We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames

Save Saved
You added Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We, a family of eight from ages 12 to 68, thoroughly enjoyed our two week stay at Sirenis Cocotal from Feb.10-24. The landscaping and grounds are immaculate thanks to both the design and hard working folks who keep the walkways and paths clean as a whistle.
Our rooms were very comfortable, clean and attended to daily by lovely ladies who take extra care to impress (like folding towels into swans and decorating with fresh hibiscus flowers picked fresh from the gardens on site!) Leaving a $5 tip on the pillow after a couple of days is much appreciated by them and every once in a while thereafter seemed well deserved.
The food was great.....breakfast, lunch and supper buffets.....with a huge variety of well prepared and nicely presented selections; red and white wine always offered by friendly waiting staff. Tailor made eggs/omelettes in the morning, always a carving station in the evenings (hip of beef, roast pork, roast turkey, roasted chicken, suckling pig etc. just to name a few.) Anyone who claims the food is not good or of great variety is either being snobbish or is addicted to Kraft Dinner!
The pools: sparkling clean, never irritating to the skin or eyes and just beautiful.
The beach: Gorgeous with miles of sand in both directons.
The entertainment staff: exceptional. A group of 12-15 circulate around the pool areas and beach enticing you to join them in dance lessons, beach games, horseshoes, pool games etc. A little tip to these folks is appreciated too and they well deserve it as they put in long hours from 10 a.m. to about 11 p.m. in some cases. Special recognition goes to "Iguana" (our favourite), Blackberry, and James Bond.....who knew us all by our first names after a couple of days and treated us like family. We had some lumps in our throats when we had to say "Adios" to these lovely people.
The evening shows were nicely done with a different show every night. Lovely costumes, lighting and sound. Almost cruise ship style.
The truth is, this whole holiday reminded me of a cruise ship holiday except one will not get sea sick or hit a reef off the coast of Italy or be stranded in the Indian ocean in pirate infested waters.
And the weather was great.....occasional rain shower.....that's what keeps things so lush and tropical.
Good job, Sirenis Cocotal, and keep up the fine hospitality. Muchas gratias.
Ross
Calgary, Alberta, Canada

Room Tip: If you have room in your luggage, bring your favourite pillow!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,048 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    712
    699
    343
    175
    119
See reviews for
553
757
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Two Harbors, Minnesota
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Just returned from a week at Sirenis Cocotal Beach in Dominican Republic. We had a wonderful time. The staff and service was great. Our room comfortable and balcony had a view of ocean as well as many tropical plants. It was quiet and beds were firm but comfortable. We enjoyed 6 of the restaurants in the evening with excellent service and the buffet was fine too. The beach was the highlight with miles to walk and warm water. We took a private tour to Santa Domingo and took in the sites of the old city and countryside sights along the way. The driving with no stop signs and horn honking is not for the faint of heart! Bring extra cash, credit cards weren't accepted several places and we also needed it for tips.

Room Tip: We were in complex G 2nd floor in the corner and found it to be quiet and have pretty views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

This was our second trip down to Punta Cana, the resort was fabulous with good food and excellent service!

Flight -went with canjet, no problems, they even served sparkling wine after takeoff to kick off our holiday to the entire flight.

Transfer from airport. - the resort is in a remote location compared to most punta Cana resorts. It is in uvero alto and not Bavaro, this means you have at least an hour trip by bus or van there. If you are even remotely prone to getting carsick TAKE GRAVOL !!!! or any motion sickness medication, once off the highway the road to uvero alto is very bumpy, twisty and hilly.

Check in - front desk staff are wonderful on both sides (cocotal and tropical) quick check in, deposit for the safe is $50 US and $21 for rental for the week. Do not lose your pink recipt slip, you need it to get your deposit back. (The size of the safe was just big enough to fit our IPad into it, if you have a lap top it may not fit) They give you 2 cards for your room and 2 towel cards.

Note*** the resort was At 100% capacity the week we stayed there (Feb 11-18) we had no issues with service, we always could get a seat/spot at the beach or pool, no line ups for food or at the bar, and the resort didn't even seem crowded at all.

Room - nice, newer than the last resort we stayed at, very typical room for punta Cana, fridge had a bottle of coke, sprite And fanta, and a large bottle of water, coffee maker in room with coffee. Patio doors are self locking! If you lock yourself out on one door you have to slide the other side open! Bathrooms are nice, new and clean. We tipped the maids every day and they left us an additional 3 bottles of water, and made towel animals with flowers (swans and hearts for valentines day). Maid service was fantastic, room cleaned every day by 11. If you are leaving gifts for the maid, make sure you leave a note that has your name, your room # and what the item is, in order for them to be able to leave the resort with the gift. The staff work 12 days on and 3 days off so if you are saving your tip for the end you may miss the person who was working on it before.

