We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in an excellent location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Excellence Punta Cana to your Saves list
Excellence Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% Off room rate
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Punta Cana
Glastonbury
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellence in an excellent location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

In my opinion, people only write a review if they are very pleased or very disappointed with a hotel.

On arrival we were greeted with a glass of champagne, which was most welcome after a 11 hour trip from the UK.

Our first impression on arrival was wow and when we were shown to our room 12203 it was wow again. I had done my homework before booking the hotel and followed tips on Trip advisor to ask for a top floor room. I emailed the hotel in advance and requested this and a sea view, unfortunately we did not get the sea view but we were not disappointed.

If you have never ridden a horse, you must do the free half hour ride along the beach. The horses are very tame and it is amazing riding in and out of the sea, although wear log trousers, as I was wearing shorts and badly bruised my ankle as the stirrup was rubbing.

Beware of the shop on the left as you look out to sea. If you walk along the beach to the left they pester you to go in and have a look and the more mature gentleman inside the shop gets really nasty if you do not buy anything.

The staff at the hotel aim to please, so if you have a problem it is best to inform reception as they will sort it straight away.

We enjoyed drinking a glass of wine in the evening on our balcony before dinner so we asked if we could have a full size bottle of white wine on several occasions and this was brought to our room in an ice bucket.

I was worried after reading numerous reviews that the food was not very good. We thought the choice of food for breakfast and lunch was excellent but we were very disappointed with the menus in the evening restaurants and we felt that there should be two menus over a two week period. If you like a particular restaurant and you are staying for more than a week you need more choice on the menu. We loved Spice and out of a 11 night stay we ate at this Restaurant 8 times. The only Restaurants we used were Spice, French and Oregano.

I must mention the B-B-Q spare ribs at the beach grill at lunchtime, Excellent!

My only compliant about this hotel is that you need to reserve a bed before 7am if you want to sit by the pool. I would suggest that the management introduce a rule of no reserving sunbeds before 9am unless they are being used. All towels and belongings should be removed if beds not being used. We witnessed 3 mature guests saving 3 sunbeds which they reserved with items of clothing and they did not use the beds all day. We presume they must have decided to sit on the beach and keep their options open. This was very annoying when you could see people looking for beds. Please Excellence take this on board!

We did not do the Excellence Club and one thing we did notice that the reserved area on the beach the beds were very close together so you are better off using other areas of the beach with more room.

Also we watched the Michael Jackson show and were very disappointed when the parade of flags came on stage there was not a Union Jack, nor is there a Union Jack flying at the entrance. It is a 11 hour flight from the UK and this would be a nice touch as I noticed other hotels were actually flying our flag!

The hotel is in a lovely location, the staff are wonderful, it would be great to hear that the food had improved and then yes I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

Thank you Excellence for a wonderful relaxing holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room and if your mattress is too hard ask for a top mattress, the beds are reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,488
    1,834
    656
    333
    203
See reviews for
363
5,634
69
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,922)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

One word to describe the experience provided by the staff of the Excellence: AWESOME!! Our friends decided on a Destination Vow Renewal and chose the Excellence Punta Cana. If you are a hopeless romantic, this is the ultimate romantic getaway. From the time we arrived at the resort until the time we departed, the staff treated us like royalty. Rooms are spacious, alcohol is free, beaches are clean, and spa treatment is beyond reproach! I guarantee you will enjoy the experience...Don't forget to Dance the night away with Tito and Juan Carlos!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The excellence Punta Cana was one of the best all-inclusive resorts we have ever stayed at. Our whole family, eight people in all, including my 87 year old mother, really enjoyed our stay here in December 2012. The food, the shows, the grounds, everything was just super, including the personal attention we got from Robert, the manager. We will definitely go back again!

Room Tip: Our family was all over and there was not a bad room in the place. All rooms are centrally located t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

OK, so I have read some whining about this resort on Trip Advisor. My advice - IGNORE IT! We are not there for a culinary experience (if that is what you want, go visit Chef Ramsay, or NYC, LA, Europe, etc and pay $$$ for the food). The food was good, plentiful, and huge variety to suit all tastes. We had more pillows on our bed than we knew what to do with (and no, I am not talking about the decorative pillows). Our king bed was very comfortable, and we stayed in an Excellence Club Ocean View Suite (i.e. only one step up from the entry level junior suite). The service and staff were EXCELLENT, the resort was a cut above. Also, what could be better than enjoying a nightcap of Remy Martin under the stars?
Finally, why bother to complain about the condition of the ocean and the waves?? After all, folks, the resort IS situated on the Atlantic and does not advertise "calm seas" or otherwise. If you want tranquil water with no waves, go to a different ocean, or your backyard pool.
In a nutshell, I totally recommend this resort, we had an amazing honeymoon, the staff were top notch, and we would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: We stayed in Block 10 - excellent access to the pool, VIP lounge, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matawan,New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed Punta Cana and santed to try something different. Exccellent was a great choice.We flew out of Newark on a Monday. Alittle long but a good movie was on, so we
didn't mind. Avoid Prieo Toura at all costs Bus trip from airport to hoel was too lon/45 minutes to an hourm and driver was not at all personable.We cgecked into our garden view room which was aie conditioned and spacious, Be sure to play water volleyball. Most fun we ever had.

Room Tip: ask for a poolside suite as opposed to garden view.Junior suites with an ocean view would be aweso...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed at Excellence Punta Cana for 13 days in February. We travel during this time of year every year and have stayed at many of the Sandals resorts. This resort by far exceeds most of the Sandals resorts with the exception of Sandals Whitehouse there best resort. We visited this resort when it was Secrets 6 years ago and I was hesitant to return due to the food did not meet our expectations. My travel agent had advised me that the resort was now an Excellence Resort and to give it a try. Very glad I did. It was a whole different experience since the first time we had stayed. The beaches are big which is what attracted us to Punta Cana. There are twice as many restaurants and one is better than the other. Didn't try The Grill restaurant since it was mostly beef choices. The islands do not get the best cuts of beef and it's usually not a good experience. The rooms are very nice and the staff is equally as nice always willing to help out and say "it's a pleasure". We even caught the nightlyl entertainment. Good shows with a good variety. Don't waste the extra dollars for the excellence club same great service without it. Who needs free internet your there to unplug and relax. I would return to this resort in a heartbeat. I would recommend this to anyone seeking a vacation in an all adult all inclusive.

Room Tip: Garden Rooms are great how much time are you in your room save the money and stay for a few extra da...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband booked this trip for my birthday in February. We enjoyed every moment, even when the resort lost power for about 30 minutes. Horseback riding on the beach, water aerobics daily, nightly shows and the casino were all perfect. My only negative comment is that citronella candles were not put out for the Dominican Beach Party and Off was not offered before my first mosquito bite. The food was great in every restaurant that we visited. We met lots of wonderful vacationers who also loved this resort. Would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Try to get a pool or beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Excellence Group LLC, Hotels.com, Amex, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.