We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel community experience between staff and guests.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Punta Cana to your Saves list
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Friusa, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #55 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel community experience between staff and guests.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff at the hotel is very friendly, including entertainment crew and bartenders, waiters/waitresses. Food and drink excellent. Rooms cleaned in a very timely manner. The nighttime shows were great (really great). And fun themed music and dance parties in the lobby afterward, a great place to meet other guests from around the world. Heavy Russian population. The resort is a reasonable size and nothing is too far. However, the beach can get crowded and it is hard to find beach lounges past 11 AM; it's isn't impossible though. Also, there are a lot of people trying to sell tourist trips everywhere you look (tours, snorkeling, parasailing, etc...) but where won't you find that? Overall it was the best resort I have been to.

There is child care available as well, but I don't have kids so I don't know much about activities for children.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,842
    1,739
    954
    621
    559
See reviews for
1,259
1,938
153
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Lyon, Michigan
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We stayed at the Occidental Grand Jan 8-15, 2013 and had a fabulous experience. Like many others, we were slighly apprehensive of some of the reviews, but we have travelled extensively in Latin America, and were definitely going to keep an open mind. We tried to upgrade to Royal Club on the day we arrived, but it was not available until the next day. So we were put in building 12 and ate at the Mexican restaurant. While our room, was ok, it was certainly not very impressive and the service was mediocre at the restaurant. We were moved the next morning to a building in Royal Club ( beach view) and it was literally like we landed in a different world. The rooms were immaculate, the private restaurant is superb and the service was absolutely outstanding. Seriously, we could not believe the difference and the value is amazing! The private beach is beautiful and chairs always available, and the beach bar was awesome and so convenient. My husband and I felt like we were let in on a well kept secret. It is not that expensive at all to upgrade to Royal Club and it is absolutely worth every penny! We would return to this hotel because of the outstanding treatment we received in Royal Club. Definitely consider looking into Royal Club when booking your vacation here, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Rooms in building 21 face the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Plains, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Vacation club employees are the best... the only bad part of this vacation are the sales people trying to upgrade the owners to another level of ownership. We are Platium Plus owners the sales group bug you to attend a meeting so they can try to sell you a higher level of ownership, I know its there job but when you tell them no they should leave you alone... OTHER THAN THAT ITS A GREAT PLACE

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

In this beautiful hotel, the staff is amazing with so much activities to do.
The resaurants a la carte, are a five stars
The night shows such a good entertainments
The mini bar close to the beach and its buffet, don't give you the opportunity
to miss a good taste of food, and his famous beer and rum.
and also go to dance at its discoteque few steps from the hotel
you will enjoy a beautiful vacations

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Since the cost of this hotel cost pennies compared to other places, I can't complain too much. However, next time I prefer to pay the extra cash and stay at a nicer resort.

Hotel: This is my 2nd time coming here, the 1st was in 2006. Well it looks like they havent updated one thing since. In fact, its much more rundown than I remember. Pro: The room is spacious, the shower has hot water and good pressure, air conditioning worked and theres a mini bar with soda and beer. Con: The toilet was constantly running. We had to leave the lid off and stick our hands in the top to fix the issue after every flush. The shower flooded into the bathroom everytime. The counter tops to the sink was old painted wood. Every dresser was broken. There was no ironing board. And a lock for the safe cost $25.

Pool: There were 4 pools, all very nice, however, there was never enough seats for people. Plenty of huts but not enough seats. We woke up at 7am everyday to lay towels at pool chairs just so we can get chairs- You HAD to do this, otherwise, you were putting your towel on the grass. This was very FRUSTRATING because it is an easy fix.

Food: The breakfast and dinner buffets were under average. I thought the lunch buffet was aweful at both places. The best restaurant was the mexican, it had a great appetizer bar and dinner entrees. The oriental and steakhouse were average. The italian restaurant was aweful, it was the same food they had at the lunch buffet that day. I recommend the seafood dinner. THEY DONT TELL YOU ABOUT THE SEAFOOD DINNER WHEN YOU ARRIVE. They had a promotion- if you stay over 5 nights, you get it for free. So I seeked it out and was able to make a reservation for it.

