We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real 5 stars ++ / Best $$$ value!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Punta Cana to your Saves list
Excellence Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
A TripAdvisor Member
“A real 5 stars ++ / Best $$$ value!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2004

We travel a lot in south and this is trully a high standard of quality resort!! You get a lot for what you invest.

Everything is EXCELLENTE!!! :)

Only comment : The SPA staff need training to be able to delivery a 5 stars service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,041
    2,066
    721
    346
    221
See reviews for
428
6,292
75
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2004

My fiancee and I went for a 4 day weekend and were extremely pleased. I had read the reviews (95% great, the rest bad) and felt I had to post my experience online. It was wonderful. The only thing that I would change is that we upgraded our room and by the time we got back to it at night we were to tired to care that it was bigger than the rest.
This was our first all-inclusive vacation and I had heard and read stories about the quality of food and drink. I judged the food to be about an 8 on a scale from 1 to 10. Figuring that they feed hundreds of people a day it was better than I expected. As far as the drinks, we never really waited long and if we wanted top shelf liqour it was there for the asking. Breakfast was great and the restuarants that we went to were fine. We ate at the French, The Seafood restuarant by the pool and at the Italian restuarant. We did prefer the French restuarant. We rarely ate lunch because we were full from breakfast.
The grounds were immaculate and again I must add as others have, the people were wonderful. I have to believe that if someone had problems with the staff it must have been the fault of the guest. Smiles were everywhere and always helping. I spoke to a couple from England who said that he had been 4 other places in the Dominican Republic and this was "by far the best". As for tipping, give them a few bucks here and there. It won't kill you and if you road on the bus in you know what life is like for the indigenous people.
All around I would say go with confidence and enjoy. Relax, drink and soak up the beautiful beach.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2004

My husband and I spent our honeymoon (July 12-19) at Secrets Excellence, and cannot say one negative thing about the resort. We had such an amazing time that we cannot stop reminiscing!

First of all, the staff is so accommodating and friendly. Despite the fact that the staff is paid very little for the amount of work they perfom, they respond to every request with a smile and "It's a pleasure". The shows were fun to watch, the karaoke was terrific, and the daily activities (volleyball, beach olympics, beach BBQ) were loads of fun! The staff members are all so awesome! (We loved Julio, Wilkins, Oscar, & Denise!) They helped make our honeymoon so much fun!

Every square inch of the resort is beautiful. We were on the second floor in building 14 (the farthest from the lobby) overlooking the beach. Our room was perfect and very quiet. We enjoyed the 3-minute walk to the restaurants/lobby every day and especially loved the privacy of our room. The room was always so clean, and the housekeepers did little things (lined up our shoes, organized my makeup) every day that made our trip extra-special. Every night we would come back to our room to turned-down sheets, chocolates, and our TV set to a channel playing soft music. There was never any need to straighten up or organize anything, as the staff gladly did it all.

The drinks are great and FREE... what else can I say? Tropical drinks in coconuts, wine, beer, shots, mixed drinks... they do it all.

The food is good. We loved Quisqueya's lobster bisque and my husband loved the sirloin at the steakhouse. Our honeymoon dinner at the Mexican restaurant under the stars was so romantic and memorable. All the restaurants have a lovely, romantic atmosphere. There is a lot of candlelight and soft music.... very romantic. Breakfast and lunch were always good as the selection is broad.

We chose not to take any excursions or do anything extra. We just wanted to relax and spend time together. We never got bored and actually met a lot of people who we hung out with during the week ("VOLLEYBALL!!"). Lying by the pool, playing in the ocean, and holding each other in the giant "beds" by the huge, gorgeous pool made our honeymoon so memorable and romantic. We don't regret not doing any extra excursions.

My husband did get sick halfway through the honeymoon. He felt a little crappy for about a day and a half but was still able to play volleyball and relax by the pool. It was no big deal. All I can say is, thank goodness for Pepto!

