always very attentive. The food was great at the buffets, especially Saturday night, they have a theme night on every night. We had dinner a la carte reservations almost all week long, the one my husband and I enjoyed the most was Giardinetto rest. The concierge Ortiz, who checked us in was very polite and professional. The room they put us in was nice, clean and spacious. We would definitely return to this place if we decide to visit this part of Punta Cana. I have NO complaints whatsoever! ...for the price...not bad!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Just got back from a one week long stay at Sirenis Tropical Suites. Overall, I would rate the hotel and experience a 6.5/10.

GROUNDS: Resort grounds were very well kept, a beautiful property. We were really impressed with our first look at the resort, really nice.

BEACH: Beach was amazing. The only thing that annoyed us a little was the people staying at the resort who smoke and throw their cigarette butts into the sand. You can walk along the beach in either direction, but I would suggest to avoid walking toward the left (..go the opposite way). There was an excessive amount of garbage when we took the left direction, and as well we were bothered a lot more by vendors. The red flag was out on 2 out of the 7 days that we were there, only means you need to swim in the designated area and can't use water sports equipment. There were always chairs available at the beach - we usually got up pretty early to put our beach towels on our chairs. No one had ever stolen our spot or towels on any day (it seems people do respect the beach towel on chair thing as "someone else's spot"). I absolutely loved the beach and we really weren't bothered by vendors etc as much as we expected while laying on the beach on the hotel property.

POOL: The pool is pretty big and has a swim-up bar.We found the pool to be a little more crowded and harder to find a spot at, but we only really tried once (we prefer to be at the beach rather than the pool).

FOOD: Food was great at this resort, the buffets were as expected for any all-inclusive resort really.. (some repetition between days, sometimes food wasn't completely hot etc). Overall great variety of food available each day though. The last day we were there was Dominican themed - we enjoyed this a lot. A la carte restaurants were variable quality... Mexican was alright, Italian was great and the Japanese was AMAZING. Definitely recommend the Japanese and Italian for sure. I know there is a Mediterranean and Steakhouse restaurant there as well, we didn't get to try those. The big thing for us that really took away from our impression of this resort was at the Snack restaurant (which is all OPEN to the air and becomes Mexican restaurant at night). There were a lot of birds around and we had been eating there and saw a bird literally standing and picking up food right on the buffet... it was pretty gross actually. The staff who was around didn't seem to care until he knew that we saw the bird up there... so we stopped eating at the snack bar and stuck with the regular buffets and a la cartes. There is also a good BBQ at the beach daily.

ROOMS: Try to get a room in a renovated building. We booked Mirage package which guaranteed that apparently. The rooms were nice, and we got a random upgrade to a suite which was nice as well. The only problem we had with the room was that there was a bit of a smell of sewage at times... for some reason it was worse in the mornings. The running water in the area is NOT potable and has that same smell so we thought it may have been because of that, which I am not really sure can be avoided. We mentioned it to the maid and she seemed to have no idea what we were talking about. She sprayed some cleaning solution around the room to "help with the problem..." The room we initially had did not have this problem. We also found that the initial room wasn't cleaned until later in the day, but in the suite we had, the maid came almost too early sometimes. Guess it depends on which building you are in and which maid you have. Service seems variable: One of the lights in our room was broken so we called and it was fixed within an hour. We had a different problem with a door in our upgraded room and tried requesting it to be fixed and it took 3 times before someone came to fix it. The beds are hard but we were fine with that, and the pillows are bad and lumpy.

STAFF: Friendly. We found the reception staff on the Tropical side more personable and professional for some reason. We did not get bothered about the time share selling thing that we frequently read about here on TripAdvisor. We are pretty young though so maybe they think we are broke, lol..

SHOWS: Overall good. Our favorites were the Acrobats and Michael Jackson. We left early on Saturday night so didn't get to see the Dominican Night show. The others were not so great.

The safe costs extra but it is only $3 per day. I would suggest you use it. They require a $50 deposit for the safe key which you get back when you check out.

Overall we had a really great vacation. We probably won't return to this resort again but I think it is a pretty good value. Will likely spend the extra little bit and book a 5 star next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Two Harbors, Minnesota
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just returned from a week at Sirenis Cocotal Beach in Dominican Republic. We had a wonderful time. The staff and service was great. Our room comfortable and balcony had a view of ocean as well as many tropical plants. It was quiet and beds were firm but comfortable. We enjoyed 6 of the restaurants in the evening with excellent service and the buffet was fine too. The beach was the highlight with miles to walk and warm water. We took a private tour to Santa Domingo and took in the sites of the old city and countryside sights along the way. The driving with no stop signs and horn honking is not for the faint of heart! Bring extra cash, credit cards weren't accepted several places and we also needed it for tips.

Room Tip: We were in complex G 2nd floor in the corner and found it to be quiet and have pretty views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was our second trip down to Punta Cana, the resort was fabulous with good food and excellent service!

Flight -went with canjet, no problems, they even served sparkling wine after takeoff to kick off our holiday to the entire flight.

