We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time! Needs a few tweaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Punta Cana to your Saves list
Excellence Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great time! Needs a few tweaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My wife and I just got back. We've been to a few all-inclusive's and this one is (dollar for dollar) the best. We stayed in building six which was the perfect location. Rooms are nice, and the lobby area (as well as the grounds) are also beautiful. The nightly entertainment was awesome! A few things they need to address: only one choice (and it's draft) beer at the swim up bar. Why not have cans and more options. Next, the staff are either really nice (hats off to the mgr Roberto and the front desk/welcome area, or, like the rest kinda just there. The breakfast place Toscana is awesome, so are the lunch places, but the dinner food was hit or miss. My wife got violent food poisoning from the "beach party" dinner. Another guest also got sick after eating the pad tai at "Spice". My final small issue is that there are no tunes jamming anywhere during the day by the pools. They need to jam some Caribbean music! Overall we loved it here and for $425/night I don't know a better all inclusive.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,041
    2,066
    721
    346
    221
See reviews for
428
6,292
75
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,295)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The Excellence Resort at Punta Cana was one of the most beautiful, best kept, best designed resort I've been in. The food in each restrauant was wonderful. There was a large variety of drinks available. All of the hotel staff were so friendly, helpful, knowlegdeable and pleasant. They provided entertainment every night that was excellent.
There was always plenty of beaches towels available and the hand towels in the public rest rooms were warm. Oh my what a treat!
The rooms were gorgeous with a huge jetted tub in the middle and separate private shower. There was a balcony or patio for each room. The refrigerator was always stocked and plenty of in-room snacks. Can't wait to go back again and again.

Room Tip: Our room was next to the entertainment auditorium. I was suggest something a little farther away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just got back from Excellence Punta Cana. Although it was our first time to visit the place, I am sure its first of many times to follow. While the service is almost perfect, a few of the staff are very stingy with their smile and they for sure do not belong to that lovely Paraiso, Excellence Resort.

The food in all the restaurants we went to were delicious and the service excellent. The waiters and chefs are superb and just to name a few of these assets to the resort, you have Roberto the omelette king at Toscana; Adan of the Lobster House; Christian of the Spice and Roberto of the Oregano. I hate to forget Salomon at the Grill.

Your staff at the beach are also friendly and very accommodating like , Roberto at Las Olas; JoeHenry, Wilkins, Hector just to name a few. Please make your Saxophone Guy a regular act at the Bar near the theatre. If you could make the set up of chairs similar to a nightclub dancefloor, this will entice mature guests to dance with the soft music specially at night while the younger groups can dance with the modern music at Plaza Sto. Domingo.

My wife and I love cruising. On a cruise ship all the needs of various generations are met by compartmentalizing the ship. At excellence you have everything: beautiful seaside space, good food and most of all excellent staff. With the great imagination of your creative department the sky is the limit where you would want Excellence to go.

We will be back next year to visit Paradise, the Excellence Resort at Punta Cana. It's our pleasure to describe your wonderful organization. Thanks for the memories.

CINCINNATTI

Room Tip: Get rooms backing the sea and far from the pool and busy areas of the resort just to enjoy your priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Was at Excellence Punta Cana about 11 days ago for about a week. Although this is not my official review, I did want to let people know what a welcoming, hospitable, friendly and helpful staff they have working day in and out. From the housekeeping staff, mini bar stockers, bartenders and every host, hostess and waitperson in every restaurant, all were so gracious, (and since being from NY I will add - that was even before any tip was left!). The front desk and concierges were always helpful, and accomodated any request within their power. Special shout outs to Pauline at the front desk, Juan and the "welcome home committee", and bartenders Jhon, Felix, Roberto, and Jose. Also to my friend Leiby, whose smile was like the sunshine! I have singled out some, but EVERYONE made our trip wonderful.

Room Tip: If you love peaceful and quiet, stay in either of the far ends of the hotel- if you want to be where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This was our third visit to this resort and we had another enjoyable week. Using a scooter for mobility, I appreciate the fact that this resort is so accessible – and in areas where it isn’t, they make efforts to assist me to feel included. Once again we found the customer service at this resort to live up to the “Excellence” name.

This year I was very pleased to find the two accessible washrooms in the lobby area were both available to be used (unlike other years when they were under construction and/or being used for storage). They have made a ramp into the “courtyard” in front of the restaurants Oregano, Agave, and Chez Isabelle. This is very helpful for getting to the pizza restaurant (Oregano), yet there is still a step to get into the Agave/Chez Isabelle building. Hopefully, they will listen to my request to ramp this area as well. There is also a new ramp area to help provide a second accessible entrance to the Grill restaurant. This was such a nice surprise!

I have (once again) made a request to have ramps into the shops and the spa at the front of the resort. At this point there is still a step to get into each of these buildings, making them inaccessible.

This year I noticed that there were a couple of guests using wheelchairs. I have inquired with the resort and have discovered that they have wheelchairs at the resort to borrow in the event that their guests have this need. I was very pleased to hear this!