Secrets is absolutely beautiful. We can't complain about anything and wish we could go back right now. We will definitely return someday. We highly recommend Secrets to everyone. Feel free to email me if you want! Have fun!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2004

Well, first of I want to say that this vacation was absolutely flawless! My wife and I got married on May 22, 2004 and the next morning headed out of Tampa, FL to Punta Cana, DR. I researched just about every Caribbean resort on Expedia, HotWire, VacationsToGo, and any other resort site I could find for about 5 months. I would find one I liked and then read reviews from Trip Advisor. I was completely anal about this trip being that is was my honeymoon and I wanted my wife to have the absolute best for what we could afford. I fell in love from the start with Secrets, and even though you find a few reviews that are thumbs down about it, you read them and find that it was more of the reveiwers bad attitude than it was the resort. Please do not listen to those people when it comes to Secrets Punta Cana, everything was as perfect as it could be, it was a dream vacation and if you go with a good fun attitude nothing can stop you from enjoying every moment. Ok, now about the resort. Absolutely gorgeous landscaping, all kinds of wild birds walking around, seven awesome restuarants, two giant pools, 24 hour room service, outstanding service with a smile, what more could you want? First off, I want to say before you go on this trip, get a passport, it saves you the hassle that some couples come across when traveling and it just makes it more relaxing knowing you will be fine. Second, if it is your honeymoon and you really want the extra honeymoon perks for your room, call the resort the day before and make sure they will have it set up for you when you arrive. We didnt do that until we arrived that morning and they promptly came and set everything up later that afternoon. We were so excited about being in such a tropical paradise and how amazing the resort was that it wasnt a big deal to have that extra perk. Besides, a majority of the couples at the resort are on their honeymoon also, so its not like you are getting extra special treatment, though it was still a nice addition. The weather throughout the week could not have been better, it was blue skies and sunny the entire time and the constant slight breeze felt great. The beach is the Atlantic Ocean so it wasnt calm, but we loved playing in the waves, bodysurfing, boogieboarding, and kayaking were a blast. If you desire calmer waters you could go to the right of the beach past the watersports shop and around the corner, there are some reefs which block the waves and make the water warm and calm like bathwater. While we were there our families were freaking out apparantly because there was severe weather and flooding which killed over 1200 people near the border of Haiti, while that was a sad event, we did not see any of that weather since it was so far away. We would recommend going on some of the tours, make sure you book them early in the trip though, the one we chose was the Splash speedboat/snorkling tour which takes an hour bumpy but fun bus ride to calmer waters where you jump into two person speedboats for about 30 min to an amazing snorkling spot where there was an incredible amount and variety of tropical fish. Awesome way to spend what we thought wasnt a lot of money ($120). When we first got there we were just getting used to moving around the resort and the next morning we didnt know where to go for breakfast. We ordered room service the first morning but eventually found out that the Italian restaurant turns itself into the largest breakfast buffet I have ever seen. It was awesome. We only went to 4 of the restaurants because my wife is not a fan of seafood or Oriental, and we just werent able to make it to the Dominican one. Every single one was amazing, if you are planning on dining later in the evening, make sure you put your name in with the hostess because as the sun setted some of the restaurants would have up to an hour wait, which we didnt really fret about since you can blow an hour just walking around the grounds as the sun sets, very romantic. The nightly shows were a lot of fun, the band and recreation crew are a blast and get people involved. We were very impressed at the quality of entertainment. They had a casino at the resort but it seemed small (but professional) and we didnt really have any desire to go check it out in the first place. They have numerous bars around the resort that you always had drinks and snacks nearby. We enjoyed the Coco Locos and Strawberry daquiris, we arent really drinkers but it was fun and there didnt seem to be much alcohol in them anyway. I liked being able to run up and grab an icecream cone and then sit back down on the beach under a plam cabana. Extremely relaxing. But if you didnt want to relax, during the day the recreation crew was always getting people to participate in games usually giving away Dominican Rum ("viagra" as they called it) as a prize. Beach volleyball, water polo, water aerobics, water sports, fun little games, there was always something to do, if you wanted. The rooms were impecable, the floors of the whole resort looked like they were made of marble and travertine. We had a mountain view room, one of the cheaper ones (the best I could afford but hey, I got to use the same resort as the people who woke up to the oceanview, besides the mountains were gorgeous). The jacuzzi was very nice, king size poster bed was a treat. We ordered room service almost every day (even at 2 in the morning one night) and usually only took about 30 to 40 min. Even though it is all-inclusive we enjoyed tipping because we wanted to show how much we appreciated them and because they do not have the luxuries that we take for granted. We tipped the maid each day, at every meal, and the room service people, they all were so enjoyable and answered every time "Its a pleasure." Yes, it was interesting sometimes trying to cross the language barrier, but if you realized you were in paradise and all you had to deal with was being a little more friendly to communicate with them, then thats not gonna stop me from having a wonderful time. They were more than willing to help you no matter what. The vendors that came about every other night were nice and friendly but they also would try to "get" you on prices, so barter with them, we got some great stuff for good prices, dont be extremely cheap because they live lives in awe of our lifestyles so be kind, if I had the money I would pay them the prices they asked. I think I have covered about everything I could think of, it was an awesome honeymoon and I would recommend it to anyone, my wife and I hope to return someday. My last thought is that if you have the extra money, go to the photographers booth and have them take your pictures all over the resort. The photographers are awesome and the pictures were amazing, we went at the earliest slot available in the day so that there wouldnt be many people out on the beach yet. It was $120 well spent (36 pictures and the negatives) and we will have something to remember for the rest of our lives. Thanks for reading my review, if you have any questions let me know, I will be more than happy to answer them.

