We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Excellence Punta Cana to your Saves list
Excellence Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 15% Off room rate
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was my first trip to the Dominican an will always be remembered as great one
When we first got out room it was the middle level with views of a wall and quite a dirty room we instantly rang to change room to which they moved us on to the top level to a cleaner and what looked like a newly furnished room with a beautiful view once we sorted the room we where very happy an then enjoyed what the hotel had to other. The food was some of the best food I've ever eaten and by fair the best from any all inclusive hotel I had stayed at before the seafood was Devine and the fish and chips at lunch was the best I've ever had.
The best was lovely but the sea was very rough every day but this was the only negative on the holiday that couldn't be resolved. The location of the hotel was also a bit annoying having to travel on average a minimum of an hour an a half to get to any excursion but this was also a bonus. On the last three nights we upgraded room to what u believe was called a rooftop terrace which was awesome having our own private pool on the roof and having amazing views of the beach on one side and mountains on the other this is one hotel I'd defiantly go back to and would highly recommend a few nights in the upgraded room if you can afford I think it was $600 dollars per night but chat to the reception you never no what deal you could get it worked for us.

Room Tip: Try and get a top floor room fur to the angled roof it makes the room feel massive compared to other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review, and for recommending us with all Trip Advisor readers.
We are delighted to read that you had an excellent vacation with us. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to the quality of food & drinks encountered and our hotel accommodations.
At Excellence Punta Cana we strive to make every stay, as close to perfection as possible and we will continue working hard in this direction.
We all look forward to serve you soon and provide you with another amazing experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,439
    1,809
    643
    330
    202
See reviews for
359
5,568
68
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,878)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ploiesti, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The road from the aeroport to the hotel took almost one hour, but the resort was beautiful. I was on Excellence club, where you have a private lounge, and a private beach. The food from the lounge was very good and the service was great. They have enough restaurants, where the food is a la carte in the evening. The resort have and a botanical garden and beautiful birds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent 7 days there for our 5 year anniversary. We were excellence club members and stayed in a garden view on 3rd floor. The vaulted ceilings of 3rd floor were great. We wouldn't spend the money on excellence club again. The food at the Toscana lunch buffet was way better and more to choose from compared to the EC lounge. The food, in general, was not great. We enjoyed Oreganos, Spice and Chez Izabelle. The room service menu was NOT good. At least what I ordered. I wanted ice cream for room service and I was told no because it wasn't on the menu! That's not nice :(
Overall we were very pleased with the pools, spa, beach area and layout. We traveled with another couple and the husband was sick the entire time! He didn't eat a single thing on the resort besides bagged chips for sale from the gift shop. My husband and I had our "systems" out of whack (like running to the bathroom 4-7 times a day) the entire time and didn't get back to normal until we returned home.
Overall, we WANTED to have the best time of our lives and really tried, but it just didn't happen. We will return back to the Caribbean, but not the Dominican Republic or any Excellence resorts.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review, your feedback is very important for us and it is my regret that we were not able to meet your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on the food and the drinks. At Excellence Punta Cana our staff is trained on food safety practices and It is our goal to maintain the highest standards for all our guests and we always make sure that the food and the drinks are served according to the highest standards of hygiene.
We do apologize if we failed to provide the quality service that Excellence Resorts is highly known for. We would be grateful to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to provide you an Excellence experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The resort and rooms were very beautiful. Good and service was great. No reservations needed which was nice! Chez isabelle was my fav! Only complaints were the beds were not comfortable at all and the beach side shops to left of resort were extremely pushy. Don't buy from the guy in the last hut. He'll rip you off. Be prepared for a long day at the airport too. Took us over three hours in customs. Overall a great trip to excellence though!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Had a beautiful trip. My husband and I went there July 13, 2013. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We upgraded to the Excellence Club. Can't quite decide if it was worth the money. Think we'd have just as good of a time without the upgrade, although the private beach, pool and lounge was very nice! The resort was beautiful, our suite was gorgeous and very clean. The staff is nothing short of amazing! Antonio made our beach experience beautiful! The food was amazingly great!! My husband is a very "meat and potatoes" kind of guy, so I was nervous if he was going to like the food. He loved it! Their chefs are amazing. I'd return to any Excellence Resort. My only issue (reason why it didn't get 5 stars) was the Excellence Club Concierge. They forgot my flowers (my husband ordered them special for me). And when we tried to book our horseback riding (came free with the upgrade), they didn't have the day/time we wanted. So, the concierge fell a bit short of our expectations. But overall, Excellence was a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Recommend the Junior Swim Up Suite. Building 11001 (if you upgrade to Club)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing Excellence Punta Cana to celebrate such special occasion as your 25th wedding anniversary. It is a pleasure to know that we had the opportunity to host such memorable experience. Moreover, thank you for letting us know how memorable and special was your stay, due to the quality of food & drinks encountered and the courteous attention of our staff. We do apologize for the flowers incident and if we failed to provide the quality service that Excellence Resorts is highly known for. We would be grateful to have the opportunity to welcome you back again to provide you an even better Excellence experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We did enjoy the resort, but we were disappointed in the food. We met a few other people that had been there before and said the food use to be much better. Not sure if because it was off season the didn't try as hard or what but the grill and the lobster house were big disappointments.
We also did the dune buggy tour which is pretty much just a tour to get you to more vendors who try to get you to buy stuff.

Room Tip: The rooms are clean but very old
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excellence_Group, Community Manager at Excellence Punta Cana, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you very much for taking your time to share with all of us this review, your feedback is very important for us and it is our regret that we couldn’t exceed your expectations since one of our main objectives is the satisfaction of our guests with the quality on the food and the drinks.
We also can assure you that every constructive criticism you’ve shared with us has been taken very seriously by our team in order to keep standards, expected by our guests on the highest level, ensuring your satisfaction.
Thank you once again for taking time to give us your opinion. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and provide you the memorable and relaxing experience you deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Some restaurants were better than others. We really liked Spice (Pan-Asian) and Lobster House (lobster and seafood). The Italian restaurant (Toscana) was rather poor. But the service at Excellence was exceptional. When the new highway from Punta Cana Airport is complete, travel in the Punta Cana area will be greatly improved.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#9 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com and Tingo so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.