We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Don Lucas Cigars

Don Lucas Cigars
Avenida Barcelo - Edificio Mundo Autentico KM 4 1/2, Punta Cana 23000, Dominican Republic
1.809.466.1212
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 20 Shopping in Punta Cana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Can't say enough good about this place. They came and got us the same day we requested a reservation (due to one of our other excursions being cancelled). It's a cigar factory, rum tasting, and chocolate museum all in one experience. When you get there they give you a free cigar to smoke during the tour. We got to see them hand rolling their cigars and got to ask them any questions. Then we went to their huge walk in humidor - must have been the size of our hotel room. They had a large gift shop that was 1/2 the price of the resort's shops that we were staying at. ALL of the cigars they had in stock were genuine. No fakes here like the resorts.
Next was rum tasting - we sat down at the bar and tried probably 5 or 6 different types, all were made in the DR and all were great.
Last was the chocolate museum (wife's favorite) - They took us from the cacao tree and showed us step by step how chocolate is made, they even let us grind some cacao beans and participate.

This is a great time, it's a free tour so don't miss it. Everyone's super nice, most have a great command of the English language, and the gift shop is huge. I ended up buying some cigars, a bottle of rum, and the wife bought some chocolate.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    45
    4
    4
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Cigars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Punta Cana Mike took us on a tour of the cigar factory not to be missed. We even got a cigar to smoke later when we dined on the beach! Wow

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cigars, Rum and Steak! (a woman's perspective)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Carlos and his team showed us wonderful hospitality during our visit to Punta Cana. Don Lucas features two large humidors (one in the gift shop, the other in an outdoor lounge). For a relaxing night out, visit the outdoor lounge. This is a gorgeous, swanky thatched roof structure with a creative cocktail selection, heart-warming rums, cigars for the aficionado and smooth soul music piped throughout the joint. Treat yourself to a dinner of ribeye and pappas that will bring tears to your eyes (yes - the mashed potatoes are that delicious!). Be sure to make this a stop while you visit Punta Cana! We had a great time.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thank you, Trip Advisor, for sharing this hidden gem!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This is a complementary outing - complete with hotel pick up/drop off, tour of the Don Lucas cigar factory (with demonstrations & samples!), the rum factory (with samples!), and the chocolate factory (again, with samples!). Of course, we purchased some cigars, some rum, some jewelry (silver with stones called Larimer, specific to the DR), and some chocolate products (chocolate tea, cocoa skin lotion, chocolate jam, etc.) - all made either at the Don Lucas complex or in the DR - but you don't have to buy anything. It was a very interesting and enjoyable excursion.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss the chocolate museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Upon entering, we were asked if we would like to try a cigar. Nearby two men were making cigars by hand. We were offered very little information. Because I insisted, Ernesto Rivera took me to the humidor where they keep thousands of Don Lucas cigars and also the room where they store tobacco leaves in large sacks for months. He explained to me how the strenghth of a cigar depends on whether the leaves are taken from the top or bottom of the plant. He said that they can not let all of the tourists into the humidor. However, I have to believe that most people would have enjoyed a bit more information.

Now the huge cigar store (temp. and humidity controllded) on the second floor is a different story! They probably have every possible Dominican and Cuban brand for sale. There you are also invited to try several cigars.

BUT DON'T MISS THE CHOCO MUSEO next door. There they promote the fact that they will explain chocolate "from bean to bar!" And they do. You are not offered sales or samples until you have had a chance to learn about the plant and to taste unsweetened ground roasted chocolate beans. You can even make an appointment to return to make chocolate in their kitchen.

Transportation from the resort to Don Lucas was free.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Lucas Cigars also viewed

Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 
Punta Cana, La Altagracia Province
 

Been to Don Lucas Cigars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Don Lucas Cigars, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.