We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most welcoming people ever.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Excellence Punta Cana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Excellence Punta Cana to your Saves list
Excellence Punta Cana
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 25% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Punta Cana
Sudbury, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most welcoming people ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This was our first visit to Excellence, Punta Cana but it will not be our last. The bus ride from the airport was about an hour. The roads are a little rough but we were distracted by the surroundings and did not dwell on it. We stayed in room 7110 which was a spacious, well appointed, exceptionally clean room. The housekeeping staff maintained this level of cleanliness throughout our stay and were truly wonderful. If I had one suggestion, it would be that softer mattreses would be great. But that is a very personal preference so difficult for the hotels to cater to all preferences.

The hotel grounds and gardens are superbly clean, well manicured and picture perfect. The beauty of this resort is breath-taking. Each time we walked the grounds, there was something new and beautiful to admire. The pool is immaculate and the beach is definitely one of the nicest that I have enjoyed. We ate at most a la carte restaurants and were very pleased with all of them. We have no complaints about the variety, quality or portion size of the food. The breakfast buffet had everything you could imagine!

What truly makes this place exceptional is the staff. Every person we encountered was friendly, helpful, pleasant and truly made you feel like they were happy to help you, without being "mechanical" about it. The people at this resort work so hard, and yet are always smiling, singing, joyful. They earn every dollar and every tip they make, plus! The resort goes over and above with activities, fiestas, beach parties, etc. to keep you entertained but also to make you feel like you are their special guests. Canadian service industries could learn a lot about hospitality from the staff at this resort.

Wifi works very well across the whole resort, from the rooms, to the pool and even in some areas of the beach.

We will absolutely return and would highly recommend to anyone looking for excellent service, beautiful surroundings, and true relaxation.

Room Tip: We loved the 7000 building. Very central to all amenities but still in a quiet zone in the later ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,043
    2,066
    721
    346
    221
See reviews for
428
6,293
75
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was really impressed with the maintenance of the hotel. The grounds are beautiful, everything was clean and cared for. The staff is very friendly, they remember who you are, always say hello and want to help however they can. Beach is beautiful, although kind of rough. Pools, bars, spa, sports complex are all great. The only downside was the food, which was average & not always exactly as it was listed on the menu. For example a chicken quesadilla was actually a chicken burrito. The best restaurants were the Asian, French & Pizza places. But the best food we had all week was on Dominican Night. Was great get-away. Relaxing and fun and perfect weather. Great for couples.

Room Tip: Swim-up suite are really spacious, had a giant jacuzzi tub inside. Hammock, table & chairs and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The service, atmosphere, staff and food was above standard. We were greeted with a glass of champagne and a cold towel. Check In was very smooth. We arrived before our rooms were ready. We enjoyed the resort for the afternoon. Our luggage was delivered to our rooms. The rooms were very luxurious. A large whirlpool tub, large sink and a shower/ toilet room. The patio was small, but we didn't spend much time in our room anyway. The main pool was like a wandering river. It included a swim up bar. Several rooms were located at the pool's edge. There was a pool for the Excellence Club and another pool called the Cascade pool. The beach was the best we have ever seen. The sand was not as white as in other parts of Punta Cana, but it was soft and deep. It was kept very clean. The waves were very strong. The water was very warm. The staff was very attentive. Omar on the beach is a super waiter. They helped with chairs, towels and made sure you always had a drink and even pizza was delivered to your chair. No towel cards here. You can have as many as you want and leave them on your chair when finished with them. Also, no bracelets. At restaurants, you are asked for your room number. The dress code is not strictly enforced. As long as you are dressed nicely, there is no problem getting into any restaurant. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The bars are very nice. The live entertainment at various places makes a great atmosphere. The public washrooms use face cloths for towels - no paper towels here! They are also very clean. No need for travel mugs. The plastic pool and beach glasses are exactly like their glass equivalent. Slippers, robes and face cloths as well as large bath towels are in the rooms. The mini bar is not mini. It includes full size bottles of premium liquor and wine. The food and service is exceptional in the restaurants. Well prepared and presented. The only negative is that there is not much for salad at the beach grill. It is a great place to grab a burger, nachos or a pizza. With a dry bathing suit and cover-up, you can go to The Grill restaurant for more options. No need to up-grade the the Excellence Club. I couldn't imagine being treated any better. This place was a cruise without the ship!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool or ocean have the nicest view, but all seem very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My husband and I have returned to this fab resort during January for the past three years. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, many remember your names which is unbelievable considering they have many repeat guests. Roberto, Head of Public Relations is a star and delivers beyond expectations, Although the sea is quite rough the advantage for us is the breeze you get on the Atlantic coast. I am informed some tour operators are pulling out from this resort, well all I can say is your loss. We are well travelled and this resort, although large still has the intimate feel and is real value for money. You won't be disappointed whatever type of room you book.