Lobby - wifi is in the lobby $5 for 30 min. Great place to chill in the evening before and after dinner, there was either a nice band playing or some form of entertainment. Drink menu was great (lots of choice) and staff came around regularly to take your drink order while seated on the nice lounge chairs and sofas there. we never had an issue in getting a seat (sometimes you had to wait 5 min or so but you could get a drink at the bar while waiting for a bunch of seats to free up). Oh and the peacocks walking around are neat.

Food - buffet was good, better than the last place we stayed at in punta Cana, lots of choice, never any line ups or issues finding a seat. I have a sensitive tummy and had no issues at all with the food. Reserve your al la carts with the concierge they provide you with or at the lobby. Just don't accept the VIP breakfast, it is a timeshare thing that takes a lot of time. We ate at the japanese one (Jade) which was fantastic show cooking - really recommended!!! and at the steakhouse. (I had the strip loin which was good, people we met said that the tenderloin was tough and chewy). The al la cartes looked half full when we were at them but then realized that half the restaurant is for the early sitting and the other half is for the late dinner sitting. They also have a BBQ during the day at the beach, burgers and chicken were good.

Drinks - there are bars everywhere at the resort and lots of bartenders, even though the resort was full I never waited more than 2 min to get a drink anywhere. They have a drink menu with lots of choices.

Pool - nice, spans both sides of the resort, 2 swim up bars, nice shallow beach entry on each side ( great if you have kids) always clean, cocotal side has the activities, tropical side is quieter. Temperature is good... Except near the swim up bar where it was a bit warm.... Hmmm....tried not to think why, but the resort can't control that eh? For a great drink ask jhonothan or Joel at the cocotal pool bar for their "special" drink, tastes great and is very potent!!!!!

Beach - really nice, soft sand, never had an issue getting a lounge chair. If you want a palapa, play the towel game by 7:30 at the latest (on the cocotal side). If not there are plenty of palapas down the beach in the tropical side (to the left). Ocean is nice, no rocks, if you swim out a bit you can snorkel and supposedly see fish (we had 4 days of wind so the ocean was stirred up and couldn't see anything). Went out Hobie cat sailing on our last day (all days before were red flagged with no water sports for safety reasons due to high winds and a very choppy ocean, but they can't control the weather of course). Sailing was fun, paid $10 insurance - worth it since there are a bunch of reefs and rock once you get out and I didn't want to risk breaking a $2100 hull on the sailboat. Also there is sea kayaking and wind surfing. Also did archery and beach soccer almost every day which was fun.

Check out. No problems, just remember your pink safe recipt. Oh and when you check out they give you a blue card reciept. Keep this!!!! You need to show it to the van, bus driver, hotel staff in order to leave the resort.

Overall we found the service to be excellent, food great, and rooms nice, will be returning in the future with kids next time. They are planning to have a new waterpark opening soon too.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms were listed at $20 US extra a night, we had a garden view room and it was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our stay of 23 days. Since this is our 5th visit to this resort it is obvious that we must really love it.
Last year it was great, this year with the many additions it was even better. They have installed new LCD televisions that has a built in internet and a huge Water Park is close to completion. Any minor problems we quickly taken care (special thanks to Joaquin Mateo who was so caring and helpful)
The staff is second to none, the Front Desk people are curious and helpful. The people who man the bars are prompt and quick to serve you, tip or not. We have tried other accommodations in the Dominican and can truthfully say we have not found a better value for our Dollar. We had most of our meals in the Buffet Restaurants and must say they offer excellent food and Deserts, with selection that offers something for everybody’s taste.
The Greeters at the door, the Servers, the Captains, the Maitre d' and the Chefs who makes you feel like you are special. We are already looking forward to next year, since we will be returning for the sixth time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

The resort was ok, and had great customer service at all levels. Food was great and everything I tried no matter how ordinary or different tasted great. Only complaints I would have is that part of the resort is time shares or condos, so they try to get you to go to a 'free breakfast' - but they don't explain it. We managed to avoid this very easily. Worst complaint is that at any one time there are from 20% to 80% of the deck chairs unused and unavailable. People go down and stake out chairs at the pool or beach, then don't show up for hours. It is a pain and unfair to the other guests - if they could address this issue it would benefit all the guests.

