We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Holiday at Sirenis Cocotal Beach Dom Republic Oct 2011” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames

Save Saved
You added Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 101 Hotels in Punta Cana
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Our Holiday at Sirenis Cocotal Beach Dom Republic Oct 2011”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

We have just returned from a two week break at this complex, our first visit to Dom Republic.
Firstly i think the star rating should be a 3 star not as stated by our travel agent.
Hotel approx an hour from airport, so good transfer time. Hotel grounds and staff amazing, they could never do enough for you, even sang and danced for my friend on her birthday and i had a cake made, was fantastic, her face was a picture. Pool was fab, beach was fab, and each day we feed the fish in the sea, it was an amazing experience with them swimming all around you, they where so very pretty. Outback Mega Truck trip was amazing, the guides were so funny and had such knowledge of the area. you get to see so much and see just how they live, visit a local school (but not open on a saturday so you dont see the kids), but if your lucky they run along side the trucks in certain areas of the journey, take them some sweets and pencils, hairbands, they love it, their eyes will light up. You get to go horse riding at a ranch have a nice lunch, and a giggle (your see what i mean when you put those hats on for horse riding, we looked like dads army!!) ha ha
Shopping Trip, well not good value for money, you spend more time on the coach, and not enough time at a local market which was one of the stops, it had a nice beach and bar with a nice bottled beer, market was as you would expect, but locals where lovely, get ready to haggle it really is fun, we dont normally like it, but loved it... we didnt get chance to see it all, only had 40 mins there,could of spend half a day there easy, if only to part browse and spend rest of the time sitting in the local bar by the beach and taking in the moment.
Back to the hotel:
Rooms, standard not built for comfort, beds however were the best i have slept in to date whilst on holiday, electrics in our bathroom (hairdryer) was visible in our room and by the end of the 2 weeks fell out of the wall, bath looked dirty but it was'nt so dont be alarmed think its just the cleaning fluid they use which has taken the enamel off, cleaned most days. Also something very key, USE YOUR SAFE!! people we meet had their room broken into, and another couple it appears the week before, sadly they didnt have a safe, and they suffered greatly for that, you dont expect your room to be broken into, but yes we should keep our belongings safe, all their money of course was stolen, they learnt the hard way, such a lovely young couple, they had alot of support from the rest of us around them on holiday they needed it, please dont make that mistake, and dont leave your spare room key in your room they had that taken first!. Our experience was not so good with the following however, the food we found was not good at all, we really did struggle the whole of the 2 weeks, you can book other resturants so make the most of them, dont recommend the Mexican, we also see mice running around in the main reception area they go into the cracks of the walls which lead to the main eating area. Only 1 beer available, if you dont drink spirits your stuffed totally, they do have a wide selection of cocktails if you like them. Nice nescafe coffee behind the main bar in reception area, thats the only place we found you get a yummy coffee.
Entertainment, even though the local entertainment team done their best and a couple of them are so funny, it was just average most of the time, and we found we went just to break up the evening, rather than wanting to if honest, really not enough going on considering your not able to leave the complex its not ideal at all, more needed big time!!!
Time of year seems did not help, the hotel was not full so not everything was open we where told, it showed, of course this is not stated in the travel brochure for this time of year....
Locals come in at the weekends, lots of them, so it gets busy busy..
This is not the best hotel we have stayed in, for different reasons, and not a good experience we feel for first fully inclusive within a complex your restricted to. But, we did enjoy our holiday, it was relaxing, we made the best of what was available, and lets be fair its better than work!!! Make your own mind up, we all expect different things from a holiday. :0)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    719
    708
    346
    175
    120
See reviews for
560
763
33
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We have just returned from a week at this resort. Having spent £1,000 for the two of us we feel that we did get value for money. However to set peoples expectations at the correct level, the resort should be re-aligned to a 3 star (unless part of the timeshare scheme).

Positives - The staff could not do enough for you, the rooms were clean, the pools are a good size, the main walk ways look great, buffet good. The beach and sea areas are nice to relax with plenty of shade when needed.

Negatives - Our room was dated and the repairs that had been done looked really poor. You will be harassed at least 6 times per day for trip bookings, as the hotel allows an external company on site. The speciality restaurants were of an average standard (disappointing).

That's it, short summary - worth about £500-£550 each no more, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hessle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

This hotel is about an hour from Punta Cana airport. It isn't near anything much, but there is really no reason to leave the complex.

