We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good stay BUT some improvements need to be made..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa de Arena Gorda | Punta Cana, Punta Cana 74100, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #48 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overall good stay BUT some improvements need to be made..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Riu Palace Bavaro - May 14th-20th and overall we had a good time. Keep in mind, we're in our early 20's and are not too picky when on vacations! Walking in the hotel the first time was very nice, it is very newly done and very open which i liked. At check in, there was a little mix up because they put us in a room with 2 twins beds and we wanted just 1 king bed but that was resolved pretty quickly. We were greeted with 2 cocktails at the lobby upon check in! The hotel staff is very nice, just beware a lot of them hardly speak any english! I was mostly communicating in spanglish and with my hands. The rooms are amazing at this place! Liquor dispensers, mini fridge re stocked daily, water bottles and a jet stream bath tub! We stayed in room #2135 which was towards the back of the hotel and our view out of our balcony was the street where all the vendors sell stuff. We werent too bothered by our view because we hardly spent any time in our rooms! The food was decent, they had a buffet style restaurant and 4 other fancy reservation restaurants which were nice. The food quality could of been way better but you're in a all inclusive resort where all the food is mass produced so what do you expect? The alcohol was what bothered me the most here, it was SO weak. All bottom shelf liquor and they always served shots to you WARM, unless you specified you wanted cold shots... All of their mixed drinks were pretty much sugar. You needed like 100 to even get tipsy. They had only 1 kind of light beer which was Presidente (5.0 ABV) The actual resort itself was very nice and well maintained. We always saw employees constantly sweeping, mopping, etc.. They kept it clean. At night, the main lobby bar had a main stage by it where they did live shows every night, kind of corny but you're on vacation who cares! The main pool was very large, there was pool volleyball games going on everyday which kept it fun. Right next to it there was another small pool that had a swim up bar which was awesome! The beach itself was nice expect for the seaweed that was everywhere!!! The sand on the beach could have been way more maintained, and cleaner then it was. My girlfriend and I developed a bad case of stomach issues and diarrhea the last half of our stay, probably due to the poor quality of the food and meat. But overall, it was a good stay, we had fun and got very tan!

P.S Definitely look into doing an excursion (Saona Island Catamaran) Super fun! Cheers

Room Tip: Only way to get an ocean view room is to pay a lot of $$$$$$$ the majority of the rooms are garden v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    998
    597
    217
    87
    76
See reviews for
475
977
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (512)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Went to this resort with my family. Enjoyed my stay. food was great accept for the italian la cart it was not good must go to the steak house it was delicious.the rooms were spacious and were cleaned daily the beach was beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very beautiful place to stay , 1st time at an all inclusive comparing it to 4 cruises on NCL , food and entertainment were good but not as great as the cruises
Bavaro beach was excellent , always plenty of chairs
seldom were the vendors , not pushy at all
Staff was great , drinks plentiful and not watered-down
Overall great stay

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Just returned May 24, 11people on this trip and the only complaint we have is LIQUIOR it's all local,?? and it's not very good. Awful tasting stuff!! Now let me tell you about everything else GREAT-WONDERFUL, (rooms-food-grounds-staff) everything is clean. No problems at all, none of us became sick. Beautiful beach, palms everywhere, very pleasant place. So go enjoy yourself have fun--just bring your own alcohol.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for 11 nights from 17th April 2015 with a friend. We had a taxi transfer from the airport which was welcome after very busy airport. We had a junior suite which was very well equipped, plenty of wardrobe space and a huge bathroom and separate shower. The bath in in the bedroom with just a curtain to hide behind so not much privacy for two ladies sharing. The buffet restaurant was extremely good, plenty of choices and all freshly prepared. So good that we didn't bother with the a la carte ones. The swimming pool had plenty of shade if required although we found the sunless a bit hard. Sunbeds on the beach were more comfortable but there wasn't much shade there. All in all a good holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from entertainment area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Brilliant holiday overall! Hotel was immaculate, staff were very helpful and friendly. Rooms were lovely and pool was relaxing.
Nothing was a problem and they helped out so much on celebrating my partners birthday and I didn't even have to ask for much.

Room Tip: We stayed in the VIP area, so the room was faultless
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

If you looking for organized activities, loud music and cheesy evening entertainment, you will probably like it here. I was looking for a quiet relaxing week and the loud music almost all day has been driving me nuts.

Positives:
Service mostly nice
Food tasty and good variety
Beautiful beach, great for jogging too
Nice pool area

Negatives:
Loud
Very little shade on the beach - just from palm trees
Crapy wifi - dropping all the time
Housekeeping could use some improvement

Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro

Address: Playa de Arena Gorda | Punta Cana, Punta Cana 74100, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro 4*
Number of rooms: 610
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Amex, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Bavaro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.