Room Tip: Our first room wasn't right. We tried to work with maintenace and the front desk but no luck...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

My wife and I visited Punta Cana for the 1st time (and not last) Feb5 to Feb20/12. We stayed at the Sirenis Cocotal Resort. The resort was very nice indeed. We did not know that the 2 Sirenis resorts (Cocotal & Tropicana) shared the same grounds. As a result the place was huge, no room by the pool, beach was also packed unless you went to the far sides. Lobby was very nice but again not much room. The layout was very good, easy to find your way around. Grounds were beautiful. Staff was very good except for possibly front end, will explain later. Bar staff very good. Waiters mostly good. One problem we had was the language. English was probally the weakest, French by far the most prevalent. Most of the staff spoke spoke English, but a lot didn't understand it, if that makes any sense.Our room was clean and adequate, but a little dated. Towels were a problem at first, but once we started leavin tips it wa fixed very fast. The mini bar was never stocked with beer or rum, just pop and water. We asked for a coffee maker for our room so we could have coffee first thing in the morning. First one sent did not work & was dirty/ covered with paint. We asked for another one and was told "riight away" which means eventually or never. We returned from the beach to findind no coffee maker, but a cot in our room. After a lot of explaining & hand language our maid fixed everything, she was great. The only water you could drink was either bottled or from restaurants or bars. The food in the 2 buffets was pretty good, lots of it with enough variety. The a la cartes were hard to make reservations(atleast 2 days wait) Japanese was very, very good. Mexican also was good. The Mediteranian was just so-so, and the Italian was baddd, except for the busboy who kept our wine glasses full!!! The others we never tried, one was a steak house which people said was decent, the other a gourmet that you paid extra for. A lot of services like gourmet restaurant, room service, spa's, gym and room safe you had to pay extra for. The hours of restaurants and buffets could have been better. Buffets were 7am to 10 am. 12 to 2 for lunch, and 7pm to 10pm for dinner. Restaurants were 7 to 10 pm. Problem is if you have young children (lots there) 7pm could be a little late for them to eat. There was suppose to be a kids club there, but we didn't see anything of it, but they are opening very soon a waterpark there, probally an additional fee. Overall the resort was very good, but it is out in the boonies, no town nearby, no bus service. We were told it was a $40.-50. cab ride to nearest decent town. For us it was too big and remote (1hr. to airport). Another problem was there were a couple large packs of dogs living off the grounds. These dogs were very friendly but starving to death, they also had a large amount of pups. I counted at least 20 under probally 2 mths. old. Security gaurd would keep them off grounds, no one cared about them. A few tourists would try to feed some of them but it was frowned on by the staff. The front end was not too bad except if you needed something done now, example, my wife left her purse which had credit cards, id and passport in the van that took us from airport. We realized this when we first arrived, the van left. When we realized all this at check in, we aske them to call the vans company so he could return with it. The front end staff refused and said we would have to get our travel rep (Sunquest) to. This was at 9:30 PM, and no one was there. When he showed up next day he located it for us and it was returned a couple days later, intact, much to my wifes relief. Another problem is no elevators worked, so if you were older, which we are or handicapped you had a problem. The restaurants and buffets and a small area off the lobby were the only non-smoking in the complex. Every room was equiped with ashtrays. As I said the resort is very nice, with very good service overall. If you want to just sit by the pool or beach (if you can find room) and like the isolation with lots of people then this place is great. However, we found it just to big and isolated for our likes We will definitely return to Punta Cana again, but probaly a different resort.

Room Tip: bring extra $ for tips. If you like tours take the Mega truck to the outback and coffee plantations...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is the second time I have visited a Sirenis resort and was not dissappointed. Although not as grand and imposing as their stock in Mexico this resort is friendly, clean and set on a beautiful strip of deserted Punta Cana beach. As a club member we got a newly decorated room with a seaview. The finish was not exceptional but then we are in the Dominican republic. The food was excellent and much nicer than many all inclusive's I have been on especially the a la carte restaurants. The bars are good serving the most delicious coconut coctails (coco loco is the best!). The pool area is clean and never crowded even though we went at peak season. The resort caters for mainly spanish, american, french and canadian, so if you want to meet new friends then as a brit its probably not ideal, however as a couple who likes to do our own thing it is ideal. The resort is set over a large plot, however most of the necessities such as pool, restaurant etc are set on the main walkway so are easy to find. The weather was perfect in January, hot but not humid and only very occasional rain, mainly at night. I would reccomend Sirenis cocotal (and the tropical suites, as they are the same resort, just different check in desks) to anyone wishing a relaxing. stress free holiday.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room in Block G, sea view but far enough from the pool so as not to be noisy when th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames

Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#26 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#40 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.