We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience, Good Hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames to your Saves list
Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
St. Thomas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bad experience, Good Hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I visited Sirenis Beach Resort in Punta Cana, DR for my birthday weekend. It is a nice resort and although we did a lot of walking. It was just a bad experience because when we got to the room, the toilet was not clean. It took about 4 hours to get it cleaned. After calling a few times, it was finally cleaned and looked how it should when we first got to the room except that there were no washcloths or towels. So I though that they went to get them but up to 10 oclock at night is when we got the towels, but no washcloths. Needless to say I did not have anything to take a shower with but that was not the bad part. Housekeeping promised to bring them and never did. The next morning, still nothing until about 11 am when I decided to call the manager. He came to the room introduced himself and after I explained the situation, he called housekeeping and asked for washcloths and towels and had to wait another 2 hours.

During the time we were waiting, we did get breakfast brought to our room and tons of apologies. For the next two (2) days, fruits was sent to our room and the manager managed to be at dinner and breakfast to make sure that we were satisfied.

Like I said, it was a very pleasant hotel but I had a bad experience. Despite the unpleasant service, I would probably visit there again.

Room Tip: "Ask for a room downstairs, where there is less walking" "Higher floors have less n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    1,477
    674
    392
    268
See reviews for
1,312
1,484
72
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, ON
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My evaluation - well designed, run and managed 3.5 to 4* resort. Excellent location on beach. All public areas include pools, beach, eating areas very clean, gardens always well pruned and maintained, walking to lobby was passing throughout beautiful area. Two minor maintenance issues addressed promptly. Friendly staff, maids, service staff and others.
Something what we did not like or it may need to improve:
• Our standard room - Internet for extra charge ($ 5/30 min.), room fridge stocks soft drinks only.
• Last bar closes at 12:30 AM.
• Main eatery – for daily buffet shall be upgraded (suggest to be open)
• Food (in buffet area) was slightly than average quality

Otherwise certainly well worth of money we paid.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidstone
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I've left it a little late to write this review as i went 9 months ago, but i always use these reviews before booking and so feel like i should write one.
Me and my boyfriend went here just the two of us which was nice but theres not a lot going on, so unless your the sort of couple that love to be alone with no liveliness then i would recommend going in a group.
The food was standard all inclusive, not fantastic but not bad either. Alot of drinks variety, cocktails are included in the all inclusive and they are all really good!

Our room was avarage, always cleaned well, some ants but they did not harm, maid was good, but rooms are old and not the standard i was expecting at this '5* resort'.
The pool was one big one, with plenty of space and was nice, sometimes there was a shortage of sun beds, especially at the weekend when the locals come in.
The beach was nice, but not the classic dominican beach, this hotel is in the wrong region of the island for the beautiful beaches you see in the bounty advert, which was disappointing and also meant snorkelling was a waste of time (this is free from the sports hut).
I generally was disappointed by the dominican people we encountered, i know it is a poverty striken country, but everyone pesters you for money constantly, and all the staff are paid on commission, so if you get great service you know why. That being said, a big thanks to Leonidas and Victor (also Jackson who was very friendly) who helped us throughout our stay, and gave excellent service.

Our room was nice, but we paid nearly £900 each, for this kind of money i was expecting more! if you do the tour you see the upgrade rooms and they are excellent, unfortunately you dont get those unless you join the serenic premium club.

This holiday probably would have received a higher rating if i had not felt conned into joined the premium club, at the time it seems like an amazing deal, getting better quality holidays at a lower price, but when you get home it is all very complicated, and is actually going to cost quite a lot more to go through their travel agent and put the holiday together seperately rather than getting a package deal.

The shows are very good, the performers are very talented! You have to pay for drinks in the disco, but it is definitely worth a visit. The animation team are very good at their job, and manage to keep you entertained.

The spa/gym is included and definitely worth a visit. Nice jacuzzi and nice place to relax. Had some massage treatments and they were excellent.

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere so they can charge you what they like for pretty much anything you need to buy or any trips you want to do as you have nowhere else to go. WE did the quad bikes, that was good, and saona island, which was so beautiful and a very good day. The plaza is ridiculous, very expensive, and all selling the same thing! dont go there as they do pester you to buy things (like the do everywhere).

All in all this was a nice place, and enjoyable, but do not get talked into joining the membership club, biggest mistake i have ever made, costing me £2350 for 10 week package! so yes im still paying for that mistake now. Worth a visit, but not worth the money we paid in my opinion.

One last thing- GHDs do NOT work! hair mousse is about $15 in the hotel and is not solg at the plaza, so ladies plan what you need for your hair before you go and take it with you!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

**NOTE - our stay was in March 2008**

Our family of 4 (kids were 9 & 11) stayed here for 2 weeks in March 2008 and thoroughly enjoyed it (sorry, don't know why I didn't write a review til now...maybe because I'm dreaming of going back!). Full relaxation knowing everything was taken care of, and the kids were completely safe thanks to great staff and friendly vacationers.

Go knowing it's not 5 star, meaning only that you'll have a fantastic time, enjoy good food, but you won't be "wowed" by extravagance. Wood-grilled chicken on the beach was fantastic.