Barry Miller
bmiller@gtoinc.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2004

My fiancé' and I loved our vacation (July 19-July 23)! The hotel was amazing and well kept. The couples we met made the trip even more enjoyable!

We had three grips for the entire trip:

1) The food left something to be desired. I am not a picky eater, but by about the third day, I wanted something simple (like a grilled cheese sandwich!) My fiancé' is a picky eater and a couple of days just ate fruit and salad and had no stomach issues! I had stomach problems by our third day but took some Imodium and was fine the rest of the trip. It didn't spoil the vacation at all.

2) The bus ride to the hotel was very daunting (This had nothing to do with Secrets.) We booked through AA Vacations and had a transfer to the hotel provided by Prieto Tours. The bumpy roads weren't the problem, but after our two flights (no straight flights from Baltimore to Punta Cana) we were ready to get to the hotel!! We were the first couple on our bus and waited about an hour for other flights/couples to arrive!!!!! On the ride to the hotel, we made stops at Breezes and RIU. We also stopped for Beer. No problem with us, but after waiting at least thirty minutes for people to shop at the beer joint for souvenirs, we were getting a little disturbed! After this I couldn’t convince my fiancé' to take the bus back. We took the helicopter to the airport and loved it!

3) The Sanoa Island excursion, was long (7:45am to 7pm) and not what we expected. The beach we went to was advertised to us as being secluded! The beach was actually like any crowded beach found in the US!!!! For $160 a couple, we expected more. The couples we met on this excursion definitely made up for it. They were awesome and made a terrible excursion great!

Overall, the trip and Secrets was excellent! We would definitely go again!

Tip: Don’t read the negative reviews! You will love Secrets!

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2004

First the place is beautiful,but I got sick even though I did not eat any uncooked food or drink or brush teeth with other than bottled water. and it was hard to communacte with the staf in english.
Worst of all !! if you do not have a birth certificate
from state or pasport you will not be aloud on the plane to leave from home!!!!!It happened to my wife and at least 5 other people "your orignal birth
certificate will not work!" I had to go without her and she came the next day on another flight at a cost of 600.oo more out of our pocket!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2004

For anyone reading these reviews as a way to gauge whether or not you'll visit Punta Cana ... and Secrets Excellence in particular, pay attention to the fact that almost all of the recent reviews have noted "Excellent Ratings".

I read the review from ashsnycgirl@nyc.rr.com and was blown away by the description of her trip. I too was at the resort for my honeymoon at the same time and didn't experience any of the things noted.

If you're looking for a place to have fun, relax and feel pampered, you need look no further. If you're someone that will take the time after your honeymoon to write down the teeny, tiny details of what you felt went "wrong" then I'd suggest you skip the honeymoon all together.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Excellence Group LLC, Amex, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.