We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Honeymoon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Punta Cana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Punta Cana to your Saves list
Excellence Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save Up to 30%
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Punta Cana
Revere, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome Honeymoon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We went here for our honeymoon, stayed for 10 days, and let me say we are already planning our trip back. We honestly had a great time! The hotel is clean , our room was spacious, and the staff is very helpful. We enjoyed having a variety of restaurants available and there was no wait time. I loved that it was a true couples resort, there are plenty of things to do everyday and there is a gym, tennis courts, a small casino and night club. There is also a little street, filled with different stores. We ended up going on the "Reef Explorer" excursion, it was great(if you like going at your own pace and don't mind just getting a tan). We ended up grading to the "Excellence Club' and for a couple of dollars more it was totally worth the splurge and it's the way to go. It offers access to a clubhouse with ipads and different snacks during the day. Well worth it. I could go on and on. I can't wait for us to go back!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the Excellence Club, we stayed on the ground floor in section 8. Perfect access to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,231
    2,128
    742
    354
    228
See reviews for
453
6,515
78
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,400)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had such a wonderful time at this resort! The staff was very friendly, welcoming, accommodating, fun and helped make our trip enjoyable. Sandy was an excellent server-he always had a big smile and greeting for us. Kassandra and Chely were also excellent. We enjoyed bike rides, water aerobics, dancing, volleyball and socializing with them. Fransisco was the best bar tender and made us delicious drinks. Franklin was an amazing dive master and took me on my first dive. I knew he cared for me and wanted me to have a great experience-he was so friendly and made our diving experience unforgettable! The entertainment each night was fun. We loved the outdoor themed dinners. The entire resort was beautiful, clean, and we loved the beach and pools. Our room was nice and always cleaned in a timely manner and well stocked. We were on the ground level with a garden view. We would return in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Excellence Punta Cana for two weeks, 12 - 26 July having visited the Excellence Cancun Riviera the previous year. The Cancun hotel was superior, but you would expect that from a top hotel in Mexico. An example would be the Martini Bar which was air conditioned in the Cancun site but not the one in Punta Cana.
The food was very good, the best T Bone steaks I have ever had were in the grill house. We thought the atmosphere in the Barcelona and the Lobster house a little lacking. Having said that, there are plenty of choices, no booking necessary, food good, as was the service. Good wine too, especially the Chilean chardonnay. Breakfast and lunch in the Toscana very good.
The beach was stunning in its appearance, clean and well kept. The currents in the sea were extremely strong and you had to be a swimmer of olympian standards to brave the waves. Having said that, lifeguards with their whistles we always keeping an eye on the conditions and would tell you to leave the water if they thought it appropriate to do so. There was a pleasant breeze all day long.
The staff helpful and our thanks go to Doniel in the Cafe Cafe (his dexterity with a machette secures that kind comment!) for such good humour and service. Special thanks go to Brenda who made us feel so welcome when we visited the Grill House. She is an asset to the hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a master suite, block 5. Spacious. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I went two days after our wedding for our honeymoon. I have to admit that I wasn't very excited. Because it is a couples resort, I assumed there wouldn't be much to do besides lay on the beach, stuff myself, and have long conversations of our enduring love. I couldn't have been more wrong. Every day there is a page long list of activities ranging from spanish lessons (a little spanish in the dominican goes a long way) to tennis tournaments they place on your door knob the night before. I recommend the half hour morning bike ride with Mr. Chelly to see the digging bees. There is a decent gym, four tennis courts, two full length basketball courts. There is an outdoor sports bar with foosball, air hockey, pool, ping pong, darts, 3 tvs with 90 channels (half english speaking), a full bar with sandwiches and gelato. There are games in the pool going on all the time. There are kayaks, boogie boards, scuba rentals, etc. by the ocean. Also, every night there is an event for everyone at the main stage (The circus was amazing). In addition to all this outside companies offer excursions where you can go on a party boat, deep sea fishing, etc. I recommend the dune buggie trip with chino the haitian tour guide offered by the horse ranch, talk to diego in the orange shirt, he'll hook you up. I could go on forever about all the things you can fill your time with, but there's the 200 char. max.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor (3rd) to get high ceilings and a little more seclusion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Excellence for a week on our honeymoon and really enjoyed our stay. I had read reviews prior to going on the trip and seen a lot that said the hotel was "old" and I completely disagree. The outside looks like I would think a hotel in the Dominican Republic would look... and the rooms were gorgeous! We had an ocean front room with a king size bed and loved it! We spent most of our time at the pool rather than the beach, but the waitresses come around all during the day and ask if you want anything from the bar, which is really nice! Altegracia was an amazing lady who waited on us all week :) One thing I would say is that if you are looking for crystal clear blue water that is flat, you aren't going to get that here. The water reminded me of the NC beaches, where I am from. They were nice, but not the flat water some people might be expecting. The food was good, but not great; however, at an all inclusive resort, I wasn't expecting the food to be 5 star quality. There was fun entertainment every night at the hotel and I felt like the staff enjoyed their jobs and were happy to be at work everyday, which definitely makes for a more enjoyable stay! One more thing-- it is about an hour drive from the airport so it is a pretty long drive! We arranged our transportation through the hotel and paid a total $140 and I thought it was worth it! We got our own car and so we didn't have to stop to drop people off at the other 8 hotels you pass on your way to the Excellence!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My husband and I spent our anniversary at the Excellence-6 glorious days in August! The staff here was the best we have ever met. Everyone is friendly, happy, fun-and they cannot do enough to make your stay amazing. The entire facility, including the beach, is beautiful and clean. Staff is always at work to keep this place tip-top. Food was good and the shows nightly were good. Very quiet in the rooms (we had a 3rd floor garden view with a balcony) and it was as if we were the only ones there. Weather was beautiful-one brief rainy period out of 6 days (except for a couple showers over night). Daily beach activities (no pressure to join), such as water balloon contest, raw egg contest, bocce, horseback riding, boogie boarding-all included of course. Waiters are there before you even finish your drink...Tip them please-they work so hard!
We cannot wait to return!