The rooms are very nice (our was a recently upgraded room, and the non-upgraded rooms are currently being renovated too). The minibar was kept stocked, the bathroom was spacious and the beds comfortable. The cleaning staff were very friendly, and clearly made an effort to put finishing touches to the room to make it as special as possible.

The food was certainly not a gastronomic marvel, and could disappoint any true foodies, but for the average couple or family staying, it was plentiful, varied and delicious. The buffet restaurant was great, and the à la carte restaurants were very good quality. The only downside to the food was that several of the restaurants, and one of the pool bars, was not open during our stay (October). This could just be because it was not a peak season.

We did not use the activities offered, so can't comment directly, but the selection seemed to be quite good - dancing, archery, various pool and beach sports, Spanish lessons etc. The Casino was reasonably spacious, and drinks there were included subject to your level of gambling. The theatre hosted nightly shows, which were varied and lively.

There were just a few negatives about our stay. The toilet flush in our room was broken, but after this was reported, it was fixed very quickly. Part of the poolside area was disturbed by building work, but had we not wished to stay in this area, there was plenty of space at the other side of the large pool to be away from it. The main hassle, however, was being pestered by people selling extra activities (such as sea sports which were not included in the price) as we relaxed around the pool, and local tradespeople selling art, jewellery etc in what was sometimes quite a pushy manner. It wasn't too difficult to get away from these people when we weren't interested, but it was still a bit annoying.

The restaurants and pool area and beach (which was spacious and clean) were never crowded during our stay. I would imagine that in the school holidays this could change, but during off-peak times, it was very quiet and a good place for adults with no school holiday restraints. All in all, a very enjoyable stay with no single lasting bad memories to taint the experience!

Room Tip: Rooms further toward the pool and beach are quieter, as the evening disco cannot be heard from these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sirenis Cocotal. We were quite nervous about going following bad reviews beforehand but this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The hotel is very beautiful and clean, the food was good and the entertainment was fantastic. The staff are extremley friendly and go out of their way to help you. I would definitly recommend this hotel to anybody and will be returning again next year!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed at the Sirenis Cocotal in February and in general had a pleasant holiday. Booked with Thomson as a last minute deal so overall it was a good value for money. Our room was situated behind the reception, above the main buffet restaurant so we were close to the ‘action’ but being on a top floor also far from the noise. The room was fine, most importantly large and clean although it smelt a little bit damp. There were two double beds joint together, TV, the fridge with a pot of water in it, big wardrobe and bathroom with mini bath, shower, toilet and hairdryer. The walls were very thin and we could hear our neighbours very well, unfortunately they were a family with two little kids crying a lot. Our balcony was overlooking the hotel grounds towards the main pool and the beach but we rarely used it due to it being covered with peacock droppings.

The pools were big enough, clean and very warm, we mainly used the one with a swim up bar. The bar staff was fantastic and they would remember your orders and wait with your drink while you swam up to them. The beach was beautiful but you would have to get up by 6am to reserve the palapa or perhaps even do it during the night. We were very annoyed as we saw people reserving their palapas after the evening show and they would also reserve them by the swimming pool so they would stay by the pool until the lunch and then would move to the beach after 2-3pm. There is definitely more palapas needed on the beach as the trees were not providing enough shade. Always on the beach by 8am and never saw a free palapa!

We had an issue with our cleaner in relation to one thing being stolen/taken from our room, there was no interest/help from reception at all and they sorted it out only after intervention of Thomson rep and us asking to be moved to a different hotel.
There are concierge points on the way to the beach and you can book your a la carte in there, although I would not recommend it at all. These guys are there to sell you the timeshare and they will hassle you for the time of your stay until you agree to have a tour around the hotel with them. We heard it could take up to 5 hours per tour so beware! You can book a la carte from reception as well.
Nevertheless the staff works very hard and will try to make your holiday enjoyable. They will work even harder when tipped though.

The food in main restaurants was edible although nothing special, and yes it was repeatable but everyone would find something. We tried Japanese restaurant and thought it was a good show but it was not proper a la carte, it was buffet for appetiser and the main course prepared by the chef in front of you. I personally didn’t like it and we left in the middle of our meal. Italian was very good though, the service was excellent as opposed to Japanese, the food was very tasty and if we only could, we would eat there every night. Steakhouse and Mexican are by the pools and cannot comment on food quality myself, but heard it was not the best.
We had our drinks in the main bar by reception and they were quite good, but had to watch out for mosquitoes.

There is a spa which we used once, with hot and cold water jacuzzi but nothing worth recommending.