Room Tip: Garden, cascade pool or sea view are all lovely. Book to your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week long trip to Excellence, Punta Cana. We have done many trips to the Caribbean and Mexico, but this was our first to the Dominican Republic and the "Excellence" resort brand.

Overall, it is a great resort from service, options, beach and value perspectives. The hour long drive to get there (and back to the airport) is real. And, the roads are not very good. My wife was feeling car sick on the return to the airport.

There are many things to point out as positives. They include: food and restaurant choices (french, lobster house, grill, Mediterranean were EXCELLENT) , the beach, the remote location (you can walk the beach for a long way), nightly shows and entertainment, cleanliness, overall pleasantness of the staff (with some minor language issues, these folks were really great). Horseback riding was a lot of fun. We also opted to pay more for an Excellence Club room and access to the Excellence Club Lounge. We thought the lounge was a good option. There were always good snacks and drinks available and a concierge to help with any scheduling of activities, etc.

Now, some of the less than positive things... and, several are "nit-picks", but things you don't expect at top-notch resorts. First and foremost, we had a serious room problem on our fifth night. After the nightly show, we came back to the room, but found the bathroom and part of our bedroom area flooded. It seems the room above us had a drain or overflow problem and it flooded out five or so rooms underneath it, including ours. I immediately called for help and ask for the night manager. They got a cleaning team up very fast and they worked hard as there was still leaking coming through the roof. My personal travel case was ruined as were my medications and personal items. The manager explained that there was no other room available for us that night as the resort was full. They worked for an hour or so, but we ended up sleeping on a moved bed, with many towels on the floors and counters and dripping for most of the night. They next day, the cleanup was completed and the bed put back. Management also gave us a fresh flower bouquet and rose pedals on the bed. They also credited one of our spa treatments at checkout and gave us an "upgrade" certificate to be used in the next two years.

I would also comment on a few others.... The "buffet" restaurant was average (The "menu" and "theme" restaurants were VERY good). The beach hamburger and pizza hut was not very good and the folks manning it did not seem very friendly or organized. The rooms on the north side of the resort are the older ones and although there were good, they are showing some age. The ocean view room we had was really not. We had overgrown shrubs in front and all of the rooms toward the ocean look out over the pool area and/or a tree line before the beach (it may be better from a top floor). The resort does have top-shelf liquor. I had heard from another guest to make sure to "ask" for it by name, otherwise, you would be getting lower quality liquor/brands. I found that "tipping" our beach and pool server in the morning $10 and again in the evening guaranteed frequent and great service.

My wife and I agreed that if we wanted to be at a smaller more intimate place, we would opt for the Zoetry Brand resorts. But, that the Excellence really offered much of the same with greater choices (restaurants, shows, etc.).

Overall, a very good place. We may try the newer locations next to see if the facilities/rooms are better. Or, a location / resort closer to the airport.

Room Tip: Newer rooms on south side of resort (but not close to Excellence Club if you opt for that). If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

First of all I'd like to say I read a ton of these reviews before we Visited. We stayed Feb 19-24 2013. I was unsure how Excellent it would be but the bottom-line is I think some people have unrealistic expectations.

The Resort- The People that work here are so welcoming and friendly. I think out of the hundreds of employees we might have found one grumpy waiter poolside the whole visit. When you first arrive you are greeted with champagne and cool towel to refresh as you wait to be checked in. Then we where brought to the excellence club to be checked in for our stay. Abraham the bell-hop gave us a brief tour on the way and explained how things worked. He was just one of the many people who remembered us during the stay and went out of his was to greet us and make sure we where enjoying our time. The resort itself was beautiful maintained from the gardens, pools, ponds and beaches.

The Room- We where in Building 11 room 11003. This is a Ocean view Swim up Suite. To be honest the palapas and palm trees you really get a glimpse of the ocean but to hear it day/night and to be less than a 100 foot walk was well worth it. The room was clean and had really nice layout. Well the one exception to the layout is the window into the bathroom from the room which is ok when you partner is in the shower but not so much when they need to use the bathroom. We had a fully stocked mini bar and 5 top shelf bottles of liquor in the room. Any thing you want changed out would be done with a simple phone call. They cleaned the rooms daily and performed a nightly turndown service. Plus we had a nice patio that you could sit and listen to the ocean with a hammock as well. Really just perfect.