Go knowing you will meet plenty of Western Europeans who are eager to share their experiences with you, you might even meet some new friends. Be open and understand the beach does have topless.

> Beautiful clean beach goes for miles before the next resort - great for long uninterrupted walks.
> Fantastic lagoon style pools that meander through both resorts (Sirenis Cocotal and Tropical), with swim up bars and plenty of room for lounging and playing.
> Energetic staff that keep the vacation vibe going.
> Excursions into the area offered a chance to help the locals and open our kid's eyes to the realities of life.
> Horseback riding through jungle and the surf (just like a movie!).
> Fantastic Dominican cigars, smooth rum, and excellent coffee.
> Decent windsurfing equipment available for use (it was only 1hr/day for free).
> Sit-on-top kayaks for paddling and surfing the waves were a blast (again, 1hr/day free use).

Best TIP if it's your first time to D.R.: Have cash on hand pay US$10 each passenger for a tourist card at the airport before entering immigration. Pre-arrange your transport to the hotel/resort both ways, and go to the area where they meet you outside airport - otherwise you will be mobbed by people that want to carry your bags to their favoured cab - tell them firmly & politely "No thanks" and keep your hands on your luggage!

Have a look at Wikipedia, the info. is good: http://wikitravel.org/en/Punta_Cana

Room Tip: We got a top floor with ocean view - good proximity to beach and short walk to eating areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Why We Went: My husband and I are members of the Sirenis Premium Travellers club, and we wanted to try one of their other resorts after three stays at the Sirenis resort in Mayan Riveria, Mexico. Friends were interested in visiting the Dominican Republic, so we chose this one.

The Good: We had a room that was one step up from the regular rooms, which was very nice. It had two large televisions, a separate sleeping area, an outdoor whirlpool tub, a great shower, and a lovely beach view. The resort isn't too big, so getting around is easy. The beach is beautiful with lots of lovely white sand. Most of the staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly those in the bar and restaurants. The pool is nice, with well-separated areas for deeper swimming, adult relaxing, and kids. There's lots of space to get a good bed by the pool for lounging. You can get something to eat pretty much any time of the day, and the a la carte restaurants were quite good. We also had nice massages from the great staff at the spa.

The Less Good: The quality of service was inconsistent; some members were very helpful, others were pretty happy to pass the buck or to tell us something would be done "soon." This was not a big deal in many cases -- we were on vacation and not looking to rush around -- but in a few it made things pretty inconvenient for us. With just one pool bar open (there was construction on the other) we missed not having chair service for drinks. I am vegetarian and cannot eat gluten, so my food options were pretty limited -- understandable, and a vegetarian who can eat gluten would have been fine, but it's good to know if your circumstances are similar. I wish I had thought ahead to learn a few key Spanish phrases about what I can and can't eat, but that is on me. The rooms were well cleaned, but it was sometimes done quite late in the day, even if we hadn't been in our rooms since 9am. And we actually wished the resort were a bit less remote -- the options for activities off the resort were limited because of this.

The Verdict: We would return to this resort, both because we are SPT members and because the beach is so lovely and the people were very friendly. We'd also like to see more of the surrounding area next time, including La Romana and some snorkelling. The service didn't match up to the bar set by the Sirenis resort in Mexico, though, and we heard a few other people make similar remarks. On the plus side, that's something that can be improved!

Room Tip: The room blocks go by letter -- those higher in the alphabet are closer to the beach. We were in T o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Had a great week in October at this resort. Staff were fantastic and the resort itself is beautiful. We had read reviews regarding musty rooms, bugs and bothersome sales people, but did not have problems with any of these things. We liked the fact that the resort was located an hour from the airport as it gave us a chance to see the countryside on the drive and it was a nice quiet beach area. We would definitely visit again!!

Room Tip: Higher floors are better!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Well, Sirenis is really a very nice place to stay at. After reading some reviews I had some concerns about the hotel (especially about the location and about the rooms) but now I can say that there is nothing to worry about. Only on the very first day we had one small issue because there were absolutely no towels in the room when we arrived and our suitcases had been exchanged with those of someone else. But everything got solved much smoother than expected and the staff needed only 10 minutes to fix it. The room was basic but all equipment was working.

The pool was huge and the beach was very nice as well. Especially when the sun is shining it looks really carribean. You can walk along the beach in both directions; if you turn to the right there are several nice places for taking pictures and as well there is a small souvenir shop with very friendly staff. The garden was well kept and full of palm trees and flowers.

As for the food - variety of meet, seafood, vegetables, desserts, ice creams - definitely you will not be hungry. If you want to make a reservation for the a la carte restaurant, the easiest way is to visit the guest service next to the reception in the lobby. The people sitting there are extremely friendly and helpful and it takes only few minutes. We went to the japeneese and italian one and both were great.

What I especially liked about Sirenis were the staff. All of them were so friendly and smiling, they asked us all the time if we want some more drink and the people at the front desk were even able to remember your name - unbeliavable!

OK, I am sure that there are some resorts which can offer more, but definitely not for the same money. So if you are just looking for a relaxing holiday with friendly people around you, then go to Sirenis!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames

Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#29 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#44 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#56 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames 3.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirenis Punta Cana Resort Casino & Aquagames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.