We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“false selling by travel agent” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Friusa, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 101 hotels in Punta Cana
Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“false selling by travel agent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Having booked hotel with Tropical Sky based largely on been told we would get a room upgrade I called hotel few days before arrival to check on this & re wifi .
On calling the hotel I was told no such request existed but they confirmed having wi fi ,chargeable locally.

I emailed Tropical Sky re but to date I am still awaiting a response & am now 2 mths back from holiday!
The false selling continued the hotel is not of 4 star standard, old & dated with paint peeling off walls . When it rains all areas flood so bad we actually left night early & almost had to swim out of the complex after waiting 35 minutes for concierge which didn't show.
Ques for dining constantly
No one asked /wanted to know why we were leaving early & to date Tropical Sky have never followed up with us either ??

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear LaraBIreland,
I’m sorry to that your experience at Occidental Grand Punta Cana was disappointing, and will follow up with you today via TripAdvisor as all guest feedback is truly important to us. We pride ourselves on providing guests with amazing vacations, offering high quality service, and we regret that this is not what you experienced.
I followed up with the manager of Travel Sky about your issues, and I assure you this will not occur again. In regards to special requests, we always do our best to accommodate them however it can be challenging due to high occupancy during this time of the year.
We are in the process of renovating our resort which will enhance the guest experience. The renovation includes a new decorative style and comfort to our rooms and restaurants, in addition to the Lobby Bar.
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you back in the near future, so that you can experience our refreshed property. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly. I will personally make sure that your next stay with us is most enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,580
    1,568
    869
    583
    508
See reviews for
1096
1760
134
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (754)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We visited in Feb 2012 (mid winter break) & had a fabulous experience then decided to re-visit in Nov (pre-winter break)
Our visit in Feb was awesome which was why we snapped up the opportunity to re-visit in Nov.
Yes, we all see the bad reviews but everyone is entitled to their own opinion based on their experience
PROS - 1st visit we got a bottle of Rum & Champagne - VERY NICE
Check-in was very efficient ALL check in staff were attentive & helpfull especially Lenni at the counter where you get your safe lock / key.
The buffet food was very good with lots of variety, fresh fruit, eggs, omlettes, french toast, pancakes bacon, fruit smoothies etc. Dinner also extremely good; different theme every night but other choices available for the "picky eaters" - Massimo was a *Star* at the carving station for "Chicharones" & also the pasta bar. Never went back to our room hungry!!
We mostly ate lunch by the beach area which was good but the service a little sporadic. There's always the Taco & Pizza places in the upper area by the entertainment stage & large pool area.

Service in the buffet was fabulous - Rosanna & Louis (*SUPERSTARS*) were so friendly & attentive & always had the time to chat with us. Our only "gripe" was that the front eating area was closed & that large parties were waiting to be seated & no-one could see the 2 of us, especially at the opening hour for all service. Maybe the front area could be opened for larger parties of 6 or more.
Franklin at the beach bar was ALWAYS entertaining & courteous (as we remembered!)
We were in building 24 - "Jamalky" (not sure if the spelling is right), I think he was new from our last trip but was absolutely GREAT- Whenever he saw us he would always make a point of asking us if we needed anything or if everything was O.K. if we did have any issues he took care of it right away (face cloths, large bath towels - although hard to come by at times)


CONS - 2nd visit - We mentioned that we were returning guests - Bottle of rum in room, No upgrade etc. Not a big deal but why mention that you are a returning guest?? - Personally we don't expect any extra treatment but having the same experience as a first timer would have been O.K. Everything else same as 1st visit.
We did get invited to a "Returning Guest" party at the beach with entertainment which was nice but we still had to go back to the buffet for dinner. There's still a lack of chairs / loungers around the "quiet pool" & "Transat area" on the beach

We have recommended the Occidental Grand to friends & we hope that they have the same 1st time experience that we had. Haven't see much in the form of replies from the management on this site
P.S. Just found out that 2 friends are visiting this Feb - I hope they have a great experience

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

i was hesitant to book because of some of the reviews i read...we have timeshare we traded to this property,It may be why our experience was not bad.Our room was a 1 bedroom beautiful clean 2 bathrooms.Hotel is on a warm ,sandy,clean open area.Food was not bad in the buffet.you need reservations for restaurants dont waste your time in the italian one,Great experience in the steak one,We kept going back.We had friendly service and made lots of friends..Manny was helpful with our internet and a bartender Fekix made us delicious domenican flag drinks!!Not a 5 star resort but your not paying for one either.

