We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware the SEVEN Michelin stars” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana

Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana
Bavaro | Paradisus Punta Cana Resort, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Passion By Martin Berasategui)
809 687-9923
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 151 restaurants in Punta Cana
Price range: $25 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Spanish, Basque
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beware the SEVEN Michelin stars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Our first hint that our meal was not going to be exceptional should have been the ad that claimed "seven Michelin stars", but since English is not the native language of the island perhaps this was a mistake.... even the best restaurants in the world can only claim to have three. The meal started with a salad or so they said. It was a gelatinous mess so odd in texture that one questioned whether perhaps a stray cat had given birth to it in the back or if in fact it was created by a chef. Next was the fois gras or in this case raw liver. No one ate this course and the untouched plates were returned to the kitchen without question. The scallop was editable, but next came the seared tuna. All plates came out at the same time and the color of the tuna was close to the morning sky just before sunrise, a dull grey with a coating of white gelatin on it. I believe this was the cat's dinner because it could not be something they planned to serving paying guests. All plates were returns and this time our waiter generously offered to replace the course with a dish off the main menu. The rest of the meal was uneventful as was the food. Fortunately, the staff was impeccably and always willing to assist us through this less than stellar meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

96% Recommend
    120
    16
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“one word = delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

by far one of the best restaurants on the resort ( vento is also equally as delicious)

a must try for everyone. the meat was cooked perfectly, and the service...wow. you need to try it.

EXCEPT you have to pay for water, so make it worth your while and get a mixed drink instead.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I ate here and paid for dinner as it wasn't included in our list of restaurants. I must admit I was disappointed with the food. I did the tasting menu and was not impressed I ordered my steak well done and it was overly cooked. The charged me for bottle water and for the birthday cake that I already paid for through guest services. At first he didn't quite seem to get it and just told me I would have to pay for it, but later apologized and removed the charge after he contacted guest services which I was trying to explain to him the whole time. He never came to the table and wished the guest a happy birthday which I thought was odd because he took our order. Overall the waiters were helpful, courteous and nice but the food wasn't worth the money they charged. I could of ate at one of the other 11 restaurants and been just as happy and content. The Lapalapa is far better in my opinion then this place and it cost 1/2 the price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An amazing dining experience, do not miss , see photos !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

At the suggestion of the guest service manager of Paradisus Punta Cana we decided to dine at the Fuego restaurant located in the lobby area of the resort. We were greeted a the the door by the restaurant manager who thanked us for visiting the restaurant and we were quickly escorted to our table. The decor of the restaurant is hip and modern and one could easily see this restaurant being in New York City or a city in Europe.

We opted for the tasting menu. We were delighted with each new course and they were all presented on a different size and different shaped plate. Presentation of each course was artistic and beautiful and almost too nice to eat. Our waiter was first class all the way as wine and water glasses were filled and silverware was constantly changed for each course. Service was outstanding. Make sure to tip the wait staff.

The food was world class in presentation and taste. Each course blended different and unusual parings of ingredients to create new flavors to excite the senses.

Our tasting menu included a chilled pea soup with cod and lemon yogurt, a grilled pampano stuffed with lobster and asparagus, and was followed by a beef filet with gnocci in a parmesan cream sauce. Wow.

We ended with a dessert of tiramasu with amaretto essence . Each course with its blend of flavors was not only a delight but a memorable dining experience. We have been to Punta Cana 7 times and have traveled all over the Carribean and Fuego rates as the best dining experience we have had to date. Chef Martin Berasategui has created a wonderful dining experience you cannot miss.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

Best meal of the trip by far. Excellent service, food, and ambiance. The staff were so gracious and we even got a personal introduction to the chef. Order the Risotto app, it is remarkable. Lamb and steak were great. Prices are quite reasonable considering the quality of the food and service. If we ever return to the DR, we will be back. Muy Bueno!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passion By Martin Berasategui at Paradisus Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.