We booked Saona Island trip with the local tour rep and it was much cheaper than Thomsons, his stand is opposite to the shop with souvenirs. We had a fantastic day, bus ride didn’t take long, at least it didn’t feel, catamaran was great and speedboat ride even better. We looked for starfishes but had a picture taken with the one brought by our guide. Everything was well organised and on time.

Overall we had a good holiday but would not return to Sirenis. There isn’t much to do and we would rather stay in a busier place in the future. However it is a good hotel and would recommend as a quiet beach location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

travlled here on 1st sept for 2 weeks with my partner. On arriving at Punta Cana airport we were through passport control within 15 mins or so and everything was quick and easy. For those who may not have been here before there is an entry fee of $10 (US) and $20 exit fee. Also would advise bring a pen with you, I didnt have one and we had forms to fill out on the plane and again on the coach. Transfer to hotel was apporx 1 hr and pretty uneventful. On arriving at the hotel we were greeted with a cold cocktail and checked in within 10 mins. We made our way to our room and bags arrived about 20 mins later.
We were in L block on the cocotal side of the hotel. The room was pretty standard (as we expected) but we had a lovely sea view which we hadnt requested or paid for, which was a really nice suprise. We noticed when we got there that the fridge wasnt working, we reported this to reception when we went for our evening meal and it was fixed by the time we returned to the room a few hours later.
Food & Drink
Both myself and my partner were really suprised with how nice the food was here. Always a big variety of food at all the meal times and the restaurants we tried (italian, japanese and steakhouse) where all delicious. The waiters are great and you never wait for a drink with your meal.
Lobby bar service was fantastic and we tipped a dollar or 2 a night and were never without a drink. There was a huge cocktail menu as well and they were all delicious! I would recommened trying a grasshopper, tastes like mint choc icecream!
Pool & Beach
The beach here is totally gorgeous. There is plenty of loungers and shades whatever time you head down there. The Cocotal side of the beach is busier and this is where the morning entertainemnt is located. We perfered this side as enjoyed the music and watching the entertainment, if you want total peace and quiet head over to the tropical side and there is pretty much no one there. I loved the beach here as there is always shade to be found due to the large amount of palm trees and a lovely breeze to keep you cool. I spent 1 day at the pool but wasnt really for me, dont get me wrong it was lovely and deep for swimming and again there was plenty of loungers, but the beach was just too nice to leave!
Entertainment!
The entertainment here was fantastic! Im not one who is usually that into watching 'holiday shows' but im so glad i gave it a try here, they were amazing! We watched Mama Mia, Grease, Dirty Dancing, Michael Jackson, Playback, International Dancing and Dominican Show and I loved them all. Also enjoyed a few games of 'bingo bongo' which is $5 a ticket and we won prizes twice the three times we played so good value for us! We played mini golf and beer drinking competition in the day time which were a good laugh, entertainers Snoopy, Blackberry, Ping Pong and James Bond work all day and night and are always smiling and good fun.
Overall
This hotel for me was fantastic and I was not ready to leave even after 2 weeks! I already plan to return here because I think we got amazing value for money and I enjoyed every minute of it. I would recommend this place to any of my friends and family and cant wait to return!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel is very good value for money. The rooms are spacious and cleaned daily. The facilites are what you would expect of this type of accommodation. I must pass an opinion on some of the previous reviews. Of course you get the odd bug, this is a tropical country and there are big bugs around (I get spiders at home ) this is not a reflection of a lack of hygiene in the hotel. Just do as I did and handle them as you would a spider back home. As for mosquitoes, well the same applies. It is a hot country and there are mosquitoes but with plug in repellants and plenty of bug spray we were not bitten (12 people in our party and we only got 4 bites). That is until we went to Saona Island and the beach. There we were all bitten to death but this is not mosquitoes it is sand flies or noseeums as the locals call them. Again no reflection on the hotel. The pool was very clean and we regularly saw staff cleaning it. All in all we had a great time, even when Hurricane Irene came over.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames

Address: Playas Uvero Alto | Macao Beach, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Punta Cana
#25 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#38 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#42 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#43 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#45 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#52 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Otel, Tingo, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino And Spa
Sirenis Cocotal Beach Hotel Punta Cana
Sirenis Resort Punta Cana
Sirenis Cocotal Punta Cana
Hotel Sirenis Cocotal Beach
Sirenis Cocotal Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sirenis Cocotal Beach Resort Casino & Aquagames, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.