Transfer from airport. - the resort is in a remote location compared to most punta Cana resorts. It is in uvero alto and not Bavaro, this means you have at least an hour trip by bus or van there. If you are even remotely prone to getting carsick TAKE GRAVOL !!!! or any motion sickness medication, once off the highway the road to uvero alto is very bumpy, twisty and hilly.

Check in - front desk staff are wonderful on both sides (cocotal and tropical) quick check in, deposit for the safe is $50 US and $21 for rental for the week. Do not lose your pink recipt slip, you need it to get your deposit back. (The size of the safe was just big enough to fit our IPad into it, if you have a lap top it may not fit) They give you 2 cards for your room and 2 towel cards.

Note*** the resort was At 100% capacity the week we stayed there (Feb 11-18) we had no issues with service, we always could get a seat/spot at the beach or pool, no line ups for food or at the bar, and the resort didn't even seem crowded at all.

Room - nice, newer than the last resort we stayed at, very typical room for punta Cana, fridge had a bottle of coke, sprite And fanta, and a large bottle of water, coffee maker in room with coffee. Patio doors are self locking! If you lock yourself out on one door you have to slide the other side open! Bathrooms are nice, new and clean. We tipped the maids every day and they left us an additional 3 bottles of water, and made towel animals with flowers (swans and hearts for valentines day). Maid service was fantastic, room cleaned every day by 11. If you are leaving gifts for the maid, make sure you leave a note that has your name, your room # and what the item is, in order for them to be able to leave the resort with the gift. The staff work 12 days on and 3 days off so if you are saving your tip for the end you may miss the person who was working on it before.

Lobby - wifi is in the lobby $5 for 30 min. Great place to chill in the evening before and after dinner, there was either a nice band playing or some form of entertainment. Drink menu was great (lots of choice) and staff came around regularly to take your drink order while seated on the nice lounge chairs and sofas there. we never had an issue in getting a seat (sometimes you had to wait 5 min or so but you could get a drink at the bar while waiting for a bunch of seats to free up). Oh and the peacocks walking around are neat.

Food - buffet was good, better than the last place we stayed at in punta Cana, lots of choice, never any line ups or issues finding a seat. I have a sensitive tummy and had no issues at all with the food. Reserve your al la carts with the concierge they provide you with or at the lobby. Just don't accept the VIP breakfast, it is a timeshare thing that takes a lot of time. We ate at the japanese one (Jade) which was fantastic show cooking - really recommended!!! and at the steakhouse. (I had the strip loin which was good, people we met said that the tenderloin was tough and chewy). The al la cartes looked half full when we were at them but then realized that half the restaurant is for the early sitting and the other half is for the late dinner sitting. They also have a BBQ during the day at the beach, burgers and chicken were good.

Drinks - there are bars everywhere at the resort and lots of bartenders, even though the resort was full I never waited more than 2 min to get a drink anywhere. They have a drink menu with lots of choices.

Pool - nice, spans both sides of the resort, 2 swim up bars, nice shallow beach entry on each side ( great if you have kids) always clean, cocotal side has the activities, tropical side is quieter. Temperature is good... Except near the swim up bar where it was a bit warm.... Hmmm....tried not to think why, but the resort can't control that eh? For a great drink ask jhonothan or Joel at the cocotal pool bar for their "special" drink, tastes great and is very potent!!!!!

Beach - really nice, soft sand, never had an issue getting a lounge chair. If you want a palapa, play the towel game by 7:30 at the latest (on the cocotal side). If not there are plenty of palapas down the beach in the tropical side (to the left). Ocean is nice, no rocks, if you swim out a bit you can snorkel and supposedly see fish (we had 4 days of wind so the ocean was stirred up and couldn't see anything). Went out Hobie cat sailing on our last day (all days before were red flagged with no water sports for safety reasons due to high winds and a very choppy ocean, but they can't control the weather of course). Sailing was fun, paid $10 insurance - worth it since there are a bunch of reefs and rock once you get out and I didn't want to risk breaking a $2100 hull on the sailboat. Also there is sea kayaking and wind surfing. Also did archery and beach soccer almost every day which was fun.

Check out. No problems, just remember your pink safe recipt. Oh and when you check out they give you a blue card reciept. Keep this!!!! You need to show it to the van, bus driver, hotel staff in order to leave the resort.

Overall we found the service to be excellent, food great, and rooms nice, will be returning in the future with kids next time. They are planning to have a new waterpark opening soon too.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms were listed at $20 US extra a night, we had a garden view room and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our stay of 23 days. Since this is our 5th visit to this resort it is obvious that we must really love it.
Last year it was great, this year with the many additions it was even better. They have installed new LCD televisions that has a built in internet and a huge Water Park is close to completion. Any minor problems we quickly taken care (special thanks to Joaquin Mateo who was so caring and helpful)
The staff is second to none, the Front Desk people are curious and helpful. The people who man the bars are prompt and quick to serve you, tip or not. We have tried other accommodations in the Dominican and can truthfully say we have not found a better value for our Dollar. We had most of our meals in the Buffet Restaurants and must say they offer excellent food and Deserts, with selection that offers something for everybody’s taste.
The Greeters at the door, the Servers, the Captains, the Maitre d' and the Chefs who makes you feel like you are special. We are already looking forward to next year, since we will be returning for the sixth time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#32 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#60 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.