There were two other new developments that we appreciated this year. One was the addition of a new restaurant at the resort – Tapas – what a fun experience with delicious food! The only downfall about visiting this resort in the past had been the very long, bumpy bus ride from the airport. We were SO happy to discover that the highway has finally been completed (as of Dec. 2013) and now the bus ride is a smooth, 30 minute trip! It definitely makes this beautiful resort an even more desirable destination now!

Room Tip: If you use a mobility device, I would suggest requesting a ground floor room so that you aren't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Just returned from Excellence Punta Cana yesterday. Overall we had a great time. Many more positives than negatives, and I don't really understand some of the negative reviews. We had a group of 3 couples and this was our second All inclusive vacation. The first was to Iberostar Grand at Riviera Maya in Mexico 2 years ago.

The service - outstanding. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay comfortable and were very responsive. A couple of examples - the maid had apparently put our TV remote in a spot that we were not able to locate. I called the front desk and someone appeared at our door in less than 4 minutes. very responsive. The staff at the restaurants went out of their way to make sure you were happy with your meal. I ordered soup at one restaurant and did not like it. Without hesitation, the waiter offered to several other options when he noticed I was not eating it.

The rooms - Great layout in the Master Suite where we stayed. We were on the first floor which had a large deck and faced the pool. The furniture was a bit old, but that really didn't bother us. We were not there to spend a lot of time on the sofa. The beds are hard. We have Tempurpedic at home, but slept very well...so at first a turn off but didn't really matter at the end.

The beach - great location, great set up and fairly regular service. Again, great staff that went out of their way. The pool - we spent the majority of the day at the beach then moved to the main pool. Sometimes had to scavenge but always found chairs.

The Entertainment - ok, so it's a hokey set of resort shows but there are some highlights. The Taino show had a break dancing section that was very impressive. It's the only one that we made it through to the end. A new show each night, with the same cast of very talented people that worked hard to entertain. But again, hokey resort shows that maybe those older in the crowd (we are mid 40s) really liked.

The Food - variety in terms of quality and selection.

Breakfast was generally good - Toscana buffet had good omelets and fruit and a lot of other items. Breakfast at the Grill was very good, though a limited menu.

Lunch - we mostly got food from Las Olnas outside. Good burgers and pizza, great fish skewers - basic but good quality.

Dinner - talk to people and you will hear things across the spectrum. Tastes differ a lot, but here is my restaurant review.

Toscana - Not great. one of 6 liked their entree. Dessert was a big disappointment. Note to the staff - Flan is not Cheesecake.

The Grill - GREAT empanada appetizer. Steak here and all places was a bit tough, not the highest quality, but other than that a good meal.

Spice - our waiter greeted us and told us he was going to bring us appetizers. By that he meant all of them and they were all very good. Entrees were pretty good - sweet and sour pork was good, pad thai undercooked, beef was OK. Dessert - fried ice cream VERY GOOD.

Agave - best meal top to bottom. Enchiladas, fajitas, tostadas and other entrees very tasty and well prepared. Equal to a good quality mexican place in the US. Not all that authentic, but most Americans would not recognize authentic mexican food. One word of caution - the salsa may have made everyone a bit uncomfortable the next day, but nothing serious.

Chez whatever french place - appetizers not good. Tuna and Snapper (spelled Snaper) were good quality and flavor. We ordered 4 of the 5 desserts. 3 were excellent, especially the fondue with fruit and the frozen strawberries (really a mousse).

The most important thing to me - after we checked out the concierge came to our group and asked what they could do better. She wrote down every word and was sincere, to the point of following up immediately to find out what had happened with the fitness center schedule which was not in synch.

A few minor things that make this very good, but not excellent:
1 - The beds could have been better
2 - Too many guys on the beach trying to sell you horseback riding or other water sports that are not included. They were a little to sales driven and a bit annoying, to the point that you had to tell them to go away.
3 - Not really a complaint, but something to know. The English capabilities of many waiters and staff is not what you see in some other places - sometimes it was an issue. But we are in their country, not ours and best to realize that you may have to try to piece together some Spanish to help things along
4 - Wine selection that was included in the price was weak.

All in all, I absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dennis, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We spent 11 glorious nights at EPC in January. It was our second trip and we are already counting down the days till we return. We want to especially thank Reynaldo for making our return "home" so special. We asked for a room on the third floor of Bldg 1, overlooking the Cascade Pool and close to the elevator. He surprised us with the same room we had last year, a bottle of champagne and fresh fruit! That is really customer service and much appreciated. Reynaldo takes time to be sure everything is perfect, and does it all with pride and pleasure.

The restaurants are all awesome and the "no reservation" policy is the best. Who wants to think about a dinner reservation at 8AM! Special shout out to Robert and Hector for taking such good care of us on the beach, always bringing us the drink of the day and making sure we always had cold bottled water! Kassandra is top notch. She always has a smile, is energetic, and puts in more hours than anyone I know!

The special beach dinners take so much work to set up they are well done and show the true pride of the Dominican people. The shows are great and there are always games and activities going on if you want to participate but the best thing is....no one bothers you if you just want to relax.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Excellence Group LLC, Amex, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.