Service: Not many servers understood english. When I traveled in 2006, I felt like all the servers knew english. 75% of the servers were rude, and took their time getting your drink. When we checked in the room we noticed the minifridge wasnt stocked on beer. I asked the service maid for a few, she told me I could only have 1. That was strange to me. The front desk is friendly and helpful. I do have to say that the maintenance guys kept the grounds clean.

In my opinion, spend the extra money and go somewhere else. So many things were not pleasant that it isn't worth the aggrivation. It seems like they care about quantity over quality...

Room Tip: Building 24 is across from a private pool. The location was good but the rooms are old. Ask for a ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra Alcázar U, Social Media Coordinator at Occidental Grand Punta Cana, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Dani2414,

Thank you for taking the time and for choosing Occidental Grand Punta Cana for a second time. We’re sorry that your overall experience did not meet your standards, nor ours.

I would like to take this opportunity to announce you that we have started an in-depth renovation that includes updating the guestrooms providing them with new décor, style and comfort, also the restaurants and the lobby Bar.

As for the restaurants, I’ve discussed your feedback with our executive chef, as we’re always looking to improve the experience for our guests. Our food and beverage team strives to provide a variety of options, and all items are made fresh daily.
Regarding the beach chairs issue, please know that we have implemented a new policy that consists on release all the unoccupied chairs for more than 20 minutes so that all our guest enjoy our sunny weather and relax by the beach and pool.
We are sorry for the inconvenience we caused you by not refilling your mini bar which is refilled every other day. I have informed the head of department involved in order to avoid this from happening again.
I am surprised by your comments regarding our staff as we are known for the incredible customer service that we provide. This is important to us and I discussed your review with the team, so we can take measures to improve.
We do hope that you’ll give us a second chance to experience the improvements to our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Air Transat Jan. 3 - 10. We enjoyed our week here. The beach is beautiful and the waves are fun to play in. The rooms are a little tired but very clean, spacious and the beds are very comfortable. We had plenty of hot water. The staff was very friendly. The maids were friendly and helpful. I asked if I could have diet Pepsi, as well as, regular Pepsi in the mini bar and was promptly brought 4 bottles. She returned a couple days later with 6 bottles as she was having days off and was afraid her replacement might not get me any diet pop. Alexander at the Beach Bar Buffet and the steak house was an excellent waiter. Franklin at the Air Transat beach bar was the best bartender and used bottled pop in the drinks which made a huge difference. He would look up recipes when he hadn't heard of a drink before and made me very good paralyzers. He also walked around the beach when he wasn't busy passing out bottles of water and sweeping sand off the empty lounges. I noticed that the lobby bartenders would also use bottled Pepsi when asked specifically. We tried all the a la cartes and the food was very good, although the beef was tough one night. We had no trouble making reservations as some people indicated. You just need to ask the concierge to book for you. If they try to talk to you about a time-share you just have to say you are not interested. We were only asked once. The disco was being renovated when we were there and so it wasn't open. We found the food at the buffets fine and really enjoyed the omelets, crepes, and pasta bar. Your vacation is what you make it. Relax and enjoy it!

Room Tip: Corner rooms have more windows and a larger balcony. Building 24 was close to the quiet pool, the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

As always, there are differences in expectations amongst travellers. Our stay was quite comfortable,w ith only one toilet backup, blamed on son. Food was bland but plentiful. The access to the private beach section was great as we always managed to get a lounger. the liquor used for majority of drinks is cheaper, read 37.5 %, but First Club drinks were high quality. Would probably not go back as there are other resorts to explore. The letting of vendors on the property was a pain in the butt, but did buy stuff after talking down prices to less than half.

Room Tip: Upgrade to First Club or Royal Club. Private beach area, private restaurant and pool for Royal Clu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Address: Calle Friusa, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#47 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Punta Cana 3.5*
Number of rooms: 852
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Occidental Grand Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Occidental Flamenco Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.