Room Tip: get a 1 or 2 bedroom ..I hear the hotel rooms are outdated and depending were you are it can be nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Occidental last year for 2 weeks. Although we loved the resort and all of the staff was amazing, we will not be going back this year. Last year we could only book our holidays at the time that they coinicided with the begining of March Break. Figuring that this was a well respected resort for the price that we paid, we expected to see families there during March break and we were ok with that knowing that it was not an Adults Only resort. Boy were we shocked. There was a group called Breakaway Tours fom Cananda that caters to High School students and apparently this is one of the many resorts that they book every year. Now a bunch of teens don't bother us, but these are teens that are there without proper chaperones, at an allincusive, drinking (many were only 15 and 16 and this was there first trip) and being obnoxious. They played lewd games on the beach...loud music and had no concern for anybody...if you left your lounger (even with your towel there) they would throw your towel on the ground, or event take them and your lounger. There were so many adults that had their vacation ruined by this group many of the people that we talked to were disgusted and said they wouldnot return..I feel sorry for anybody that is booked there this March break....just checked online and they are going to be there again.... Also the hotel was overbooked so we did not get to stay in the location we had paid for.
If they did not cater to this tour group (who by the way from what I have heard, paid less than we did) I would consider going again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Anyone eager to travel must visit this resort. Here, I was treated with great service, an awesome atmosphere, and an endless array of fun activities. Whether we were drinking by the pool side bar, or meeting fellow travelers, the end result was always fun.

Room Tip: Go with the Royal Club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the hotel is very friendly, including entertainment crew and bartenders, waiters/waitresses. Food and drink excellent. Rooms cleaned in a very timely manner. The nighttime shows were great (really great). And fun themed music and dance parties in the lobby afterward, a great place to meet other guests from around the world. Heavy Russian population. The resort is a reasonable size and nothing is too far. However, the beach can get crowded and it is hard to find beach lounges past 11 AM; it's isn't impossible though. Also, there are a lot of people trying to sell tourist trips everywhere you look (tours, snorkeling, parasailing, etc...) but where won't you find that? Overall it was the best resort I have been to.

There is child care available as well, but I don't have kids so I don't know much about activities for children.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lyon, Michigan
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Occidental Grand Jan 8-15, 2013 and had a fabulous experience. Like many others, we were slighly apprehensive of some of the reviews, but we have travelled extensively in Latin America, and were definitely going to keep an open mind. We tried to upgrade to Royal Club on the day we arrived, but it was not available until the next day. So we were put in building 12 and ate at the Mexican restaurant. While our room, was ok, it was certainly not very impressive and the service was mediocre at the restaurant. We were moved the next morning to a building in Royal Club ( beach view) and it was literally like we landed in a different world. The rooms were immaculate, the private restaurant is superb and the service was absolutely outstanding. Seriously, we could not believe the difference and the value is amazing! The private beach is beautiful and chairs always available, and the beach bar was awesome and so convenient. My husband and I felt like we were let in on a well kept secret. It is not that expensive at all to upgrade to Royal Club and it is absolutely worth every penny! We would return to this hotel because of the outstanding treatment we received in Royal Club. Definitely consider looking into Royal Club when booking your vacation here, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 21 face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Occidental Grand Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel
Occidental Flamenco
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Address: Calle Friusa, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#51 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#57 Business Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Punta Cana 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Occidental Grand Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.