We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Smoked Salmon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana

Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana
Bavaro | Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Passion By Martin Berasategui)
809 687-9923
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 161 Restaurants in Punta Cana
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Spanish, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Bronx, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Smoked Salmon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

There was this smoked salmon that I fell in love with and im not a fan of seafood. I do not remember the name sadly only that the chef uses some sort of yogurt dipped in liquid algae and with the rest of the ingredients makes for an explosion of flavors in the taste buds. I highly recommend!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    20
    8
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Atmosphere very romantic and Service was Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We ate there for our anniversary, it was very good! The service was impeccable and the atmosphere very relaxed, refined and romantic. Only wish there was a little more variety on their menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“OMG! Unbelievable food!!! It was a food orgasm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The service was wonderful! The staff was amazing! The food was absolutely incredible. I hope I am spelling the names correctly...Daniel Encarmacion, Felix Frias, Juan Encarmacion, Marilyn Villa, Charles Keusters, and Marielo Sauboy all went above and beyond to make this our favorite dinner on the trip!!! I encourage people to try the sampler dinner - a multi course meal! Each course was as delicious as the previous, the meats and seafood were prepared to perfection, the fwa gra was tender and had a smooth creamy taste, the tuna was wonderful, etc, etc.

They do not fill the restaurant with people and it was more than half empty when we were there, but it is so they can deliver exceptional service. All the people there did a wonderful job from the hostess, to the multiple waiters, the maitre'd, and the buspersons. This place is at the top of my list for dining experiences and can't wait to return next year! Make sure this is on the top of your list when staying at the Reserve/Paradisus/Punta Cana. Make your reservation early in your trip.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beware the SEVEN Michelin stars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our first hint that our meal was not going to be exceptional should have been the ad that claimed "seven Michelin stars", but since English is not the native language of the island perhaps this was a mistake.... even the best restaurants in the world can only claim to have three. The meal started with a salad or so they said. It was a gelatinous mess so odd in texture that one questioned whether perhaps a stray cat had given birth to it in the back or if in fact it was created by a chef. Next was the fois gras or in this case raw liver. No one ate this course and the untouched plates were returned to the kitchen without question. The scallop was editable, but next came the seared tuna. All plates came out at the same time and the color of the tuna was close to the morning sky just before sunrise, a dull grey with a coating of white gelatin on it. I believe this was the cat's dinner because it could not be something they planned to serving paying guests. All plates were returns and this time our waiter generously offered to replace the course with a dish off the main menu. The rest of the meal was uneventful as was the food. Fortunately, the staff was impeccably and always willing to assist us through this less than stellar meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“one word = delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

by far one of the best restaurants on the resort ( vento is also equally as delicious)

a must try for everyone. the meat was cooked perfectly, and the service...wow. you need to try it.

EXCEPT you have to pay for water, so make it worth your while and get a mixed drink instead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.