We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Occidental” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Save Saved
You added Occidental Grand Punta Cana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Occidental Grand Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Calle Friusa, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Hammonton, New Jersey
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our stay at Occidental”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel was very nice. Nicely landscaped, very clean.
The "BEST SERVICE" we received was from a lovely lady by the name of "Laura" who was our room attendant. 5+5+5+5+5+5+5+5+...etc......... Building 10 Room: 10-229. What a very willing, honest worker she was..... the first day she came in, took care of the room and we gave her a small tip.Very thankful for it! The second day she made some towel animals with flowers, sitting on the tub edges....very beautiful. She took very good care of us during our entire stay!! She must be commended for her work. I also would like to mention a very helpful Vacation Club Represenative by the name of Jose' Mercado who helped me to communicate with Laura! Very nice gentleman! Exellent English too. Alot of people had a good time. Our only complaint would be that some European vacationers can be very Pushy and Rude! That seemed to be the time they vacation there. However, the Airport was the fastest we have seen in several islands!! Tarmac drop off....nice. Exellent vacation, would do it again, just time it differently!!

Room Tip: We had the building "Edificio 10" room 229 which was located to the left of the lobby. Ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,834
    1,733
    951
    620
    556
See reviews for
1254
1929
152
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (839)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We paid $787.00 all taxes included per person through Air Canada Vacations. This trip exceeded our expectations. If you're going to the Caribbean for an all-inclusive you do need to keep an open mind, we did and we had a great time. The grounds were very well maintained and kept very clean which was a feat considering in poured torrentially every night during our stay. This is a smaller resort and everything was a 5 minute walk or less away and we never got lost. We never bothered with the a la carte restaurants and just stuck with the buffet which got better and better as the trip went on. The buffet had a huge selection and different themes every night, you will not go hungry! The staff were friendly enough and the service we received was fine. For the most part we hung around the beach all day. The beach was very clean, much cleaner than I've experienced at other resorts. Finding a spot wasn't always easy but we never spent more than 10 minutes looking before we found some free chairs. We found the resort very quiet at all hours and it seemed to be an older crowd of mostly couples and a few families staying there.There was a puddle in our room when we first got in and water dripping from the ceiling. I threw a towel on it and it never happened again. Another day there were all these teeny tiny flies in one corner of our bathroom but they went away too. Just happens, was nothing to do with the cleanliness of the place. It was our first trip as a couple and we had a great time just relaxing and doing nothing but if you want to do excursions a lot was offer to us in the lobby and through our travel rep. The only downside was they really push time shares on you here. We got asked to go to a meeting several times and they don't seem to take no for an answer so we just ended up using side entrances into buildings to avoid be asked constantly. There were vendors on the beach but they never bothered us but on certain nights several vendors would be set up around the pool/lobby area and they were just relentless and pushy. There is also a little shopping plaza on the grounds where they are just as bad except for the convenient store which just has everything priced and they don't bother you. I personally don't like bartering and I ended buying next to nothing because the vendors were just so rude but I understand that's how they make their living and I bare them no ill will, just wasn't going to give them my money. I will defiantly come here again as long as the price stays around the same. Loved it!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We travelled out of North Bay Jan 2012. Upon arriving to the resort we were greeted with a welcome cocktail and friendly staff. We immediately had to request a ground floor room and close to everything as my boyfriend has a disability. They were most accomodating. The food was great, the pool bar (HENRY...our family ;-)) was the best ever. We miss him and talk about him all the time. Our room was kept clean all the time and fridge and coffee was re-stocked daily. Food was great, ala cartes we so/so. Our Daughters had a great time and met so many other children from all over the globe so it was a nice experience for them to meet people. Our only dismay was the lack of hot water and the daily solicitation of pictures, time share and the people walking around with exotic animals and reptiles. When you are deathly affraid of reptiles and have someone walk by or worse right up to you when you are relaxing it is most frightening. The pictures solicitation was the worse as they say no obligation but when we stated we were not prepared to spend over $400.00 the guy literally raised his voice saying he spent an hour with us and we needed to buy. I showed him our card and where it stated no obligation, and he persisted to try and sell by knocking prices down even though every day we were approached to go with him for pictures, I only wanted to buy 6 of the photos and he said NO! This was the worst part of our vacation. I do plan to go back as we really enjoyed ourselves, however, I will be quite forward when it comes to the solicitation.