The Pool- We just had to walk down our private walkway( just a few steps). To one of the nicest pools we have ever been in. This pool stretches the length of the resort almost and never seems to be crowded. As far as finding a place to lay in the sun or shade if you prefer we learned after the first day you must get up early(7am-9am) and claim the spot you like. When the resort is busy as it was this week. There are many bars and waiters working the pool area and we only had one incident when i had to get up and get my own drinks because a large crowd was monopolizing the wait staff. The coco loco was tasty and they will make just about anything you desire.

The Beach- What a perfectly maintained stretch of beach this is. They clean it daily and if you walk in either direction off the property you will see why. The ocean is rough here. This is the North Atlantic. If you are looking for a calm Ocean/Sea. I'd recommend something on the the Caribbean sea orJust further south. Same as the pool even with the VIP beach area you must claim a spot early to find a preferred spot. We took many walks on the beach and even further down off the resort. (Warning there are local Shops/Vendors that will try to get you to come in and buy overpriced anything) This isn't on the excellence property so just be careful if you decide to venture in. We did because they have a ton of very friendly dogs that hang out and my girlfriend could't resist saying hello to them. If you are going to buy anything do it in USD or EURO. Don't ever pay what they ask because they will rip you off. Whatever they say the price is get them down to 1/4 or 1/3 of the cost. They are still making out no doubt but this is a pretty poor country and they are just trying to live. Again this a beautiful stretch of beach and was one our highlights staying here!

The Food- First I need to say is we aren't really foodies. So I will keep this part brief. The Grill, Lobster house, The Italian places there are 2 of them where good. Plus we would order room service for lunch which was great. We ate out on our patio then could go back to the pool or the beach. The Breakfast buffet was excellent!( minus the coffee) We aren't foodies but admittedly are coffee snobs. We didn't try the al carte breakfast because the buffet really had anything you could possibly want.

To summarize i wanted to visit a secluded tropic paradise for some rest and relaxation. I got exactly what i wanted. This place is quiet and probably the furthest away from punta cana airport. We had a private transfer that was booked through our travel agent on United Vacations. It is a 50 minute ride. We are a couple in our 30's. This place is for a more mature crowd. Which is what we like. Adults only is the only way to go. There just isn't a bunch of younger people acting crazy which you will find in some of the lower star properties(cheaper) anywhere in the Caribbean. I will return to this property and already have recommended it to family and friends.

Room Tip: Excellence Club Ocean View Swim up suites are really nice. If you don't really care if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, VA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our total experience can be summed up in the name of this resort. The entire staff was numero uno but kudos to Yanilka and Roberto, both w/ Guest Services. Agave and Spice topped our list of restaurants. Presidente is the local beer served and 'The One' is DR's version of Corona. We didn't experience any issues with spices, in the food, that required Pepto or other like over the counter meds. Temps in the low/mid 80's entire week, no rain, full / STRONG sun the entire week - bring plenty of sunscreen! Small casino w/ several BJ & Poker tables & a dozen slot machines. Shows, in some form or fashion, each evening at 9:00. Excursions are offered (at a cost), free activities throughout the day or simply relax on the beach or at the pool with a Coco Loco! We're 50 weeks from returning for a longer stay!

Room Tip: a room that is quieter....request a room AWAY from the swim up bar location
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Excellence Punta Cana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excellence Punta Cana

Address: Playas Uvero Alto, Punta Cana, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Altagracia Province > Punta Cana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Punta Cana
#5 Casino Hotel in Punta Cana
#6 Romantic Hotel in Punta Cana
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 Luxury Hotel in Punta Cana
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Cana
#14 Family Hotel in Punta Cana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Excellence Punta Cana 4.5*
Number of rooms: 464
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This quaint, colonial-style resort is the ideal destination for couples seeking secluded romantic getaways. Nestled among palms on a perfect white-sand beach on a remote stretch of Punta Cana's Caribbean shoreline, Excellence Punta Cana provides the perfect All-Inclusive playground for adults only and is also home to a world-class spa, state-of-the-art fitness center and an exceptional range of activities and services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Excellence Group LLC, Amex, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Excellence Punta Cana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Excellence Punta Cana
Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Resort
Secrets Punta Cana
Excellence Punta Cana Dominican Republic
Excellence Dominican Republic
Punta Cana Excellence Hotel
Excellence Punta Cana Hotel
Secret Excellence Resort Punta Cana
Punta Cana Secrets Excellence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Excellence Punta Cana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.