Room Tip: 3rd floor garden view gives you a breathtaking scenery and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from 2 days at EPC. We went to Excellence Riviera Cancun last year so was a bit concerned that this would not live up to expectations but it did.

The airport, I have to say was a nightmare. 4 planes arrived close together and there were 4 officers at immigration. It took an hour with no air-con and by the time we got through our bags were stood at the side of the carousel! Possibly we got unlucky in the queue we picked. Going out was easier.

The transfer was not as bad as it is sometimes made out. On the way back we used part of the new highway which is smoother and quicker.

Check in was smooth. We had got a good deal on Excellence Club when we booked and enjoyed the use of the club and the beach. Not sure I would pay a lot extra. The room was second floor and fine. Block 10 was nice and quiet. The room was cleaned early and very well.

The hotel is remote and if you want to do excursions it means a longish trip. We chose not to as we had gone to chill and relax but plenty did. The excursion sellers will find you on the first day but didn't hassle you. If you walk along the beach past the end of the resort you will also get approached to go to the shops but again a "no" will do.

Food was fine, we found it was a bit more locally influenced than in Mexico but we liked that. It was definitely not the terrible food that some reviewers have claimed. I saw people complaining about the smallest things eg no capers at breakfast and no coconut icecream at lunch (even though there were 6 other flavours to choose from!). I think some people want exactly home from home so should stay at home!

We enjoyed using the Excellence Bar before dinner and must give a special mention to Melvyn the bartender. After 2 nights he knew our drinks order and we enjoyed finding out about his life and country. We found all the staff lovely and helpful. We did tip although not all the time and it made no difference to service. We also enjoyed the Espresso Martinis at the Martini Bar and had a very late night there after meeting two lovely Canadians. There are very few English people at the resort and the staff spotted our accents easily usually with a "cheers mate" or "Lubbly jubbly"

There were loads of loungers and plenty of shade and it was nice not to have to grab a lounger at 7am like at some places! The beach had a good breeze so we preferred there.

Overall a great time. When we first arrived we thought that we would decide the Mexican resort was going to be our preferred one but now we think this one has the edge for us but only just.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Allow us to thank you for taking the time to write this review in which you share your experience at Excellence Punta Cana with all Trip Advisor Readers.

We are glad to know that every time you have stayed with us, you have been able to enjoy of many unique and memorable experiences due to the courteous attention of our staff, comfort room accommodation & amenities, and enjoyable food in our restaurants.

We all look forward to welcome you on your third visit, and to provide you with another memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Excellence Group LLC, Expedia, Otel, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.