Room Tip: Building 1 seems to be the best. I did not hear any complaints and it is close to everything but fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

The staff in this Hotel is Always very friendly.
We wanted to extend our vacation and the very Nice Lady from the reception Yohanna, made everything ready so fast so that we could extend our vacation Here and Feel comfortable for 5 more days!
All in all a Nice Place to Stay Where you can relax at This beautiful beach and enjoy your vacation.
We have Been Here 4 Times Now and we will come back for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

After reading many reviews on TripAdvisor, we really weren't sure what to expect here. We have only done one other all-inclusive before. We had a great time at Occidental!
Room:
Our room was in Edificio 11, and it was a nice room on the 3rd floor. We were on the back side of the building, so it was quiet and conveniently located. We had all the promised amenities and fresh towels each day. If we had any issues, housekeeping was quick to respond.
Service:
Marcos at the front desk was extremely helpful, and the guys at guest services were also very accommodating. Whenever we needed a restaurant reservation, information about excursions, they were ready to assist us. The servers were very nice. The sales people in the shops are a bit pushy, but they were worse in the shops outside the resort. Since this was our first time in Dominican Republic, we don't know if this is typical or not.
Drinks:
We recommend making sure you get your bottle of Ron Barcelo Anejo rum. It's delicious on the rocks. Once we ran out of that, we kept ordering Ron Barcelo Dorado on the rocks, Presidente, and the pina coladas. Very tasty and readily available. The wine in the restaurants are better than at the bar. The beach bars and the bar near the stage were our favorites.
Food:
Our favorite was the Mexican restaurant and the taco & pizza take out counters. Tinga tacos! Yum. The crepes at breakfast were delicious, and the lunch buffet down by the beach had a variety of foods to choose from. Things were occasionally salty for my taste in the restaurants, but they had lots of options. We never had dinner in the buffet, so I don't have any comments on that.
What did we like best?
THE BEACH. It's sooo beautiful. We went parasailing and horseback riding. Great fun :)
What did we like least?
We received a lot of sales pitches, but nothing we can't handle. If you politely refuse when you aren't interested you will get along just fine.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back side of the building will be quieter if you are closer to the lobby, but I think a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were at the Occidental Grand Punta Cana for 2 weeks. One week would have been enough. The grounds are beautiful & well maintained. However, the food wasn't very good. I ate lots of rice & beens, for lack of anything else that was good. There was a nice variety of salads & vegetables and sushi at the buffet once a week which was not bad. The Pizza place is very good, provided Santiago makes the pizza. He is the best. It rained quite a bit the second week, and water was leaking in the room from the ceiling. We awoke 2 nights with a wet bed from the rain. They did move us twice. We stayed in building 10, close to the lobby. Good location, if you don't mind the loud music to about 12:30 a.m. Mixed drinks are all very sweet. All juices are full of sugar- no natural juices. The bartenders are all very friendly & most of the waiters & waitresses are very nice. You have to get up early to reserve your chair athe the beach if you want to have a straw parasol providing shade.The entertainment team proved good shows, but are not very friendly to the tourists during the day. Will try another resort next time I go to Punta Cana.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

The hotel starts at the reception! The hotel welcomes you with the most friendly staff at the reception! Will always help! Jhoanna and other people are always smiling!
The atmosphere in the restaurant is very good! Waiters surround you with care! You will not be able to resist the abundance of dishes!
On the beach never get bored! Animation team arranges a variety of competitions!
In the evening on the stage in the theater great show! Live music! saxophone great!
If you want an unforgettable holiday in the Dominican Republic, visit this hotel!
All the people there are your family! For this reason I am going back again and again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Occidental Grand Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Grand Punta Cana

Address: Calle Friusa, Playa Bavaro, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic (Formerly Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana)
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#46 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Grand Punta Cana 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Odigeo so you can book your Occidental Grand Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Flamenco Punta Cana Hotel Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Punta Cana
Occidental Punta Cana
Flamenco Punta Cana
Grand Flamenco Occidental Punta Cana
Punta Cana Occidental Grand Flamenco
Occidental Flamenco Punta Cana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Occidental Grand Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.